Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

Kaka23
post Aug 9 2012, 12:51 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(aronteh @ Aug 8 2012, 01:32 AM)
I spoke to the Fund Manager of AmDynamic Bond last month. There are not going to increase the fund size as it is at optimum level now. So it will not be open again.
But a new fund will be launch still pending SC approval, which have similar investment strategy biggrin.gif
Thought the new fund is AmDynamic Sukuk?
Kaka23
post Aug 17 2012, 12:02 PM

8,259 posts

should I switch and look profit for my MY exposure funds? No news yet on election?
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2012, 04:59 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Aug 19 2012, 04:29 PM)
How many profit u already get?

What's the trend for your funds?

If u think can go more, dont lock yet. Just follow the flow.

From what im doing right now, i just took the risk on current market condition. Can gain a bit more, around 5-8% i guess until end of the year. Wild guess, it will change depends on surroundings.
I am seeing from 4-12% now on Malaysia exposure funds..

But still losing a lot on gold and energy exposure funds

Bond funds will not do anything for not.

Just planning to lock my Malaysia exposure funds..

What do u mean what tren for my funds?
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2012, 05:13 PM

8,259 posts

Uptrend for more than 2 months already.. Even my energy and gold also showing uptrend now..
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2012, 08:52 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Aug 19 2012, 06:28 PM)
Is it appropriate to say that malaysia bond fund shows a uptrend now? That's what my profit is telling me.
Mine also showing uptrend.. Was slow during feb/mar
Kaka23
post Aug 19 2012, 09:10 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 19 2012, 10:08 PM)
For the past 1-2 months, even the most rubbish portfolio would go up laugh.gif
Ya should be..
Kaka23
post Aug 23 2012, 09:37 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2012, 09:36 AM)
<koff><koff> Unker checking in tongue.gif
For the same TIME ENTERED and EXIT (green), yup simple calc for 1 year, same ENTRY and EXIT time, is the CAGR / compounded pa.

For the different TIME IN/OUT/more than or less than 1 year, er.. not calculatable to me using simple calc coz time value of $ is not comparable, thus, best to use Excel's XIRR() function. i'm a calculator baka, too dependant on Excel  sweat.gif
Bro.. I tried few times using XIRR, but still not successful lei.. sad sad
Kaka23
post Aug 23 2012, 03:47 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 23 2012, 03:58 PM)
Park your cash in FDs/money market/short-dated bond funds, so that u don't lose too much in the meantime icon_rolleyes.gif

and when hell breaks loose, it's time to go all out brows.gif
This month 7month of the chinese calender.. ghots break loose already!! Haha..
Kaka23
post Aug 23 2012, 03:49 PM

8,259 posts

Added on August 23, 2012, 2:52 pm
message (U've my Yahoo & Skype mar) or PM me lar.
Cannot be that hard to use mar XIRR, UNLESS U only have the HOME EDITION of Excel, which doesn't support XIRR tongue.gif

[/quote]

Hard la.. I make a simple table with dates and value for easy understanding first. But to no avail also..

Ya need to PM or Skype you la. Or yumcha on me then u teach me... haha
Kaka23
post Aug 23 2012, 09:37 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 23 2012, 07:32 PM)
Aiya, such a simple function - make sure yr Excel is NOT the basic or home edition, ie. need to be MS Office Standard or Professional edition, then Skype or YM me lar.
Accumulate goodwill until hit bah kut teh or subway bread, then i withdraw tongue.gif
aiya.. for you bak kut teh or subway I also willing la.. haha

I am having hard time to know what is my Microsoft version. I know I am using 2007.. which I am still blur on the new buttons and tabs layout. I know earlier version I can easily check my version under the help tab.. but now I cannot find it. Damx...
Kaka23
post Aug 24 2012, 12:33 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Dias @ Aug 23 2012, 11:11 PM)
Don't know if it's the same but in Excel 2010, the version can be access via FILE > HELP

PS: Going from Excel 2003 to 2007/2010 is a big shock since the layout is totally different. My recommendation is to google for where the buttons are located. It saved me a lot of time in the early stages until I got familiar with the layout.
You are right.. Totally diff from 2003 to 2007. Personally.. I like the 2003 version..
Kaka23
post Aug 24 2012, 03:57 PM

8,259 posts

Added on August 24, 2012, 1:30 am
Ooo... free food.. when when? drool.gif (yeah yeah, i'm a cheap bast*rd - free food wor)

Technically, 2007 & 2010 version has more rows and columns, thus less limitations. In addition, XLSX (native SAVE file type of Excel 2007 & 2010) is a compressed file by itself, thus much smaller than XLS.

Yes yes, it's a bloody pain to get used to when moving from Excel 2003 - imagine a power user reduced to googling basic functions and menus (as in where the heck to access them).

Added on August 24, 2012, 1:43 am

Sifu... anytime la. When you are free.. but not ugrent la because my investment timeframe just 2 yrs, so without XIRR still ok still. Also, havent switch or sell out before yet..

Added on August 24, 2012, 3:58 pm
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2012, 02:07 PM)
Yea I know, switchings will not affect the portfolio returns (because no cash movements involved), but it will affect returns of individual funds.

Just tested, XIRR function will take care of outflows too. rclxms.gif
Tonight will get my transaction data from FSM to do a new worksheet. 3 years' worth of data to churn. sweat.gif
Wah.. you also another sifu la. So cleaver on XIRR and learn it in a short time!

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Aug 24 2012, 03:58 PM
Kaka23
post Aug 24 2012, 09:08 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 07:29 PM)
See-food always hungry wan biggrin.gif, hyper-metabolism, U won't believe how much i eat a day sweat.gif
See, Pinky know also wielding "the XIRR force" easily now - just need to structure the cash flow out & in/current total value with dates.
Need to mix it with IF() for more powerful and automated leverage <does a Jedi hand wave> heheh - er.. i hope i'm not turning this thread/topic into an Excel tutorial  notworthy.gif
I also makan banyak la.. so same same. Maybe we can set a date after September.. tongue.gif

I notice when I use XIRR(), my result will always be #NUM!

But if i put my final column value a negative value, there is a value coming out which I think should be correct on the annualized return..

8/18/2011 20,000
11/20/2011 10,000
3/12/2012 0
3/16/2012 12,000
3/30/2012 45,000

Above example I am getting #NUM!

When I change the 45000 to -45000, i get something...

You know why? Or anyone can help me?
Kaka23
post Aug 24 2012, 09:37 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Aug 24 2012, 10:23 PM)
I assume 3/30/2012 is the latest total value of your investment? In that case, all the previous 4 figures should be ''-'' since it's a cash outflow (the amount you invested). RM45,000 should be a ''+'' figure. Do correct me here.
I think so too.. well, if I put negative.. i somehow feel weird and need to make over all my data again!
Kaka23
post Aug 24 2012, 10:36 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 24 2012, 10:38 PM)
See, TakoC also picked it up sup sup water.  thumbup.gif
Think cash flow -(ve) or +(ve) and total current value at the end

Added on August 24, 2012, 9:42 pm
and that is why one can couple IF() to automatically set a column used by XIRR to -ve or +ve and also do other funky stuff

IF() can be coupled to SEVERAL NESTED IF() and/or AND() & OR() or both. er.. i think we better take this to the BKT or SUBWAY table before mods come after our butts for turning this Funds thread/topic into an Excel tutorial  sweat.gif

Lots of changgih stuff can be automated, even grabbing data from websites and auto updating all your value held / NAVs * units etc.. ok that's my last spiel on Excel  notworthy.gif
Yaya... thanks! thanks!

Added on August 24, 2012, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 24 2012, 11:24 PM)
XIRR function must be used with - and + values

Either your investments in - and end value at +
Or vice versa
Thanks! I am noob la in this kind of stuff... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kaka23: Aug 24 2012, 10:37 PM
Kaka23
post Aug 25 2012, 11:41 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 25 2012, 12:15 AM)
Done, lucky I still keeping my old MS Office installer CD sweat.gif

Added on August 24, 2012, 11:16 pmNow, let the work begin flex.gif
Burn midnight oil is it yesterday?
Kaka23
post Aug 25 2012, 11:55 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 25 2012, 12:45 PM)
Yea, 4AM baru tidor doh.gif

Just sorted out my holdings with FSM, today will deal with my holdings with EON/HLB. Now headache thinking how best to maintain the worksheet so that holdings with the 2 platforms can be consolidated yet can be analysed separated with a few clicks of the mouse. "Filter" function comes into play here hmm.gif

Holdings with FSM...IRR 2.16% only cos its very very very heavy on money market and fixed income... laugh.gif
...and losses from 2010 sweat.gif

Waiting to see how much the IRR would be when my Hwang Select Income Fund holdings are consolidated with FSM ones brows.gif
Young man can stay awake till so late.. I don't hv that kind of stamina already. Hehe..

What is diff of irr and xirr? You not using xirr meh?
Kaka23
post Aug 25 2012, 12:07 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Aug 25 2012, 01:03 PM)
"XIRR is the Excel function used to calculate IRR for cash flows that are irregular"

Anda ada faham kenyataan di atas? laugh.gif

If u are looking at a schedule of cash flows that has a regular pattern e.g. car loan instalment where there is a outlay (the disbursement of loan at commencement) and regular monthly repayments, then IRR is the function to be used.

But when u are looking at cash flows that don't have a regular pattern as in
(1) different amounts each time
(2) sometimes money in, sometimes money out
(3) 1 and 2 above happen at irregular time intervals (e.g. sometimes monthly RSP, sometimes 3 months also no buy in, then suddenly got withdrawal)
XIRR is the one to use. nod.gif

Me not young, nearing 30 already blush.gif
Pajama a bit la..

My investment is irregular time intervals.. So I will use xirr.. biggrin.gif

Below 30 still young la.. Those days, I always go mamak and booze..
Kaka23
post Aug 26 2012, 02:25 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 26 2012, 12:42 AM)
guys, please recommend a malaysia index fund ?
Oskuob tracker fund..
Kaka23
post Aug 26 2012, 02:53 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 26 2012, 11:54 AM)
thx, i go and have a look at it
Why you interested in fund tracking KLCi? Now high wor...

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0711sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:52 PM