Condo / Apartment, where is a nice location now?

yewkhuay
post May 12 2008, 05:37 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

is tht the one tht u r renting out at 2.2k/m?
Pai
post May 12 2008, 05:44 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

@yewkhuay,

Yup smile.gif

Prior to this experience, would never imagine that studio's can be such a good investment. Hence why recently bought another one and now am a big fan of studio's.
yewkhuay
post May 12 2008, 10:11 PM

6,657 posts

wat do u think about studio unit at regalia, jalan sultan ismail then ? 300K up
Pai
post May 13 2008, 12:25 AM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 12 2008, 10:11 PM)
wat do u think about studio unit at regalia, jalan sultan ismail then ? 300K up
Personally think any new studio that is less than 200k today are undervalued.

Wont pay anything more than 200k for a studio in KL unless it as KLCC address.
yewkhuay
post May 13 2008, 12:30 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ May 13 2008, 12:25 AM)

2 corners away from KLCC, less than 3km from KLCC. 300K for a 500sf unit.
Darkmage12
post May 13 2008, 12:34 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ May 13 2008, 12:25 AM)

so anything below 200k is a good buy?
Pai
post May 13 2008, 12:43 AM

3,318 posts

@yewkhuay,

KLCC address IMO is any place that is less than 10min walk to KLCC. This Regalia is 3 Km away, so not entirely convinced it would be a hit, especially with a lot more negative factor going against it.

@darkmage,

I'd say anything below 200k and with at least 9% gross yield is a good buy smile.gif
feyhime
post May 13 2008, 10:27 AM

257 posts

There are some studio units nearby Maluri area (behind that Puteri Islam building), if I am not mistaken it was sold around 165K.
Pai
post May 13 2008, 09:08 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(feyhime @ May 13 2008, 10:27 AM)
There are some studio units nearby Maluri area (behind that Puteri Islam building), if I am not mistaken it was sold around 165K.
In CHeras? hmm.gif
TSPennywise
post May 15 2008, 11:01 AM

5,796 posts

I wish to thank you all for rpelying. I am sorry I have been busy and didnt have the time to login here to check my thread. I appreciate all the knowledge and experience you have shared with me. Below are my replies:

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ May 12 2008, 02:17 AM)
Check out the Damansara Perdana thread. 

It's quite a nice area.
Woww,... I've seen the thread, it's so longggg!!!

QUOTE(hanif444 @ May 12 2008, 09:12 AM)
Puchong..Asean Puteri-bandar puteri...Luxury condo with 2 car park free...but mainteince Rm3++
Maintenance too high ler. The one behind Summit USJ is 320k with 3 carpark. Give up a carpark and save RM10k. I think the maintenance only less than RM200.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 12 2008, 09:40 AM)
@Pennywise,
Condo maintenance is calculated based on the square feet so take whatever figure (15-25 cents) and multiply it by the built-up of ur unit and voila, U get the rough estimate of ur monthly maintenance fees.

Also, U do realise it's going to cost u a lot more to have 2 homes?
tinkerbel,
Thank you for teaching me what i meant by 15 - 25 cents, etc. Appreciated. Yes, I am aware of the cost and commitment is not short-term. That's why I have to think carefully on this and if invested, should be of good location and someday if wanna sell, would not be difficult.

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ May 12 2008, 12:46 PM)
PJ has some decent condos available at 180-250k along LDP highway, perhaps you can check out kelana jaya area with condos booming in that area. a bit bad on traffic though if you ask me. high density too. if you're looking at those low-rise condos, i think they're a bit out of your budget, some of the cheapest in PJ area cost at least 300k.

bkt jalil will have some decent ones too, and are within your budget as well. there are some condos/apts further in from the one that you mentioned, the one near IMU (vista komanwel if i guessed correctly the one you're referring to).

an easy explanation for the maintenance fee. it's counted per sq feet. say your maintenance fee is RM0.20, and your unit is 1000sq feet, your monthly maintenance fee would be 0.20 x 1000 = RM200.00. hope it helps.

your 2k max is inclusive of all these maintenance, utilities fee or exclusive? i'm assuming inclusive, since your monthly installment for your budgeted property wouldn't be that high. but if you can afford to pay 2k a month, i think you can look at condos around 300k as well, which in a way, should promise lesser units and lower density in population.
Wowww.w... longest post and very informative. Yes, I dont like high density areas. Anggap I anti-social! Hahaha... KJ is jammed up on LDP and I dont quote like the area. Bkt Jalil is worth looking into as its quite near to the city > OUG > Federal > Pusat Bandaraya. I like it too.

RM2k or less (around RM1.5k) is inclusive of maintenance but not bills. I dont think our bills will be very high if we only live there a on weekends or on the days we're too tired to drive back home.

QUOTE(Pai @ May 12 2008, 01:34 PM)
Check out Casa Suites studio's in Damansara Intan, completed and I beleive still got developer's unit, circa 200k+

Also worth checking out is Pelangi Damansara Sentral at KotaD, a studio cost less than 170k. However, wont be ready for at anytime before 2010.

Reason why I suggested studio's -> Faily easy to mantain, and has a fair record in terms both rental and capital gains.
Hi Pai,
You sound like a pro at this... Sorry, I'm new to these terms but what's a studio? (*please dont fall off your chair) By the way, where is D'sara Intan?

QUOTE(Pai @ May 12 2008, 02:17 PM)
Depends on one's perspective. Your r right to point out that there's much, much bigger pool market for 3 bedrooms condo. However, bare in mind that there's much, much, much bigger supply for 3 bedrooms condo as well.

In fact, its easier to dispose studio's due to the following reason :

1. Cheaper entry cost as its smaller comparatively to a 3bedroom unit. Plus TS wanted to use it for their weekend getaway or rent it out, so I think studio fits the bill.

2. Higher rental yield. Using Amcorp and Casa Mutiara as an example, a studio unit (cost 160k) can be rented out for up to 2k, but the 2 bedroom (cost 310k) current rental rate is at 2.8k. Capital gains for studios has generally outperform the 2b or 3b within the same development.

3. Lastly, high rental demand but limited supply. U wont believe how fast I cant rent out my studio's and the returns im getting.
Woww... this sounds very convincing. Anyway, I wont post anything unless I know what's a studio. Lol... sorry!

tinkerbel
post May 15 2008, 12:10 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Pennywise,
Studio units are basically units where well, everything's open [think of it as an open box]; no rooms.

--Added--
I also picked up this definition from somewhere on the net:

"These all tend to be the smallest apartments with the cheapest rents in a given area. These kinds of apartment usually consist mainly of a large room which is the living, dining, and bedroom combined. There are usually kitchen facilities as part of this central room, but the bathroom is its own smaller separate room."

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 15 2008, 12:12 PM
TSPennywise
post May 15 2008, 01:37 PM

5,796 posts

Ok, cool.. studio units are like those shown in the american movies!! We had wanted something like that. Actually, I have wanted something like that on my own but I thought these arent available in M'sia.

Where can I find some of these? If two people and not for family staying, I think studio unit suits me as well but I need to see the real thing and discuss this with my partner.
tinkerbel
post May 15 2008, 02:15 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Pennywise,
Yes it's available; it's just smaller than the rest - well, U need to check with Pai as he's the Studio Expert here tongue.gif
Vironia
post May 15 2008, 03:10 PM

23 posts

I'm looking for a studio unit to rent actually. Location should be anywhere with easy access to KL (thru Jln Kuching/Duta or Federal Highway). Budget RM500-800. Anyone knows of a place? smile.gif

I don't think the net definition of studio is really accurate where Klang Valley is concerned haha... I've been hunting for studio units to rent and I'd say it's most value to rent the whole house (if you calculate cost/sqft)! Like Ritze Perdana studio units going for RM750-RM900 on average but it's like only 400sqft! I guess this is why Pai says it's higher rental yield. tongue.gif
feyhime
post May 15 2008, 05:14 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ May 13 2008, 09:08 PM)
In CHeras?  hmm.gif
Yeap Maluri heading towards Cheras. The units are behind the big green dome-ly structured building (Puteri Islam), it's near the LRT stations and about 10 mins walk from Jusco Maluri
rollinpark
post May 15 2008, 11:12 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(feyhime @ May 15 2008, 05:14 PM)
Yeap Maluri heading towards Cheras. The units are behind the big green dome-ly structured building (Puteri Islam), it's near the LRT stations and about 10 mins walk from Jusco Maluri
Whats the name of the apartment? Is it posted on newspaper classifieds.
feyhime
post May 16 2008, 08:46 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(rollinpark @ May 15 2008, 11:12 PM)
Whats the name of the apartment? Is it posted on newspaper classifieds.
Pertama Residency
http://www.smland.com.my/

http://www.iproperty.com.my/reviews/pertama/coverpage.asp
http://www.iproperty.com.my/property/development.asp?pid=867

Looks like the price has increase...
aiskacang
post May 17 2008, 08:55 AM

17 posts

I bought my new apartment in Kinrara Mas. I like the model, and location, and it is affordable (1231sf about RM 224k+2 carparks). Maybe u guys should try visit their show unit if u wanna make survey.

rollinpark
post May 18 2008, 01:29 AM

134 posts

Saw on Star metro today, alam puri at Jalan Ipoh. Any comments?
keili
post Jul 20 2008, 12:13 AM

Vista Komanwel B2 Room for Rent, Available from august, 2008!
Master room with attached bathroom complete with heater.
Sharing- RM 335 per person (female roommate preferred!)
*all rental excluding utility bills

there's a fridge, washing machine, air conditioning, kitchen cabinets.. (partially furnished)

URGENT URGENT!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0154sec    1.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:41 AM