Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia
fikrie
May 23 2008, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 23 2008, 12:45 AM) Yes. It is good. The difference is that if you are using MBB AMEX credit card, you can earn 2x Treatpoints for every RM1 spent. For AMEX charge card issued by MBB, you won't earn Treatpoints but will be awarded "Membership Reward Points" instead. And you will have to pay an annual fee to enroll in American Express "Membership Reward Points" program or else there will be no point for you. Correct me if i'm wrong, doesnt AMEX charge interest the next day after u swipe the card..?? so, it keeps accumulating till the statement date.. m i rite?? dun hav any AMEX, but that was wat my frens told me..
hye
May 23 2008, 09:47 AM
White Tiger
QUOTE(fikrie @ May 23 2008, 09:08 AM) Correct me if i'm wrong, doesnt AMEX charge interest the next day after u swipe the card..?? so, it keeps accumulating till the statement date.. m i rite?? dun hav any AMEX, but that was wat my frens told me.. Nope ... you got your info all wrong.  There's 2 types of AMEX in Malaysia - credit card and debit card (both issued by MBB as they bought over AMEX operations sometime back) - Credit card version functions similar to a normal typical credit card. You won't be charged interest unless you don't pay in full when the billing cycle comes. - Charge ( edited) card version you need to pay in full. Else you'll be charged a penalty for it (I'm not sure about the interest on the unpaid balance) This post has been edited by hye: May 23 2008, 12:09 PM
shauyan
May 23 2008, 10:29 AM

Do anyone know about MBB AMEX Krisflyer? Actually i'm not interested in AMEX (i just cancelled my MBB AMEX 1 yr ago). But I'm interested in the free Bonus 5000 krisflyer point when first charge the card. Can I apply the card and cancel it before 1 yr (before I pay the second yr fee)?
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 10:29 AM
Fanaddict!
@zenquix, I just checked - there were no admin charges on the stuff I paid for when I was in HK. I used UOB & Citibank.
MilesAndMore
May 23 2008, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(fikrie @ May 23 2008, 09:08 AM) Correct me if i'm wrong, doesnt AMEX charge interest the next day after u swipe the card..?? so, it keeps accumulating till the statement date.. m i rite?? dun hav any AMEX, but that was wat my frens told me.. No. They do NOT charge you interest. AMEX presence here in Malaysia is not big, but overall they are the most used card and biggest in the world. Yes, bigger than VISA and Mastercard. Super famous in USA and Europe. QUOTE(hye @ May 23 2008, 09:47 AM) Nope ... you got your info all wrong.  There's 2 types of AMEX in Malaysia - credit card and debit card (both issued by MBB as they bought over AMEX operations sometime back) - Credit card version functions similar to a normal typical credit card. You won't be charged interest unless you don't pay in full when the billing cycle comes. - Debit card version you need to pay in full. Else you'll be charged a penalty for it (I'm not sure about the interest on the unpaid balance) Actually AMEX do offer 2 kinds of card. You got it right for credit card, but not the second one. They only offer credit card and charge card, not debit card.
hye
May 23 2008, 02:15 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 23 2008, 11:57 AM) Actually AMEX do offer 2 kinds of card. You got it right for credit card, but not the second one. They only offer credit card and charge card, not debit card. You are right about that ... my mistake. Corrected it already.
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 02:26 PM
Fanaddict!
Just an update - I called Citibank to ask about the RM0.54 Finance Charge and apparently it's because I was owing them $. Officer on the phone tells me my bill last month was supposed to be $3400 but I had only paid $3300 hence the RM0.54 charges.
I told her I didn't know my bill was $3400 as it reflected $3300 on my total bill hence I issued a cheque for $3300. She apologised and reversed the charges. I also asked for the Business Director's contact details but she was unable to furnish that to me, instead told me to fax to this correspondence number [of which I told her I didn't trust cause I've faxed it over previously and never received a reply].
Anyhow, got called for a lunch meeting so I haven't gotten down to writing the letter but seriously, now that I've vented it out here, I feel much better. Doesn't it seem too petty to be sending Citibank a letter just cause of the Gold card CL? *grins*
zenquix
May 23 2008, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 23 2008, 10:29 AM) @zenquix, I just checked - there were no admin charges on the stuff I paid for when I was in HK. I used UOB & Citibank. Could it have been not specifically stated in your statement and absorbed into the exchange rate? I know there is a court case in US over this... The numbers I quoted were extracted from their website. Perhaps they have a change in policy where they may or may not charge it? *shruggg*
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 04:55 PM
Fanaddict!
@zenquix, I actually forgot to ask the CitiPhone officer about this when I called them earlier *gulps* I've to call DA so will check with them but I think it was reported here there are no additional charges on DA. I'll get back when I've spoken with Citibank, UOB and DA  Added on May 23, 2008, 5:26 pm@zenquix, I just spoke with the banks and Ur right - there IS an additional surcharge which Mastercard / Visa charges over and above the exchange rate [that's basically the 'administrative charge' the banks charge to us]. QUOTE(zenquix @ May 22 2008, 10:12 PM) Not exactly. I've been researching this since i just got back from a trip. Mastercard and Visa charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate. The banks also choose to charge an additional administration charge on top of that Maybank: 0.5% (i think) CIMB/DA: None Hong Leong: 1% PBB: No Info Citibank: 1% --> verified by tinkerbelHSBC: 1% --> refer to comment belowEON: 2% --Added to List--UOB: NIL Standard Chartered: 1% In addition to ur list:- 1) HSBC will also charge a Misc fee; bank isn't able to provide details on what that is but according to CS whom I spoke with, there's a small misc fee Looks like I should stick with UOB! Oh.. DA CS pissed me off so I didn't bother to ask. @vin_ann, It'll be great if U could put this information on Post #1 for easy reference This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 23 2008, 05:34 PM
yewkhuay
May 23 2008, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 23 2008, 12:45 AM) But if i'm not mistaken, HSBC doesn't charge admin fee for their Premier Mastercard for overseas spending. It is one of the perks for being their Premier Banking customers. Yes. It is good. The difference is that if you are using MBB AMEX credit card, you can earn 2x Treatpoints for every RM1 spent. For AMEX charge card issued by MBB, you won't earn Treatpoints but will be awarded "Membership Reward Points" instead. And you will have to pay an annual fee to enroll in American Express "Membership Reward Points" program or else there will be no point for you. but does it take double the reward points to redeem same item under treatpoints?
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 05:54 PM
Fanaddict!
@MilesAndMore, I don't know if Premier Mastercard holders are waived the 1% cause when I called CS just now, I asked if the 1% is applicable to all cards and she said Yes. I'd forgot to ask her about the Premier Mastercard! Damn.. Now I need to get that verified again *gulps* Unless of course ur 100% sure This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 23 2008, 05:55 PM
TSvin_ann
May 23 2008, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 23 2008, 04:55 PM) @zenquix, I actually forgot to ask the CitiPhone officer about this when I called them earlier *gulps* I've to call DA so will check with them but I think it was reported here there are no additional charges on DA. I'll get back when I've spoken with Citibank, UOB and DA  Added on May 23, 2008, 5:26 pm@zenquix, I just spoke with the banks and Ur right - there IS an additional surcharge which Mastercard / Visa charges over and above the exchange rate [that's basically the 'administrative charge' the banks charge to us]. In addition to ur list:- 1) HSBC will also charge a Misc fee; bank isn't able to provide details on what that is but according to CS whom I spoke with, there's a small misc fee Looks like I should stick with UOB! Oh.. DA CS pissed me off so I didn't bother to ask. @vin_ann, It'll be great if U could put this information on Post #1 for easy reference  Updated. btw,additional info for DA, there is no additional charges on it, as early year this, around March i paid my ACCA subscriction fees in pound online and when i checked the online statement, the exchange rates used is just abit higher than the current rate by 0.02 like this. im very happy with it.
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 07:45 PM
Fanaddict!
@vin_ann, If U oredi got that information verified then just add it to the list but I think zenquix oredi listed DA in I just need MilesAndMore to verify on the HSBC Mastercard Premier so I know which cards I can use *grins*
cute_boboi
May 23 2008, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 23 2008, 05:52 PM) but does it take double the reward points to redeem same item under treatpoints? No. If you spend RM8k on MBB Visa to get 8k TP for a RM50 voucher, you only need to spend RM4k on MBB Amex credit card to get 8k TP for the same RM50 voucher.
MilesAndMore
May 23 2008, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 23 2008, 07:45 PM) I just need MilesAndMore to verify on the HSBC Mastercard Premier so I know which cards I can use *grins* No. I am not sure about that. It is just what i heard from somebody. It is better if you just walk up to their credit card centre in Kuala Lumpur (Petaling Street ??) to ask one of the staffs directly. Many HSBC employees keep claiming that this Premier Mastercard is a Platinum Mastercard which is so NOT true. Premier Mastercard is a World Mastercard, a level higher than platinum mastercard.
yewkhuay
May 23 2008, 09:37 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 23 2008, 08:21 PM) No. If you spend RM8k on MBB Visa to get 8k TP for a RM50 voucher, you only need to spend RM4k on MBB Amex credit card to get 8k TP for the same RM50 voucher.  thanks ! i shall wait for the card n TnC to read up.
tinkerbel
May 23 2008, 09:40 PM
Fanaddict!
@MilesAndMore, Yes the Premier Mastercard HSBC offers is apparently a grade above their Platinum cards. I'll check and verify if the 1% is applicable on this Premier Mastercard and get back to all  @yewkhuay, Let me know cause I probably am going to shift bank and want a bank that gives me the greatest value on points
yewkhuay
May 23 2008, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 23 2008, 09:40 PM) @MilesAndMore, Yes the Premier Mastercard HSBC offers is apparently a grade above their Platinum cards. I'll check and verify if the 1% is applicable on this Premier Mastercard and get back to all  @yewkhuay, Let me know cause I probably am going to shift bank and want a bank that gives me the greatest value on points  no complaint on Maybank so far , apart from being abit congested in the branches. credit limit increased without hav to ask,broken credit card replaced without question (may be , 1..), no over charge, easy payment thru ATM . Added on May 23, 2008, 9:51 pmP/S : don mad at me for leaving msn without notifying u la... This post has been edited by yewkhuay: May 23 2008, 09:51 PM
labtec
May 23 2008, 11:10 PM
if my card credit is 5k, but i charge it over limit 1k, will i be fine?
DerekKuah
May 23 2008, 11:27 PM
I just like the MBB amex card for its points accumulation...the best thing i like is the treat poiints no expire date....the only not good is not much place accept AMEX...but i have another MBB master.......NO problem at all using MBB in overseas as i do have europe biz trip.... Just claim my treat point again for RM200 voucher(parkson)....shoping shooping ....fuyohhh....