Do mosquitoes hunt you?, Or hunted by you?
TSnicKit
May 10 2008, 03:12 PM, updated 17y ago
do you ever been bitten by mosquito while being in a small group of ppl (abt 3-4 ppl)? n being the only one bitten? the mosquitoes seem to have falling in love wif my blood... almost everytime, they will bite me "with love" even when there is other "delicious" ppl... why why why? is this a health risk? or i'm just prone to mosquito bites? facts that i know : 1. sometimes my bf say my body temperature is slightly hotter *mayb coz hotter i often get breakout? 2. their fave parts are the legs n arms *ugly legs n arms  *, sometimes feet n fingers, rarely the "tapak kaki" n once "kiss" on my lips 3. even when i'm sick, they still love me to bits 4. i love to take tonics 5. my blood type is b 6. i couldn't kill them wif my hands coz i nv could be fast or focus enuf to follow them anyone can try to explain to me?  n to those who reply, pls mention oso ur blood type n if mosquito loves u or u smack them flat... This post has been edited by nicKit: Feb 4 2009, 09:38 PM
TSnicKit
May 11 2008, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(cherylwong @ May 11 2008, 01:00 AM) i have the exact same problem too. my blood group is B positive. my legs and arms are ugly. i tried learning how to control my hands by not scratching them but still, i failed. unless i am eyeing that mosquito till it bits me, or else i will never succeed in bringing them to heaven. LOL. exactly... well, i guess most B type is a good magnet for mosquitoes... even after shower, they love me too... i guess whether u smell like perfume or rubbish, they love ur blood more... for B ppl, does ur body temperature is a bit higher than others?
TSnicKit
May 11 2008, 08:31 PM
thanks to sangrenab... QUOTE Who Mosquitoes Like Best
While researchers have yet to pinpoint what mosquitoes consider an ideal hunk of human flesh, the hunt is on. "There's a tremendous amount of research being conducted on what compounds and odors people exude that might be attractive to mosquitoes," says Joe Conlon, PhD, technical advisor to the American Mosquito Control Association. With 400 different compounds to examine, it's an extremely laborious process. "Researchers are just beginning to scratch the surface," he says.
Scientists do know that genetics account for a whopping 85% of our susceptibility to mosquito bites. They've also identified certain elements of our body chemistry that, when found in excess on the skin's surface, make mosquitoes swarm closer.
"People with high concentrations of steroids or cholesterol on their skin surface attract mosquitoes," Butler tells WebMD. That doesn't necessarily mean that mosquitoes prey on people with higher overall levels of cholesterol, Butler explains. These people simply may be more efficient at processing cholesterol, the byproducts of which remain on the skin's surface.
Mosquitoes also target people who produce excess amounts of certain acids, such as uric acid, explains entomologist John Edman, PhD, spokesman for the Entomological Society of America. These substances can trigger mosquitoes' sense of smell, luring them to land on unsuspecting victims.
But the process of attraction begins long before the landing. Mosquitoes can smell their dinner from an impressive distance of up to 50 meters, explains Edman. This doesn't bode well for people who emit large quantities of carbon dioxide.
"Any type of carbon dioxide is attractive, even over a long distance," Conlon says. Larger people tend to give off more carbon dioxide, which is why mosquitoes typically prefer munching on adults to small children. Pregnant women are also at increased risk, as they produce a greater-than-normal amount of exhaled carbon dioxide. Movement and heat also attract mosquitoes.
So if you want to avoid an onslaught of mosquito bites at your next outdoor gathering, stake out a chaise lounge rather than a spot on the volleyball team. Here's why. As you run around the volleyball court, the mosquitoes sense your movement and head toward you. When you pant from exertion, the smell of carbon dioxide from your heavy breathing draws them closer. So does the lactic acid pouring from your sweat glands. And then -- gotcha.  btw... can anyone explain in short...?
TSnicKit
May 12 2008, 03:35 PM
i have no idea... that's y i need someone else to explain...
TSnicKit
May 13 2008, 03:02 PM
ya... toking abt the hot weather, my record was 5 "hotspot" in a day just recently... dear mosquitoes, u really love B type ar?
TSnicKit
May 17 2008, 02:35 PM
so higher cholesterol the higher ur chance of becoming the main course?
TSnicKit
May 18 2008, 08:59 PM
i oso wonder... if i will get infected with HIV if i kill the mosquitoes with fresh blood...
now can i conclude safely like aiobhealfae said?
mosquitoes love : 1. B+ blood 2. cholesterol
TSnicKit
May 19 2008, 08:21 PM
2 A+ girls so far... the rest is B+... so now it's down to cholesterol level...
TSnicKit
May 21 2008, 03:57 PM
 my cholesterol level isn't that high... still within average level (i go for medical check ups)... but some around me are fat... then the mosquitoes should have loved them more than me... but still, i'm their fave... any more theories? This post has been edited by nicKit: May 21 2008, 03:58 PM
TSnicKit
May 22 2008, 02:56 PM
2 A+, 1 AB and the rest is B+... no conclusion...
TSnicKit
May 28 2008, 02:58 PM
i'm a failure in catching them... even after their feast...
TSnicKit
May 31 2008, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(mono_demon @ May 30 2008, 05:42 PM) im also o.. i dont think mosquito hunt based on our blood type.. from personal experience, i would say: 1) Body heat 2) Body odor 3) Ur skin (or shirt) color skin color? that's something new...
TSnicKit
Jun 4 2008, 03:00 PM
*hug hug* i guess the mosquitoes like variety... or mayb they're like humans too... different places different feeding ground?
TSnicKit
Feb 3 2009, 05:59 PM
another question... do u guys who r prone to mosquitoe bites have breakout problems?