GUINEA PIGS CORNER V2, Kiut Kiut Kawaii~
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(bugpakoo @ Jun 3 2008, 12:34 AM) how much is a GUINEA PIG? yup , its depend. and every petshop hav different price. In my survey, Pet Family(Klang) Normal GP - RM58 (i saw dis price once before, really shock, now i don know) Pet Wonderland Normal GP - RM38 Abyssinian GP - RM58 Sheltie GP(long fur) - either RM195 or RM159 Pet safari Normal GP - RM30++ Abyssinian GP - RM45 Sheltie and Peruvian - RM85 Wildlife zoological(Petaling street) Normal GP - RM30++ Abyssinian GP - RM40++ Petsmore(Jalan Sultan) Abyssinian GP - RM55 This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Jun 3 2008, 01:21 AM
kelvin_faye
Jun 3 2008, 08:14 AM
plan to get a GP.. but scared no time to take care of them.. have 9 gerbils [2 adults, 5 pups from 1st litter & 2 from 2nd litter] haha.. plan to add 2 sp lilacs too...
i got a big wood drawer.. 2 feet x 2 feet x 1 feet (high).. is dat ok for a GP??
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 08:28 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 3 2008, 08:14 AM) plan to get a GP.. but scared no time to take care of them.. have 9 gerbils [2 adults, 5 pups from 1st litter & 2 from 2nd litter] haha.. plan to add 2 sp lilacs too... i got a big wood drawer.. 2 feet x 2 feet x 1 feet (high).. is dat ok for a GP?? I think 1 feet high not enough... And it's wood. Hard to wash wat. Not to mention CHEWABLE.  Got any other better container?
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 08:35 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 3 2008, 08:14 AM) plan to get a GP.. but scared no time to take care of them.. have 9 gerbils [2 adults, 5 pups from 1st litter & 2 from 2nd litter] haha.. plan to add 2 sp lilacs too... i got a big wood drawer.. 2 feet x 2 feet x 1 feet (high).. is dat ok for a GP?? hmm... 2 feet = 0.6+++ m kan? For me its small, just can fit one GP. Can u post ur wood drawer picture? Added on June 3, 2008, 8:36 amQUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 3 2008, 08:28 AM) I think 1 feet high not enough... And it's wood. Hard to wash wat. Not to mention CHEWABLE.  Got any other better container? yup. or u can add up with coroplast inside the wood drawer. This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Jun 3 2008, 08:36 AM
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 3 2008, 08:35 AM) hmm... 2 feet = 0.6+++ m kan? For me its small, just can fit one GP. Can u post ur wood drawer picture? Added on June 3, 2008, 8:36 amyup. or u can add up with coroplast inside the wood drawer. If he's going to cloroplast the drawer I think he better cloroplast the whole enclosure, like Mooz. Even if he cloroplast the drawer he'll still have to wash it sometimes. Wood + Water = Mold = Bad for GP.  Just my 2 cents.
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 3 2008, 08:39 AM) If he's going to cloroplast the drawer I think he better cloroplast the whole enclosure, like Mooz. Even if he cloroplast the drawer he'll still have to wash it sometimes. Wood + Water = Mold = Bad for GP.  Just my 2 cents. Dat one la maksud I, U use cloroplast and do exactly same shape like the wood drawer, then u can put in and put out easily the cloroplast and also u can bringing up with wood drawer. betul tak?
kelvin_faye
Jun 3 2008, 09:12 AM
haha, thanks for ur concern guys.. just my college gona retnovate.. n they r dumping these drawers.. so i curi 2 of them.. just the drawers for single bed... they got 2 drawers for each single bed.. hehe..  anyway, i am going pets wonderland coz one way trip for me [i am from ukm].. if i wan a GP.. maybe i will buy the coroplast first lo... be bringing GP home..
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Jun 3 2008, 09:12 AM) haha, thanks for ur concern guys.. just my college gona retnovate.. n they r dumping these drawers.. so i curi 2 of them.. just the drawers for single bed... they got 2 drawers for each single bed.. hehe..  anyway, i am going pets wonderland coz one way trip for me [i am from ukm].. if i wan a GP.. maybe i will buy the coroplast first lo... be bringing GP home..   Great. Welcome to the family then. Which breed are you taking?
gchin_st
Jun 3 2008, 10:03 AM

buddies~ i need ur advise... currently i got 3 boy n 1 girl... due to many of gp owner mention tat mixing male n female together will make them fight, so i separated them into gay couple n normal couple... after i separated them as side by side, they'll try to look for each other in the between of a gap... and they started to eat less n shows not vry happy... then i separate them into upper floor n lower floor, they dont really eat n not really move... they jst stay vry quiet n seems vry unhappy.. but once i put 4 of them together, they will start running n jumping n oik oik~ n started to eat a lot .... the gay couple r approx 2-3mth, n the normal couple is only approx 1mth... i m wondering maybe they r still young n not yet start to hav the instinct of fight for woman.... or maybe they dont treat the girl as female... wat shd i do in this case? can i jst put them together until they fight, then only i separate them? This post has been edited by gchin_st: Jun 3 2008, 10:06 AM
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 10:17 AM
The main problem is breeding... The female GP can get pregnant by 4 weeks but it's really not good for her health.  so when I said seperation, i mean between sexes. A male GP can impregnate a female GP when he is as young as 4 weeks old. Accidental pregnancy can occur so early. So sharil now got 2 incoming batch. Ah~ I so wanna get poisoned by the baby picts. Maybe will be dark beauties again? When your female come in heat it will happen... Fighting... Why don u house the 3 male together and the female, find another companion for her? This post has been edited by Jamien: Jun 3 2008, 10:18 AM
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 3 2008, 10:17 AM) The main problem is breeding... The female GP can get pregnant by 4 weeks but it's really not good for her health.  so when I said seperation, i mean between sexes. A male GP can impregnate a female GP when he is as young as 4 weeks old. Accidental pregnancy can occur so early. So sharil now got 2 incoming batch. Ah~ I so wanna get poisoned by the baby picts. Maybe will be dark beauties again? When your female come in heat it will happen... Fighting... Why don u house the 3 male together and the female, find another companion for her? Actually I really hope dis batch my Luna will deliver more into Jazz color or mix Luna and Jazz color. Kejap lagi Dr will come , so ok guys need to prepare my GP for treatment.
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 10:27 AM
Why? Too much chocolate cake so now want a cheese cake or carrot cake? Hehe... I thik your GPs are all so pretty.  Let me know the cost yar. And the vet's performance.
kaoru himura
Jun 3 2008, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 3 2008, 01:15 AM) yup , its depend. and every petshop hav different price. In my survey, Pet Family(Klang) Normal GP - RM58 (i saw dis price once before, really shock, now i don know) Pet Wonderland Normal GP - RM38 Abyssinian GP - RM58 Sheltie GP(long fur) - either RM195 or RM159 Pet safari Normal GP - RM30++ Abyssinian GP - RM45 Sheltie and Peruvian - RM85 Wildlife zoological(Petaling street) Normal GP - RM30++ Abyssinian GP - RM40++ Petsmore(Jalan Sultan) Abyssinian GP - RM55 owh thanks alot for the price list....yeah i did went to pet family alot to buy pellets and hay for Yui...and the abys there is RM58 ....so expensive ne? oh i never thought there is pet shop which sell peruvian!!! i really wish i can have one (looks in the net for their pics and gosh they are BEAUTIFUL...) but unfortunately i dont have much space for a GP like that...and my mom's gonna KILL me......(Yui already freak her out a dozens of time, can you imagine when she sees a long fur Peru that looked like a lady's head....)owh how i want one..... Wildlife Zoological is in Petaling Street? I usually go through that street after went back from S&M, but never saw it...do you know where exactly? Owh and sumbody ask me what breed Yui is before, the guy in the shop says its American Satin....does that mean its a normal GP? and thanks for the compliments on Yui...well she is my lovely princess!!
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Jun 3 2008, 11:16 AM) Owh and sumbody ask me what breed Yui is before, the guy in the shop says its American Satin....does that mean its a normal GP? and thanks for the compliments on Yui...well she is my lovely princess!! The different price simply indicates how much the particular petshop wants to earn from the cost price.  Yes American Satin is what we universally recognise as a GP, often referred to as Normal. Show us you princess's picture lar~
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Jun 3 2008, 11:16 AM) owh thanks alot for the price list....yeah i did went to pet family alot to buy pellets and hay for Yui...and the abys there is RM58 ....so expensive ne? oh i never thought there is pet shop which sell peruvian!!! i really wish i can have one (looks in the net for their pics and gosh they are BEAUTIFUL...) but unfortunately i dont have much space for a GP like that...and my mom's gonna KILL me......(Yui already freak her out a dozens of time, can you imagine when she sees a long fur Peru that looked like a lady's head....)owh how i want one..... Wildlife Zoological is in Petaling Street? I usually go through that street after went back from S&M, but never saw it...do you know where exactly? Owh and sumbody ask me what breed Yui is before, the guy in the shop says its American Satin....does that mean its a normal GP? and thanks for the compliments on Yui...well she is my lovely princess!! Ohh.. aby RM58 at pet family, last time I saw normal RM58 no abby there at bukit tinggi Klang la.. i never go at Taman Megah , try to go there but no find where is it.  , I think if its RM58 for abby its normal price. yup, wildlife zoological near petaling street, if u can see shop with a lot of birds, there it is. Its opposite the petaling street. Hmm.. American satin.. sometimes the shop staff nak Gempak je lebih, they actually don know anything. I thinks urs normal GP and same actually. I forget ur GP lookalike, need to reverse the page.  where do u buy dat GP? This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Jun 3 2008, 11:31 AM
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 3 2008, 11:30 AM) Ohh.. aby RM58 at pet family, last time I saw normal RM58 no abby there at bukit tinggi Klang la.. i never go at Taman Megah , try to go there but no find where is it.  , I think if its RM58 for abby its normal price. yup, wildlife zoological near petaling street, if u can see shop with a lot of birds, there it is. Its opposite the petaling street. Hmm.. American satin.. sometimes the shop staff nak Gempak je lebih, they actually don know anything. I thinks urs normal GP and same actually. I forget ur GP lookalike, need to reverse the page.  where do u buy dat GP? The more common price for aby is RM 45 lar. Pet family sell expensive. American satin = wat we call normal... I hope the seller didn't dupe you into buying by saying it's imported from america because american satin... I wanna see you princess!
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 3 2008, 10:27 AM) Why? Too much chocolate cake so now want a cheese cake or carrot cake? Hehe... I thik your GPs are all so pretty.  Let me know the cost yar. And the vet's performance. Actually I don know how to evaluate dis dr and the cost coz seldom i bring my GP to vet. Just now, he give iodin( i think,  ) at my 2 GP dat hav skin problem. Then inject with anti fungus for Jazz, Chiko and 2 Luna babies. Actually I want inject Luna but she still pregnant scare there's something bad happen. After she deliver baby she will be injected. 4 GP inject anti fungus + 2 GP treat iodin = RM40 1 bottle worm syrup = RM18 Total cost = RM58 is it worth?
Jamien
Jun 3 2008, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 3 2008, 11:38 AM) Actually I don know how to evaluate dis dr and the cost coz seldom i bring my GP to vet. Just now, he give iodin( i think,  ) at my 2 GP dat hav skin problem. Then inject with anti fungus for Jazz, Chiko and 2 Luna babies. Actually I want inject Luna but she still pregnant scare there's something bad happen. After she deliver baby she will be injected. 4 GP inject anti fungus + 2 GP treat iodin = RM40 1 bottle worm syrup = RM18 Total cost = RM58 is it worth?  Yes I think very worth it. Last time Girl Girl go vet for 1 anti fungus, mites and lice shot and i dunno wat cream, already RM 60 you know. Yours so many leh.  Nice discovery. Gimme his number and name? He confirm that your 2 female definitely pregnant again? And i never heard of worm syrup for GP le.  Proves I still got so much to learn.
TSsharil_routh
Jun 3 2008, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(Jamien @ Jun 3 2008, 11:45 AM)  Yes I think very worth it. Last time Girl Girl go vet for 1 anti fungus, mites and lice shot and i dunno wat cream, already RM 60 you know. Yours so many leh.  Nice discovery. Gimme his number and name? He confirm that your 2 female definitely pregnant again? And i never heard of worm syrup for GP le.  Proves I still got so much to learn. Actually I learn from silverwineus information , i think u already read it i dont know at dis version or first version GP thread, dat we also need deworm. GP hygiene -----------
1. Bathe GP once a week. Mild shampoo for kittens like Bunny is cost saving and good. Avoid night bath. Noon bath is advisable. Either put them at a warmer place to dry or blow with dryer. NOt advisable to keep them damp for too long.
2. For male GP, check their testicles DAILY and remove hairs or dirts stucked to prevent infection and swelling.
3. Put newspaper at tray bottom and wrap the newpapers once every other day.
4. Use greyhound comb to groom their hair and apply baby powder without boric acid, at least once every other day. You will have lovely, sweet smelling darling.
5. Annually, once a year, purchase 10 mg/ml (concentrated) Ivermectin from vet at the right dosage, drop only one drop at the bare skin part near the ear. Once every 2 weeks for 3 months. Overdose is deadly. This is for fur mite prevention, cleansing and treatment. Mange mite, a seldom case, is another story.
Prchase from: Klinik Haiwan Subang Jaya No. 19, Jalan SS15/4E, 47500 Subang Jaya, Selangor. Dr. Sivabalan. 03-56332459
6. If they have lice, white kutu, treat with Advantage, never Frontline. Advantage is sold in Pet Family, Tmn Megah, PJ.
GP diet --------
1. Overfeeding with vege is the common mistakes that leads to deadly diarrhoe. Always maintain the following rule.
Standard: For a 4 inch diameter bowl with 1.5 inch height, fill 3/4 of that bowl with chopped vege and chopped fruit per guinea.
This amount will be just right.
2. Get a bottle of tablets Flavettes Vit C, 250 mg. Split one tablet into 4 parts. One guinea will require around 50 mg. Crush that quarter part and sprinkle it on food daily. Guinea cannot manufacture Vit C, they need supplement.
3. You can mix guava, apple, celeries, carrots, other greens like sawi, spianch...etc daily. Shred and chop them fine.
4. Important, give them endless supply of good quality timothy hay.
5. To prevent girdiasis, refill bottle with water that is boiled at least every other day.
6. Once a year, deworm your guinea with Metronidazole (Flagyl). Can get from Klinik Haiwan Subang Jaya.
GP diarrhoea home treatment -----------------------
1. Symptoms: Watery and messy stool, guinea stays at a corner.
Attenttion needed immediately!
First, go to pharmacy and shop, buy these: 1. Immodium - medicine to harden stool. 2. Ors - Oral rehydration salt 3. 3 ml or 5 ml syringe without needle 4. Vitagen or Yakult
2. Add a little oral rehydration salt into water and syringe feed the patient every 2 hours to prevent dehydration.
3. Give Immodium once a day. Just a little bit will do.
4. Once a day, syringe feed good bacteria Yakult, Vitagen. Not too much though.
5. On the second day, it's important to force feed the guinea to prevent his system from shutting down. Crush his daily guinea pig pellets and leafy hay to fine particles. Use your hand to shove it into his mouth and let him slowly munch and swallow. Feed him 2-3 times a day..
It requires tremendous patience, care, time, effort to pull the sick guinea through. It will recover within 3 days the most. Please follow a good guideline when giving vege to prevent such trying moments as diarrhoe.
GP Injury ----------
1. Most common injury/infection is Bumblefoot infection. More info on Bumblefoot:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bumblefoot_%28infection%29
Bumblefoot happens with those GP kept in wire cages and mattings with holes.
Check their foot pad every week to see such symptoms. Apply yellow solution to the infected area.
If it occurs very very frequently, then you should consider changing to other matting.
2. Red/swellig eyes.
Purchase antibiotic drops for eyes that is meant for us, from our clinic and drop one drop per eye daily.So i bought worm syrup for my GPs, the worm syrup is TROY brand and also hav direction use for guinea pigs. If u live in area KL, ampang or Gombak, its not a problem coz dat Dr not come to ur house if he need pay for a toll, not worthy. and dis is his first time treat Guinea pigs  , actually he more with cats, sometimes rabbit. This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Jun 3 2008, 12:00 PM
kaoru himura
Jun 3 2008, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ Jun 3 2008, 11:30 AM) Ohh.. aby RM58 at pet family, last time I saw normal RM58 no abby there at bukit tinggi Klang la.. i never go at Taman Megah , try to go there but no find where is it.  , I think if its RM58 for abby its normal price. yup, wildlife zoological near petaling street, if u can see shop with a lot of birds, there it is. Its opposite the petaling street. Hmm.. American satin.. sometimes the shop staff nak Gempak je lebih, they actually don know anything. I thinks urs normal GP and same actually. I forget ur GP lookalike, need to reverse the page.  where do u buy dat GP? owh...will look for that shop next time...thanks !! and yeah the one i saw is abys, in pet family bukit tinggi...normal GP and abys can get along well or not? maybe thinking of buying an aby...or teddy also nice... i bought Yui in Sek. Ren Bukit Tinggi's Hari Keusahawan a few months ago...there's this pet booth and i got Yui for Rm 35... here's my princess!!! sorry not very gud quality pics...will post more pics later... This post has been edited by kaoru himura: Jun 3 2008, 01:38 PM Attached thumbnail(s)