Serious Talk Advice needed regarding harassment
TSdaijoubu
May 13 2008, 09:01 AM, updated 18y ago
A female friend of mine recently has been persistently harassed via sms by a restaurant customer, and an unknown person, both of whom she does not know. What more, she has no idea how they managed to obtain her handphone number. She has not responded to any of their smses before, but she fears of her safety because one of them happens to know much about her, which can only know if a person observes her alot. It has not reached the point of sexual harassment, but just harassment. She fears that the person could be stalking her. My question is, to anyone who has experience in these matters, what should she do to safeguard herself? She contemplated a police report, just in case something bad happens to her one day, there is at least a lead. But what say you? Btw, in case you cant figure out from the post that this is something serious, do note that the serious talk tag is used. I appreciate if you keep any nonsense at bay  . Come on kopitiamers, show that you all can still be good for something  .
sophisticatedren
May 13 2008, 09:04 AM

go lodge a report.. then get police to contact the telco SP for the owner of the number.. nowadays everyone has to register their line d.. so high chance to catch the culprit. try that... got frens who experienced it bfore. we managed to track him down n hunt him like biatch
themanwithnoname
May 13 2008, 09:06 AM
Moved to Q&A
Ask your friend to agree to meet the guy. Then tadaa.. the culprit appear by himself.
EvanSoon
May 13 2008, 09:12 AM
buy paper spray to protect one self.. if really feel uncomfortable just make a police report although he may be released with a warning only but better safe than sorry.. u will never know what he might do in future..
Gr3yL3gion81
May 13 2008, 09:13 AM
1. Lodge report, don't delete those smses, they could serve as evidence. 2. Get the culprit info through telco. 3. Get a restraining order through court. Show the culprit that you mean business.
Polaris
May 13 2008, 09:33 AM
Buy a taser or learn handgun classes.. oh wait, this is Msia, well too bad for her.
Arkaine
May 13 2008, 09:38 AM
report to the police, teleco companies, get his detail sue the guy kaw kaw to causing paranoia, insecure and fear in living society..
kb24
May 13 2008, 09:40 AM

lodge report is the best way..
pedro
May 13 2008, 09:41 AM
Thats pepper spray!
Good idea to lodge a report!
TSdaijoubu
May 13 2008, 09:47 AM
I've already asked her to get pepper spray.
Will lodging a report and getting a restraining order might snap him into doing more worse things? Im only afraid a report might provoke him. but you'll never know how these sick people might just be waiting for a chance to up a notch. Damn scums of the earth.
Anyone here has a friend that have been through a police report of the same nature? what would you do after you make the report?
Polaris
May 13 2008, 10:43 AM
What happened to getting sms records from the telco to find the stalker, police should know this basic skill
Baozzz
May 13 2008, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(daijoubu @ May 13 2008, 09:47 AM) I've already asked her to get pepper spray. Will lodging a report and getting a restraining order might snap him into doing more worse things? Im only afraid a report might provoke him. but you'll never know how these sick people might just be waiting for a chance to up a notch. Damn scums of the earth. Anyone here has a friend that have been through a police report of the same nature? what would you do after you make the report? by not doing so u think the problem will solve. it is not about provoking or make the situation worse but to make sure ur fren safety comes first. if were to wait things to happen and only make the report, it will be too late as well. some always said, prevention is better than cure.
westthen
May 13 2008, 11:16 AM
plus make sure she is not alone when she is doing anything. Make sure there is someone that would be able to accompany her.
JiauBoy
May 13 2008, 05:20 PM
dont worry, nowdays the telco sp can even knw where the call/sms been made(the actual location), logged a report and bring to the telco.
u might not want to uncover that guy if u get his info as he might b someone that know yr friend. just let him knw u know he is and knw where he send the msg and give some details of that guy.
this should make him freekup and turn away. remember dont delete the msg, u need that. no point go head to head with him.
Ps : u will b supprise who he is. hhahhaha
bugpakoo
May 13 2008, 07:02 PM

tell her that she shud enjoy it..... coz not many ppl got these...  it is just messages....if u dun want it just delete.....