begginers guide to buying elec guitar..., urmm what should i buy? need help..LOL

TSsada89
post May 8 2008, 11:19 PM, updated 18y ago

Hey... rclxms.gif

ok lets get to the point:-

me=electic guitar noob... i dont know anything at all.....

BUT I KNOW that i like the guitar solo in the lyrnrd skyrd 'Freebird' song as it is the most awsometastic thing i have ever heard...

SO... i want to play elec guitar (been thinking about it for over 6 months)

BUT... like ther r so many kinds out there, like 7 string/ 6 strings... and the lot....so which one do i use to sound like (or at least have semblance of the same tone) as lynrd skynrd, rhcp, rolling stones... i mean not the same kinda quality of tone but just well u know.... cuz im sure their guitar costs loads...

AND... I wanna get it thru ebay, cuz its easier like cuz im studying in melbourne and all the guitars like blardy mahal man! ebay has some really cheap ones....

ALSO!... what are the things that i really need... like amps? and stuff... whats the paling minimal la...hahaha

ps: it would be great fo u too include like other things that i havent asked cuz in reality, i have no idea what to ask concerning this... ouh and how much is a reasonable amount to spend?

blacktrix
post May 8 2008, 11:27 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Epiphone Les Paul Standard + Vox Da15VT, Get a Decent cables, a digital tuner, guitar strap, picks and at least 2 sets of strings (One for the guitar, one as a spare...... best guitar gauge would be .46-.10 for beginners.... a guitar shops should know what you're talking about. good brands so far are GHS, Dunlop, D'addario or Ernie Ball).

That would set you back for around RM2600 back here (Looking at roughly RM1600 for the Guitar, RM900 for the Amp, and extra RM100 for the rest of the accessories) BEFORE discount.

That would get you quite close to Skynard's sound.

SUSnotanon
post May 8 2008, 11:42 PM

33 posts

err shes my friend, and yes, she's serious about learning btw, and was looking at these guitars:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Electric-Guitar-Loc...1QQcmdZViewItem

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/25275-MONTEREY-STAG...1QQcmdZViewItem

so yeah... budget constraints y'know... tongue.gif
quarantined
post May 8 2008, 11:53 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

...i was thinking to recommend you a mahogany bodied guitar with p90s.. they sound fabulous with the music you listed, but seeing your budget... get an SX or Samick here!! tongue.gif
SUSnotanon
post May 9 2008, 12:01 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 8 2008, 11:53 PM)
...i was thinking to recommend you a mahogany bodied guitar with p90s.. they sound fabulous with the music you listed, but seeing your budget... get an SX or Samick here!! tongue.gif
here as in australia or malaysia? XD
quarantined
post May 9 2008, 12:06 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Malaysia.. I don't know if the land down under has them or not. smile.gif

Either that or try looking for cheaper axe in the second hand shops there, or try import from Japan...

This post has been edited by quarantined: May 9 2008, 12:07 AM
Everdying
post May 9 2008, 12:09 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

whats the budget?
cos woh fatt has the epiphone version of this for around RM1.6k, set neck and all.

if it was the junior with a single p-90 i would've grabbed it already tongue.gif
SweetTooth
post May 9 2008, 12:14 AM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 8 2008, 11:27 PM)
Epiphone Les Paul Standard + Vox Da15VT, Get a Decent cables, a digital tuner, guitar strap, picks and at least 2 sets of strings (One for the guitar, one as a spare...... best guitar gauge would be .46-.10 for beginners.... a guitar shops should know what you're talking about. good brands so far are GHS, Dunlop, D'addario or Ernie Ball).

That would set you back for around RM2600 back here (Looking at roughly RM1600 for the Guitar, RM900 for the Amp, and extra RM100 for the rest of the accessories) BEFORE discount.

That would get you quite close to Skynard's sound.
i think 9-42 would be better for beginners. easier to bend smile.gif
SUSnotanon
post May 9 2008, 12:40 AM

33 posts

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Fender-Squier-Elect...1QQcmdZViewItem

have a look at this, keep in mind, tis for a beginner XD
fatboythin
post May 9 2008, 12:53 AM

LYN Insomniac
816 posts

Nah, don't get the Squire, not worth it. Best you go for an Epi LP Standard, or Custom if you have the budget. As for amps, the Vox Valvetronic series would be a great place to start at.
o.d
post May 9 2008, 01:05 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 8 2008, 11:53 PM)
hey, i'm also the same boat as her. i surveyed sx at woh fatt. it costs RM580. but my friend said not worth it for the amp. so anybody know if i get the sx guitar only, how much is the cost. and how much should i spend more on the amp? thanks! icon_question.gif
quarantined
post May 9 2008, 01:21 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

I know a typical SX strat or Tele are retailed at RM480 (or did they hike up the price?). They're pretty good for the money, I know coz I have one. For amps if you like to have a variety of tones get the Microcube at Rm380 at Bentley.

If you want something that is gig worthy, save up more to >Rm2k, and you'll have a much greater choice to pick from! biggrin.gif
o.d
post May 9 2008, 01:28 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 9 2008, 01:21 AM)
I know a typical SX strat or Tele are retailed at RM480 (or did they hike up the price?). They're pretty good for the money, I know coz I have one. For amps if you like to have a variety of tones get the Microcube at Rm380 at Bentley.

If you want something that is gig worthy, save up more to >Rm2k, and you'll have a much greater choice to pick from! biggrin.gif
thanks quarantined rclxms.gif
quarantined
post May 9 2008, 01:40 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Not a problem.. I was getting the SX Telecaster because I wanted a cheap Tele copy with a maple fretboard that sounds like a Tele (confusing??). That time I had a Squire California Tele that may looks like a Tele, but sound doh.gif it's entirely different. So I sell that and get the SX instead. If you wanted a cheap strat I think the Samick Malibu might be a better choice quality wise. Better test them all.

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 9 2008, 12:09 AM)
whats the budget?
cos woh fatt has the epiphone version of this for around RM1.6k, set neck and all.

if it was the junior with a single p-90 i would've grabbed it already tongue.gif
Now that you mentioned it what are they actually called? Since their Gibby counterpart are called the LP Special but Epi Special actually comes with humbuckers... doh.gif Haven't seen many of these online also.
Everdying
post May 9 2008, 03:15 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ May 9 2008, 01:40 AM)
Now that you mentioned it what are they actually called? Since their Gibby counterpart are called the LP Special but Epi Special actually comes with humbuckers... doh.gif Haven't seen many of these online also.
LP special double cutaway.
Bigblock
post May 9 2008, 07:24 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

@ blacktrix,Everdying

Is it Vox Da15VT or Vox AD15VT juzz unsure could nt find it...
Solid state ryte? hope for some guidance thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

Planning on getting my elec guitar in a few months i hope... haven played an elec guitar before was thinking between a les paul std and an ibanez S470...
i love neil zaza wub.gif

This post has been edited by Bigblock: May 9 2008, 07:28 AM
SweetTooth
post May 9 2008, 04:04 PM

2,650 posts

^
ad15vt, not the da5

Added on May 9, 2008, 4:05 pm^
ad15vt, not the da5

This post has been edited by SweetTooth: May 9 2008, 04:05 PM
Mr. Z
post May 9 2008, 04:44 PM

601 posts

I think the main thing about this is whether she is going after a humbucker tone or a single coil tone.. U are looking at 2 different guitar through your example.

Tell us the genre of songs you would like to play, budget etc.. these to help the rest of us guide your purchase, otherwise, options from 500 up to 2k will pop up and in the end of the day, we still cant solve your problem.
blacktrix
post May 9 2008, 04:57 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Well, if you want a cheaper amp, the best bang for buck is still the Roland Microcube, going for RM450 here.
SUSbman
post May 9 2008, 05:30 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ May 9 2008, 04:57 PM)
Well, if you want a cheaper amp, the best bang for buck is still the Roland Microcube, going for RM450 here.
Wah lao naik harga already kah ?

Btw, where to get VOX amps in JB ? I lazy go all the way KL.

Or any KL stores do shipping ah ?

Probably not worth it, weight will cost a bomb in shipping.

Anyway, for beginners, best start out at 9s like someone said.. coz most stock guitars probably are setup for that.

9s are nice to fret down fast too.

If really wanna train strength get a kapok under 100 ringgit as well.

There's a way to go really cheaper.

Zoom G1 + cheap sx guitar, kaotim.

G1 unit all tuner/effects/amp modeler built in, only need a cheap earphone or a speaker output, kao tim.

Maybe you can get a cheap 15 ringgit adapter that can change polarity/voltage as well.

0.0167sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:30 AM