Movies The IRON MAN Movies Thread, CONFIRMED: IRON MAN III - May 3, 2013.

defaultname365
post May 1 2010, 06:50 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

A quickie from me... watched the show today 1.50pm (TGV).

Without question, the first film fares better than the sequel.

Lengthy argumentative scenes (saved by Downey's performance yet again) and Justin Hammer's role could have been so much more
better given the fact the uber awesome "Moon" star Sam Rockwell played it. Mickey Rourke did a pretty good job.

Post-credits (I recalled the first film Nick Fury appeared, so the sequel had to have something!) :

This post has been edited by defaultname365: May 2 2010, 01:03 AM
defaultname365
post May 2 2010, 01:07 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ May 2 2010, 12:24 AM)
wei,spoiler it lah doh.gif

many people still haven't watch leh

Added on May 2, 2010, 12:27 am
same feeling here,too damn long... yawn.gif

and the fighting scene end to quick and its abit suck too doh.gif

the last scene with Mickey are too damn quick for me

the jokes are quite good for me though
Oopps... my bad.

The movie is not as good as the first one. I find the lengthy argumentative scenes a little bit too draggy and downright unnecessary - - they should have trimmed it. This ain't Inglourious Bsterds-type uber awesome dialogue scenes.

The villain is defeated so easily... doh.gif I feel they pushed Iron Man 2 to do what sequels do - - more of everything and along the way, make new friends.

But believe me, this is not a TF2: ROTF massacre. It is far from it. Heck, I'd say give Iron Man 2 a watch. It is worth it.

At best I think this is a 7.5/10 from me. I enjoyed the shiny-ness and cool sequences. Even the fight sequences were clunky and short and is it me or what, War Machine is a distraction to the whole Iron Man awesomeness...

defaultname365
post May 6 2010, 11:18 PM

1,098 posts

I expected Iron Man 2's 75% on RT to go below 70% in no time... surprisingly it does,
but the movie is (again surprisingly) still generally acceptable among critics. I'd say the movie
is not bad at all - - just that it is not as much fun as the first film and a lot of elements in the
sequel could have been trimmed and polished. That Hammer guy, he could have had a way
better way of portraying the character he played.
defaultname365
post Apr 11 2012, 02:43 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Claire Farron @ Apr 11 2012, 10:10 AM)
http://splashpage.mtv.com/2012/04/09/iron-...ley-as-villain/
Any guess on which villain he's gonna be ?  hmm.gif

defaultname365
post Apr 16 2012, 10:26 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Frankmiller92 @ Apr 16 2012, 10:01 PM)
There's no trust in this world anymore? haha Sorry it's "CO"- Production... but still.... expect villanous Japanese or Chinese saving the world ala 2012
http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=89263

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/disn...tion-dmg-312323
Hmmm... interesting. Hollywood's latest trend of bringing in uniqueness - film it in Asia. "Wolverine" set to be filmed in Japan and now this in China.
defaultname365
post Jun 16 2012, 06:37 PM

1,098 posts

From Licensing Expo 2012.
defaultname365
post Oct 4 2012, 09:55 AM

1,098 posts

First 'Iron Man 3′ Trailer Will Debut October 23

http://www.slashfilm.com/first-iron-man-3-...but-october-23/

Briefly: Shane Black‘s Iron Man 3 will debut its first trailer online at 12:01 a.m. PST October 23. The first film of Marvel’s Cinematic Universe Phase Two is currently filming in Florida and premiered some early footage at San Diego Comic-Con. Starring Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Jon Favreau, Ben Kingsley, Guy Pearce, James Badge Dale, Ashley Hamilton and Rebecca Hall, Iron Man 3 opens May 3, 2013. We’ll have the trailer as soon as it’s online. Thanks to E! Online for the info.

Will there be actual movie footage, or merely a 'teaser'?
defaultname365
post Oct 23 2012, 04:03 PM

1,098 posts

Ouch... gone his mansion. Going by the feel of the trailer, someone dies? Just saying..
defaultname365
post Oct 24 2012, 10:03 PM

1,098 posts

I think I found hidden secret from the trailer...

defaultname365
post Dec 8 2012, 04:40 PM

1,098 posts

defaultname365
post Jan 23 2013, 10:07 PM

1,098 posts

This is really interesting... just happened to stumble upon it. Paul Bettany has no idea what Jarvis is and has never seen any of the Iron Man films.

He calls it a "robbery" shocking.gif where he goes in, says some lines, and they give him a bag of money... sweat.gif Reminds me of Hugo Weaving who took a lash at the Transformers films for the voice he provides and claiming he has never seen Michael Bay when working on it.

defaultname365
post Feb 4 2013, 05:27 PM

1,098 posts

I thought that the whole video would be him staring at the camera. biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post Mar 6 2013, 11:38 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Mar 6 2013, 09:04 AM)

Now that's amazing. Impressive! Iron Man has his own Iron army! biggrin.gif

So it's safe to assume that Iron Man vs. Hulk will take place?

The latest trailer pretty much confirms that Tony Stark is going to be pushed to the brink of his existence... I guess he will be way more serious this time around.

I also believe, 'someone' will die.
defaultname365
post Apr 23 2013, 09:52 PM

1,098 posts

Watching this Saturday... biggrin.gif

Checking RT, still too early but *drum rolls*

A very good indication. It'll drop, but this is a great sign.

defaultname365
post Apr 26 2013, 12:37 AM

1,098 posts

Rave reviews. Great job done. Extremely excited to see RDJ as Iron Man again. biggrin.gif Astounding 96% on RT after 45 reviews, looks set to be one of the highest rated films of the year. And a great opener to the upcoming Summer movie fever.
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2013, 04:23 AM

1,098 posts

Saw it last night, I have to say... it is slightly underwhelming. I am mostly disappointed with the Mandarin character, how 'we' got played by the ads and trailers, and I was sincerely wanting to see Ben Kingsley nail his villainous role. Unfortunately, that didn't go as planned. The various Iron Man suits was more of a 'cumulative' effort and nothing more. Pepper Potts was by far the one to watch and obviously, RDJ once again is a Iron Man... and in real-life. The whole fire-encroached bad guys are so cliche. The 'spitting fire' was too much. sleep.gif Decent flick, but it did not really meet my expectations. Still spectacular, but not the way I had in mind. If you can manage your expectations, this will be a real blast.

8/10

Dang it, didn't wait until after the credits. Saw it at MBO Kepong and everyone, and I mean everyone was out and it was past 11.30pm.
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2013, 05:51 AM

1,098 posts

The post-credits scene... sleep.gif Yup, not worth staying back. They just threw it in there for the sake of it. Nick Fury should have made an appearance, and if he did for however brief, it would be like the 'rope' that ties whatever is in the future for the Avengers.

defaultname365
post Apr 28 2013, 10:27 PM

1,098 posts

"Iron Man 3" is the least 'realistic' of the Iron Man films. I know it's a superhero movie, but "The Avengers" sort of de-railed the realism factor (that was the direction Jon Favreau was going IMO) that present in "Iron Man" and "Iron Man 2".

If you think about the plot of the first and second Iron Man films, you'll understand. "The Avengers" changed it all, and whatever direction that Iron Man was going had to be compromised.

If there was no Avengers film in between "Iron Man 2" and "Iron Man 3", this third outing with this plot would have been received quite negatively.

Also, for some reason, the third Iron Man film just seem to want people to see more Tony Stark, less Iron Man.

Does the man make the suit, or does the suit make the man?

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Apr 28 2013, 10:31 PM
defaultname365
post Apr 28 2013, 10:56 PM

1,098 posts

The best gadget in the movie :

nod.gif
defaultname365
post Apr 29 2013, 02:24 PM

1,098 posts

The post-credits scene would have been talked about 10 times more if it hinted at say, "Guardians of the Galaxy" perhaps... I mean, the main characters have been cast, it would have been so cool to have left something here. Doesn't have to be explicitly show, just a hint. This would rile up any fan of the Marvel universe.

A wasted opportunity IMO. It really didn't have anything going for it. It could also have been done this way - After Banner says he is bored and all, he then asks Tony Stark, "You want to listen to my story?" And Tony is like "Yeah, sure..." Fans would go 'OMG, possible standalone HULK film with Mark Ruffalo?!' biggrin.gif Not in the list of things to appear, but at least something to talk about.

BTW, Mandarin fail.

0.0393sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:46 AM