Jackson Stars RR-J2SP pickup question, HELP!

TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 01:53 AM, updated 18y ago

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Ok guys, i'm pretty much set on getting the Jackson Stars RR-J2SP from Ishibashi in 3 months time (hopefully they still have some in stock!). It comes with EMG-Hz pickups, and a gain booster. I was just wondering how good this pickup is? Would it be better to swap it out for a EMG 81 or something? Do i have to route the guitar or is the cavity big enough for an active pickup? And yeah, would the gainbooster work with an EMG 81 or any other passive pickup i install? Sorry for all the questions, and thanks in advance.
nkphnx
post May 12 2008, 02:08 AM

390 posts

EMG-HZs are passive pickups on their own, means relatively less output voltage and harmonic overtones compared to the 81. But if coupled with a gain booster which is active like you've mentioned, then I think you will get something similar to the 81. You should have a listen to judge by yourself.

BTW, the active EMGs most of the time doesn't need a reroute as all the electronics are embedded inside the pickups, you just need space for the 9V battery. And yeah, pairing a 81 with a gain booster will work, you'll get more gain and more harmonic overtones. Cheers smile.gif
SweetTooth
post May 12 2008, 02:16 AM

2,650 posts

im using a pair of hz-h4's in my axe now, they're pretty awesome but nothing to shout about smile.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: May 12 2008, 02:16 AM
nkphnx
post May 12 2008, 02:27 AM

390 posts

Personally, I'm not a fan of EMGs as they are famous with their hifi tone, which is tonally flat.. So, if you want a pickup with a distinctive character, you should look elsewhere, but if you are someone who tinkers with a lot of effects and EQing/tone shaping, then the EMGs are great as they are easier to balance. Hope this helps smile.gif

This post has been edited by nkphnx: May 12 2008, 02:27 AM
Pix
post May 12 2008, 02:45 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

fatboythin, wouldn't you be happier (but poorer ... ok smile.gif ) buying this jackson loaded with EMG81 straight on ? maybe you need to save longer to get the cash, but in the end, the satisfaction would be huge !!

i can't help about the sound of the pickups...
Everdying
post May 12 2008, 02:45 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

cliches la.
hear slayer, zakk wylde, metallica and machinehead.
tell me do they all sound the same?

then go listen to david gilmour, stevie ray vaughan, nickelback and those pop and country guys who use EMGs...
they obviously dont sound the same.

like with everything, how you play is more important.

and anyone who doesnt do their own tone shaping should be shot tongue.gif
Pix
post May 12 2008, 02:48 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

yeah, what i've heard about EMG81 is that they have a very flat (lifeless ?) clear tone. Obviously, when turning the gain up, they come to life. So many pro / genius guitarists use them, they have to have some kharma.
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 02:58 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Pix: Well, the RR24 comes stock with an EMG81, but i don't like the black hardware and MOTO inlays, not really worth the steep price.

Well, it doesn't really have to be an EMG 81. If there are any other suggestions, i'm free to hear them. I'm going to play mostly COB, BFMV, Arch Enemy and Machine Head on this axe.

Here is a pic btw biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fatboythin: May 12 2008, 02:59 AM
SweetTooth
post May 12 2008, 03:05 AM

2,650 posts

wow nice axe there. how much will that set you back ?
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 03:08 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Well, the quote i got from Ishibashi is RM5.3k including shipping and softcase. Might be a little more because i'm going to request for a hardcase and the 10% Customs charge is going to hurt. So all in all i'm bracing myself to sacrifice around RM6k. sad.gif
nkphnx
post May 12 2008, 03:12 AM

390 posts

Wow you can literally kill someone with that.. tongue.gif

BTW, why don't you try searching in SG, you might be lucky and save yourself a lot of $$.. smile.gif
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 03:17 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Nah, i don't think they sell it in SG, its a discontinued Japanese only model, only a few units are still available at Ishibashi. Tried Davis Guitar in SG, they don't stock them.

Well, i think it should be worth the $$, since Jackson Stars is basically the Japanese Custom Shop for Jackson. Heard nothing but good feedback about this guitar. And yeah, i'm an Alexi fanboy. biggrin.gif
nkphnx
post May 12 2008, 03:24 AM

390 posts

Icic.. Dunno much about Jacksons anyway cos I'm Ibanez-boy... kekek tongue.gif

Anyways, good luck in your quest for tone and dream axe then.. smile.gif
Pix
post May 12 2008, 05:55 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

fatboythin,

ok, forgot my rough comments, this is already a high quality guitar !! but i'm really surprised they'd put an EMG HZ in a custom guitar of that price if it's not that good.. Hence, that should be a good pickup.

you can have a look at this also : http://209.85.135.104/search?q=cache:u8QbO...lient=firefox-a

you're gonna have fun with it man ! biggrin.gif
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 06:15 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, no worries Pix. I guess they wanted to model it after Alexi's old Jackson Custom. But since the J-50BC wasn't available anymore, they decided to use the pickups he uses now(pre-Blackouts), thats why the HZs.

And yeah, i've had a look at that thread before, thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by fatboythin: May 12 2008, 06:16 AM
blacktrix
post May 12 2008, 06:16 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

That is 100% Alexi's supposed custom guitar.
EMG-Hz with Gain Booster on an RR body with Pinstripes?
Only thing missing is the Scythe inlays.......

The Hz is actually fine....... If you listen to Bodom stuff, you know how heavy it can get with the proper amps and stuff like that. I HAD Hz in my Zakk Wylde LP, but swapped them for the 81/85...... I just needed that "oomph" and of course, Gila Zakk Wylde fanatic.
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 06:18 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, yeah, but the amps COB use are more than what I or most other people can afford. Just hope it doesn't sound too shitty through my Cube. It'll have to do until i can get my hands on a Randall RG50TC (if i ever manage to find one).
sean392
post May 12 2008, 08:37 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

try lurking around ishibashi u_box
you might get lucky with RR V's for a much better price

but if you want new then i can't sway you =p

tone wise i think there has been plenty said, dun think there's much i can add

noxxing
post May 12 2008, 11:13 AM

114 posts

oh my god!...get it get it!..it's the alexi jackson!..get it!!!!!....sell an arm if you have to!
TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 11:30 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(noxxing @ May 12 2008, 11:13 AM)
oh my god!...get it get it!..it's the alexi jackson!..get it!!!!!....sell an arm if you have to!
I'm hoping i won't have to resort to that, haha.
blacktrix
post May 12 2008, 12:06 PM

13,063 posts

For that price, I'm sure it blows the LTD version of Alexi's guitar......
enteryourusername
post May 12 2008, 01:43 PM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

how r u gonna play tat guitar if u sold ur arm? hmm.gif
SweetTooth
post May 12 2008, 05:29 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(fatboythin @ May 12 2008, 06:15 AM)
Haha, no worries Pix. I guess they wanted to model it after Alexi's old Jackson Custom. But since the J-50BC wasn't available anymore, they decided to use the pickups he uses now(pre-Blackouts), thats why the HZs.

And yeah, i've had a look at that thread before, thanks. smile.gif
QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 12 2008, 06:16 AM)
That is 100% Alexi's supposed custom guitar.
EMG-Hz with Gain Booster on an RR body with Pinstripes?
Only thing missing is the Scythe inlays.......

The Hz is actually fine....... If you listen to Bodom stuff, you know how heavy it can get with the proper amps and stuff like that. I HAD Hz in my Zakk Wylde LP, but swapped them for the 81/85...... I just needed that "oomph" and of course, Gila Zakk Wylde fanatic.
iirc, alexi never used a hz in his guitar, he swapped them out for an EMG81 after he got it

if you sell your arm to get the guitar, how are you gonna play it LOL laugh.gif

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: May 12 2008, 05:30 PM
blacktrix
post May 12 2008, 07:39 PM

13,063 posts

Alexi always used a Hz because he hated changing batteries..... I read an interview with him somewhere...... that is until he tried the Blackouts......

So yeah, if you want an Alexi guitar, you gotta get Blackouts.

TSfatboythin
post May 12 2008, 09:40 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Yeah, he used HZs when he switched to ESP before changing to Blackouts. But with Jackson, he used the Jackson J-50BC pickups, a real rarity nowadays.
sean392
post May 12 2008, 11:00 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

i had a j95 in my jackson awhile back

all i can say, its really made for metal

riffing is crazily heavy sounding, tight and bassy

leads not so good, it gets a bit muddy and the harmonics a little poorer than the JB

still getting used to .09s tho, i find them too light =/
floating bridge guitars quite a b**ch to handle
can't take too high string gauge la... change string takes awhile, change tuning oso cumbersome =/

I wonder how the j50 would sound like =p
Pix
post May 13 2008, 02:53 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

well, even if you got to change the pickup after buying it, that's not too expensive : there's just one pickup to change ! biggrin.gif

that's really an "extreme" guitar, that will work only in metal tones, or so it seems. you must really know what you want before getting such a guitar.
TSfatboythin
post May 13 2008, 09:40 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, yeah i know Pix. I just want a solid metal axe, thats why i'm getting that. Don't think i'll feel like playing the blues or funk when i'm holding that in my hands. tongue.gif
Pix
post May 13 2008, 02:01 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

your neighbours might feel kind of bluesy when you're holding that axe in your hands smile.gif
TSfatboythin
post May 13 2008, 03:00 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Haha, got to start soundproofing my room then i guess.
blacktrix
post May 13 2008, 03:03 PM

13,063 posts

I actually play Santana stuff on my RR3.....
The RR is actually very versatile.
But in your case, yes..... it's a shredding machine.

This post has been edited by blacktrix: May 13 2008, 03:14 PM
blacktrix
post May 13 2008, 03:15 PM

13,063 posts

But here's an example...

I recorded this using my RR3 and a Line6 UX2 with an Orange Amp setting and a little reverb.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Big_Big_Big.mp3 ( 2.39mb ) Number of downloads: 36
TSfatboythin
post May 13 2008, 03:37 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Not bad, wouldt have guessed it was a RR3 based on the recording. But yea, the JB/Jazz combo on your RR3 is quite versatile. Cant say the same about EMGs though. And my stock RG pickups give out quite a nice blues tone too, surprisingly.
Namqul
post May 13 2008, 03:56 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 13 2008, 03:15 PM)
But here's an example...

I recorded this using my RR3 and a Line6 UX2 with an Orange Amp setting and a little reverb.
i was about to ask on that actually. u posted it on recording thread before, the one u recorded when balik kampung rite? haha. sorry off topic a bit but may i know how do you produce the drums on that? if its a long explanation then maybe we should discuss on that thread instead.
nkphnx
post May 13 2008, 04:07 PM

390 posts

And my stock RG pickups give out quite a nice blues tone too, surprisingly.

I second that. Stock pickups sound good too through the right amps. I believe that 90% of the tone comes from the stuff you play thru and rarely the pickups. I can even get PG tones from my Powersounds thru NI guitar rig...makes me wanna diss my multifx already sad.gif hahah

So, TS don't worry much on the pickups.. wink.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Improv.mp3 ( 1.77mb ) Number of downloads: 25
TSfatboythin
post May 13 2008, 04:53 PM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

^ Really nice tone you got there dude.

Btw, we're ALL going way off topic. Maybe i should rename this thread to "Pickups and Recordings 101" or something along that line. tongue.gif
nkphnx
post May 13 2008, 05:10 PM

390 posts

Thanx dude. And if you have Guitar Rig 3, I can send you the patch. Sharing is caring tongue.gif

Ok, back to topic.. I guess you already have a rough idea on what you want based on the comments so far.. happy shredding smile.gif
shazzmania
post May 14 2008, 04:21 AM

RR3
675 posts

oi fatboythin nao getting jackson stars la pulak doh.gif
what happen to the RR24?? or is it the same model?? laugh.gif sweat.gif
QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 13 2008, 03:03 PM)
I actually play Santana stuff on my RR3.....
The RR is actually very versatile.
But in your case, yes..... it's a shredding machine.
so what did u do to ur RR3? any upgrading or such?
thinking of getting it since havin tight budget n still learning tongue.gif
me n fatty already tested d guitar n i think im kind of like it
TSfatboythin
post May 14 2008, 04:57 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

QUOTE(shazzmania @ May 14 2008, 04:21 AM)
oi fatboythin nao getting jackson stars la pulak doh.gif
what happen to the RR24?? or is it the same model?? laugh.gif sweat.gif
Haha, hard to explain here dude. I'll explain when i get back to uni. biggrin.gif
valkyrie1232
post May 15 2008, 08:11 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(nkphnx @ May 13 2008, 04:07 PM)
I second that. Stock pickups sound good too through the right amps. I believe that 90% of the tone comes from the stuff you play thru and rarely the pickups. I can even get PG tones from my Powersounds thru NI guitar rig...makes me wanna diss my multifx already sad.gif hahah

So, TS don't worry much on the pickups.. wink.gif
I second fatboythin, very nice hi-fi tone and your playing is pretty good!
evalshtog
post Aug 7 2008, 08:09 PM

209 posts

This post has been edited by evalshtog: Aug 7 2008, 08:09 PM

0.0317sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:10 PM