Hobbies Fishing Thread V8, fish stuff etc etc lorr .. :p

chun
post May 31 2008, 05:32 AM

85 posts

Hello, I've been reading the postings for the last few pages and as you can see I don't post too often. But I think this is a bit too much... we have been really nice and decided to go another place to continue our "discussions" since the moderator here was not too happy when we are talking about off topic stuff.. hence Qiw created a new forum for us to do so, and informed us of the new forum address so that the other people would know where to go to... but I just noticed that even that post was deleted.... how are the friends and fishing buddies going to know where to go to in order to look for us?... which forces me to post this:

Mr Mod: I know it is very important to keep spam away from this forum, and I'm not trying to make your job difficult here, just want to see if we can make this work for everyone...and first let me clear some misunderstanding to the term "spam"

according to dictionary.com the definition is : Unsolicited e-mail, often of a commercial nature, sent indiscriminately to multiple mailing lists, individuals, or newsgroups; junk e-mail

it states, "unsolicited" which means that the message is not intended to the readers or receiver. Correct me if I'm wrong, but almost all the post I see here are intended for someone (who reads this forum).

Everyone hates spam, myself included (of course). Nobody likes people that starts selling stuff and posting multiple post that is not intended for anyone here, if anyone here starts doing that by all means ban them( we'll thank you for it as well). But I really don't see any spam happening here.

So, being the understanding person that you are, I sincerely hope you listen to our concern and please understand that fishing is about making friends and sharing our passion (which comes with the occasional "talk kok")
chun
post May 31 2008, 05:57 AM

85 posts

An additional note to mod: sometimes we use some jargons (that is related to fishing stuff/gears) that you might not recognize but doesn't mean we are off topic:

here are just some common example:
Abu ( Abu Garcia - brand of fishing gear)
Diewa (brand of fishing gear)
Shakespear (brand of fishing gear)
powerpro (brand of fishing gear)
Fuji (brand of fishing gear)
Storm(brand of fishing gear)
LC- LuckyCraft (brand of fishing gear)
saltiga (particular model of fishing gear)
stella (particular model of fishing gear)
Sustain (particular model of fishing gear)
STX (particular model of fishing gear)
EA - extreme anglers (tackle shop)
thomas stroker (very famous customed rod)
EVA (material use to built fishing rod handles)
GT (nothing to do with cars, it actually stands for: Giant Trevally - type of fish)
walk-the-dog (a type of fishing method)
popping (a type of fishing method)
jigging (a type of fishing method)
BC - baitcaster (type of fishing reel)
CBH - cha bee hoon (means the lines go tangled like birdnests, usually happen when using BC)
knn bread (Gardenia bread - use as fishing bait, especially effective for a few fishing payponds)

That's all I can think off at the moment, maybe the rest would like to add more?

chun
post May 31 2008, 09:57 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ May 31 2008, 05:43 AM)
You said it yourself, "occasional" talk kok. I dont have a problem with that. But when this thread starts turning into a Kopitiam section style thread with almost EVERY post becoming unconstructive and not contributing to the topic, that's where it has got to stop. And in case you missed it, check out what spamming is defined as in the forum R&R here.

Hi Mr Mod, Thank you so much for the prompt (very) reply. When you say UNCONSTRUCTIVE, I do agree on that basis if it was just a Bump or not directed to anyone. But such a word is really very subjective. How would you know if that particular post is not unconstructive? It might not be unconstructive to you, but I'm sure each post that my fellow buddies here are directed to someone, which I feel would be constructive to that particular person. Please don't get me wrong, I'm just trying to understand why you all are so concerned about what we say to each other? It's not like we are trying to sell "the blue pill" (whoa automatic delete wan wor) or promoting a porn site....

QUOTE(jhcj @ May 31 2008, 05:43 AM)
I dont really care if you guys want to shift forums.[SIZE=7] If people can't adhere to the rules, then perhaps that's in the best interest of all.
If you don't really care, then why was the link informing the other people that we are shifting is deleted? Yes, I have read http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules about links and such... and by no means was that link/post commercial. Appreciate your sincere feedback.

This post has been edited by chun: May 31 2008, 10:00 AM
chun
post May 31 2008, 06:40 PM

85 posts

Wise words from bro daddy... thank you

I agree 100%...
The feeling you get when you get when the fish pulls on your line, and the reel starts to SCREAM is indescribable no matter how many forum posts/ books/webpages/videos/pictures etc.... you read/watch.

There's just no way to describe it except to feel it for yourself smile.gif
chun
post Jun 10 2008, 06:19 PM

85 posts

just posted something here yesterday but kena delete liao..

so tow foo on kar this saturday?

Mod: tow foo = fishing paypond located in Kundang
chun
post Jun 10 2008, 08:06 PM

85 posts

maps ar... what was the map thing u all use last time ar? i forgot liao... i dun think is google earth rite? i remember something like mapopedia or something...
chun
post Jun 11 2008, 03:25 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jun 10 2008, 10:12 PM)
it's call wikimapia..
but i don't know the way lar use wikimapia also no use..like the one in http://www.fishingkopitiam.com i use is because i know the way to laguna pay pond ma..this one i don't even know where is kundang..so see the roads around towfoo paypond also i don't understand..
Thanks Fookie, manage to find Kundang (tasik biru) using search option.. which is faster than google maps, but it doesn't have the roads, so i pasted the coordinates in google maps and found the location for you..

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geoc...018797&t=h&z=16

from the map you should be able to find your direction la... if you coming from KL or PJ, head towards Sg Buloh first... then from there you should be able to find where the map is located

By yanchun at 2008-06-10

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 11 2008, 03:36 AM
chun
post Jun 17 2008, 05:14 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(AlexNg87 @ Jun 16 2008, 09:16 PM)
waa Towfoo oso tadak call  cry.gif  cry.gif
Sifu Alex, you never check out our postings here and in http://fishingkopitiam.com wan meh... check out the future trips and events session mah...

very hard to call everyone to go for gathering mah.. that's y we forum to discuss mah... so everyone would know... kekeke..

anyways, here's some poison..

good food...

Good fight...

Great Company...

to see the rest of the pics go to http://fishingkopitiam.com/index.php?topic=36.90

This post has been edited by chun: Jun 17 2008, 06:07 PM
chun
post Jun 17 2008, 08:09 PM

85 posts

oh yeah hor... anything la... foil kar plate kar.. as long taste good can liao... kuaakakakaa
chun
post Jun 18 2008, 02:09 AM

85 posts

that one sifu B make the super sauce one... then with sifu ho consultation on how to foil and cook it on bbq.... must really give BIG THANK YOU to these sifus for the exceptionally good food that day lar...

i just in charge of sit there and hantam only.... Kuakakaka...

oh yeah... never tried sotong fishing before leh me...must be fun! <- NECESSARY
chun
post Jun 23 2008, 10:31 PM

85 posts

heard that fookie's reply that states he cannot make it (for the bbq)got deleted.
Mod: pls understand that he was just informing us he can't make it for the gathering we are organizing for the ppl in this fishing thread.

Can you pls explain y is that spam?

chun
post Jul 4 2008, 05:14 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Jul 3 2008, 10:56 PM)
i don't know why ah..everytime i use live prawns rite, either the fish won't even touch the prawn or the fish will bite the head off..won't bite the body..
(i hook the hook on the prawn's tail)
i forgot who teach us b4, you can actually put the hook through the prawn's head without killing it and it stays alive longer than u hook the tail (according to the person lah). I seldom to bait fishing, so dunno la...

Anyways, he said to out the hook through the small horn on the top of the head, make sure you don't hook the brain.. this may look like it's going to come out easily, but the hard part of the horn will prevent that from happening, so it's going to be a bit hard to poke it through la.. especially for green headed fellas... (fookie, i'm not refering to U!! tongue.gif tongue.gif )

sorry couldn't give credit to the person who taught me this... forgot who liao

For a more detailed look at it, there's a picture from here http://fishingkopitiam.com/index.php?topic=60.new#new

This post has been edited by chun: Jul 4 2008, 05:18 PM
chun
post Jul 8 2008, 09:44 PM

85 posts

hi Darren,

You stay penang but prefer freshwater?? strange ler.. kekeke..

anyways, most of people in here from KL, bro fookie from sitiawan lar... not too far (compared to the rest of us la).

we are also lest active in this forum, you will see some signatures and know y... smile.gif
chun
post Jul 24 2008, 03:09 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 11 2008, 12:01 PM)
Does anyone know of those light-up baits? I'm not interested in fishing myself but I'm looking for the battery (BR435/CR435) that's used for those baits.
not sure about that gundamalpha... never seen those before... but google it... quite interesting pc of gadget.. maybe you can find it around Jalan Pasar?

or if locally really cannot find then search on ebay loh... shipping shouldn't be too expensive since it's so small..

http://search.ebay.com/CR435_W0QQfrppZ50QQ...rdsreturnedZ300

unless they charge u cheap cheap for the item, and earn on the shipping... hmm.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by chun: Jul 24 2008, 03:13 AM
chun
post Aug 6 2008, 11:00 PM

85 posts

klang have to ask other sifus that go sealion pond wan..
chun
post Sep 8 2008, 04:18 PM

85 posts

LYN don't allow me to post the rest of the pictures... states "Sorry, but you have posted more images than you are allowed to"

please go to http://fishingkopitiam.com/index.php?topic=152.0

to see the rest of the pics

Added on September 8, 2008, 4:55 pmOMG.. even the few pictures that i manage to put also gone...kena delete again?? sigh

This post has been edited by chun: Sep 8 2008, 04:55 PM
chun
post Sep 9 2008, 04:03 PM

85 posts

i already host all the picture elsewhere liao... at first got come out wan... then suddenly the whole post also deleted

Added on September 9, 2008, 4:22 pmlet me try again see....

This post has been edited by chun: Sep 9 2008, 04:22 PM
chun
post Sep 23 2008, 04:26 AM

85 posts

reading some of your posts here and setups... remind me of myself before I actually hang out with the sifus here...(last time was different forum la)

I still remember when i first follow them to fishing (with my RM12 rod & inherited reel), kena kau kau... still remember the phrase from one of the sifus " that one not reel lar! that one is wok , everytime char bee hun wan!!!"

Then after some pointers and guidance (and also lots of poison), I can proudly say that my fishing skills and setups have improved tremendously... but of cos still have lots to learn from the sifus...

So what I'm trying to imply is, Fishing is a very practical hobby/sport, can't learn much from forums and websites without actually going out to fish... so the best suggestions is to follow any of the sifus here to fish... may it be just a paypond (i started from there) or out to sea... just follow... if u can...

Added on September 23, 2008, 4:31 amof cos to know more about our activities, can go to our small little forum stated below lar... feel free to post anything...

This post has been edited by chun: Sep 23 2008, 04:31 AM
chun
post Sep 25 2008, 02:54 PM

85 posts

wah.. voon dam syok ler... i especially like the phrase " ...10-20kg fishes are normal unless i caught 30kg mark above..."

knn.. poison kau kau..

Added on September 25, 2008, 2:56 pmoh... forgot to mention.... for learning from the sifus as mentioned... can go to fishing valley this sat around 3pm

This post has been edited by chun: Sep 25 2008, 02:56 PM
chun
post Sep 25 2008, 04:22 PM

85 posts

everyone is bro...everyone is...

0.0355sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:35 AM