5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 25 2011, 08:41 PM)
how bout long term investment?

eg: using EPF account 1 savings.

withdraw every 3 months.

btw, thanks for the reply wongmunkeong. wink.gif
Er.. I thought all $ going into mutual funds should be for "long term", ie at least 5 years program or holding tongue.gif.

Using EPF is a good idea if it's can't be touched for donkeys of years. I'd personally add in some cohesive entry & exit plans in addition to selecting fund(s) based on yr personal Asset Allocation plan & risk / reward appetite. Just make sure yr plan is to make on average more than 7%pa to 8%pa since EPF is giving about 5%pa+/- on average for the past 5 years or so. If yr plan doesn't beat EPF's average returns by at least 2%pa on average, it may not be worth the risk & effort, other than getting yr $ away from the Govt hands tongue.gif

End of $0.02
wongmunkeong
post Aug 26 2011, 07:52 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 25 2011, 10:09 PM)
my plan is simple; buy low sell high regardless of time.

usually some funds able to gave out 10%-15% profit per year but this cannot be guaranteed. however, as far as im gone through, thats how it perform. But, it is not a good practice to talk based on past experience because investing in mutual funds cannot be measured from past experience.

let say i pump in using epf savings and if it making profit in 1 year or 2 years time, i sell them back, then re-invest.

what do u think?
Bro - unless U have working CRYSTAL BALLS,
HOW HIGH IS HIGH?
HOW LOW IS LOW?

The only thing we KNOW for sure NOW at any point in time is HOW STEEP it's falling or no or climbing, ie. how fast a time, how much a drop/climb.

Added on August 26, 2011, 7:55 am
QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 26 2011, 07:00 AM)
So might as well put it in money market first right..?
I'd suggest either MM or Bond funds, depending on the banking interest rate.

When interest rates are like 6%pa to 8%pa, i dont see the logic of going bonds
When interest rates are like 3%pa to 4%pa, i dont see the logic of going MM
Please share if U know more indepth - always willing to learn biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 26 2011, 07:55 AM
wongmunkeong
post Aug 26 2011, 10:12 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Aug 26 2011, 09:19 PM)
May I know how bonds and MM work in relation with interest rates?

I thought, the higher the interest rates, the higher growth of bonds, since the borrower need to return the loan with higher interest rate. laugh.gif
Heheh - i'm way too lazy to repeat countless of articles on the web tongue.gif. Here ya go

a. Bond prices are inversely related with banks' interest rate.
http://stocks.about.com/od/understandingst...ndint111004.htm
http://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/04...p#axzz1W7AjyaDl

b. Bonds FUNDS arent exactly buying bonds and holding till death - the fund managers buys/sells bonds for profits too, not just for their dividends.
http://www.figuide.com/bonds-and-bond-funds.html

Oops - forgot to mention MM is like a basket of FDs, thus banks' interest rates up, MM up tongue.gif
http://www.investopedia.com/terms/m/money-...p#axzz1W7AjyaDl

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Aug 26 2011, 11:21 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 1 2011, 05:04 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 26 2011, 07:00 AM)
So might as well put it in money market first right..?
Or Bond funds brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 06:46 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 8 2011, 03:29 AM)
can no problem. but kenanga is kinda peaking at the moment. so does klci...
er.. KLCI as of yesterday, was about 8% down from peak. Maybe i'm using a different measure from your though tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 08:12 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Sep 8 2011, 07:28 AM)
52 week low - 1,423.47
52 week high - 1,597.08
Yesterday - 1,464.61

It's 8.29% down from the peak in 52 weeks. :-)
Hehe - bro Transit, U & i using slightly different measures yet came to 8%+ rclxms.gif

I'm way too lazy to measure 52 53 54 weeks high - i just use the highest EVER (heheh i like that sound - EVAH!) KLCI point since i've got Excel doing the MIN, MAX, MEDIAN, AVERAGE and Standard Deviations tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 8 2011, 12:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Sep 8 2011, 08:20 AM)
Agreed with U. Your Excel Spreadsheet is GREAT!!
bwhahah.. unfortunately not great enough for me to afford hiring ppl to track and trigger me WHILE i go skiing in the Swiss Alps (swiss francs down and controlled/pegged tongue.gif) and enjoying Harbin's lovelies... YET tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 12 2011, 08:00 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Sep 12 2011, 12:08 AM)
Hi sifus ,

I want to start some investing in unit trusts. Build up my emergency money about a few k already. Want to ask all sifu about some doubt.

I've read the book  by Adam Khoo (self made millionaire). The way he suggest to pick unit trust is using morningstar website to select stocks that outperform s&p500. but i can't select unit trusts that are based in malaysia/ singapore. Any ways to use his criterias in morningstar to choose the unit trusts?

Then, is it relevant to track unit trust locally to foreign ones?

Just planning to invest 1k first and then monthly top up small amounts. Still got alot to learn.

Thank you.
Er.. cant find Malaysia/Singapore funds on morning star? Either my eyes are blurry or ... brows.gif
http://my.morningstar.com/ap/quickrank/default.aspx

BTW, using Morningstar is only one of several filters U may want to use.
Hint hint - your own personal risk/reward appetite and asset allocation plans.

Added on September 12, 2011, 8:13 am
QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 12 2011, 01:01 AM)
hey guys, im a current monash business student and i have an assignment that has to do with EPF's investment withdrawal scheme. We're supposed to rank unit trusts and choose the best to invest in.

So far, what i've done is compiled all the 219 approved funds and found their 1 yr, 3 yr and 5 yr return(from morningstar), as well as the lipper leader ranking. I then ranked them according to their lipper rank according(highest preservation(4 or 5 acceptable?) followed by consistent return followed by total return) and then only comparing their 1 yr 3 yr and 5 yr performance. From there, i found kenanga growth and kenaga syariah to have the best historical performance. AMB Value trust came close but had a negative 1 yr return.

My question is, am i doin it right? XD

not entirely sure how to rank unit trusts, but since most of the apporved funds were equity based it seemed the best method(similiar risk??)

also, lipper doesnt rank money market funds, so i couldnt include them, but their returns were typicall lower than EPF's return, so it is safe to automatically reject them.?

are there any other investment strategies for unit trust that i can talk about? for now, the only method i could find to lower risk in unit trust is the dollar cost averaging method, however, this would only work if the EPF member maintains his savings in his account 1. Also, does the method work with EPF withdrawals? since you're only alloed to withdraw once every 3 months?

Thanks in advance. Hope you don't mind helping a confused student. tongue.gif
You may be right in reasoning:
a. Not including funds that do not beat 5%pa (assumed average per annum compounded CAGR of EPF's returns)
b. DCA may not be do-able with EPF --> Equity funds BUT there are ways to go about it tongue.gif Check out Public Mutual v2 and v3 topics/thread
c. investment strategies? good idea. whatcha mean by strategies? DCA? fyi - DCA is an ENTRY rule only. Where's your exit rules? See below for ideas.

Just a thought - may not be 100% true and your mileage may vary yar:
1. U've done a ranking comparison using Morningstar & Lipper based on 1, 3, 5 years - good good.

2. What about time-horizon as a variable in your assignment?
Yar - EPF, great but what's the assumption of time line and asset allocation?

3. What about Asset Allocation as a variable in your assignment?
All or heavily weighted into Equity Funds will get U into kaka when sh** hits the fan - 'ala 1997/1998 + 2008 + now?
I'm sure U've heard of "dont put all your eggs in one basket", yar?
Even though a mutual fund consist of several companies stocks, your diversified within Equities (or business sectors to be specific)
However, you're NOT diversified properly, which is ACROSS ASSET CLASSES (ie. bonds, equities, properties, other alternates like gold/silver/commodites)

4. What about Entry & Exit rules or better known as investment methodology/ies used for these EPF to Mutual Funds investment as a variable in your assignment?
+A highly volatile BUT overall good returns (ranking 5 or Leader in Lippers) may be good for value averaging but not DCA or lump sum
+A slow poke but continuous up trend fund may be good for lump sum every quarter. U dont even have to bother with DCA calculations
+Pure Asset Allocation buy in, hold and re-balance also needs criteria for re-balancing, eg. what's the trigger of variant % between planned & actual? how often to re-balance?
+Depending on current trend (recovery, accumulation, bullish, warning, distribution, bearish) during the start of the investment, U may also want to change/select specific methodology/ies since U are starting from ZERO / 0.

5. What about cost to execute Item (4) as a variable in your assignment?
Matching your strategy/methodology to your funds and fund houses that has above average funds to fit your strategies' SWITCHING or Asset Allocation may be more cost effective than willy-nilly getting into several fund houses' funds based purely on individual fund's performance without looking at overall cost control strategy.

BTW, interesting subject matter they throw into colleges / Unis these days. Gambate!

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 12 2011, 09:05 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 12 2011, 01:05 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 12 2011, 10:57 AM)
Thanks a lot for your detailed reply man, really gave me a lot to think about. First, just wanna confirm if my calculatyion for unti trust vs epf returns is correct:

assume age 20 basic savings amount required = 2000  
assuming investing minimum rm1000 in Kenanga Growth therefore needs RM7000 total in epf account 1
Price as at Sept 9 2011 = rm2.0034     
1 yr return = 24.52%     
service charge 3% therefore cost = 0.06010 per unit 
Amount of units purchased = 499.1514425
service cost = 29.949
total invested = 1029.95
total after 1 yr =1000x1.2452 1245.2
epf return on remainder = (7000-1029.95)x1.058
total return after 1 yr = 7561.51
if all 7000 in epf alone, total after 1 year = 7000x(1.058) = 7406

I know that its a bit basic, and that the actually calculation may vary, but is this good enough or close enough to the actual calculation to illustrate the point that Investing in unit trust, even the most basic amount can give higher returns than EPF?

aight now for your suggestions:

2. I've thought about the time horizon, im approaching it keeping in mind that the whole point of investing in EPF is for your retirement fund(yuo dont get any money before 55), therefore, to make as much as possible by 55 years old. Therefore, im looking at a time horizon of about 30-20 years. Where younger EPF account holders dont mind taking risks, and old accuont holders would be risk averse.

3. I'm thinking that younger investors would'nt mind investing heavily into equities, whereas older investors should choose less equity funds, maybe instead go for mixed assets, income or bond funds? I've also read a journal article that said that islamic funds tend to be less risky and perform slightly better in bearish market conditions(as it is now?) so would it be wise to include islamic funds in a fund portfolio? Money market funds in general seems to perform lower than EPF, hence why im rejecting them.

but end of the day, diversifying a fund portfolio using EPF fund seems to be a bit difficult as an investor is limited by the 20% rule and the every 3 months withdrawal. That would be one of my suggestions, to allow for more frequent withdrawals and increase the limit for older investors. ALso that EPF itself should try and improve its investment strategies to garner higher returns, maybe by segregating members according to age and investing differently according to their age groups.

4. Thats another problem there, cos atm, i doubt the average EPF investor actually plans his investments in funds properly. Am i right to assume that many invest relying on unit trust consultant? And apparently in Malaysia, less than 1% are professional qualified consultants.
So for investment strategy, im kinda lost at the moment, the average joe would just use the lump sump approach and choose a fund or two as a start, and maybe another down the road(Hence why I would need to suggest a fund for them). For the more prudent, but less active investor, DCA(topping up every quarter in this case) seems the easiest as it is a safe investment strategy although one might be sacrificing maximizing profit. 

5. If possible can you explain a lil bit more about cost control strategy? Not sure what you mean tongue.gif

Thank in advance man, really appreciate you taking the time to answer smile.gif
You're welcome - we're all here to learn from others & share / bounce ideas off to crystalize them properly.

Ok down to it:
1. Your calculations:
a. Returns of 1yr's return of 24.52%pa is a bit too optimistic
I think U need to find what's the CAGR (Compounded Annual Growth Rates) for 5 or 10 years if possible.
Take the longest one as it should be better averaged by market's cycles of tops & bottoms

b. Service cost of 3%, Value received based on EPF $1,000 put in, etc.
NAV $2.0034
Front load Service charge: 3% on top of NAV (not on the $X,XXX put in) $0.060102
NAV + Service Charge $2.063502

Assuming taking out EPF $1,000 to buy $1,000.00
Number of units received ($1,000 / (NAV + Service Charge)) 484.6131
NAV Value received (NAV * Number of Units Received) $970.87
Service Charges ($1,000 - NAV Value Received) $29.13

Looks different from yours perhaps:
+The amount of units received differs from my calc, perhaps due to some fundamental differences.
Mine's based on $1,000 / (NAV +3%)
Yours seem to be based on $1,000 +service charges.
BTW, no one can calculate in advance the service charges (theoretically or practically) as EPF/Fund house's execution date Vs End Of Day NAV price used for all transactions.
The service charges are taken out of the $1,000 invested and one can't precalculate the amount of service charges to pay AND add it into the $1,000.

c. The EPF amount left in A/C1 (note - U can only use A/C1 in EPF for mutual funds) - U assume 5.8%pa returns?
er.. is that prudent? What's the average %pa for the past 10 years?

Due to 1(a) to ©, your extrapolation into 20 to 30 years will get U a heckuva big difference
U may "steal" some ideas from the Excel worksheets i've posted before - there are 2 worksheets, inter-linked to each other EPF related
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1577849/+673
Please dont bulat bulat use it ar - if I am your lecturer, i will be asking how each variable and function/formula is used and why. U sure koyak if U bulat bulat use tongue.gif
That's how i tested my project students before - on their project/papers' concept, reasoning and calculations.

2. Ok.. 20 to 30 years, extrapolation. No probs if U utilize the concept in the above spreadsheet

3. Diversifying or doing Asset Allocation is possible using EPF to Mutual Funds
This is one of the reasons why i stated (other than costs) that U may want to pick a Fund House based on the top 25% (better than average, need not be the "best-est)of funds which fits your Asset Allocation.
Eg. One can fill in "withdrawal" of $10K for mutual funds in EPF's form.
Then in the Fund House's form - U fill in $6K for Fund A + $4K for Fund B

4. You're spot on for:
a. Most "investors" just buta go in with no plans other than "buy Fund A" (perhaps like U, they did morningstar & lippers and other historical returns checking)
b. Some are even worst - tolly relying on Sales Agents (oops i mean Unit Trust Consultants)
c. Most of these UTCs are "untrained" in the sense of step by step investment approaches AND/OR the customers/prospects themselves are crazy - want the most returns in the shortest time possible ('ala lottery mentality)
Mind U, the UTCs themselves are "qualified" in the sense of knowing and supposed to be adhering to the rules & regulations.
d. Yes, DCA for risk management may be better than lump sum, in return less returns probability
However, other lump sum methodologies like Trend and Value timing can have a majorly disproportionate returns while maintaining lower risks than DCA

5. Cost control and Asset Allocation as a big picture in choosing Fund Houses & their funds
Ok - most people dont think about this, we just pick funds based on performance + asset allocation + perhaps cost of purchase
Just play along with me yar
Person A:
Buys into Fund A Equity Fund with Fund House A that has that 1 changgih Fund A, with a 2% (lower than 3%) frontload service cost, no redemption cost
When NAV is high or when profits are abnormally high (eg. 25%pa++), how are they going to lock-in their profits?
Redeem? If redeem back to EPF and later reinvest again, have to pay the 2% service charges again
VS
Person B:
Buys selects a Fund House B with above average targetted Equity Funds and Bond Funds,
and invest into Fund B Equity Fund with a normal 3% frontload service cost, no redemption cost
When NAV is high or when profits are abnormally high (eg. 25%pa++), they SWITCH into a bond fund for RM25 or RM0
Later, the SWITCH back into Fund B after a market crash, thus costing them RM25 or RM0, not another 3%

Imagine these happening throughout 30 years (IMHO definitely hit 3 or more boom/bust cycles), think about the costs differences VS the risks involved.
Again, not 100% true for everyone's reality, and mileages may vary.

My apologies for the long winded kaka above - heheh, old people long winded, especially those that have lectured before notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 12 2011, 01:06 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 12 2011, 02:09 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 12 2011, 01:31 PM)
one quick question before i check up on the rest of your post:
about swithcing funds, aren't unit trust meant to be long term holdings? as in, even though the price might not fluctuate like stocks, the actual return is derived from dividend payments and not so much buy low sell high?

thanks smile.gif
er.. if U check history (1997/1998 and most recent early vs end 2008), you'd see Equity Funds does flux like stocks in times when "something affects the whole market" situations.

Nope - the actual returns of Equity Funds are derived from NAV * number of units held, dividends are illusions for suckers tongue.gif
See previous postings in Public Mutual v2 and v3 where lots of fellow forumers chipped in on this "illusion".

Mind U - i'm a sucker too, for value buys brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 12 2011, 02:10 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 13 2011, 04:49 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 13 2011, 04:35 PM)
quick question: when ranking funds, is it justified to rank them according to their 3 yr anlsd performance?

my justification would be that it shows how the funds performed after a financial crisis(last one that affected the world was in 2008 right?- current crisis doesnt seem to be affecting Malaysia much so far). So if they can perform when the market is bad, they would be able to perform when the market is good as well?
IMHO, not too right a hypothesis on the 3yrs performance & the current crisis not affecting MY

On funds' performance extrapolation based on 3yrs' history only:
a. Would U make a 10 year bet on person A with 3yrs' good history OR B with 10yrs' good history?
b. Which would U trust to be give a better "defined expectations" - historical returns of 10years or 3years?
Remember - U will be extrapolating based on the historical data/stats.
Go back to Stats 101 and U'll remember that a bigger sampling will be more realistic (bigger in the sense of closer to the actual target). If U are going to just extrapolate 3 years, ok lar 3years historical stats. U doing 20 to 30 years right coz EPF --> Mutual Funds?

On affecting MY:
Perhaps U arent in the "working" world yet - talk with biz owners, from small one-man biz to SMEs. U'll get a better holistic view

Of course U can take the "easy way out" and make such assumptions. As long as your lecturer cincai close one eye, no probs. If U got a hawk as a lecturer, you'll definitely be burned alive tongue.gif

Just a thought
wongmunkeong
post Sep 13 2011, 05:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 13 2011, 05:19 PM)
thing is i'd love to do 10 years, but problem is of the 219 approved funds only 58 have been around for at last 10 years, 186 for 5 years and 217 have been around for 3 yrs. The ones with only 1 yr returns i can reject as they;re not wise investments as they havent proven themselves yet.

so yeah, im a little confused on how to rank the top 20 and bottom 20 performers on an equal level XD and nah, i dont wanna cincai make assumptions, if do might as well do properly right? besides, this is useful knowledge if i wanna work in this industry someday, or at least invest my own money someday XD
Well, there U have it - either the 5 years old or the >=10years old funds

And you're spot on that if U do yr research and paper properly, U can always use it in the real world. rclxms.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 13 2011, 06:47 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 13 2011, 05:54 PM)
hmm that simple eih... yeah makes sense XDthanks a lot man, reaqlly appreciate you taking th time to answer my questions smile.gif
No probs - it's not for free yar. Pay it forward when U can brows.gif
wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 09:11 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Sep 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
Ok, thanks! Didn't know that morning star has local version. So noob lah me. I think I want to invest for 3-5 years period. For now, invest in equity better or bond ya?
Now as in NOW 15/9/2011?
IMHO, best to stay in Bonds IF you're using EPF and looking @ local focused funds - currently KLCI in bearish phase (since last Fri based on personal tracking), ie. the fall is getting very steep.

If U are using cash and looking @ overseas focused funds, it depends.

Your mileage may vary tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 15 2011, 09:12 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 15 2011, 06:17 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 15 2011, 05:57 PM)
if its bearish, wouldnt it be best to buy now, as in buy low sell high?after all, hard to predict when the market would turn back up, but they would definitely turn bullish eventually right? and income funds would always be good income investments right? since they invest in bonds which tend to give consistent returns? well, local bonds at least.

heh, trying to see if i understand how it works now, been reading until eye pain T_T
Trend approach - read
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2007814/+381 open the "spoiler"
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2007814/+387

BTW, it's not about prediction, it's about steepness of fall when U get in + probabilities
IMHO, in biz & investments, it's about risk management and probabilities.
How do U think casinos, insurances (there's a science called actuarial science - look it up. fancy name for probabilities) make $?

My personal calculations using Trend has about 0.19% (0.6% earlier posted was on short-mid term Trend) error, thus it's a high enough probability for me to use in my own investment entries & exits.
ie. the calculations i employed are about 99.81% correct in the sense that the trend moves either to the "left" OR stay in current trend OR move "right", not skipping to other phases. Heck double the error rate and it'll still be about 99.6% accurate tongue.gif
see the links to understand the ie.

Mind U - as i'm a worker ant, i dont have so many lump sums to employ, thus i also use DCA+VCA programs to go in every quarter using a portion of my savings/ammo while i rebuild the lump sum for value/trend entries and also await to lock-in profits of held trend entries.

In short, if one were to buy in now (when one havent started any investment programs), it's akin to catching a falling knife OR trying to be hero and catch a falling boulder. Best to let the knife/boulder hit the ground first, level off and maybe even rise a bit first. One can NEVER catch the lowest of lows & highest of highs unless one has CRYSTAL BALLS tongue.gif + one can make good $ just by catching low enuf and high enuf.
Greed kills, fear kills, plans fills (your pockets) brows.gif

Please define income funds - if U mean bonds & money market funds, i'd think of them as "cache of ammo" for storing and building up $ while waiting for "the great mega sales". That's just me being a hoarding rat.

I'd take great pains to corner anyone that says "ALWAYS a good investment" or "anytime is a good time". Bro - think VALUE + plans (methodologies). Anytime always of value? Compared to? When? Where? Executed how?

Local bonds giving consistent returns? So? Compared to? FD also consistent - but also nearly consistently losing to inflation.
U want to bet that bonds dont ever go down in price / never lose?
I can give U sample of time lines when it did and IF U ever bought and wanted to redeem/sell back at those time lines, you'll cry.gif

Again, no right-er right or wronger wrong ar. Your reality & mileage may vary notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 16 2011, 08:04 AM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 17 2011, 12:57 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cielchan @ Sep 17 2011, 12:49 PM)
If I'm planning to save some money which is going to be used 2 years later, is it recommended to put it on money market fund-type unit trust?
If capital protection is a priority - keep it in FD (assuming it's below the limit of PIDM's insurance yar).

If it's a mix of returns and willing to risk a bit, personally i'd do like 50%/50% bond funds & FDs OR 66%+/- bond funds, 33%+/- FD
Current money market returns is akin to FD BUT U lose 0.25% straight off (if Public Mutual lar). Thus, waffor?
I may be mistaken on the cost of entry for MM fund though - better check with Public Mutual's website and the MM prospectus notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 17 2011, 12:58 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 17 2011, 01:23 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cielchan @ Sep 17 2011, 01:12 PM)
I got ur point, I've read through some fund's prospectus and it seems that the return of money market fund is lower than FD.
But, if I want to enter FD, currently I don't have enough lump sum, since I'm planning to save monthly (around 1k/month). any suggestion?
Huh? U have enough lump sum for mutual funds (minimum $1K) but not enough for FD? rclxub.gif
Sorry - some message/idea lost in between?
OR U mean some banks dont bother with $1K for 2 year's term of FD?

If U plan to save monthly around $1K, U can stagger it into FD mar
eg
Now U have $1K, put it in for 3mths' or more tier. I'm sure they accept $1K for shorter term FD
Do the same monthly with your savings until U've enough to do longer term FD lar
Simple enough? icon_rolleyes.gif

wongmunkeong
post Sep 17 2011, 02:06 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cielchan @ Sep 17 2011, 01:59 PM)
I mean, if I put my money on mutual funds, I just need around 1K for the initial investment and then I just top up my mutual funds monthly.

If I open a FD account monthly, is it possible to maximize my return?
err.. er... FD is a baseline VS everything else for me leh
eg. FD pa is now about 3.3%pa compounded.
If i can find some other investments that can get me an EXPECTED (may be more, may be less) >5.3%pa compounded, then only i'll consider (vs the risks involved).

Thus, i've never bothered maximizing returns from an FD - the differentials between terms (within 1yr) and banks isnt worth my effort & time, i dont have several gazillions in FD tongue.gif
Sorry yar notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 17 2011, 02:07 PM
wongmunkeong
post Sep 22 2011, 07:42 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(satsugai @ Sep 21 2011, 10:32 PM)
just done with the assingment on unit trusts and whatnot. Just wanna say thanks to all who helped ^^

especially wongmunkeong. thanks a lot mate. ^^
You're welcome Satsugai. Just do me a fav and share your methodologies & thoughts when U find something that "works well enough" >=66.66% of the time notworthy.gif (those odds are good enough for me tongue.gif)
wongmunkeong
post Sep 26 2011, 01:19 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Gold falling ("Warning" trend?) + KLCI definitely in "Bearish" trend, thus local focused funds affected badly too + most Foreign indices are more Bearish than KLCI + Local REITs are also getting knocked.
Wham wham WHAMMY?!

Hm.. confusion and fear is in the air.. now waiting for the blood... (not literally lar), preferably bear's blood tongue.gif
3 to 4 months time?

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Sep 25 2011, 08:48 PM)
This thread should be more ACTIVE lo...  Don't just discuss Public Mutual
Bro - is there some words missing from your post or...? The last i checked, not much Public Mutual stuff discussed in this thread leh wink.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(kimleeleow @ Sep 26 2011, 01:28 AM)
TQ for spamming a few LYN topics/threads and alerting us to NOT BUY from U shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Sep 26 2011, 01:25 PM

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0645sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:55 PM