Iliberty+, Where's the Installer app?

TScrystal_kit85
post May 6 2008, 04:31 AM, updated 18y ago

1,902 posts

Hie there,

I have used Iliberty+ to unlock my Iphone a couple of days back and everything was fine except for the 3rd Party Installer program problem, where people uses it to install 3rd party applications.

I couldn't locate the 3rd Party Installer application at my Homepage, all i saw was the default Iphone Icons and Cydia which is from Iliberty+, may i know if the 3rd party application installer would come hand in hand with Iliberty+ or do i need to install it seperately?
d3vilzzzz
post May 6 2008, 07:47 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

on the second tab at the top me tinks
Corvinux
post May 6 2008, 06:53 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

hye

well before u use iLiberty, you should hv done some research or read up or ask members like pm them how to use it as it is not as easy as ziphone yet more safer than ziphone..

when u use iLiberty its best NOT to insyall cydia via iLiberty coz its bugged(as found out by frozzbyte) and ive experienced it myself..and when u do the installation make sure u check out the payload as those are applications u can add in while the program do the unlocking and jailbreak for u..one of the application is installer smile.gif

so if u want..u can try again jailbreak it and install installer..all the best to u smile.gif

p/s cydia is best to install via installer..as i learned from frozzbyte and experience it that cydia will take over the job of BSD and also bosstools in transfering fonts,ringtones,application to the /var memory, instead of cramp everything on /root memory..by allocating those application to /var n free space on /root will make the system memory more free and wont hang/lag/crash your iPhone smile.gif

This post has been edited by Corvinux: May 6 2008, 06:57 PM
ringrong
post May 7 2008, 11:49 PM

46 posts

Yeah, I don't think you selected the Installer payload. If you selected Cydia on the "Standard" tab, only Cydia will show in the bottom "Selected" tab of the "Advanced" tab. You'll need to self-select Installer in the "Advanced" tab.

If you did select it, it should be on the 4th row, beside the iTunes button, iinm.

I'm wondering if there'll be any conflicts between Cydia and the "Installer + BSD Subsystem" combination if I install both of them. Just wondering what's the difference between Cydia and the "Installer + BSD Subsystem" combination?
frozzbyte
post May 8 2008, 01:44 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

QUOTE(ringrong @ May 7 2008, 11:49 PM)
Yeah, I don't think you selected the Installer payload. If you selected Cydia on the "Standard" tab, only Cydia will show in the bottom "Selected" tab of the "Advanced" tab. You'll need to self-select Installer in the "Advanced" tab.

If you did select it, it should be on the 4th row, beside the iTunes button, iinm.

I'm wondering if there'll be any conflicts between Cydia and the "Installer + BSD Subsystem" combination if I install both of them. Just wondering what's the difference between Cydia and the "Installer + BSD Subsystem" combination?
This is why i think people prefer ZiPhone better than iLiberty+ coz of the BIG SHINNY DO IT ALL button. U don't need to know what payload to install and what not. But it doesn't mean its the best. TS next time read more on the application u want to use. Don't just blindly download, install and use without reading first. Play around with it to know its function.

Ok enough with the lecture. TS u can rerun iLiberty again and this time just tick the installer payload. U cant untick the jailbreak option as it is default. iLiberty is intelligent enough to know that your phone is already jailbroken and wont do it the 2nd time. It will only install the installer for u. Check the selected payload in advance tab and make sure only have installer payload.

@ringrong
Cydia and installer can co-exist without any problem. Cydia can't be with BSD subsystem from installer because cydia offer a more advance version of BSD named telesphoreo. If u have previously install BSD and then install cydia, it will delete BSD files and replace it with telesphoreo. So it would be a waste if u install BSD then cydia. There are alot of things i can elaborate on BSD vs Cydia but typing a reply on the phone is very challenging. Streamyx out so have to use EDGE to write this up.
Corvinux
post May 8 2008, 07:16 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 8 2008, 01:44 AM)
Streamyx out so have to use EDGE to write this up.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
but i cant laugh @ sith lord blink.gif sweat.gif whistling.gif
ure lucky to hv EDGE from DIGI and its FREE SUMMORE!! cry.gif
TScrystal_kit85
post May 8 2008, 07:56 AM

1,902 posts

Thanks for the reply, I am very much clearer now on what should be done. But i do want to remind you that i did browse through the threads here before concluding on Iliberty and given all the feedbacks on how unstable Ziphone is it would be no wonder i would have chosen Iliberty. Moreover, i would have thought that the installer would come hand in hand once you click the "Go For It Button" as i have browsed through Youtube on the steps that is needed to be taken to jailbreak the iphone and it does not show nor did it mention a word about the "Installer Application" , hence, you could not blindly point the finger at me by saying what i could have done or what i should not have done.

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 8 2008, 01:44 AM)
This is why i think people prefer ZiPhone better than iLiberty+ coz of the BIG SHINNY DO IT ALL button. U don't need to know what payload to install and what not. But it doesn't mean its the best. TS next time read more on the application u want to use. Don't just blindly download, install and use without reading first. Play around with it to know its function.

Ok enough with the lecture. TS u can rerun iLiberty again and this time just tick the installer payload. U cant untick the jailbreak option as it is default. iLiberty is intelligent enough to know that your phone is already jailbroken and wont do it the 2nd time. It will only install the installer for u. Check the selected payload in advance tab and make sure only have installer payload.

@ringrong
Cydia and installer can co-exist without any problem. Cydia can't be with BSD subsystem from installer because cydia offer a more advance version of BSD named telesphoreo. If u have previously install BSD and then install cydia, it will delete BSD files and replace it with telesphoreo. So it would be a waste if u install BSD then cydia. There are alot of things i can elaborate on BSD vs Cydia but typing a reply on the phone is very challenging. Streamyx out so have to use EDGE to write this up.
Corvinux
post May 8 2008, 10:38 AM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

QUOTE(crystal_kit85 @ May 8 2008, 07:56 AM)
Thanks for the reply, I am very much clearer now on what should be done. But i do want to remind you that i did browse through the threads here before concluding on Iliberty and given all the feedbacks on how unstable Ziphone is it would be no wonder i would have chosen Iliberty. Moreover, i would have thought that the installer would come hand in hand once you click the "Go For It Button" as i have browsed through Youtube on the steps that is needed to be taken to jailbreak the iphone and it does not show nor did it mention a word about the "Installer Application" , hence, you could not blindly point the finger at me by saying what i could have done or what i should not have done.
hehe jgn marah TS..nanti kena jual biggrin.gif sweat.gif wub.gif
neway hope the explaination is good for u..sometimes we hv to experience it to discover it brows.gif i went thro the same process like u before and then doh.gif hiyak where is the installer..then when i check back..loh its in the payload so i did the process again and very much happy until now smile.gif

so hope uve settled your problem! thumbup.gif wub.gif

This post has been edited by Corvinux: May 8 2008, 10:46 AM
frozzbyte
post May 8 2008, 08:26 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@crystal_kit85

Bro this statement wasn't meant for u. Its a general statement. Sorry if u feel offended. I apologize.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

This statement was meant for u.

Typing using phone at 1.40 in the morning ... this what happen.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: May 8 2008, 08:26 PM
TScrystal_kit85
post May 9 2008, 07:07 PM

1,902 posts

No worries mate, you have given me a big helping hand. I managed to solve the installer thingy and would like to thank those that have replied to this thread. Since, my objective has been met i will close down this thread now.

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ May 8 2008, 08:26 PM)
@crystal_kit85
Bro this statement wasn't meant for u. Its a general statement. Sorry if u feel offended. I apologize.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
This statement was meant for u.

Typing using phone at 1.40 in the morning ... this what happen.

0.0144sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:13 PM