2008 Blizzcon & Future 2009 Blizzcon

TSmyremi
post May 13 2008, 12:23 PM, updated 18y ago

1,846 posts

2007 and 2008 had Blizzcon. So, who wants to go to 2009 Blizzcon? Estimated RM8K-9K for travel expenses.

I'm asking early although I get the feeling that not that many people would want to go. Just having a feel about this. Who is interested etc. etc. etc.

Do post here your thoughts.

BLIZZCON™ 2008 ANNOUNCED

Blizzard Entertainment® gaming convention returns to Anaheim Convention Center October 10–11

IRVINE, Calif. – May 12, 2008 – – Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. today announced plans for its third BlizzCon™ gaming convention, to be held at the Anaheim Convention Center in Anaheim, California on October 10 and 11. BlizzCon is a celebration of the global player communities surrounding Blizzard Entertainment®'s Warcraft®, StarCraft®, and Diablo® franchises. In response to the demand to accommodate more attendees, this year's event has expanded from two convention halls to three.
"Whenever we've been able to meet and interact with Blizzard gamers from around the world, it's been a great experience for us," stated Mike Morhaime, CEO and cofounder of Blizzard Entertainment. "We're looking forward to seeing even more of our players at this year's BlizzCon and delivering another entertaining and informative event for them."

BlizzCon will offer a wide variety of activities to help all attendees get the most out of the two-day event. In addition to serving as a gathering place for the different Blizzard Entertainment gaming communities, attendees will be able to enjoy:

Hands-on play time with upcoming Blizzard Entertainment releases
Discussion panels with Blizzard Entertainment developers
Competitive and casual tournaments for players to showcase their talents
Areas and activities devoted to licensed products such as the World of Warcraft® Trading Card Game
Costume, machinima, and character sound-alike contests with great prizes
Commemorative merchandise based on the Blizzard Entertainment franchises
A silent auction
More exciting activities to be announced

Tickets for BlizzCon will go on sale in the next few weeks at a price of $100 USD per person. As the event draws closer, further details will be announced on the official BlizzCon website: www.blizzcon.com.

So, anyone going?

Added on May 13, 2008, 12:46 pmOld Calculations. With the ringgit being lower now, probably less. Last time I did the calculations, it was based on USD1 = RM3.60

US Visa : USD100 / RM360
Ticket per pax : USD 100 / RM360
Hotel per night (across the street) : USD 100 / RM 360 so 4 days (1 day arrive, 2 days convention, 1 day pack and ciao) is USD 400 / RM 1440
Air Ticket to LAX : RM5,000 with MAS
Transportation between LAX & Hotel : USD42 / RM151 so 2 way is USD84 / RM302
Food @ USD25 / RM90 a day? So 4 days is USD 100 / RM360

Total is approximately : RM 7822 / USD 2173.

This post has been edited by myremi: May 15 2008, 08:36 AM
Quazacolt
post May 13 2008, 01:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

australia trip and my MCSE course raped my pocket. safe to say that im confirmed to not go.
Sichiri
post May 13 2008, 01:10 PM

1,192 posts

"$100 USD per person"
Ka-Ching!

"Total is approximately : RM 7822 / USD 2173."
ka-ching ka-ching ka-ching!

This post has been edited by Sichiri: May 13 2008, 01:12 PM
TSmyremi
post May 13 2008, 01:24 PM

1,846 posts

LOL! Sichiri, you're gold. tongue.gif

Well, thinking about it but looking also at finacial pockets, probably not either.

Maybe 2009. Maybeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee......

If yes, anyone?
byronsim
post May 13 2008, 01:41 PM

Validating

Would be awesome if i can get company to arrange a business trip at the same time...then take a couple of days off...and DING!
ch@ich@i
post May 13 2008, 03:04 PM

330 posts

super expensive...
over price...
not worth...
IMO...

with 7.8k i can do alot things...
& buy something worthy to get...
Quazacolt
post May 13 2008, 03:17 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ch@ich@i @ May 13 2008, 03:04 PM)
super expensive...
over price...
not worth...
IMO...

with 7.8k i can do alot things...
& buy something worthy to get...
the experience is well worth it.
TSmyremi
post May 13 2008, 03:27 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(byronsim @ May 13 2008, 01:41 PM)
Would be awesome if i can get company to arrange a business trip at the same time...then take a couple of days off...and DING!
I know the feeling. The EU invitational is happening 2 weeks after my business meeting in Germany. sad.gif

Anyway, you still playing with Brian? Thinking of finding him and leveling on a PvP server. U guys still looking for people?
ch@ich@i
post May 13 2008, 03:46 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 13 2008, 03:17 PM)
the experience is well worth it.
IMO it isnt...
too much tho...
7.8k purposely to exp the exhibition is over-killed...

unless u got a fren staying there & "tumpang" with him/her...
thats might consider a good saving to get over there...

as im a working person, i can feel to earn 7.8k is not easy way to get it back in few months time...
need to save probably more than 6 months go get back...

unless somebody sponsor u, ur family sponsor, u r son of a CEO, u or even u can earn 10k per month...
cheerz!
Jas2davir
post May 13 2008, 05:30 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(byronsim @ May 13 2008, 01:41 PM)
put my name in the business trip also k say that you need sum 1 accompany you!! icon_idea.gif
Quazacolt
post May 13 2008, 05:58 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ch@ich@i @ May 13 2008, 03:46 PM)
IMO it isnt...
too much tho...
7.8k purposely to exp the exhibition is over-killed...

unless u got a fren staying there & "tumpang" with him/her...
thats might consider a good saving to get over there...

as im a working person, i can feel to earn 7.8k is not easy way to get it back in few months time...
need to save probably more than 6 months go get back...

unless somebody sponsor u, ur family sponsor, u r son of a CEO, u or even u can earn 10k per month...
cheerz!
well your opinion yes.

its just the same as anything else.

why buy a house? so expensive, why not rent it?

why buy foreign cars or mercedes? why not stick with proton. both also move

"not worth it"

7.8k you have to bear in mind, you ARE going to the united states of A. whos to say you just fly there, go blizzcon, fly back? cant go sight seeing a bit while ur at US?

im also working, and my pay isnt high too.

but its just the perspective of how one thinks they should spend. one might just save their cash for their future, for wife, for family, while another would prolly go buy figurines/plastic models/games/pc parts for example.

just another example of myself, in my view, i want a kick ass pc more than anything, my signature is a living proof. but does that mean im rich? my car is more than 10 years old proton, handphone is an ancient nokia 3310, you get the idea. its just how one spend their money, simple as that.
Jas2davir
post May 13 2008, 07:00 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 13 2008, 05:58 PM)
well your opinion yes.

its just the same as anything else.

why buy a house? so expensive, why not rent it?

why buy foreign cars or mercedes? why not stick with proton. both also move

"not worth it"

7.8k you have to bear in mind, you ARE going to the united states of A. whos to say you just fly there, go blizzcon, fly back? cant go sight seeing a bit while ur at US?

im also working, and my pay isnt high too.

but its just the perspective of how one thinks they should spend. one might just save their cash for their future, for wife, for family, while another would prolly go buy figurines/plastic models/games/pc parts for example.

just another example of myself, in my view, i want a kick ass pc more than anything, my signature is a living proof. but does that mean im rich? my car is more than 10 years old proton, handphone is an ancient nokia 3310, you get the idea. its just how one spend their money, simple as that.
to sum it up
passion>expenses
lowzi
post May 13 2008, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(myremi @ May 13 2008, 12:23 PM)
So, anyone going?

Added on May 13, 2008, 12:46 pmOld Calculations. With the ringgit being lower now, probably less. Last time I did the calculations, it was based on USD1 = RM3.60

Hotel per night (across the street) : USD 100 / RM 360 so 4 days (1 day arrive, 2 days convention, 1 day pack and ciao) is USD 400 / RM 1440

doubt so, i seriously doubt my guild or i will still be playing at that time
Jas2davir
post May 13 2008, 09:24 PM

461 posts

why so? AOC? irl or WAR?
TSmyremi
post May 15 2008, 08:39 AM

1,846 posts

Ok 2009 Blizzcon.

Anyone interested? Going to look in more detail about this and see how cost can be cut down.

The only thing that may be difficult is not only the money for travel but also the US Visa. Don't know how easy it is to get it for guys.
Quazacolt
post May 15 2008, 09:43 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ May 15 2008, 08:39 AM)
Ok 2009 Blizzcon.

Anyone interested? Going to look in more detail about this and see how cost can be cut down.

The only thing that may be difficult is not only the money for travel but also the US Visa. Don't know how easy it is to get it for guys.
i have relatives there, so it should be a bit easier for me i think
Jas2davir
post May 15 2008, 09:44 AM

461 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ May 15 2008, 08:39 AM)
Ok 2009 Blizzcon.

mind to give an estimation?
aaltong
post May 15 2008, 09:58 AM

239 posts

I rather go Japan for the gaming expo. drool.gif
TSmyremi
post May 15 2008, 10:04 AM

1,846 posts

This was a very old estimate.

I'll redo it later tonite. Back to work tongue.gif

orangbulu
post May 15 2008, 10:08 AM

384 posts

I got my air ticket for 891 usd 2 ways, KL to LA, Cathay Pacific.

0.0182sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:46 AM