*~*~* House of Poodle V3 *~*~*, Share your love in poodle family here~

cute_boboi
post Aug 19 2008, 12:29 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

We send our poodle to wow wow@meow meow (the one near Pudu plaza, not the new outlet with spa near Bomba) and tried other grooming outlets else where which is cheaper. We still think the cutting and grooming @wow wow is better and they remove the tangles better. i.e. the curls can last longer 2-3 months without tangle/knot. Other places, the tangles come back within 2-6 weeks.

Injuries from grooming is possible, as dogs will have natural defense reaction if feel hurt/scare. Same like babies or small children getting a haircut. They will turn around/twist. Cannot sit properly. Normally poodles will have better behaviour than other type of dogs. Poodles will stand still and let you groom. Other dogs may just lie down, lazy, move around, etc.

If our poodle saw us, it will get very excited. So normally we hide/stay far from its view. Then it calms down and the groomer can do their work easier.

cute_boboi
post Aug 20 2008, 06:22 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

If you get a shaver, get one with finer blades to shave fine hairs. For body, side of mouth, head, ear, tail, you can use hair-cut scissors and try slowly. The fine-shaver is for between the paws, i.e. to prevent the dog from sliding when it want to stop when chasing the ball, else bang into wall or tv cabinet doh.gif

Put the dog on a small area, e.g. high chair or shoe cabinet. Initial will be difficult, may need two person holding treats or prevent from biting. But after a few times, the dog will know when is cutting/shaving time.

In this position, you can do other things like cutting nails, clean the ear, eye stain, trim some fur/hair around. Basic checkup.

Then you don't need to send to grooming so often. Personal groom once every week or 2 weeks. Bath every week. Then send to full grooming once every 3-6 months, depending on how fast tangle or you lazy to groom yourself.

We've been doing that for nearly 4 years with our poodle, but the shaver died recently. So now, the dog slides around in the house and bang wall/tv cabinet/my legs doh.gif

Edit: Do the shaving/cutting outdoors. Else you will need vacuum cleaner. Also the fine hairs will float/fly around, so becareful to breathe in or wear a mask.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 20 2008, 06:23 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 22 2008, 10:32 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Our poodle when <1 yr old, tends to tear socks, newspaper, towels to wipe legs, etc. After some patient non-qualified training by us, nowadays it only steal socks to munch.

It doesn't bite/destroy newspaper, slippers/shoes/etc. even if we leave it on the floor without supervision.

But food, definitely cannot leave unattended. It even manage to stand up, with both front legs on the dining chair and grab a piece of KFC from the dining table and hide it under the sofa doh.gif After that, we learn to put the dishes more inside the centre of table, and each time to push the chair under the table when we walk away, so no chance to steal food. sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 25 2008, 11:42 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(sinv @ Aug 22 2008, 01:56 PM)
cute_boboi, have u shown us ur cute babies photo b4??
Got. I've shown in V1 and V2 from 7 weeks till around 1 year old. After that, too busy to sort the photos sweat.gif

QUOTE(sh3ryl86 @ Aug 22 2008, 01:49 PM)
cute_boboi, ur poodle very geng..haha..steal KFC..haha..
Not just KFC, there are other things that he has stolen successfully, that I remember: sweat.gif
- Fake teeth (old ppl). Imagine the dog biting the fake teeth and smiling.
- Nangka (fruit) inside a bowl on coffee table
- Mixed rice put on coffee table, while go kitchen to fetch a glass of water
- Biscuits on sofa/table, not yet tied up with rubberband.
- "yuk kon" - attack direct
- mandarin oranges - accident drop on floor, and he is faster to pickup

cute_boboi
post Aug 25 2008, 02:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

ah... ok, grab a photo when it is 3 yrs old, around Nov'07. Later got time, I upload video.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 25 2008, 02:22 PM
cute_boboi
post Sep 10 2008, 04:30 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(bei00 @ Sep 10 2008, 10:31 AM)
Pet Wonderlands at midvalley. Pity the poodle.
My neighbour just bring home a puppy but i duno wat breed is. Tis puppy very pity put at outside house n them tie up the puppy n tis puppy walk n stand not stable yet stil need to drink mum milk de. My mum ask y tie up the puppy, the neighbour say if not tie up it then go out from house leh......
My poodle (Snookie) very hard to pluck his ear flu n cut nail, everytime wan do it he wil bite me. Do u all got any trick is can easy for me to pluck his ear flu n cut nail? I say to him after pluck n cut gv biscuit oso no use sad.gif
Buy one of those "thing" (forgot what it is called) to cover up its mouth and tie behind the neck/head, then it cannot open its mouth/bite already. One step solved.

Put the dog on a small platform like shoe cabinet or stool, that is high and prevent from jumping down. Prevent doesn't mean it won't jump down, so make sure you are next to it all the time.

Now you can start to pluck or clean the outer ear. Initial it may still struggle, but after several times over several weeks, it'll know. Once you are comfortable, and the dog learn it, no need to use it already. Normally we do one short clean eye-stain. Give some treats after done.

Nowadays, we can clean the ear directly anytime, anywhere... but need to catch him first. He won't bite us. But if really pain, it'll show its teeth and just make a "fake bite" on our hands/fingers. Fake bite is not painful at all, just touch your hand with its teeth and release, to let us know really pain?

QUOTE(cutevb19 @ Sep 10 2008, 07:51 AM)
U mean d licking part? Cannot control lor... Even i say no how loud.. he just dun care... mayb just stop for few sec... den... he starts his licking machine again...  doh.gif

Now i js need to make sure my floor or any part of my hse is clean lor.. as for d outdoor... i just not brave enuh to let him lick d tar road... so... dun wan bring him outside...  thumbup.gif

Pity him though...  unsure.gif
When small <1 yr old, our poodle also has a nickname. "Sand licker" if outside house. Inside house, it'll lick everything within it's nose/tongue.

Cannot bring on leash outside the house. It is not walking the dog. It is more like lick all the sand/stones. doh.gif and it doesn't walk, it runs and pulls front, left, right, turn around ...

Now adult, more mature and stable. No more lick sand.

cute_boboi
post Sep 10 2008, 05:45 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

[quote=jason86,Sep 10 2008, 04:37 PM]
[quote=cute_boboi,Sep 10 2008, 04:30 PM]
Buy one of those "thing" (forgot what it is called) to cover up its mouth and tie behind the neck/head, then it cannot open its mouth/bite already. One step solved.

tat thing call muzzle...is use on dog to prevent biting,barking...

elsie~~shhh...dont tell others

[/quote]

aaa, yeah. Muzzle. Forgot the word. sweat.gif

Watch about the licking, it may upgrade to own biting. And then you'll start seeing red marks or blood. Then bengkak... doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Sep 26 2008, 11:39 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

We started train pee from 3 mths old onwards. Fence it up, and put newpaper. Then use the word "shh shhhhhh... shh shhhhh..." continuously. Like a mantra. Continue until 1 yr+, then start to bring to toilet, put newspaper on the floor and "shh shhhh...". Later no more use newspaper in toilet. No problem now, except on some occassions, it'll mark in places it has pee before previously when small.

For poo, same from 3 mths onwards. Fence up, put newspaper. Say "ng nggggggg...". Mantra again. Nowadays if we forgot to put newspaper on the floor anywhere, he'll bark at us differently. After couple of barks, we'll check whether need to pee or poo. Very rare poo everywhere.

Initial training, fence it up in triangle (3 pcs fence). Don't want the dog to run around and cannot concentrate on the pee/poo task. Also centralize it on the newspaper. Never use pee/poo pad before.

Need a lot of repetitive training, which takes many weeks/months. Must be patient. Give time to the dog. Initial pee/poo each time takes 5-15minutes. Nowadays if the dog want to do poo, all settle in <2min. If pee, we just shout "Go shh shh..." and the dog will run into the toilet. "COME OUT!" and the dog will run out rolleyes.gif

Ohya, the dog also likes to lick water puddles inside toilet floor or around the seat there doh.gif
cute_boboi
post Sep 26 2008, 03:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

To add... initial after each successful pee/poo... we give treats. We break the treats into smaller pcs, like 10/20 sen sizes. So 1 pc treat can split into 3-4 pcs. Save cost tongue.gif

Somehow, our dog is trained not to bite/destroy newspaper indirectly. Shoes/slippers also won't play/destroy, only smell it. Things it'll bite are mop, towel, socks doh.gif

If the toilet is wet, he won't pee immediately also, will play around, smell, lick... like checking Internet for latest update. So we have to shout "FASTER!" ... and he'll start turn around and find a spot.

yeah, our dog also pee few drops when excited or too scared. Excited when strangers pick him up or hug him. Scared when he did something wrong and we found out... e.g. pee somewhere, and we bring him there and scold, "why shh shh here?"

cute_boboi
post Sep 26 2008, 07:38 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Currently we have no further plan to toilet train (expert class). i.e. how to put the toilet seat down, then jump up and squat to pee/poo inside the toilet bowl, then flush. tongue.gif

0.0260sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:07 AM