Help, is this a scam?, Mother's day gift scam

TSinternet
post May 10 2008, 02:32 PM, updated 18y ago

70 posts

so I just got out from shopping complex at PKNS Bangi. I got to my car, then this guy came to me. He is a chinese wearing neat attire, in shirts and long pants. He gave me this pamphlet saying it is a discount voucher that can be redeem in any shopping outlet.

It is sealed, and you have to open it to see how much discount you can get. Discount can be 50%, 70% based on the color inside the pamphlet. It can also just be a 'Thank You' text as he showed me one that was opened earlier by someone else.

The pamphlet is yellow color with picture of 2 old couple with the text 'Mother's and Father's day' .. or something similar. The guy claimed this is a promo stunt by Genki to promote its product, and it is giving away discounts during Mother's day.

So I just opened it and there was a sticker inside. I opened the sticker and it showed Silver colour. The guy act surprise like its the first time ever happened to him. Then he exclaimed this is a very special colour. I will be eligible to win special gift which can amount to RM4000 or I can even win a car!

Then he said I would need to do some acting for commercial where I won the product and say 'Genki Bagus', or something. I would need to stick some stickers to my car. And he goes on and on how he will need to inform his supervisor to come over and explain things to me.

I just got bored and think the whole thing seemed like a gimmick to scam. The pamphlet doesn't have any detail about shopping discount or any mention of what prize you can win. Smell too much like a scam, and I just say no and left.

So guys, do you think this is a scam? Anyone ever experience anything like this?
SUSedwardstevens
post May 10 2008, 02:34 PM

366 posts

well, if you have genki phone number, you can call them. that would be the sanest choice
omara86
post May 10 2008, 02:36 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

same old style... i think those scammer shud think of other method...
bulkbiz
post May 10 2008, 02:37 PM

Be Wise
1,203 posts

QUOTE(internet @ May 10 2008, 02:32 PM)
so I just got out from shopping complex at PKNS Bangi. I got to my car, then this guy came to me. He is a chinese wearing neat attire, in shirts and long pants. He gave me this pamphlet saying it is a discount voucher that can be redeem in any shopping outlet.

It is sealed, and you have to open it to see how much discount you can get. Discount can be 50%, 70% based on the color inside the pamphlet. It can also just be a 'Thank You' text as he showed me one that was opened earlier by someone else.

The pamphlet is yellow color with picture of 2 old couple with the text 'Mother's and Father's day' .. or something similar. The guy claimed this is a promo stunt by Genki to promote its product, and it is giving away discounts during Mother's day.

So I just opened it and there was a sticker inside. I opened the sticker and it showed Silver colour. The guy act surprise like its the first time ever happened to him. Then he exclaimed this is a very special colour. I will be eligible to win special gift which can amount to RM4000 or I can even win a car!

Then he said I would need to do some acting for commercial where I won the product and say 'Genki Bagus', or something. I would need to stick some stickers to my car. And he goes on and on how he will need to inform his supervisor to come over and explain things to me.

I just got bored and think the whole thing seemed like a gimmick to scam. The pamphlet doesn't have any detail about shopping discount or any mention of what prize you can win. Smell too much like a scam, and I just say no and left.

So guys, do you think this is a scam? Anyone ever experience anything like this?
Sri Petaling also got, along the road next to "the store"...the guy approach me i say "NO" thank you!! It is another "kua kua le"

ckseong80
post May 10 2008, 02:37 PM

368 posts

SCAM!! No point pondering about it.
jonglik
post May 10 2008, 02:41 PM

LYN Platinum Member
1,299 posts

ask them pay u cash directly.. then cabut
firedauz
post May 10 2008, 02:42 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 10 2008, 02:36 PM)
Yup, seen these style waaay too many times.

- revealed the hidden answer to the coupon
- the salesman goes too excited and saying that is the big win
- to get the prize, u need to (1) pay them, (2) do some gimmick for their own purposes, (3) etc.
vey99
post May 10 2008, 02:43 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Genki Bagus!!!

beelzebob13
post May 10 2008, 02:46 PM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

parking lot marketing is so so the wonderful...i won 2 BMWs myself...all yesterday for Motha AND believe it or not FATHA Day special...
Exhilaration
post May 10 2008, 03:40 PM

177 posts

if they ask u pay for anything first then dont.
whoopa
post May 10 2008, 03:45 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

i did the commercial b4 ... genki bagus ... i got a new car ... persona ... anytime soon the car will come smile.gif
themanwithnoname
post May 10 2008, 03:50 PM

╭∩╮(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮
1,099 posts

genkui baguih.
can i get my car nao?
SUSnotanon
post May 10 2008, 03:52 PM

33 posts

it takes more than that to scam the internet
wayne322
post May 10 2008, 04:30 PM

Mein Herz Brennt
635 posts

QUOTE(omara86 @ May 10 2008, 02:36 PM)
How the scam's method they wont mind,as long as the feller get cheated,this is wat they wan.
vey99
post May 10 2008, 04:34 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ May 10 2008, 03:45 PM)
i did the commercial b4 ... genki bagus ... i got a new car ... persona ... anytime soon the car will come smile.gif
u got cps no need persona la
joe_mamak
post May 10 2008, 05:05 PM

363 posts

This scam has been around for a long while.

TSinternet
post May 10 2008, 05:41 PM

70 posts

yeah, I do hope no legit business will use this kind of marketing technic. Going around and promoting around car parks is just unprofessional.
I was looking through my rear view mirror each time while the guy was explaining the discount thing to me. I thought maybe he got some friend doing shit to my car at the back or something.

There are cases of legit product being sell using this method. The product is is not really too bad, but the way they sell it is unethical. One time a relative of mine was approach by this sales guy. And they were handing doing some kind of lucky draw. As it turned out, my relative got first prize or something. Later on it turned out still need to pay but in discounted price coz they got the lucky draw discount. Legit product but unethical selling technique.
Polaris
post May 10 2008, 06:41 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Give me your bank number and you win 9999 millions from Nigeria account of a dead prince.
rattan
post May 11 2008, 05:04 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Congrats : You just won RM.14000 from XxxxXX, please reply the sms to claim your price.

0.0197sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:12 AM