QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ May 16 2011, 09:40 PM)
PB Islamic Bond pays 12% for the last 1 year, i did UNIFLEX around 1 year ago, so it is still worthwhile to do it comparing to cost of fund of 5.3%. I also have no balls to do UNIFLEX under 100% Equity, my Mutual fund investment now is 20% Equity, 80% bond.
From the way u write i know that u read a lot of books. i have the same feeling, after reading many books, the theories are basically the same, will check on Millionaire Mind, if given a chance.
Since KLSE index is at its historical height, so is it too late to invest in REITS? as the price already at its peak?
I invest in property direct, holding several properties, mostly landed residential and also commercial office for flipping. Have very good paper gain for now as i started to invest in 2009, will sell them immediately upon VP and sit tight with cash profit and wait for the next property investment cycle, but wonder where to park my money after sold all the props.
Ah - a Property bro!

I need to learn much much more on direct property investments. So far, no matter how i calculate it, it doesn't make much sense to me VS paper assets as i'll be locking up a huge % of my $ in 1 transaction + illiquid. Having said so, like paper investments, i've forced myself to get into it in 2009 also - got a "starter" service apartment with positive cash flow with 16% to 18% down payment & 28 yrs loan fixed rate ING 4.8%pa, in Casa Subang.
I still don't get it - even with the leverage, if i sell now, all in all, i'll get a net profit of CAGR/pa of only about 38%pa (if i compare to personal cash outlay only, ie. cash on cash returns). I'm kinda thick and slow me thinks

Is there i topic somewhere in LYN that can point me (i'm a good digger once pointed, digging hungrily

) to the right direction for residential and commercial properties?
Hm.. since i dont believe i've a working crystal ball, i never invest by thinking too high/too low. I buy value

, just like my grocery shopping and cash back credit cards.
For trading - i buy value too when volume spikes.
Thus, is KLSE too high to go in? er.. depends lor. Different strokes for Different Folks.
FYI - lots of folks (contrairians?) said 2010 was too high to buy in... i made, several transactions, >=25%pa returns in mutual funds and of all things, in PIX (index fund - though not strictly an Index Fund per se) using programmatic approach of TwinVest. Google that word - you'll find a host of interesting stuff. It's a combination of DCA & VCA & it's one of the tested methods that i've used real cash & time testing (also DCA, Trend, Counter-Trend, etc.) for mutual funds.
Oh.. i dunno if this will be interesting to U and the folks here reading this Fund topic - i've done a compilation and added 2 columns of statistics for Public Mutual funds' historical data.
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2011
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2010
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2009
10, 5, 3 & 1 yr ending 2008 (as a comparison on how bad crashes can be on Mutual Funds - yo yo! WHO said die-worsi-fication is good to protect yr investment take a look at this! Diversification shd be done across different categories of Assets, eg. Bonds, Equities, Alternatives, Cash Equivalents)
Shocking.. and eye opening - especially PSmallCap. Looking @ 2009 to 2011, it's INCREADIBLE. It's CAGR/StdDev is more than 1! ie. it cannot lose!
However, take a look at it for the years ending 2008. I think one of them shows PSmallCap hitting -32%+ CAGR drop
Note - all these statistics were pressed out of Financial Advisor just for idea sharing purposes ar - use at yr own risk
This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 16 2011, 10:20 PM Attached File(s)
PM_10__5__3__1yr_stats_for_years_ending_2011__2010__2009___2008.zip ( 94.6k )
Number of downloads: 297