This is the picture I done on my car last time. I will post the melt de by tomorrow... Newly stick, is look nice.. Once get melt, get mad.

This post has been edited by singchaii: May 4 2008, 08:56 PM
A good advise for you guy..., Bitumen sound proof..
May 4 2008, 08:15 PM, updated 18y ago
7,842 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Pandan Jaya,KL |
I just wanna share my experience here.. It regarding sound proof using HARDWARE shop bitumen roll.. Not those bitumen which accessories use to sound proof.. Few months ago, I purchase alot of bitumen roll from hardware shop to do sound proof for my car.. Yes. I admit that I'm silly to done that cause I don't know the disadvantages.. After stick for 4 doors and my rear bonnet, it really sound proof! The noise from outside being minimize. Very happy.. And before I stick those bitumen on the door, I had clean the door surface very clean and no any oil.. After few months, da*n thing happen. I realize that alot black thing dripping out from the door and causes my side skirt look so dirty. I gonna to clean it and it so difficult to clean. So I remove the door panel and see.. All the bitumen drop off as the black thing get melt and the bitumen drop because the black thing which we stick already melt. Really so regret to done it. It so difficult to remove back all the bitumen.. I will post the picture tomorrow if you guy need to see.
This is the picture I done on my car last time. I will post the melt de by tomorrow... Newly stick, is look nice.. Once get melt, get mad. ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by singchaii: May 4 2008, 08:56 PM |
May 4 2008, 08:22 PM
May 4 2008, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(tornad0 @ May 4 2008, 08:28 PM) yeah..last time i wanted to do it also to soundproof my car..but lazy ...need alot of time ..and have to buy the soundproof material also. lucky im lazy it so difficult to clean.. And not 100% can clean those melt thing.. Sent to shop do is always better.. Like me, thinking can save money but at last use more money and effort. >_< |
May 4 2008, 08:32 PM
May 4 2008, 08:57 PM
I already uploaded some picture on first post.
May 4 2008, 09:07 PM
May 4 2008, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(N's @ May 4 2008, 09:48 PM) I didnt know TS so silly go stick that for sound proffing purpose LMAO. This Roofing Sealent is meant for roof leakage repair and is really hard to remove it. It will melt under hot sun so that it will hold strong enough to the roof. I think not only me alone so silly. I believe still got alot out there which using this way. TS, just remove it using petrol or Thinner. And you will need alots of cloth. Before use thinner, u will need to scrap it. Use petrol also thinner also no use.. Need to use heat gun to melt it then only can clean.. need use alot of cloth. Added on May 4, 2008, 10:00 pm QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 4 2008, 09:59 PM) we all learn from mistakes bro..at least hes sharing his experience so other forumers will be aware,not just senyap2 cover his mistakes.. sharing is caring.. Don't wanna let other member to do a same mistake ma. thanx for the info bro! This post has been edited by singchaii: May 4 2008, 10:00 PM |
May 4 2008, 10:07 PM
May 4 2008, 10:57 PM
May 5 2008, 12:45 AM
May 5 2008, 08:39 PM
@hypermount, your bitumen don't have any sign of melting.. But my 1, terrible.
@N's, i'm not free to snap the picture today.. Maybe I will try tomorrow because no time today. |
May 5 2008, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 5 2008, 08:42 PM) actually does sound proofing really work?why is every1 soo keen to sound proof their car?not flaming or wat la,i just dont see y its an imp mod.. sound proof is really work for me. My cabin hardly can listen sound now.. Last time, my car just using this bitumen, it slightly better. The sound had been block and my ice getting better.. But recently, I just changed my tint film into Security Film which it anti smash, the sound proof getting better.. Only able to hear some motorbike sound pass by beside your car. Because the tint film is thick and block the sound from window.add-on, forget a point.. When close the door, it sound better. This post has been edited by singchaii: May 5 2008, 08:49 PM |
May 5 2008, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 5 2008, 08:55 PM) ohh..ok..just a few tiny strips to cover the holes in the door can make such a big improvement? where to buy superlon frm?maybe i shld try it out as well..and how u guys diy the firewall?theres a cazy amount of wires and not much space to work.. haha.. Sorry.. It should be, the sound of closing door is better..and yea i noticed when i drive with the door closed the cabin is quieter! I stick the bitumen doesn't just stick few tiny strips only. I stick it row by row... I not sure where can get superlon.. Maybe can see at garage sales. |
May 5 2008, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 5 2008, 09:09 PM) haha ok i thought u were being sarcastic!btw u drive an iswara right bro? no offence, i had one b4..rattles like a tin can..can see y u decided to sound proof it..how many panels do i have to do for a simple diy job with satisfying results? Er.. yes I driving a Saga LMST.. Our car body quality, I believe all house have it, a milo tin or ovaltine tin. But, so far I dun face any rattles sound.. I only sound proof 4 doors, and rear boot to minimize my muffler bass and maximize my woofer bass. hehe.. Beside that, I also got stick sound proof stuff on my bonnet to reduce my engine sound. =) |
May 5 2008, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 5 2008, 09:28 PM) dynamat expensive la bro..too costly for trial diy project make sure it not absorb water lor. or else, scare will rust your door.. Actually, you sent to shop do lor.. It more good, and more worth. =) But make sure do at some recommended shop lor.how bout the spongy material they selling at brothers? i side sticky the other side kilat like dynamat,in between got spongy material like superlon..not very cheap also but sounds promising as it has all the right elements.. Added on May 6, 2008, 8:02 amHere the image of melted bitumen. It melt and drop off around 50% as when I stick, is stick row by row. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by singchaii: May 6 2008, 08:02 AM |
May 6 2008, 09:05 PM
It not terrible.. Is da*n 9 terrible.
May 6 2008, 10:02 PM
Not doing the right way? Care to explain more?
May 7 2008, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ May 7 2008, 12:53 AM) damn kesian u man..i feel sakit hati see your car..those tar drippings can be removed? looks like ur power window motor aso gone.. Power window won't spoile as it didn't kena it. That why I gonna remove it asap. Tar dripping can't be clean properly. Unless you got heater gun, heat those tarc and then wipe with cloth... QUOTE(bjay1482 @ May 7 2008, 07:42 AM) yeah yeah... duno wat else will gone.. those dripping tar duno will drip and got stuck whr and make some other thg fail.. power window fail nvm.. the door lock also jam cos of the tar the jialat loooo.. Going try my best to clean it. =)TS btr clean properly oo.. Added on May 12, 2008, 9:50 pmI just asked at some hardware shop.. Their told me no matter how you stick, it still will melt.. once it melt, then the bitumen is useless because it left the shinning part and no any glue to stick on.. I seen some said, stick this bitumen, you need to stick a layer on superlon above.. Once the bitumen melt, the bitumen will drop.So no point stick above the bitumen..I bought it for Rm15 per roll and I saw someone selling above Rm20 with same hardware shop material.. Although you guy know it cheap, but it not really wise to do so... This post has been edited by singchaii: May 12 2008, 09:50 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0154sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:14 AM |