Hobbies Fishing Thread V8, fish stuff etc etc lorr .. :p

hamster9
post Jan 3 2010, 12:56 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 3 2010, 12:35 AM)
or maybe u dont understand, it is obviously a right handle to me.
ooo..ok..ngan fa laugh.gif

This post has been edited by hamster9: Jan 3 2010, 12:59 AM
hamster9
post Jan 3 2010, 08:20 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 3 2010, 04:27 PM)
just do it !!!
u will know what u want AFTER u try to fish .. coz then u know what the shortcomings and advantages of the reel u are using and why u need to upgrade or not ... hehehehe
well said sifu Q notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hamster9
post Jan 5 2010, 11:37 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(enenem @ Jan 4 2010, 08:25 PM)
hehehe... longkang fish also fish maa... u should proud of it smile.gif
not much coverage on sail fishing in malaysia so i think this is a good to bring up this topic on tv...
ya meh? all this while got Royal Pahang Billfish Challenge, mana u pegi? tongue.gif

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jan 4 2010, 09:08 PM)
Of course... MuaHaHaHa...

My best friend once brought me to Rompin looking for that fish... but only caught tenggiri instead.... MuaHaHaHa...
Its depend on season i think... maybe around August or September...

Wei... no sifu wanna help here meh?
Season June - Nov

Rompin, got spots for "7 star pan" ooo..

QUOTE(wildcats @ Jan 5 2010, 02:45 AM)
Any TOMAN for sale here?
Looking for toman, pm me if have any.
just ate Toman porridge...u too late. hehehe
hamster9
post Jan 5 2010, 03:02 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 5 2010, 01:37 PM)
i think this is not the right place to ask even if u ask nicely. some just cant stop being sarcastic and rude, i've given up of asking too much here and only ask a certain ppl for advice else get 'blasted' for being a noobie and asking a noobie questions.

there are few forums in malaysia and i'm sure most are willing to help out. also, can try the tackle shops...i'm sure they could introduce you to some anglers. toman? dead or alive? i think should be alive.....have u tried those exotic petshop or the pudu market before? most probably they will sell......but who knows, u might get some surprise.

ps- if you really really wants someone to help u on the tv show, i think i might be able to help u but i think i will need to ask first. this guy i met fished for some time and quite nice and friendly. i can only ask for u after 9th jan cos he went to south america for his fishing trip.
wow..i wonder which part u kene blasted? shocking.gif

i dun see any reason u kene blasted since we all have been a newbie once before. theoretically u're being oversensitive. What's best is that we invited you several times to join to fish with us so that you could feel and see for yourself rather than just reading in forums. So if I mentioned in a forum that a certain rod broke before while fighting the fish, would you buy it even tho it feels nice in your hands? For me I would since there no rod built not to break. I've taken this ideology from Frank Loomis. Again, go out fishing, join the sifus and u would understand that fishing is not learnt via internet. If u keep sticking to the internet to learn fishing, might as well u get a playstation or a wii set with that specialised electronic fishing rod.

Previously I'm just like you, considering to buy rods and reels, stuff that is cheap and nice or maybe a good investment. I've met several people in the past, some say you don't need expensive reel and rod to land a big fish while some say you need. After experiencing several setbacks in fishing, only to come to a conclusion that you need something reliable and reliability comes with a price. After having to jungle trek for an hour to reach a fishing spot, do you think u can go back to your car just to get another reel/rod? or even worse when u're stuck in the middle of the sea with your broken equipments, what else could you do other than to look at ur friends with envy landing fish every now and then. Oh, well..I'm just telling based on my experience... yawn.gif not that anybody cares...since that somebody would rather to listen to someone older and more experience uncles than a cha bor rolleyes.gif

BTW, i was just pulling their leg... the serious matter I've already PM them. So dun emo la pls.. sweat.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
hamster9
post Jan 5 2010, 03:13 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 5 2010, 03:03 PM)
ps ... must remember ... shops are there to do bizness .. whatever stuff u buy oso they make $$$ ... they will never say anything in their shop is bad one la for sure
on the other hand ... ppl in forums are there to help based on their pass experience so that NOOBS do not spend unnecessary and get the wrong stuff for the wrong application ... and oso have to make NOOBS see what is value for $$$ based on reliability and longevity of the gears as well as ease of use etc etc

Added on January 5, 2010, 3:04 pmpps ... and ppl in forums give their opinion only ... no obligations to do anything one ... and its FOC advice
real world fact >>> u get what u pay

Added on January 5, 2010, 3:06 pm
i remember not so long ago got ppl take saltwater heavy setup go fishing in fish valley worr .. huahahahahahaa
blush.gif blush.gif sifu dun bocor me la..

thanks to Qiw too, I joined his trip to Fish Valley in Semenyih, tho it was a pay pond, we had a great deal of time, my first time seeing a plabuk being caught and know what a plabuk is. Bring heavy seawater set up, sifu laugh at me but better than others laughing at me later on. thumbup.gif looking at them fish, I learn a lot. They even let me use their baitcaster set to learn...greatful of sifu Qiw, Ah chun, one more leng chai forgot his name tongue.gif rclxms.gif and it all started from this thread. notworthy.gif wub.gif
hamster9
post Jan 6 2010, 06:41 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 6 2010, 02:39 AM)
pm SIS hamster ... she take u go fishing .. and if she allows u can try her stuff out lorr .. hahahahaha
ouch..put me on table again..

come follow me Maldives... tongue.gif
hamster9
post Jan 7 2010, 11:57 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 6 2010, 09:05 PM)
can fish till it covers my flight ticket?? if can, i'm ok with it....haha........for now, wanted to try the seafishing n sotong jigging. overseas.......no la......i'm not that gian yet......for now, landing a small talapia also good liao.....haha......n also, this month have to be prudent cos last month spend a lot on rapala lures n those expensive swivel...haha....cos don wan to use life bait anymore. damn dirty.......i mean cacing n katak la

Added on January 6, 2010, 9:14 pm

no la, wont think like tat.......sometimes really envied those ppl, can travel so far just to fish. if got then ok lor...if not then........but if pro liao, i think landing a fish is not a problem. maybe who knows.....fish for salmon or trout.....dunno how it taste like catch n eat (not cnr). bring jap soy sauce+wasabi together....
it's c&r..you cannot bring the fish back to malaysia..so if u caught any till it dies, makan there.

when sailfish season in rompin go play some green eye sotong fishing... then eat the bugger alive with wasabi and soy sauce.. the tentacles will stick at your tongue and cheeks while chewing it..better than chewing gum laugh.gif

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 6 2010, 10:51 PM)
u mean kelana jaya? not really.....i think sukida is the nearest since i'm staying below ampang lookout point. btw, how much is the entrance? any comments or tips there? maybe this sat try luck at semenyih dam again or maybe paypond.....haii.....
sukida..entrance if not mistaken rm15 per entry now...bring 2 rods if u wan..should be no problem. 1 rod, wrap with bread and cast to the middle of the pond. Another use ur baitcaster with minnow..can get pacus and patin. Beware of horse stealing your Gardenia...

hamster9
post Jan 7 2010, 02:35 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 7 2010, 01:16 PM)
hehe...i mean sell at maldives....not feasible to bring it back to kl.

yeah, i heard that may till july can do the sotong jigging. but not sure got ppl to tag along or not yet. hopefully got.....no other meaning ar, ok? dont misunderstood lor...haha

u mean cast to the middle (bottom or float or just swivel+hook only n no sinkier)? my baitcaster havent arrive yet, so cant practice with it...btw, can use lure ar? i thought most paypond is not allowed? the fish can bring back or have to pay some according to weight? heard that the pacu is not nice to eat.....but just wonder why so many ppl take it esp the malays. btw, use dedak can? cos still got some of it left...also, wat is the best time to fish?

Added on January 7, 2010, 1:19 pmbtw guys/girls,

none fishing question, u all are working or still studying?
not sure about their local pricing there but that's not the main point why we are there for fishing.

depends where u're sitting in sukida...cast towards the island would be a great idea.. Gardenia bread...skin it, wrap at the hook like curry puff, let it float on water...suddenly u will see big splash of some big fish whacking your bread, just pray it kena the hook...yes, sukida allows u to play lure...but best change the treble hook to normal hook la. not all payponds allow...but some, sukida is one of it.

can bring back the fish, according to weight. patin there is YUMMY! If not mistaken RM7 per kg..there also got sun hock if u lucky..

pacu, must know how to cook it only nice. chinese like to steam fish...so can taste the flavor of fish..pacu nice eaten bakar, i know a few pakciks who are good at this..and it's nice thumbup.gif pacu not nice coz very strong fishy smell.. steaming with how many ginger also wont kill that smell.. sweat.gif

yes, dedak can be use there.. u can sit there as long as u want...their eating time varies...sometime even hot afternoon also can kena big patins...best u go there from 7am..

i'm working + studying

This post has been edited by hamster9: Jan 7 2010, 02:40 PM
hamster9
post Jan 7 2010, 04:21 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 7 2010, 03:17 PM)
btw, if they swallow my lure n i don wan that fish how ar? force them to cough it out? haha.....die die have to buy la? freshwater fish, me n my family dont eat cos of the smell.....but i think will try if it is toman, haruan or PB. thanks btw....maybe wanna try for fun.......to lepas gian.

btw, i'm working. maybe older than most of u but not tat old. worked for a 'top consulting' company but with morons...aii...nothing to be proud about though. life is stress, work so stress....fishing, no stress. haha
wont swallow so deep...just bring a long nose pliers to release it.

if u wanna fish while earning extra money, my best bet would be sealion pond.. if u catch more than 3 fish, already can cover your paypond fees..more than that, u already earn. most of the fish there is around 1kg and above..some even bigger... there u can see some otais cari makan there. they all look for "long tan' in the pond..most of them minimum 10kg...per kg sold to broker RM25...so imagine if u sell to restaurants outside.. rolleyes.gif dun get "long tan" also nvm, siakap, ang cho, kerapu all big size.. have fun fishing while getting fresh fish (compare the price of the fish with tesco or giant..it's much cheaper)
hamster9
post Jan 8 2010, 12:22 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 8 2010, 09:24 AM)
the conolon is basically a jigging rod
pe is the poundage of the gears ... normally pe1 >> apprx 10lb by jap .. kwai lohs take pe1 >>> apprx 16lbs .. but u get the idea laaaa
i run 20lb on my pe1,8 .. 30lb on my pe3 ... 40lb on my pe4 ... LINES laaa
the conolon is a very good rod for the price ... starts from around rm190 for pe1-3 i think .. the only thing to watch out for in a conolon is >> DO NOT let it impact on other hard objects coz that conolon is prone to hairline fractures
agree, conolon prone to breaking but it's a good rod overall.. Someone suggested me Lemax Ferrari Red back then, less than Rm200 if not mistaken. Sufficient for the whole of Malaysia jigging.

BTW, yothim...why all of a sudden into jigging? blink.gif a word of advice: don't just because of other people recommendation/ game, you want to follow... you need to manage your finances properly since fishing can consider an expensive game (trust me, at times I feel golf is much cheaper, provided I dun hit a hole in one) Bottom fishing is another game, jigging is another game as well as popping...these doesn't come cheap.

you go out to the sea, you need to know who u're mixing with... If all play bottom/ trolling..and some light casting.. then invest in bottom set. Coz when others are playing bottom, you cannot jig... and vice versa. Jigging and popping trip usually cost more than bottom trip since we dun fill up the maximum limit of the bot (let's say 10 people is the max limit) but half of it. So means your boat fees is already doubled.

Jigging and popping is a different game altogether, a jig the cheapest may cost RM11..let's say there's a bunch of spanish mackerels and barracuda you'll be donating your jigs to them thanks to their sharp teeth. I've bring 40 over jigs and left with 10 jigs, most of them are not RM11 jigs cry.gif Second would be the jig stuck to the coral...

popping..erm..u can see at Sabre, minimum cost for a decent popper would be RM60 above...

if you want to get high value fishes, are mostly bottom fishing wink.gif

Added on January 8, 2010, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 8 2010, 12:11 PM)
i guess the whole set for the jigging set would set me for at least rm600.
rod = RM200-300 (expert graphite, Eupro- ask the one in pandan mewah, he can custom made Expert graphite blanks, lemax - TCE tackles)

reel = freams j4500 rm 400, caldia kix RM 600, or the cheapest and quite reliable Tica Libra 4500H, RM200

PE line = most of them need to load 300 yards, Rm95 for 40 lbs powerpro

jigs..u need lots of them..with different weight (40gm, 60gm, 80gm, 100gm, 150gm - u need it because it depends on the water current) , shapes (rotating, flutter, etc - they swim differently to attract the fish) and color (blue, green, pink, luminous, hologram - plays an important role too..when the tekong say pink.. u need a pink jig, then in the noon, tekong says hologram...u need a hologram jig) price range from RM11 (white rabbit jigs) to RM 80 (andaman jigs), price differs from weight. this, you need to read up more on what jigs brand are effective...dun just buy because it's cheap like Hinomiya (only works in Sabah/Sarawak waters)

This post has been edited by hamster9: Jan 8 2010, 12:34 PM
hamster9
post Jan 11 2010, 03:25 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 8 2010, 02:08 PM)
yeah, i think it is a bit expensive. btw, i got it all wrong between jigging n bottom fishing. actually i'm planning for bottom fishing but wan to use lure instead or bait but i don think it is possible. sorry guys/girls.......so any saltwater reel/rod to recommend?

cos this is wat i plan...one reel for the bait, cast out n wait for fish to take. then at the same time, i can use the baitcasting reel to play with the lure instead of just waiting for the other reel. i think this is normal for beginner kwar....2 rods.....

Added on January 9, 2010, 10:18 pmi went to sukida today, it was totally...disappointing. not as nice as what i saw on the photos. the pond was very very shallow....imagine my shallow minnow hit the bottom of the pond liao.

yeah, a lot of fish in the middle of the pond la n i though jus let it  float but i was wrong, need the heavy sinker to send it to the 'island'. the side is just too shallow for big fish. next time i know ths spot liao....haii.......the bread....useless, seriously.....some use hati ayam, but some use dedak (dunno wat they mix) got pacu n patin but once only, after that damn quiet. at least got bite but....not as fun as i saw in postings....haii...might go there again....this time, know wat to bring liao

i think most of u didnt went there for some time....changes a lot....except for angler, there is basically no one there. somemore they opens at 8am till 9pm only. pay is rm10 n rm5/kg...........
it means that at that point of time, fish not hungry...it's not the bait that counts..when fish frenzy, my plain hook sangkut some lalang grass also can land fish..hahaha laugh.gif

deem..too bad cannot camping there anymore..close 9am boh song liao!!
hamster9
post Jan 12 2010, 12:32 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 11 2010, 05:21 PM)
camping at isolated spots ??
kena GB then u know .. hahahahaa
there got room wan la shakehead.gif .. chalet for Rm30-RM50 per night..can fish while open room..ahhahaha laugh.gif

bottom set,

spinning or multiplier? usually people use multiplier..2 choice of multiplier - electric or non-electric..electric at least when wan to check whether bait still there or not, sinker 1kg, depth 100meter, u lose half of ur life trying to reel up that thing just to check, just at a press of a button thumbup.gif non-electric... most reliable, Shimano TLD 50...or Penn International II ... that reel can bring u anywhere in the world. in short, dual speed. single speed can play, it's just tiring..I have one for sale now.

hamster9
post Jan 14 2010, 11:55 AM

CFP
2,251 posts

waseh...sifu nico...u go karang keropoh ar? hehehehe...congrats of the catch report notworthy.gif

sifu nico, Penn no good meh? I use Penn wor..made in USA wan wor...hehehe

Malaysian waters use Stella 5000 nia....8000 overkill lo...heheheh..except for Lucornia.. brows.gif

hamster9
post Jan 14 2010, 12:34 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 14 2010, 12:02 PM)
the one tat i 'trusted' sell round baitcasting reel and surely damn exp la. the one nearby my place, got limited stock...paiseh leh if go in n then didnt buy. cos he kept intro me the reel. the one tat i cant find, he intro others tat i don like...he said ok one. like the soron stx, wanna find the big one but no stock, he intro the cardinal 700series.....quite different leh the feel.

so jus wanna check the price n compare the specs then only take the $$ n sapu.....don wan to go there unprepared n then..disappointed. lots of good reel for shimano but no price tag...if i like it n then do research n everyone said 'great reel'..when i went to the shop...then...price also 'great'. tat one really potong stim leh.

yeah yeah, kepong wont give a damn one. last time said the stx about 530 n got 'good price' but when went there 570nett. the price is not that cheap, the time to travel+petrol also cover liao but got more choice.
if u already good terms with the boss, just call and ask the price..if price ok, then go there and feel the reel.

Added on January 14, 2010, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(dannywcw @ Jan 14 2010, 11:47 AM)
any fishing spot in puchong and putrajaya and cyberjaya?
putrajaya wetlands, can rent boat also..hehe

roads to KLIA got a few longkang fishing spots.. haruan and puyu...

puchong, got some a few freshwater payponds...but not recommended. the only happening "fishing" is called "prawning", can go beside tesco puchong catch some tiger prawns. however puchong got lots of mining lakes for u to fish. the famous one would be lombong buaya ( dun have buaya but lots of alligator gar).

This post has been edited by hamster9: Jan 14 2010, 12:47 PM
hamster9
post Jan 14 2010, 01:42 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(dannywcw @ Jan 14 2010, 01:25 PM)
bro, got any gps location for the spots you mention? may want to go there this weekend. I'm fairly new to puchong area. Please help. Thank you !
Tasik Prima : lat 3.0005987 lon 101.603794

Lombong Buaya : lat 2.9839703 lon 101.5855122

river fishing spot : lat 2.9831131 lon 101.5801907

unknown mining pond...but see lots of ppl fish there... : lat 2.9798988 lon 101.5963697
hamster9
post Jan 16 2010, 02:27 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Jan 15 2010, 03:15 PM)
extreme anglers in ss3 .. tackle box in subang to name a few that i know organises sea trips ... ocean tackle in serdang oso got
most of the big shops will have some sort of gang and contacts to organise trips ... u just have to ASK
fuiyoo...kenny's trip notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif betul betul extreme...
hamster9
post Jan 18 2010, 07:42 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

most fishing shop i know charges 2.5% -2% on credit card transaction wink.gif

hamster9
post Jan 21 2010, 04:19 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

hehehe..yothim "tai ko chai" already... laugh.gif
hamster9
post Jan 21 2010, 09:59 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jan 21 2010, 08:50 PM)
Learning too fast without going fishing yet... after he went fishing aaa... just imagine... MuaHaHaHa...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Relexs... fishing kakis always like that one...  mostly tok kok and sing song maa... but yet we still happy... thats why we got fishing kopitiam maa...  icon_rolleyes.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif best said notworthy.gif
hamster9
post Jan 23 2010, 01:46 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Jan 22 2010, 11:57 PM)
i think it is more on the 'colour' problem.....some ppl are just born stupid........one moron even told me 'yan put hor wai, tin chu...' those rubbish....stupid..........
i guess it's you gua....got personality problem...

like you also can badmouth me all the way to MFN forum... notworthy.gif geng

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0249sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:19 AM