Durian orchard investment. Is anyone doing it?, durian orchard investment

TSlainux
post May 2 2008, 03:35 PM, updated 7y ago

650 posts

I am looking into buying a durian orchard near Bentong area. However, I have no clue about orchard. If anyone of you have experience owning a durian orchard, please kindly offer your 2cents.

There are 2 pieces of land I am looking into. One is around 7 acres, the other is 4 acres just right on the side of the road with electricity.

7 acres land:
- w/o electricity, but have a private bridge that can be locked, better security
- all matured tress on a hill with a big river
- about RM400k+

4 acres land:
- w/ electricity, just right on the side of the road, easy access
- currently someone is living on the lot next to it, easy to get help from neighbor.
- also w/ mature trees, already flowering w/ small durians
- selling around RM300k

I am more toward the 4acres land, due to the easy access and a nice neighbor. My intention is to use it also as a vacation home. But, since the durian coud generate income for me, I might as well pick a right one to maybe help bring in extra cash?

My questions:
- how hard is it to take care of a durian orchard?
- what is the monthly cost like? the baja and worker, and etc
- what is the whole sale price for D24 and Musang King
- what can be done to maximize profit? Can i plant other things in between?
- usually how many fruits per tree?
- isn't easy to get a loan for this? Is it same as housing loan?

An input is highly appreciated.

This post has been edited by lainux: May 2 2008, 03:37 PM
4Rings
post May 2 2008, 05:29 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

My in-law had been in this business for many years. They had sold the orchard because durian price has gone down tremendously over the years.
Not really profitable.
ykc
post May 2 2008, 05:31 PM

1,884 posts

why not plant oil-palm instead?
Gen-X
post May 2 2008, 06:09 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ May 2 2008, 03:35 PM)
I am looking into buying a durian orchard near Bentong area.  However, I have no clue about orchard.  If anyone of you have experience owning a durian orchard, please kindly offer your 2cents.

There are 2 pieces of land I am looking into.  One is around 7 acres, the other is 4 acres just right on the side of the road with electricity.

7 acres land:
- w/o electricity, but have a private bridge that can be locked, better security
- about RM400k+

4 acres land:
- currently someone is living on the lot next to it, easy to get help from neighbor.
- selling around RM300k

I am more toward the 4acres land, due to the easy access and a nice neighbor.  My intention is to use it also as a vacation home.  But, since the durian coud generate income for me, I might as well pick a right one to maybe help bring in extra cash?

My questions:
- what is the monthly cost like?  the baja and worker, and etc
- what can be done to maximize profit?  Can i plant other things in between?
- isn't easy to get a loan for this?  Is it same as housing loan?

RM300-400K, go calculate how many times you think you be staying there for the rest of your life and how many durians you can buy with that money.

As mentioned 4Rings, durian prices have fallen over the years. Nowadays can get durians anytime from Thailand.

The important thing about durian tress is you need somebody to take care of it. How often do you have time to visit the orchard? You need a realiable worker to maintain the orchard like cutting grass, spray chemicals onto tress (need pump if trees are high), putting fertilizers and etc. How sure are you that the worker will do the work if you do not supervise? Worst still he go sell the chemicals you bought.

Also during fruiting time, are you there to ensure that there is no theft or your worker selling the durians without or knowledge? Also the durians are prone to be eaten by monkeys and squirrels.

As for profit, i doubt you get back your capital by selling durians or enough to cover your maintenance cost. Just hope that the area will develop and you make profit from appreciation of the land price.

My, advise, if you have no time to visit the orchard frequently to supervise your worker, better don't go into it. Another thing, when the durian start falling down, it starts falling down everyday until all gone. Would you be there for 2 weeks straight to see your durians falling and picking them?

The easy way out is to let other maintain your orchard and they get to sell the durians and in return you get to eat all the durian you want. But if they fail to maintain your trees properly, within few years all the trees will be in bad shape.

mphpopular
post May 3 2008, 07:33 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

try refer to Jabatan pertanian or something agensi like tat. Under government...

For pertanian, although you is chinese, but if you have a good proposal, you still able to get loan from them.

Remember calculate your money management (risk toward profit)

syazwanreno
post May 3 2008, 07:37 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

better change the durian into something else....

durian is sooo cheap now....
jeffblazed
post May 3 2008, 09:15 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ May 3 2008, 07:37 PM)
better change the durian into something else....

durian is sooo cheap now....
true better buy and empty land and plant palm oil better...that selling price is inflated a lot it should be less than rm100 for the 7 ekar land.....

KooHei
post May 3 2008, 10:05 PM

431 posts

I am looking into buying a durian orchard near Bentong area.  However, I have no clue about orchard.  If anyone of you have experience owning a durian orchard, please kindly offer your 2cents.

There are 2 pieces of land I am looking into.  One is around 7 acres, the other is 4 acres just right on the side of the road with electricity.
maybe not durian... have you been into agriculture business before..? try other... more higher returns guarantee
any investors..? rolleyes.gif
TSlainux
post May 5 2008, 01:12 PM

650 posts

Actually, the trees are currently being maintained, so if i take over it, the same person will be maintaining it for me. So, it shouldn't be an issue for that. But, I am just not sure how much will the fertilizer and chemical cost. As long as the monthly maintenance is low, it shouldn't be an issue.

I know that durian price has gone down, thus I am looking for the graded durians. This orchard has all Musang King and D24 which cost more.

I thought oil palm is more work, since it needs to be done twice a month. Plus you need a bigger lot in order to really see the profit?

I am actually buying this piece of land as a vacation home. I am just trying to see whether the durian will generate enough income to pay my mortgage.
Canopies
post May 5 2008, 01:59 PM

2,733 posts

plant gaharu woood in between ...^^
am_eniey
post May 5 2008, 06:37 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ May 2 2008, 05:31 PM)
This is the best idea so far
jongkolkhoo
post May 9 2008, 12:53 AM

416 posts

dig a pond , rear fish .. you can stay ,eat durian and fishing while relaxing. income to pay mortgage from durian? not for a person who knows nothing about durian orchard. my family chop down durian trees and planted rubber and palm oil many yrs ago. the only piece of land (10 acre) with fruit also chop down. Now only left rubber and palm oil. NO more free unlimited durian, langsat, etc festival. if you buy, can invite me to taste your future musang king ka?
TSlainux
post May 9 2008, 02:58 PM

650 posts

Surely no problem. You are invited if i buy the orchard land.

My idea is simple. If I can get someone local to help me out, i think the income from durian should be enough to pay for my mortgage. So far, i have gathered quite some info. I am looking forward how else to utilize that piece of land to generate income.

I am also thinking of opening to the orchard to public for home stay during the durian season. They can stay over night and enjoy unlimited of fruits. Also, fishing in the pond. What kind of fish to rear to generate income? Someone i met there rear Japanese Koi, and is doing quite well. But, it is a rather niche market.
jiaxun
post Jun 28 2009, 03:26 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ May 9 2008, 02:58 PM)
Surely no problem.  You are invited if i buy the orchard land.

My idea is simple.  If I can get someone local to help me out, i think the income from durian should be enough to pay for my mortgage.  So far, i have gathered quite some info.  I am looking forward how else to utilize that piece of land to generate income.

I am also thinking of opening to the orchard to public for home stay during the durian season.  They can stay over night and enjoy unlimited of fruits.  Also, fishing in the pond.  What kind of fish to rear to generate income?  Someone i met there rear Japanese Koi, and is doing quite well.  But, it is a rather niche market.
You need to check whether the durian tree is
-what type of durian? Musang? D24? or just Kampung?
-old? or young? (Age affect the production)
-tall? short? (Affecting chemical spray)
-on flat land or slide land? (Affecting the taste of durian)

1acre needs 50kg of fertilizer. And each 50kg fertilizer around RM200. (fluctuates depends on the supplier mood)
Then, whether a durian well be tasteful or no taste depends on the quality of the fertilizer and the frequency you use the fertilizer.

Pesticide, everytime durian season will need to spray to prevent your durian spoil by bug

From information that you've given, I assume that 7 acres is further away from the main road, and there will be risk of having wild boar in your orchard once in a while, unless the land is completely surrounded by fence.

Durian tree on flat land tends to produce green coloured durian.
Durian tree on slide land tends to produce dried-leaf like coloured durian. (bitter taste with higher price)
yhtan
post Jun 28 2009, 12:52 PM

8,653 posts

7 acres land:
- about RM400k+

4 acres land:
- selling around RM300k

I am more toward the 4acres land, due to the easy access and a nice neighbor.  My intention is to use it also as a vacation home.  But, since the durian coud generate income for me, I might as well pick a right one to maybe help bring in extra cash?

My questions:
- what is the monthly cost like?  the baja and worker, and etc
- what can be done to maximize profit?  Can i plant other things in between?
- isn't easy to get a loan for this?  Is it same as housing loan?

My grandfather owned a small durian orchard, roughly 2-3 acres, mainly D101 and D24
i can tell u that durian price is not as high as 60's and 70's, is not very profitable, i collect those durian with my grandfather and everyday got around 200kg, the wholesale price for normal durian is around 50cent per kg, D24 D101 is roughly RM1-2 per kg, one day earning could be RM100 or lesser than that, Musang King could fetch up to RM10 per kg if i'm not mistaken

u can plant some fruit tree in between, banana, Mangosteen etc

the only way of taking loan is mortgage loan, the interest will be higher than housing loan AFAIK

QUOTE(lainux @ May 5 2008, 01:12 PM)
Actually, the trees are currently being maintained, so if i take over it, the same person will be maintaining it for me.  So, it shouldn't be an issue for that.  But, I am just not sure how much will the fertilizer and chemical cost.  As long as the monthly maintenance is low, it shouldn't be an issue.

I know that durian price has gone down, thus I am looking for the graded durians.  This orchard has all Musang King and D24 which cost more.

I thought oil palm is more work, since it needs to be done twice a month.  Plus you need a bigger lot in order to really see the profit?

I am actually buying this piece of land as a vacation home.  I am just trying to see whether the durian will generate enough income to pay my mortgage.
seriously, if u want to generate income by this orchard, u don't sell it to wholesale, get a transport and send it into KL and sell it, from selling it yourself u can get a better price

TSlainux
post Jun 29 2009, 02:37 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 28 2009, 03:26 AM)
You need to check whether the durian tree is
-what type of durian? Musang? D24? or just Kampung?
-old? or young? (Age affect the production)
-tall? short? (Affecting chemical spray)
-on flat land or slide land? (Affecting the taste of durian)

1acre needs 50kg of fertilizer. And each 50kg fertilizer around RM200. (fluctuates depends on the supplier mood)
Then, whether a durian well be tasteful or no taste depends on the quality of the fertilizer and the frequency you use the fertilizer.

Pesticide, everytime durian season will need to spray to prevent your durian spoil by bug

From information that you've given, I assume that 7 acres is further away from the main road, and there will be risk of having wild boar in your orchard once in a while, unless the land is completely surrounded by fence.

Durian tree on flat land tends to produce green coloured durian.
Durian tree on slide land tends to produce dried-leaf like coloured durian. (bitter taste with higher price)
Great information there. Mind I ask do you own an orchard?

I didn't get the piece of land, the landlord last min increased the price b4 I offered a lower price.

Saw another orchard earlier this year, but things didn't work out. Still looking for an orchard though. If anyone come across a good one (cheap, w/ river, with a hill, near road...), plz kindly PM me. thumbup.gif

Added on June 29, 2009, 2:40 am
QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 28 2009, 12:52 PM)
My grandfather owned a small durian orchard, roughly 2-3 acres, mainly D101 and D24
i can tell u that durian price is not as high as 60's and 70's, is not very profitable, i collect those durian with my grandfather and everyday got around 200kg, the wholesale price for normal durian is around 50cent per kg, D24 D101 is roughly RM1-2 per kg, one day earning could be RM100 or lesser than that, Musang King could fetch up to RM10 per kg if i'm not mistaken

u can plant some fruit tree in between, banana, Mangosteen etc

the only way of taking loan is mortgage loan, the interest will be higher than housing loan AFAIK
seriously, if u want to generate income by this orchard, u don't sell it to wholesale, get a transport and send it into KL and sell it, from selling it yourself u can get a better price
A friend of mine actually owns 50acre of durian orchard. They told me can get around RM4-5 for D24. ANd the agent told me can sell musang at 14-16/kg!!

This post has been edited by lainux: Jun 29 2009, 02:40 AM
jiaxun
post Jun 29 2009, 03:17 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jun 29 2009, 02:37 AM)
Great information there.  Mind I ask do you own an orchard?

I didn't get the piece of land, the landlord last min increased the price b4 I offered a lower price.

Saw another orchard earlier this year, but things didn't work out.  Still looking for an orchard though.  If anyone come across a good one (cheap, w/ river, with a hill, near road...), plz kindly PM me.  thumbup.gif
It currently belongs to my family members. I did help out during the time when the price of durian was high back then, and few years back when the price dropped tremendously(where the lowest grade of durian is 10cents/kg).

Actually, Bentong's land will be very expensive because many people from KL tends to buy the land there due to the distance factor. Perhaps you can find your land at Raub?

About the labor thingy, you can hire indons to look after your land after you've bought it. The experienced worker working for us(more than 8 years) and is given certificate by Jabatan Pertanian during the visit few months back isn't costing us more than RM1k/month.
But then, you will have to apply for permit.

There's still much for you to learn and same goes to me.

A friend of mine actually owns 50acre of durian orchard.  They told me can get around RM4-5 for D24.  ANd the agent told me can sell musang at 14-16/kg!!
Yes, currently the price is around the range.
yhtan
post Jun 29 2009, 11:49 AM

8,653 posts

Great information there.  Mind I ask do you own an orchard?

Saw another orchard earlier this year, but things didn't work out.  Still looking for an orchard though.  If anyone come across a good one (cheap, w/ river, with a hill, near road...), plz kindly PM me.  thumbup.gif

A friend of mine actually owns 50acre of durian orchard.  They told me can get around RM4-5 for D24.  ANd the agent told me can sell musang at 14-16/kg!!
too bad the price for that is for Pahang area, which nearer to KL
my place, near Kluang and Segamat, supply is more than demand, and shipment to Singapore getting stricter than before, that is why the price is so low, during 90's many owner chopped it down and plant oil palm to get a better return
jiaxun
post Jun 29 2009, 02:46 PM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 29 2009, 11:49 AM)
too bad the price for that is for Pahang area, which nearer to KL
my place, near Kluang and Segamat, supply is more than demand, and shipment to Singapore getting stricter than before, that is why the price is so low, during 90's many owner chopped it down and plant oil palm to get a better return
And there were times where the price of oil palm dropped until RM50 per 1 tonne(1000kg). Oil palm trees is harder to take care and palm oil fruits are frequently being stolen, by outsider and also insider(worker). One of my family members have oil palm orchard.

Banana is the easiest-to-plant fruit tree and fastest growing and production of fruit. You need very little of fertilizer or not at all. Grade A and Grade B banana is being sold for RM1/kg and RM0.50/kg respectively to supplier. We have a deal with our experienced worker where he will do all the jobs and we will sell the banana, and he earn 50% from the profit.

there's no sure thing in agriculture.
cute_boboi
post Jun 29 2009, 05:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Last Sat survey durian price in KL Chinese area.

D24 from RM10-12/kg ohmy.gif
Musang King RM23/kg shocking.gif

Crazy price, I did not buy any to eat. Then, I goto KL Malay area and buy kampung D24 (not pure D24) at RM6/kg. Just to taste only, not yet go all the way.

Therefore, unless you are willing to load and bring it back to KL in 4WD or lorry and sell yourself, the middlemen won't pay high price for it.
TSlainux
post Jun 29 2009, 09:13 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 29 2009, 02:46 PM)
And there were times where the price of oil palm dropped until RM50 per 1 tonne(1000kg). Oil palm trees is harder to take care and palm oil fruits are frequently being stolen, by outsider and also insider(worker). One of my family members have oil palm orchard.

Banana is the easiest-to-plant fruit tree and fastest growing and production of fruit. You need very little of fertilizer or not at all. Grade A and Grade B banana is being sold for RM1/kg and RM0.50/kg respectively to supplier. We have a deal with our experienced worker where he will do all the jobs and we will sell the banana, and he earn 50% from the profit.

1 acre land can produce how many kg of banana? easy to sell?

I heard durain also got ppl stealing!

Still hunting for my piece of land. Bentong is the best as I live in KL. Not too far, and do my resort project as well...

Added on June 29, 2009, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 29 2009, 05:43 PM)
Last Sat survey durian price in KL Chinese area.

D24 from RM10-12/kg  ohmy.gif
Musang King RM23/kg  shocking.gif

Crazy price, I did not buy any to eat. Then, I goto KL Malay area and buy kampung D24 (not pure D24) at RM6/kg. Just to taste only, not yet go all the way.

Therefore, unless you are willing to load and bring it back to KL in 4WD or lorry and sell yourself, the middlemen won't pay high price for it.
But MK is damn nice to eat! more meat than others due to small 'bullet' seed.

Added on June 29, 2009, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 29 2009, 03:17 AM)
It currently belongs to my family members. I did help out during the time when the price of durian was high back then, and few years back when the price dropped tremendously(where the lowest grade of durian is 10cents/kg).

Actually, Bentong's land will be very expensive because many people from KL tends to buy the land there due to the distance factor. Perhaps you can find your land at Raub?

About the labor thingy, you can hire indons to look after your land after you've bought it. The experienced worker working for us(more than 8 years) and is given certificate by Jabatan Pertanian during the visit few months back isn't costing us more than RM1k/month.
But then, you will have to apply for permit.

There's still much for you to learn and same goes to me.
Yes, currently the price is around the range.
That is what my friend is doing, hiring indon worker, but his land too big, one man isn't enough. How big is ur land? Do u plant anything in between to max profit?

I was driving back from JB a few months ago, somewhere on the roadside, ppl were planting grass. Have u thought of that? Is selling grass a lucrative biz? Just curious.

This post has been edited by lainux: Jun 29 2009, 09:20 PM
yhtan
post Jun 29 2009, 10:21 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 29 2009, 02:46 PM)

My family are into oil palm business so we don't really worry about being stolen
is true that those worker might steal your oil palm and fertilizer too, many cases in my area and those owner is not local people, u just need someone trustable to do the job
RM50 per tonne, that price might be around early 90's or 80's, not really sure about it

Banana is easier to plant, but once infected by disease, u have to burn the whole orchard banana tree

jiaxun
post Jun 29 2009, 11:35 PM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jun 29 2009, 09:13 PM)
1 acre land can produce how many kg of banana?  easy to sell?

Still hunting for my piece of land.  Bentong is the best as I live in KL.  Not too far, and do my resort project as well..
Erm... Don't really know about this as I don't have part in that but I thinking selling banana is easier than selling durian. Banana is recent plantation.
Yes but stealing durian isn't that common as stealing oil palm as villagers there have their own land and durian trees.

Added on June 29, 2009, 9:15 pmBut MK is damn nice to eat!  more meat than others due to small 'bullet' seed.
Still, it depends on individual taste. Some bitter D24 is very nice too.

Added on June 29, 2009, 9:20 pmThat is what my friend is doing, hiring indon worker, but his land too big, one man isn't enough.  How big is ur land?  Do u plant anything in between to max profit?

I was driving back from JB a few months ago, somewhere on the roadside, ppl were planting grass.  Have u thought of that?  Is selling grass a lucrative biz?  Just curious.
10 years ago, we did have ~3000 water apple trees in between but water apple also problematic, especially bug and easily rotten. Now mostly longkong(langsat-like fruit), banana. Mangosteen, rambutan and san lai chee(mountain laici?), only got a few. Oh ya, and some pineapple too.

We have 5 ponds sizing around 25x25 square feet each at one of the valleys with fresh water fish like pak su kong (cat fish) and few other types of fresh water fish. Turn out that this lure some of lizard which then capture by our net and became dishes on the table. Now nobody take care of the ponds so basically is just let it be the way it turns to, and have become fishing pond for our family members who are interested in fishing.

We have 3 parts of non-connected orchard, one near the main road, the other one far from main road up the mountain, another one deep into the forest, around 100 acres.

8 years back we had 2-3 workers only, now we have around 5 during durian season.

Added on June 30, 2009, 9:53 am
QUOTE(yhtan @ Jun 29 2009, 10:21 PM)
My family are into oil palm business so we don't really worry about being stolen
is true that those worker might steal your oil palm and fertilizer too, many cases in my area and those owner is not local people, u just need someone trustable to do the job
RM50 per tonne, that price might be around early 90's or 80's, not really sure about it

Banana is easier to plant, but once infected by disease, u have to burn the whole orchard banana tree
RM50 per tonne was during early 2000. And I clearly remembered that time many oil palm orchard owner chopped down their tree to replant the oil palm tree or, change to another type of plantation.

So far our banana trees grow healthily, and we sell the fruits once every 2 weeks.

This post has been edited by jiaxun: Jun 30 2009, 09:53 AM
TSlainux
post Jun 30 2009, 11:23 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 29 2009, 11:35 PM)
Erm... Don't really know about this as I don't have part in that but I thinking selling banana is easier than selling durian. Banana is recent plantation.
Yes but stealing durian isn't that common as stealing oil palm as villagers there have their own land and durian trees.
Still, it depends on individual taste. Some bitter D24 is very nice too.
10 years ago, we did have ~3000 water apple trees in between but water apple also problematic, especially bug and easily rotten. Now mostly longkong(langsat-like fruit), banana. Mangosteen, rambutan and san lai chee(mountain laici?), only got a few. Oh ya, and some pineapple too.

We have 5 ponds sizing around 25x25 square feet each at one of the valleys with fresh water fish like pak su kong (cat fish) and few other types of fresh water fish. Turn out that this lure some of lizard which then capture by our net and became dishes on the table. Now nobody take care of the ponds so basically is just let it be the way it turns to, and have become fishing pond for our family members who are interested in fishing.

We have 3 parts of non-connected orchard, one near the main road, the other one far from main road up the mountain, another one deep into the forest, around 100 acres.

8 years back we had 2-3 workers only, now we have around 5 during durian season.

Added on June 30, 2009, 9:53 amRM50 per tonne was during early 2000. And I clearly remembered that time many oil palm orchard owner chopped down their tree to replant the oil palm tree or, change to another type of plantation.

So far our banana trees grow healthily, and we sell the fruits once every 2 weeks.
So, what is your thought after all these years working on your orchards? Do you think it is worth it for a durian orchard? If you plant musang king, i think u can generate enough or more to cover the mortgage payment. One thing good about Bentong is, you get 2 seasons for you durian compared to those in Penang.

100 acres.. that is quite BIG!
jiaxun
post Jul 1 2009, 09:59 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jun 30 2009, 11:23 PM)
So, what is your thought after all these years working on your orchards?  Do you think it is worth it for a durian orchard?  If you plant musang king, i think u can generate enough or more to cover the mortgage payment.  One thing good about Bentong is, you get 2 seasons for you durian compared to those in Penang.

100 acres..  that is quite BIG!
There are two facts that I wish to share with you.

When the durian trees starts to flower, and you want the flowers to turn into fruit, you need bees to do the work for you and these bees are natural bees. If you're lucky and your orchard visited by a lot of bees, then you will have a lot of durian that coming season. If you're unlucky, then it would be otherwise.

Second, during flowering, if it rains heavily for few days, the flowers will be hit by the rain and fall off from tree and you can almost expect the coming season to low production of fruits, just like what happened last season and this season.

If 20 years back, I would say durian is very worth investing but now durian is so-so, cukup makan saja.

This post has been edited by jiaxun: Jul 1 2009, 11:09 AM
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 5 2009, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jul 1 2009, 09:59 AM)
There are two facts that I wish to share with you.

When the durian trees starts to flower, and you want the flowers to turn into fruit, you need bees to do the work for you and these bees are natural bees. If you're lucky and your orchard visited by a lot of bees, then you will have a lot of durian that coming season. If you're unlucky, then it would be otherwise.

Second, during flowering, if it rains heavily for few days, the flowers will be hit by the rain and fall off from tree and you can almost expect the coming season to low production of fruits, just like what happened last season and this season.

If 20 years back, I would say durian is very worth investing but now durian is so-so, cukup makan saja.
The current buy back price by wholesalers or agents are:

D24 - R5/kg
Raja Kunyit/Mau San Wong - RM10/kg

This is Bentong/Raub pricing.

Cheers,
TSlainux
post Jul 5 2009, 09:14 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 5 2009, 05:19 PM)
The current buy back price by wholesalers or agents are:

D24 - R5/kg
Raja Kunyit/Mau San Wong - RM10/kg

This is Bentong/Raub pricing.

Cheers,
That are quite low.
yhtan
post Jul 5 2009, 09:36 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 5 2009, 09:14 PM)
That are quite low.
that price consider quite high already
Segamat there RM2-3 per kg for D24 sweat.gif
TSlainux
post Jul 5 2009, 09:54 PM

650 posts

Just curious. Is anyone using worm compost as fertiliser? Is it good? Bought some worm for my own home use project, and chatted abit w/ the owner. He told me that worm compost is super good and cheaper than normal fertilizer. any comment?
Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 10:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

tongue.gif
1 acre land can produce how many kg of banana?  easy to sell?

Still hunting for my piece of land.  Bentong is the best as I live in KL.  Not too far, and do my resort project as well...

I was driving back from JB a few months ago, somewhere on the roadside, ppl were planting grass.  Have u thought of that?  Is selling grass a lucrative biz?  Just curious.
1 ac of land can plant about 650 berangan trees. The size of the bunches of the banana depends on many factors i.e. irrigation, type of soil, maintenance, disease etc. Some berangan bunch can go up to 20kg or more.

Banana calculation (just an example as no two farm are the same)
Let just say that all 650 trees in an acre have fruit (no wild boar attack and got proper irrigation and land preparation) and each tree produce 18kg. Market price for ex-farm RM1.2-RM1.70 (depending on area and size of banana). Therefore 1 ac banana sales = 650 x 18kg x RM1.50 = RM17,550.00. Bananas very easy to sell for all varities as supply not enough for local market.

Those interested in fruit and vegetable prices, visit link below:

http://www.famaxchange.org/

People steel anything that has value including durians, bananas and even cattle by truck loads.

Bro, still hunting for land? What is the price per ac in Bentong for orchard?

Grass also good business, as long as you got free water source then ok, well that applies to all cash crops.

As for durians, anyone facing unripe D24? Is it because of the dry season?

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 5 2009, 09:54 PM)
Just curious.  Is anyone using worm compost as fertiliser?  Is it good?  Bought some worm for my own home use project, and chatted abit w/ the owner.  He told me that worm compost is super good and cheaper than normal fertilizer.  any comment?
The owner sure lah where got say no good. Any research data to proof his claim? Worms may improve the soil condition but I doubt it can replace fertilizers.
TSlainux
post Jul 5 2009, 10:56 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 5 2009, 10:07 PM)
tongue.gif

1 ac of land can plant about 650 berangan trees. The size of the bunches of the banana depends on many factors i.e. irrigation, type of soil, maintenance, disease etc. Some berangan bunch can go up to 20kg or more.

Banana calculation (just an example as no two farm are the same)
Let just say that all 650 trees in an acre have fruit (no wild boar attack and got proper irrigation and land preparation) and each tree produce 18kg. Market price for ex-farm RM1.2-RM1.70 (depending on area and size of banana). Therefore 1 ac banana sales = 650 x 18kg x RM1.50 = RM17,550.00. Bananas very easy to sell for all varities as supply not enough for local market.

Those interested in fruit and vegetable prices, visit link below:

http://www.famaxchange.org/

People steel anything that has value including durians, bananas and even cattle by truck loads.
Seems like a good biz for banana! But from that figure, how much profit can one see? 10k?

Bro, still hunting for land? What is the price per ac in Bentong for orchard?
Still hunting... anyone good & cheap one to recommend? Kopi on me! thumbup.gif

Grass also good business, as long as you got free water source then ok, well that applies to all cash crops.
Was thinking of some bermuda grass. US has nice grass compared to our philipine or taiwanese grass. but more maintenance.

As for durians, anyone facing unripe D24? Is it because of the dry season?
Got a friend's friend has D24 problem, unripe issue. HIs farm is in Ipoh.

The owner sure lah where got say no good. Any research data to proof his claim? Worms may improve the soil condition but I doubt it can replace fertilizers.
Worm compost is the new thing in this era, organic and cheap to produce. I am experimenting it myself at home. Will update on my progress.

Gen-X
post Jul 5 2009, 11:36 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Seems like a good biz for banana! But from that figure, how much profit can one see? 10k?

Profit, well it depends on many factors i.e. irrigation, soil type, land preparation, type and method of fertilizer application, disease (Johor was bad recently). seedlings, etc. And say if you are employing a supervisor to take care of it in addition to indon; forget about it unless you are the supervisor or you planting 20 acres and above. Somemore after the 3rd harvest the banana gets small.

Don't get me wrong, banana is very profitable cash crop (compared to oil palm which takes a long time to recover cost more so now with land costing more) but soil and management determines your output.

For more info on fruit planting, cost and profit. Go to Mardi's book shop at Serdang.

Was thinking of some bermuda grass. US has nice grass compared to our philipine or taiwanese grass. but more maintenance.

Where's your market for bermuda? Yah bermuda colour is nice, kind of blueish green but like you said maintenance cost higher.

Worm compost is the new thing in this era, organic and cheap to produce. I am experimenting it myself at home. Will update on my progress.
If you are thinking of this as a business, better go study the market as demand not good as I was told.

TSlainux
post Jul 6 2009, 01:07 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 5 2009, 11:36 PM)
Seems like a good biz for banana!  But from that figure, how much profit can one see? 10k?

Profit, well it depends on many factors i.e. irrigation, soil type, land preparation, type and method of fertilizer application, disease (Johor was bad recently). seedlings, etc. And say if you are employing a supervisor to take care of it in addition to indon; forget about  it unless you are the supervisor or you planting 20 acres and above. Somemore after the 3rd harvest the banana gets small.

Don't get me wrong, banana is very profitable cash crop (compared to oil palm which takes a long time to recover cost more so now with land costing more)  but soil and management determines your output.

For more info on fruit planting, cost and profit. Go to Mardi's book shop at Serdang.

Was thinking of some bermuda grass.  US has nice grass compared to our philipine or taiwanese grass.  but more maintenance.

Where's your market for bermuda? Yah bermuda colour is nice, kind of blueish green but like you said maintenance cost higher.

Worm compost is the new thing in this era, organic and cheap to produce.  I am experimenting it myself at home.  Will update on my progress.
If you are thinking of this as a business, better go study the market as demand not good as I was told.
Just wanna open up some discussion on worm compost as alternative. Just curious how many ppl are doing it. In fact, i thought most orchard/farmers should be doing worm compost themselves to get cheap fertilizer.

The last time when i was shopping for land, the agent told me to plant banana, and he would help and share profit w/ me. But that piece of land was too far from the main road, i rejected that idea. He is a farmer as well, doing banana now while waiting for his rubber trees to mature.
Jupiterblue03
post Jul 6 2009, 01:26 PM

Is Durian planting a viable commodity business? I really am not sure. I know someone who had been in the business, i heard that it is quite a mess, as the market fluctuates pretty much and distribution channels are pretty messy in around this part of Malaysia as well.
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 6 2009, 01:46 PM

D24 at RM2-3/kg is probably a realistic figure now as it is now Durian mid-season with larger harvest. RM5/kg would be early season.

Bottomline, to make money from Durian, you either have to have a super big orchard (20hec above) or you sell the durian on your own (ie. durianSS2). Otherwise, just to break even for maintenance or enjoy them yourselves.

Vermicompost is actually now getting popular as commodity veg farms like Guthrie and SIME are going organic. Guthrie alone is comsuming 20+ tonnes of vermicompost per month. Guthrie supplies organic veg to all tesco hypermarkets. In comparison to bio-chem fertilizers, vermicompost is no where near in terms of NPK values but it has values that bio-chem fertlizer don't. First and foremost, bio-chem fertilizers will kill a plot of agri land in 3-5 years. Wherelse vermicompost will ensure sustainability in terms of nutrients and condition. By conditioning the soil, plants will have better nutrient absorption rate while maintaining health to resist fungus and bac/virus attacks.

A bio-chem farm will have to rely solely on chem pesticides to resist fungus/bac/virus. That is what we ALL are eating now....CHEMICALS. You wouldn't want to know what some irresponsible farmers are doing today. All they care is profitability. So, don't always believe that eating veg is healthy smile.gif.

Well, if you plan to own your own farm/orchard, why not start vermicomposting? I know I will....

Cheers,

This post has been edited by Raja Kunyit: Jul 6 2009, 01:48 PM
TSlainux
post Jul 6 2009, 10:33 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 6 2009, 01:46 PM)
D24 at RM2-3/kg is probably a realistic figure now as it is now Durian mid-season with larger harvest. RM5/kg would be early season.

Bottomline, to make money from Durian, you either have to have a super big orchard (20hec above) or you sell the durian on your own (ie. durianSS2). Otherwise, just to break even for maintenance or enjoy them yourselves.

Vermicompost is actually now getting popular as commodity veg farms like Guthrie and SIME are going organic. Guthrie alone is comsuming 20+ tonnes of vermicompost per month. Guthrie supplies organic veg to all tesco hypermarkets. In comparison to bio-chem fertilizers, vermicompost is no where near in terms of NPK values but it has values that bio-chem fertlizer don't. First and foremost, bio-chem fertilizers will kill a plot of agri land in 3-5 years. Wherelse vermicompost will ensure sustainability in terms of nutrients and condition. By conditioning the soil, plants will have better nutrient absorption rate while maintaining health to resist fungus and bac/virus attacks.

A bio-chem farm will have to rely solely on chem pesticides to resist fungus/bac/virus. That is what we ALL are eating now....CHEMICALS. You wouldn't want to know what some irresponsible farmers are doing today. All they care is profitability. So, don't always believe that eating veg is healthy smile.gif.

Well, if you plan to own your own farm/orchard, why not start vermicomposting? I know I will....

Cheers,
I am learning, just invested in 500 worms for my mini garden worm compost! Still learning....

But, buying that piece of land will be the challenge. You have any to recommend? :-)

WHat is NPK?
idunnolol
post Jul 6 2009, 10:48 PM

1,044 posts

Nitrogen potassium and phosphorus. The 3 major plant nutrient chemically. What is the species that you bought? Night crawlers or wringers?
Gen-X
post Jul 6 2009, 11:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 6 2009, 01:46 PM)

Cheers,
Guthrie is now Sime wink.gif

As for organic farming, I was told that the environment surrounding the farm is also very important for ecology thus less bugs attack on the plants (of course this can be solved with the plants under full shelter which is costly).

And I wish to add that fruits are equally heavily treated with chemicals. I love water melons but now hardly touch it sad.gif I have been to a chikunan (spelling?) mango farm and was shocked to be informed the rate he applied P&D spraying. Pineapples on the other hand has less or non pesticide application.
am_eniey
post Jul 7 2009, 09:49 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

palm oil is the most stable price in this country !
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 7 2009, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 6 2009, 10:33 PM)
I am learning, just invested in 500 worms for my mini garden worm compost!  Still learning....

But, buying that piece of land will be the challenge.  You have any to recommend?  :-)

WHat is NPK?
If it is your dream to own the land, go ahead to do it. As long as it won't affect your financial burden to a point that you know you will be in trouble. I have the exact dream as you. Always wanted to own an orchard to tend to during my free time, having freinds to go over to lepak, etc.... Knowing that you own something is always a nice feeling. How I wish my dad left me an orchard... so now I know my children won't curse me for not handing over an orchard when I leave this world. Hahaha!

It is human nature to do a lot of calculation and consideration when we want to embark onto something. When you start calculating this and that too much, nothing will be done in the end. But then again, don't be too greedy la..smile.gif. Too big piece of a land is also sometimes a burden to maintain. The piece that I will be getting is about 5 acres. How to take care of 5 acres?.... think later.

So...if you believe you can afford it, GO FOR IT! What happens later, time will tell. At least after 30 years you won't look back and say, "Damnit, I should have bought the land"!

Cheers,
idunnolol
post Jul 7 2009, 02:40 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 7 2009, 10:20 AM)
If it is your dream to own the land, go ahead to do it. As long as it won't affect your financial burden to a point that you know you will be in trouble. I have the exact dream as you. Always wanted to own an orchard to tend to during my free time, having freinds to go over to lepak, etc.... Knowing that you own something is always a nice feeling. How I wish my dad left me an orchard... so now I know my children won't curse me for not handing over an orchard when I leave this world.  Hahaha!

It is human nature to do a lot of calculation and consideration when we want to embark onto something. When you start calculating this and that too much, nothing will be done in the end. But then again, don't be too greedy la..smile.gif. Too big piece of a land is also sometimes a burden to maintain. The piece that I will be getting is about 5 acres. How to take care of 5 acres?.... think later.

So...if you believe you can afford it, GO FOR IT! What happens later, time will tell. At least after 30 years you won't look back and say, "Damnit, I should have bought the land"!

Cheers,
where is the land? I know a few land near karak or ulu yam that cost around 19k per acre
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 7 2009, 05:40 PM

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 7 2009, 02:40 PM)
where is the land? I know a few land near karak or ulu yam that cost around 19k per acre
My piece is in Raub. 19K/acre in Karak & Ulu Yam is cheap! Freehold?

Cheers,

This post has been edited by Raja Kunyit: Jul 7 2009, 05:40 PM
idunnolol
post Jul 7 2009, 06:22 PM

1,044 posts

haha, no la. Hard to get freehold but its a leasehold till 2090. There is a stream in it too
TSlainux
post Jul 8 2009, 10:57 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 7 2009, 10:20 AM)
If it is your dream to own the land, go ahead to do it. As long as it won't affect your financial burden to a point that you know you will be in trouble. I have the exact dream as you. Always wanted to own an orchard to tend to during my free time, having freinds to go over to lepak, etc.... Knowing that you own something is always a nice feeling. How I wish my dad left me an orchard... so now I know my children won't curse me for not handing over an orchard when I leave this world.  Hahaha!

Cheers,
Very true very true.. SOmetimes i think i make too much calculations! In the end, nothing works!

Where is this piece of land that you have found? U gonna do durian?

Added on July 8, 2009, 11:12 am
This is quite affordable. How far away are they from the mainroad? Some really cheap ones are few KMs into the jungle!

This post has been edited by lainux: Jul 8 2009, 11:12 AM
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 8 2009, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 8 2009, 10:57 AM)
Very true very true.. SOmetimes i think i make too much calculations!  In the end, nothing works!

Where is this piece of land that you have found?  U gonna do durian?

Added on July 8, 2009, 11:12 am

This is quite affordable.  How far away are they from the mainroad?  Some really cheap ones are few KMs into the jungle!
Land already planted with Durian. 50% D24, 40% MSW and 10% others. MSW still young though. Total 100+ trees but still got space. Still deciding on inter-crops and location for my little hide-out hut :-).

I thought you are already buying the land?

This post has been edited by Raja Kunyit: Jul 8 2009, 04:45 PM
galactuz
post Jul 8 2009, 06:47 PM

75 posts

What is the total size of the plot? 19k per acre is considered cheap even for a leasehold. Is it Malay Reserve Land? Because I am interested icon_rolleyes.gif
idunnolol
post Jul 8 2009, 09:34 PM

1,044 posts

around 8-9 acre per land grant. Owner are selling it en bloc. Not that sure how in is it. just heard it from word of mouth, advertisement and online. There is a few land with crystal clear stream and already planted durian
TSlainux
post Jul 8 2009, 10:26 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 8 2009, 09:34 PM)
around 8-9 acre per land grant. Owner are selling it en bloc. Not that sure how in is it. just heard it from word of mouth, advertisement and online. There is a few land with crystal clear stream and already planted durian
PM me for more info bro! I am interested.

Added on July 8, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 8 2009, 04:40 PM)
Land already planted with Durian. 50% D24, 40% MSW and 10% others. MSW still young though. Total 100+ trees but still got space. Still deciding on inter-crops and location for my little hide-out hut :-).

I thought you are already buying the land?
Did you plant them or they came w/ the land? Are they bearing fruit now? My friend's 50 acres doing poorly this season due to young trees.

I almost bought a piece, but many things happen during the process, in the end, I am still looking. Too many consideration and desires! hahah... Still waiting... How much did you pay for your land? With stream in it? Are you using any compost as fertilizer?

This post has been edited by lainux: Jul 8 2009, 10:29 PM
idunnolol
post Jul 8 2009, 10:41 PM

1,044 posts

search around online with the necessary keywords, you will find what your looking for
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 8 2009, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 8 2009, 10:26 PM)
PM me for more info bro!  I am interested.

Added on July 8, 2009, 10:29 pm

Did you plant them or they came w/ the land?  Are they bearing fruit now?  My friend's 50 acres doing poorly this season due to young trees.

I almost bought a piece, but many things happen during the process, in the end, I am still looking.  Too many consideration and desires! hahah...  Still waiting...  How much did you pay for your land?  With stream in it?  Are you using any compost as fertilizer?
Came with the land. D24s are already more than 10 years old. Only the MSW are new. Some MSW 5-6 years old, so already bearing fruit. There is one very old Durian Kampung tree and according to owner, it is the highest income generator. It bears 500+ fruit per season and he can sell them at RM1-1.50/kg during early season. For your info, Bentong/Raub durians normally produce 2 fruiting season per year. Some of the trees already starting to flower again! But then again, like I said earlier, to make income from it will be hoping for too much. As long can cover maintenance cost, it is good enough. Objective was for my playground but who knows, later plans may yield some income.

Paid about 50K/acre. Freehold but no stream. A clear river runs just 50m from the land. It is also equipped with water pump and generator. Entire 5 acres is alreay laid with water piping. So, I save quite a lot of work and it is very well taken care of. The owner worked his entire life on the land and now getting too old to continue. Was actually sad to see him sell the land. His wife told me he cannot sleep every night. Dunno true or not but if it was me, I would feel the same.

Actually, there are lots of land for sale around the area. Just need time to look round and nego for a affordable price. I believe there is no real market price. It comes down to whether you like the piece or not and if it is well taken care of. At times, it may be cheap but will take a fortune to clear and start-up.

All said and done, the land will only be mine in 3-4 month time smile.gif. Going through legal process now.

Cheers,
idunnolol
post Jul 8 2009, 11:52 PM

1,044 posts

btw raja,i saw an online ad, land with durian in raub only 20k per acre. Abit hilly though and leasehold
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 9 2009, 12:18 AM

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 8 2009, 11:52 PM)
btw raja,i saw an online ad, land with durian in raub only 20k per acre. Abit hilly though and leasehold
Like I said, there are really a lot of land for sale in that region. I personally visited a few and yes, some of them were in the range of 20-25K/acre and even freehold. But when you see the place, you will say to yourself "OMG, let's go". Not easy to find a well maintain land.

There was one piece I saw and fell in love with it as there was a very very nice river flowing next to it and according to owner, the river is flowed from Fraser's Hill. The water is crystal clear and really cold. My first thought was "I finally found the perfect piece". Next, was time to inspect the durian trees....OMG! all of them were infected with termites! I randomly chose a spot and dug to the ground...holy crap! this is termites country!

So there you go.... At the end of the day, it is the combined elements that would probably be the deciding factor and not just price alone.

Some of them were so hilly even my toyota hilux cannot make the climb safely. Some of them has no legal access road and have to pass other land owner's property and the list goes on.

There was one which was heaven on earth but owner wants 100K/acre and total land area is 10 acres. Reason is there is a super nice waterfall and river flowing right in the middle of the property.

Buying a piece of land is like choosing a wife. Some pretty and sexy but may not be wife quality. Some not so pretty but you know they will be a good wife. Some are both pretty and good wife quality but then you are afraid that others will snatch her away one day. Complexity in life........hahaha!
TSlainux
post Jul 9 2009, 01:05 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jun 28 2009, 03:26 AM)

Just curious on the fertilizer used. Do you use 50kg/acre per year or per spray? How often do you add fertilizer? What type of fertilizer? Can use worm compost or not? Seems like worm compost is a lot cheaper than your chemical fertilizer.

Added on July 9, 2009, 1:13 am
QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 9 2009, 12:18 AM)
Like I said, there are really a lot of land for sale in that region. I personally visited a few and yes, some of them were in the range of 20-25K/acre and even freehold. But when you see the place, you will say to yourself "OMG, let's go". Not easy to find a well maintain land.

There was one piece I saw and fell in love with it as there was a very very nice river flowing next to it and according to owner, the river is flowed from Fraser's Hill. The water is crystal clear and really cold. My first thought was "I finally found the perfect piece". Next, was time to inspect the durian trees....OMG! all of them were infected with termites! I randomly chose a spot and dug to the ground...holy crap! this is termites country!

So there you go.... At the end of the day, it is the combined elements that would probably be the deciding factor and not just price alone.

Some of them were so hilly even my toyota hilux cannot make the climb safely. Some of them has no legal access road and have to pass other land owner's property and the list goes on.

There was one which was heaven on earth but owner wants 100K/acre and total land area is 10 acres. Reason is there is a super nice waterfall and river flowing right in the middle of the property.

Buying a piece of land is like choosing a wife. Some pretty and sexy but may not be wife quality. Some not so pretty but you know they will be a good wife. Some are both pretty and good wife quality but then you are afraid that others will snatch her away one day. Complexity in life........hahaha!
Very truely said. I have been looking for more than a year, still haven't found one w/ the right price & right elements. The beautiful place, cost too much, the cheaper place is just too far or too wild.

Does your land have good access? Right next to the road? I think you have saved quite a bit w/ all the piping being done. It could easily cost quite a bomb to do it yourself.

Well bro, dun forget to invite us the next durian season when the piece of land is yours!

Just some more questions for you:
- how are you going to manage your orchard?
- how much loan do you get? 80%? I heard you can get only like 50% for agriculture land. But then again, i dunno about the valuation part, cause they could be so far apart, 100k/acre - 20k/acre!
- have u done ur calculation on how much you need to spend on maintenance?

This post has been edited by lainux: Jul 9 2009, 01:13 AM
jiaxun
post Jul 9 2009, 08:29 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 7 2009, 05:40 PM)
My piece is in Raub. 19K/acre in Karak & Ulu Yam is cheap! Freehold?

Cheers,
Which place?

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 8 2009, 11:15 PM)
Came with the land. D24s are already more than 10 years old. Only the MSW are new. Some MSW 5-6 years old, so already bearing fruit. There is one very old Durian Kampung tree and according to owner, it is the highest income generator. It bears 500+ fruit per season and he can sell them at RM1-1.50/kg during early season. For your info, Bentong/Raub durians normally produce 2 fruiting season per year. Some of the trees already starting to flower again! But then again, like I said earlier, to make income from it will be hoping for too much. As long can cover maintenance cost, it is good enough. Objective was for my playground but who knows, later plans may yield some income.

Paid about 50K/acre. Freehold but no stream. A clear river runs just 50m from the land. It is also equipped with water pump and generator. Entire 5 acres is alreay laid with water piping. So, I save quite a lot of work and it is very well taken care of. The owner worked his entire life on the land and now getting too old to continue. Was actually sad to see him sell the land. His wife told me he cannot sleep every night. Dunno true or not but if it was me, I would feel the same.

Actually, there are lots of land for sale around the area. Just need time to look round and nego for a affordable price. I believe there is no real market price. It comes down to whether you like the piece or not and if it is well taken care of. At times, it may be cheap but will take a fortune to clear and start-up.

All said and done, the land will only be mine in 3-4 month time smile.gif. Going through legal process now.

Cheers,
How many acres is it? Our orchard doesn't have water pump, we have a small dam at the top of the hill with pipe to our orchard and shared by few orchard owner. This water can be drunk and it's very cold too. The Indonesian worker at our orchard get the water source from this system. Because of the flow from the pipe is high, it generates electricity for the workers and even burnt the dynamo sometimes. sweat.gif

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 9 2009, 01:05 AM)
Just curious on the fertilizer used.  Do you use 50kg/acre per year or per spray?  How often do you add fertilizer?  What type of fertilizer?  Can use worm compost or not?  Seems like worm compost is a lot cheaper than your chemical fertilizer.
50kg/acre/month for the month during the fruiting season, about once every week. Where can you find the worm compost?

This post has been edited by jiaxun: Jul 9 2009, 08:31 AM
TSlainux
post Jul 9 2009, 09:17 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jul 9 2009, 08:29 AM)
Which place?
How many acres is it? Our orchard doesn't have water pump, we have a small dam at the top of the hill with pipe to our orchard and shared by few orchard owner. This water can be drunk and it's very cold too. The Indonesian worker at our orchard get the water source from this system. Because of the flow from the pipe is high, it generates electricity for the workers and even burnt the dynamo sometimes. sweat.gif
Hydro-electric! Cool... How do you install the hydro-generator? Was it cheap? How much power output?

50kg/acre/month for the month during the fruiting season, about once every week. Where can you find the worm compost?
A search on mudah will yield many sources for you.
idunnolol
post Jul 9 2009, 05:36 PM

1,044 posts

I tried using durian husk minus the thorn for worm to compost. Didnt turn out good with the rotting and durian smell from it rclxub.gif
TSlainux
post Jul 9 2009, 09:44 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 9 2009, 05:36 PM)
I tried using durian husk minus the thorn for worm to compost. Didnt turn out good with the rotting and durian smell from it  rclxub.gif
You might need a lot of worm to compost such a big thing! It probably will take many months as well. I suggest just to compost the leaves, grass, and other organic things.

Have you tried using compost as fertilizer?
idunnolol
post Jul 9 2009, 10:05 PM

1,044 posts

abit , but those commercialized organic fertilizer win without a doubt. I didnt put the whole husk , just shard of it
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 10 2009, 11:57 PM

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 9 2009, 01:05 AM)
Just curious on the fertilizer used.  Do you use 50kg/acre per year or per spray?  How often do you add fertilizer?  What type of fertilizer?  Can use worm compost or not?  Seems like worm compost is a lot cheaper than your chemical fertilizer.

Added on July 9, 2009, 1:13 am

Very truely said.  I have been looking for more than a year, still haven't found one w/ the right price & right elements.  The beautiful place, cost too much, the cheaper place is just too far or too wild.

Does your land have good access?  Right next to the road?  I think you have saved quite a bit w/ all the piping being done.  It could easily cost quite a bomb to do it yourself.

Well bro, dun forget to invite us the next durian season when the piece of land is yours!

Just some more questions for you:
- how are you going to manage your orchard?
- how much loan do you get?  80%?  I heard you can get only like 50% for agriculture land.  But then again, i dunno about the valuation part, cause they could be so far apart, 100k/acre - 20k/acre!
- have u done ur calculation on how much you need to spend on maintenance?
Access is not bad. Just 50 meters of legal laterite access from main road. For maintenance, dunno yet...have not think about it yet. Best way to get loan is refinance your house and buy cash.

Added on July 11, 2009, 12:01 am
QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jul 9 2009, 08:29 AM)
Which place?
Location is Tras, just a few kms before Raub town. Where is your water source? Underground?

This post has been edited by Raja Kunyit: Jul 11 2009, 12:01 AM
idunnolol
post Jul 11 2009, 12:05 AM

1,044 posts

Wouldnt buying cash will invite the income tax to chase after you?
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 11 2009, 12:22 AM

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 11 2009, 12:05 AM)
Wouldnt buying cash will invite the income tax to chase after you?
No because you're refinancing your existing property.
TSlainux
post Jul 11 2009, 01:54 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 10 2009, 11:57 PM)
Access is not bad. Just 50 meters of legal laterite access from main road. For maintenance, dunno yet...have not think about it yet. Best way to get loan is refinance your house and buy cash.

Added on July 11, 2009, 12:01 am

Location is Tras, just a few kms before Raub town. Where is your water source? Underground?
Bro, my house's appreciation didn't quadruple like yours. Only slight appreciation!
jiaxun
post Jul 11 2009, 08:05 AM

- Wh@†Eve® - ™
1,352 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jul 9 2009, 09:17 AM)
Hydro-electric!  Cool... How do you install the hydro-generator?  Was it cheap?  How much power output?
Just connect one small water pipe from main water pipe, and shoot it on the dynamo, and the water flows away onto the ground. Depends on the dynamo size, ours cost few hundreds. The power output enough to power up few lamps, TVs, and CD/DVD player.

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 10 2009, 11:57 PM)
I see, Tras. Nowadays many people in Tras are selling out their land. I saw an board writing "Bank Lelong 274 acres" with number on it but forgot the number. Damn huge piece of land. Ask the villagers around they said the land is in Tras.

Water source from rocky river, from hill top.

Btw, your soon-to-be land is flat land or hill slide?

This post has been edited by jiaxun: Jul 11 2009, 10:53 AM
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 11 2009, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(jiaxun @ Jul 11 2009, 08:05 AM)
Just connect one small water pipe from main water pipe, and shoot it on the dynamo, and the water flows away onto the ground. Depends on the dynamo size, ours cost few hundreds. The power output enough to power up few lamps, TVs,  and CD/DVD player.
I see, Tras. Nowadays many people in Tras are selling out their land. I saw an board writing "Bank Lelong 274 acres" with number on it but forgot the number. Damn huge piece of land. Ask the villagers around they said the land is in Tras.

Water source from rocky river, from hill top.

Btw, your soon-to-be land is flat land or hill slide?
It's half flat and half hilly. But ex-owner already terraced the hilly part. Right on top of the hill is a small piece of flat land with a very nice view of the hills opposite.
idunnolol
post Jul 11 2009, 07:09 PM

1,044 posts

How big is the land again? Btw, Raja. Your planning to stay there or get some indon to help?
Raja Kunyit
post Jul 11 2009, 07:14 PM

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jul 11 2009, 07:09 PM)
How big is the land again? Btw, Raja. Your planning to stay there or get some  indon to help?
5 acres....no plans yet. Once title transfer is done, I will start to think abt it.
bach88
post Nov 24 2009, 11:13 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 11 2009, 07:14 PM)
5 acres....no plans yet. Once title transfer is done, I will start to think abt it.
For durian orchard owner, If you want to increase your fruit production and getting fruiting more than 2/3 times a year, I have a way to help. Would like to share some photo here which showing excellent performance. HOpe you guys enjoy it.

Added on November 24, 2009, 11:19 amuser posted image

If you have 10acres land with good species, to make turnover of 1-2Million per annum is not a problem. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bach88: Nov 24 2009, 11:19 AM
edyek
post Nov 24 2009, 05:06 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

As many people have said in the previous thread, durian price is really cheap. It will not generate alot of income for you. If you don't mind about the income, and you just want to have a country home and bring your familys and friends to gather and eat there, I don't see there is any problem with it. However, some people suggest banana, gaharu or other types of plantation. You just got to tap into the plantation commercial value (whichever plantation that you are interested in). I'm suggesting banana as banana prices are rising in recent years, and my friend plant a whole dam lot of bananas.

If you plant oil-palm in that 4-7 acres land, it will not generate enough profit thus covering the expenses. happy.gif

Gamma2K
post Jan 6 2010, 04:59 PM

41 posts

I'm planning to convert my 20 acre durian tree to something else. Hmm thinking of planning banana together with palm oil tree. Heard from someone that banana can be plan together side by side with palm oil tree so that banana can help to protect the palm oil tree too, but once the palm oil tree growing bigger then i must get rid the banana tree, that mean I can only harvest the banana for 2 year max after that have to get rid of it and wait for the palm oil to grow. I want to ask just grow banana all the time is better or mix with palm oil like I had mention is much more profit?
am_eniey
post Jan 6 2010, 05:35 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(Gamma2K @ Jan 6 2010, 04:59 PM)
I'm planning to convert my 20 acre durian tree to something else. Hmm thinking of planning banana together with palm oil tree. Heard from someone that banana can be plan together side by side with palm oil tree so that banana can help to protect the palm oil tree too, but once the palm oil tree growing bigger then i must get rid the banana tree, that mean I can only harvest the banana for 2 year max after that have to get rid of it and wait for the palm oil to grow. I want to ask just grow banana all the time is better or mix with palm oil like I had mention is much more profit?
Yeah, I once planted banana and pineapple in between my palm oil trees and under those big TNB powerline that goes through my land (can't plant oil palm under those cables). But the problems lies ahead......THIEVES.
edyek
post Jan 6 2010, 06:07 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Jan 6 2010, 05:35 PM)
Yeah, I once planted banana and pineapple in between my palm oil trees and under those big TNB powerline that goes through my land (can't plant oil palm under those cables). But the problems lies ahead......THIEVES.
Nothing but the truth. There will always have "hantu". When there is profit, "hantu" will come.

Sometimes the manager/workers inside the big palm oil estate cooperate with outsiders to steal out the fruits/fertilizer during night time. Even big estate have "hantu" don't mention about small plantation/fruit orchard etc.
Gamma2K
post Jan 7 2010, 04:52 PM

41 posts

Can anyone tell me is that plant banana is more profit yield than oilpalm/rubber?
edyek
post Jan 7 2010, 06:29 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(Gamma2K @ Jan 7 2010, 04:52 PM)
Can anyone tell me is that plant banana is more profit yield than oilpalm/rubber?
Banana can produce fruits in around 10 months. The yield is high also. Compare to the initial capital in buying banana seedling and things to grow it, with the selling market price.
NelsonBoy
post Jan 10 2010, 01:27 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

How about papaya then ?

market price rm2/kg

easier to mantain.
faster growth
edyek
post Jan 10 2010, 03:29 PM

Business Rating :
3,820 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Jan 10 2010, 01:27 PM)
How about papaya then ?

market price rm2/kg

easier to mantain.
faster growth
Yes. Papaya also yield high income. The one thing about papaya is that, they will grow too tall to harvest. One of the way to plant it is to tie it down to the soil to let it crawl and grow papayas. Of course not until the papaya touch the soil, or else other animals will eat it. This way, it will be better and minimize manpower to harvest.
TSlainux
post Nov 30 2011, 03:45 AM

650 posts

OK, after many years of talking, I finally bought an orchard at Tanjung Sepat. Bought it for the purpose of investment, but then later decided to keep it as a retreat.

It is a 1 acre land, with 3 rows of durian trees, about 18 trees. Not sure what breed, but the trees don't look big. Last season saw some durians, but didn't get the chance to collect them. They looked big, only 2 trees were fruiting.

So, now i need some knowledge of how to keep the durian trees healthy. Should I trim some branches so that they all get sunlight? Currently, some are canopy like, not sure this is the good shape.

also, many 'red ants'. how to get rid of them?

I wanna plant some langsat, dokong, coconut and maybe some vege. Where to buy the trees?
ahwee1987
post Nov 3 2012, 01:12 AM

80 posts

Hi all,

Do you think is it a good time to invest in durian orchard ?
wenching87
post Nov 8 2012, 10:49 PM

277 posts

get the best type!
doneright
post Nov 9 2012, 03:25 PM

134 posts

can open it for eco tourism? mini also can, while eating some fruits. please let me know of ticket prices ya biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by doneright: Nov 9 2012, 03:27 PM
doneright
post Nov 9 2012, 03:29 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(bach88 @ Nov 24 2009, 11:13 AM)
enjoy pic? can enjoy the fruit? biggrin.gif
naqibahmad
post Nov 4 2014, 08:57 AM

71 posts

I have a 8 acre lant for rent at a very low cost.the land is just oposite of nirvana memorial park.rm0.50 per sqft.price nego for long tenure.please view my profile.
SUSSammich!
post Nov 4 2014, 12:38 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 4 2014, 08:57 AM)
I have a 8 acre lant for rent at a very low cost.the land is just oposite of nirvana memorial park.rm0.50 per sqft.price nego for long tenure.please view my profile.
how big is 8 acre in terms of sqft?
SUSSammich!
post Nov 4 2014, 12:40 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Nov 30 2011, 03:45 AM)
OK, after many years of talking, I finally bought an orchard at Tanjung Sepat.  Bought it for the purpose of investment, but then later decided to keep it as a retreat.

It is a 1 acre land, with 3 rows of durian trees, about 18 trees.  Not sure what breed, but the trees don't look big.  Last season saw some durians, but didn't get the chance to collect them.  They looked big, only 2 trees were fruiting.

So, now i need some knowledge of how to keep the durian trees healthy.  Should I trim some branches so that they all get sunlight?  Currently, some are canopy like, not sure this is the good shape.

also, many 'red ants'.  how to get rid of them?

I wanna plant some langsat, dokong, coconut and maybe some vege.  Where to buy the trees?
how big is 1 acre? able to have 18 trees and your house I guess 1 acre is damn big?

Do u have ppl manage the trees or u do all by yourself?
TSlainux
post Nov 4 2014, 06:34 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Nov 4 2014, 12:40 PM)
how big is 1 acre? able to have 18 trees and your house I guess 1 acre is damn big?

Do u have ppl manage the trees or u do all by yourself?
Actually scratched the plan as I received too many negative inputs from friends. So, it is currently left vacant. If you are interested in doing something, feel free to propose.

I bought another bigger land near Raub, and it is a better suit for the retreat purpose. Still in planning stage.

1 acre is about 44k sqft.
MGM
post Nov 4 2014, 10:34 PM

18,461 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 4 2014, 08:57 AM)
50sen/sqft per month or year?
naqibahmad
post Nov 5 2014, 05:15 PM

71 posts

no.i go lower than that.
rm0.05 per sqft for 10 years.(monthly paid but renting period for 10years)
rm0.04 per sqft for 20years
rm0.03 per sqft for 30years

you can whatsapp me at 012-3615576

This post has been edited by naqibahmad: Nov 5 2014, 05:20 PM
Showtime747
post Nov 5 2014, 05:25 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 5 2014, 05:15 PM)
no.i go lower than that.
rm0.05 per sqft for 10 years.(monthly paid but renting period for 10years)
rm0.04 per sqft for 20years
rm0.03 per sqft for 30years
Don't get you at all rclxub.gif

You mean :

0.05 x 43560 x 8 acres = RM17k for 10 years ? Monthly RM145.20 ?

Or RM17k per year ? Monthly RM1452 ?

Or RM17k per month ?
naqibahmad
post Nov 5 2014, 06:22 PM

71 posts

actually its 3.6169 hactare so equal to 8.934acre equal to 389319.87 sqft.
for 30 years.we take 0.03 x 389319.87 = 11.679k permonth.
for 10 years i dont think its worth it.

if you want,we can meet up around kl.and i will show you the land itself.

This post has been edited by naqibahmad: Nov 5 2014, 06:26 PM
Showtime747
post Nov 5 2014, 08:58 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 5 2014, 06:22 PM)

Rent a 9 acre land around RM12k per month to plant durian ? ohmy.gif

Your land is too valuable to go into agriculture. Unless you plant yourself.

But it is opposite Nirvana. So very limited usage. Build house nobody wants to buy. That side a lot of fish pond right ? Maybe can start similar business
naqibahmad
post Nov 5 2014, 11:03 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Nov 5 2014, 08:58 PM)
Rent a 9 acre land around RM12k per month to plant durian ?  ohmy.gif

Your land is too valuable to go into agriculture. Unless you plant yourself.

But it is opposite Nirvana. So very limited usage. Build house nobody wants to buy. That side a lot of fish pond right ? Maybe can start similar business
currently the land is just what it is.we will build up something but in the future let say in another 35years?so rather then let the land just empty or botak.better let someone rent it.
thats why i offer for very cheap price.most of ppl just rent for 2 acres with 0.009 per sqft (found on year 2008)so this 9 acre is too large but only put out about 0.03(minimum).thats why too cheap to be true
Showtime747
post Nov 6 2014, 06:47 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 5 2014, 11:03 PM)
currently the land is just what it is.we will build up something but in the future let say in another 35years?so rather then let the land just empty or botak.better let someone rent it.
thats why i offer for very cheap price.most of ppl just rent for 2 acres with 0.009 per sqft (found on year 2008)so this 9 acre is too large but only put out about 0.03(minimum).thats why too cheap to be true
Good luck ! thumbup.gif
MGM
post Nov 6 2014, 07:43 AM

18,461 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 5 2014, 06:22 PM)

At this price, then not suitable for Oil Palm estate cos fruit sales can only gross ~ rm8k/month after 5 years (haven't inc other costs like fertilizer & labour).
naqibahmad
post Nov 12 2014, 02:53 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 6 2014, 07:43 AM)
At this price, then not suitable for Oil Palm estate cos fruit sales can only gross  ~ rm8k/month after 5 years (haven't inc other costs like fertilizer & labour).
its ok,got someone to build up a chicken farm in that land.
MGM
post Nov 12 2014, 03:24 PM

18,461 posts

QUOTE(naqibahmad @ Nov 12 2014, 02:53 PM)
its ok,got someone to build up a chicken farm in that land.
If not done properly, u will have officer from Environment Ministry visiting u. If near any housing area, u will have residents complaining to the authority.
naqibahmad
post Nov 12 2014, 03:38 PM

71 posts

yes,he will manage everything he said last 2 days.because hes into supplying chicken.so i think he knows how to handle everything since the price is too low already.
drylyap
post Feb 4 2015, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(lainux @ Nov 4 2014, 06:34 PM)
Actually scratched the plan as I received too many negative inputs from friends.  So, it is currently left vacant.  If you are interested in doing something, feel free to propose.

I bought another bigger land near Raub, and it is a better suit for the retreat purpose.  Still in planning stage.

1 acre is about 44k sqft.
oh you bought a land at Raub. May i know where is it located? size? I am also looking at land in that area. If you have time, i would like to seek some advice.
TSlainux
post Apr 10 2015, 11:36 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(drylyap @ Feb 4 2015, 04:07 PM)
oh you bought a land at Raub. May i know where  is it located? size? I am also looking at land in that area. If you have time, i would like to seek some advice.
My land is at Kg Tras, road side.
darren2828
post May 10 2015, 05:06 PM

May i know what is the price of durian land for 1 acre?
Genesis73
post Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM

QUOTE(lainux @ Apr 10 2015, 11:36 AM)
My land is at Kg Tras, road side.
Hi Lainux,

I just log myself back into this forum and what a surprise to see you finally buying a land in Kg Tras! I followed your link for a long time before I bought my land in Kg Tras back in 2011, shortly after your bought your land in Tg Sepat.
Happy to meet up in Kg Tras if you going there this weekend to learn what your plans are. I am usually there weekend now since it is durian season.

Cheers!
TSlainux
post Jul 14 2015, 03:30 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Genesis73 @ Jul 9 2015, 06:19 PM)
Hi Lainux,

I just log myself back into this forum and what a surprise to see you finally buying a land in Kg Tras! I followed your link for a long time before I bought my land in Kg Tras back in 2011, shortly after your bought your land in Tg Sepat.
Happy to meet up in Kg Tras if you going there this weekend to learn what your plans are. I am usually there weekend now since it is durian season.

Cheers!
Cool, i go there few times a week. I have started building my cabins as well as a small veggie garden. Also rear some chickens.

My number is 016 661 3178. You may whatsapp me.
TSlainux
post Jul 20 2015, 01:14 PM

650 posts

Ok, it has been about 2 months since i have taken over the land. So far so good. Made my first income from durian for raya weekend. Total made about 1000. Not too bad.

My orchard is mostly d24 & kampung. There are 10 musang king, but only 1 beared fruit. Based on wholesale price of 6-6.50/kg for d24, and 1.80 for kampung, one can't really make much money selling wholesale. Especially if you are doing organic. Most of your fruits won't look good and it fetches the same price as non organic.

Solution? Sell direct. Tried it first time last night, sold for rm9/kg direct, which is 30% higher. Will have to jack up higher price later. I will also do durian buffet for those who wanna visit & eat at my orchard. What price should I charge? Buffet of organic durian but without musang king, is rm50 fair price?

Some of my kampung durian are really good and special with thick flesh. They are all really old & big trees.

I really think investing in durian would work. Planting more musang king is a must as its price is triple of d24.

For anyone who are interested in organic durian feast, please book with me via pm. You may camp there as well, you can see many fireflies at night.
TSlainux
post Sep 16 2015, 06:23 PM

650 posts

Due to very good price of durian this season, land prices have soared. It is now 200k/acre to begin with. For anything that is roadside where a BMW can drive to, it is around 300k/acre.

Demand for durian was quite steady & not enough. I believe it is very doable judging from my 3 months experience as a durian orchard owner.
SUScall me random
post Jan 13 2016, 01:20 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Raja Kunyit @ Jul 8 2009, 11:15 PM)

Cheers,
hi.. i hope u dont mind me quoting such an old post but i enjoy reading n re-reading this thread as it is very informative

im not into durian but i come across this piece of land.. 20m fr mainroad, next to a river, small running stream across the land, about ur price..

i wonder what are the kind of inspection should be done before i decide to take it? the terrain is hilly, the stream part is little higher than road level..
theres some rubber tree with general unkempt bushes n wild tree lol

in short, for what i see, i like it.

tq smile.gif
hackwire
post Jan 14 2016, 11:16 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Sep 16 2015, 06:23 PM)
Due to very good price of durian this season, land prices have soared.  It is now 200k/acre to begin with.  For anything that is roadside where a BMW can drive to, it is around 300k/acre.

Demand for durian was quite steady & not enough.  I believe it is very doable judging from my 3 months experience as a durian orchard owner.
Any good Musang king land around?
TSlainux
post Jan 28 2016, 11:59 AM

650 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 14 2016, 11:16 AM)
Any good Musang king land around?
Yup, as long as you are willing to pay. smile.gif
TSlainux
post Jan 28 2016, 12:01 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Jan 13 2016, 01:20 PM)
hi.. i hope u dont mind me quoting such an old post but i enjoy reading n re-reading this thread as it is very informative

im not into durian but i come across this piece of land.. 20m fr mainroad, next to a river, small running stream across the land, about ur price..

i wonder what are the kind of inspection should be done before i  decide to take it? the terrain is hilly, the stream part is little higher than road level..

tq smile.gif
What do you intend to do with the land? Check whether the river rises when it rains. My river could rise 5' up during a heavy rain!
Dividend Magic
post Jan 28 2016, 08:29 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Jan 13 2016, 01:20 PM)

i wonder what are the kind of inspection should be done before i  decide to take it? the terrain is hilly, the stream part is little higher than road level..

tq smile.gif
Wow nice rclxms.gif

Can snap some pics of the land with river for our viewing pleasure? haha
I love lands with streams running through but for me its for my own offgrid living in the future. tongue.gif
hackwire
post Jan 28 2016, 08:54 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jan 28 2016, 11:59 AM)
Yup, as long as you are willing to pay.  smile.gif
i mean everybody would love to pay for the right one, who would want a bad farm and who would want to be called water fish if bought more than the price of the market rate. laugh.gif
TSlainux
post May 30 2016, 09:50 AM

650 posts

I have finally finished with the cabin & honeycomb pods building, and the orchard is now open for overnight stay. Come check out my orchard for a getaway recharge. Visit my facebook page for more information: fb.com/boutelorchard

Pod starts from RM99/night, sleeps 2-3 adults.
Cabin starts from RM199/night, sleeps 2+2 adults.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Autocountstick
post May 30 2016, 10:03 AM

675 posts

wait for durian come down
Danielle Lav
post May 30 2016, 11:06 AM

105 posts

I'm also actually looking if there's any opportunities to buy flat surface land around southern area, for durian orchard or fruits orchard.
Danielle Lav
post May 30 2016, 11:54 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ May 30 2016, 11:44 AM)
u singaporean...u rich lax...can buy  cry.gif
masih pegang Malaysia IC ya.

Mau tengok mana ada tanah ni
TSlainux
post Jun 30 2016, 01:24 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Danielle Lav @ May 30 2016, 11:54 AM)
masih pegang Malaysia IC ya.

Mau tengok mana ada tanah ni
I would suggest to buy existing orchard land. Don't try to plant yourself, as it is time consuming and you will not have income for at least 5 years.

Many of my trees died this year due to drought and inexperience. It is not easy, it is also not tough, just need to be committed.
Danielle Lav
post Jun 30 2016, 10:28 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Jun 30 2016, 01:24 PM)
I would suggest to buy existing orchard land.  Don't try to plant yourself, as it is time consuming and you will not have income for at least 5 years.

Many of my trees died this year due to drought and inexperience.  It is not easy, it is also not tough, just need to be committed.
Hard to come by these days to find an existing orchard land. even those who offered their land, all is either steep land or with many rocks and boulders.

cry.gif
TSlainux
post Jul 1 2016, 05:21 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Danielle Lav @ Jun 30 2016, 10:28 PM)
Hard to come by these days to find an existing orchard land. even those who offered their land, all is either steep land or with many rocks and boulders.

cry.gif
If you can come further north, you will have more options. It takes time and commitment to find your land. It took me almost 10 years to finally find one and made the decision to buy. Land is also getting more expensive these days.

Talked to several farmers, mainly durian farmers, all agreed that durian farmers are the easiest compared to others. You only need to pick the fruits up, no need to climb to harvest, when to harvest... I still don't know when to harvest Nangka, bananas, etc.... LOL
st982
post Feb 24 2017, 06:20 PM

Matured Durian Orchard for SALE

- Musang King & D24
- 2nd and 3rd layer in from main road
- Option to purchase adjoining land from same owner

If you have any question, or for viewing arrangement:

Name: Swiss Tan Li Ping (REN15900)
Email: swisstanliping@gmail.com, Mobile: 013-2288881

Hectarworld Realty Sdn Bhd (1133867-M)
No. 22A-1, Jalan PJU 5/20B, Pusat Perdagangan Kota Damansara,
(The Strand) Kota Damansara PJU 5, 47810 Petaling Jaya.
Email:cskd@hectarworld.com, Tel: + 603 - 6150 1896
KazukiRae
post Aug 23 2017, 09:42 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ May 30 2016, 09:50 AM)
I have finally finished with the cabin & honeycomb pods building, and the orchard is now open for overnight stay.  Come check out my orchard for a getaway recharge.  Visit my facebook page for more information: fb.com/boutelorchard

Nice Cabin & honeycomb pod ( very unique ) !
you build your own or ?
Haylo
post Aug 23 2017, 10:53 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(bach88 @ Nov 24 2009, 11:13 AM)
For durian orchard owner, If you want to increase your fruit production and getting fruiting more than 2/3 times a year, I have a way to help. Would like to share some photo here which showing excellent performance. HOpe you guys enjoy it.

Added on November 24, 2009, 11:19 amuser posted image

If you have 10acres land with good species, to make turnover of 1-2Million per annum is not a problem.  thumbup.gif
What way to help? Can share?
Quang1819
post Aug 23 2017, 06:57 PM

2,604 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ May 30 2016, 09:50 AM)
I have finally finished with the cabin & honeycomb pods building, and the orchard is now open for overnight stay.  Come check out my orchard for a getaway recharge.  Visit my facebook page for more information: fb.com/boutelorchard

Fuhhh you really bought it up
Elaine Ooi
post Feb 2 2019, 02:36 AM

22 posts

Hi lainux,

Good to see that your dream for durian orchard finally come true. Would like to know how is your business getting on recently? I am also looking for potential small scale orchard business. =)
rubrubrub
post Feb 2 2019, 02:50 AM

senor
1,793 posts

wow. loving this thread. learning how to garden for my future offgrid living. pls continue updating this thread
TSlainux
post Feb 15 2019, 08:41 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Elaine Ooi @ Feb 2 2019, 02:36 AM)
Hi lainux,

Good to see that your dream for durian orchard finally come true. Would like to know how is your business getting on recently? I am also looking for potential small scale orchard business. =)
Doing ok, not great, short of capital to continue building. Interested to take over mine? WhatsApp me 0166613178
TSlainux
post Feb 15 2019, 08:45 PM

650 posts

Adding few latest pictures. I have added a treehouse in 2017.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Elaine Ooi
post Feb 16 2019, 03:11 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Feb 15 2019, 08:45 PM)
Adding few latest pictures.  I have added a treehouse in 2017.
Beautiful pictures of nature. I believe it has potential for tourist attraction.
Elaine Ooi
post Feb 16 2019, 03:12 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(lainux @ Feb 15 2019, 08:41 PM)
Doing ok, not great, short of capital to continue building.  Interested to take over mine?  WhatsApp me 0166613178
Thanks for the offer bro. Not into it at the moment since I dont have high capital yet.
kimjiwon
post Jul 25 2019, 09:49 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(brll @ Jul 25 2019, 12:31 AM)
Hello I am Belle, our group have durians farms to sell out
Can contact me on Whatsapp +60122393711
I will offer best deal for durian farm with very good condition
where is the location?
chukhoe
post Aug 20 2019, 11:17 PM

— —

This post has been edited by chukhoe: Aug 21 2019, 12:08 AM
chilipix P
post Aug 21 2019, 12:16 AM

Probation

Hi Lainux,

Very nice pictures especially of the hammocks in the stream and an interesting post to read. Do you have any posts or group chats to follow on Durian orchard investment or ownership. This is new to me, but a subject that I would like to learn more on.

Thanks and best regards
kim0112
post Aug 22 2019, 01:23 PM

124 posts

hi all,

wanna ask how to find a land lot (for plantation) that are open for sale?

through agent most of the time or any other way?

Sexytoys_19 P
post Jan 15 2021, 01:35 PM

Probation

QUOTE(kim0112 @ Aug 22 2019, 01:23 PM)
hi all,

wanna ask how to find a land lot (for plantation) that are open for sale?

through agent most of the time or any other way?
You can whatsapp me 0164472823
I have a durian land for sale now with implanted Musang Kings which is 3- 5 yrs, can bear fruit d
Location in Dong Raub. 1hr 50 minutes drive from KL city center

Now wan sell for urgent.

0.0715sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:01 PM