Hobbies Fishing Thread V8, fish stuff etc etc lorr .. :p

fastreader
post Apr 25 2010, 01:08 AM

4,554 posts

i'm very new to fishing...any websites where i can learn and read about its tips?..or any forum to join..pls advise...
fastreader
post Apr 26 2010, 01:22 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Apr 26 2010, 02:45 AM)
jig ? trolling ? bottom ? ... paypond ? jetty ? river ?  saltwater or freshwater biggrin.gif
list your preference and there will be sifus comming in to assist you
hahaha...i'm newbie lah...dun reli know wat is all tat...

but i tink most probably is those river..freshwater...anything tat i shud be concerned about?..

anyway, got some queries..

Q1: are those rod and reel from shooping complex suitable?...say like: the rod cost Rm50..the reel cost like Rm40..and the string (how to choose huh?)

i'm beginner..very very very new... smile.gif

fastreader
post Apr 26 2010, 06:06 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Apr 26 2010, 05:41 PM)
rivers with currents will demand a stronger and more reliable set up
if u just fish in ponds then almost anything will suit u .. just dont use too heavy line and use small hooks
i try to register with ur forum to fish for more information...

Added on April 26, 2010, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(QiW @ Apr 26 2010, 05:41 PM)
rivers with currents will demand a stronger and more reliable set up
if u just fish in ponds then almost anything will suit u .. just dont use too heavy line and use small hooks
i tink the water is kinda slow type...

anyway, for slow moving river...wat else do i need to fish?..

let me list it out:

ROD,
Reel,
line ( what type shud i get?...cheap ones ok?..)
hook ( is there any size to compare?..or just agak agak nia when buying?..)
pemberat thingy (u know, to let the hook sink..is it needed?..)

wat else do i need to completet my set?...pls advise...

oh ya...do i need the floating thingy?...like the gasing shape... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fastreader: Apr 26 2010, 07:16 PM
fastreader
post Apr 26 2010, 09:39 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Apr 26 2010, 07:50 PM)
@fastreader

allocate budget around 200-300, then go get a light-mid action 6 and 1/2 feet rod pair it with a 2000/3000 series reels...

get yourself some size no 4~7 hooks.
sinker size no 5~9
line... ermm 8lbs to 20lbs mono

other stuff u need such as cutter, pen knife, float and etc ..

btw i strongly suggest you to try out pay pond instead of river.. it's dangerous man ! just like what sifu Q say ... river current is damn strong ... don't play play man.. enjoy fishing but then don't put your life on risk ok ? tongue.gif
wanna ask lah...is a float necessary?..i mean for beginner like me...

i tink i will fishing fr the bridge..so shud b quite safe..anyway,wat is the float for?..to see if the fish bite ur bait is it?..

0.0373sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:16 AM