English Premier League, Best league in the world?
SUSTC_Boy
May 2 2008, 05:59 AM, updated 18y ago

I feel the English Premier League is the best league in the world or at least europe-wise last year and this year. Yet people like Mitchel Platini and a South American coach said otherwise. Personally I think they are biased to their own countries. What do you think?
ah_suknat
May 2 2008, 06:06 AM
I think that the league of extraordinary gentlemen are the best league in the world, captain nemo is my favorite.
syazwanreno
May 2 2008, 06:29 AM
EPL is fast paced.......
not like Bundesliga slow paced....
and ESPN and STAR SPORT have good commentator....
not like ASTRO SUPER SPORT, they make the game look bad....
kb24
May 2 2008, 08:02 AM

epl is the best.. but la liga not bad 2..
iJoel
May 2 2008, 08:04 AM

Best, as in commercial and business values?
SUSSeLrAhC
May 2 2008, 08:19 AM
best in terms of what wor... generating $$$ and playing strength then yes lar..
sprix
May 2 2008, 08:53 AM
yup.. La liga is the best.. BPL just overrated...
EmperorMeng
May 2 2008, 01:30 PM
if 3/4 teams in UCL semifinals are english teams, i dont see why english teams dont play the best football. best league as in quality overall, yes. entertainment wise.. thats another story.
*devilelle*
May 2 2008, 01:32 PM
i think its a worth watchable league but not the best... but everyone definition for best kinda different
SUSTC_Boy
May 2 2008, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ May 2 2008, 01:30 PM) if 3/4 teams in UCL semifinals are english teams, i dont see why english teams dont play the best football. best league as in quality overall, yes. entertainment wise.. thats another story. Entertainment? Aiyah Malaysia's own league is also entertaining when you see the defender mis-tackle, the midfielder mis-pass, striker mis-shoot and goalie mis-block.  Lubang here, lubang there, lubang everywhere and still cannot score also.
EmperorMeng
May 2 2008, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(sprix @ May 2 2008, 08:53 AM) yup.. La liga is the best.. BPL just overrated... la liga looks good coz the defence is pariah.
kotarosan
May 2 2008, 02:29 PM

typical idiot malaysians chanting man-u the best! epl the best!
la liga number 1. seria A could be number 2.
ubhm
May 2 2008, 03:41 PM
yeap epl is overrated, look at chelsea, last time they didnt even have a single english player. Yeah and i hate those dumb fat malaysians(those manU supporters especially) who hangs around the mamak stall chanting and talking about football as if theyve ever played the game on field.
ykc
May 2 2008, 04:03 PM
don't forget marketing make EPL looks good too
SUSblackorange
May 2 2008, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(ubhm @ May 2 2008, 03:41 PM) yeap epl is overrated, look at chelsea, last time they didnt even have a single english player. Yeah and i hate those dumb fat malaysians(those manU supporters especially) who hangs around the mamak stall chanting and talking about football as if theyve ever played the game on field. quoted for the truth
-br0k3n-
May 2 2008, 04:15 PM

EPL is in english mah... every1 knw... italy and france xtau apa dia cakap... even team club also sound weird... EPL i think not best la, the most watchable league...
SUSvkeong
May 2 2008, 04:53 PM
our local football team sucks because they look forward to English Premier League.. as claimed by Carlos Bilardo http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...6770&sec=nationQUOTE KUALA LUMPUR: The obsession with the English Premier League (EPL) among most Malaysians has made Argentina’s World Cup-winning coach Carlos Bilardo worried.
The 69-year-old, who is a legend in his football-crazy homeland, said this spelt further doom for the future of local soccer.
“England has not qualified for the European Nations Cup and has engaged an Italian coach, yet you adore English football so much. There must be something really wrong with your approach then,” he said in an interview at the residence of Argentinean Ambassador Alfredo Morelli.
Bilardo, who famously guided Argentina to World Cup triumph in 1986 with Diego Maradona as captain, said he was also against the creeping in of “English football culture” in his country. Bilardo: ‘Coach the coaches and look to Brazil, Italy or Germany, which have a healthy football culture.’
“Argentineans are also preferring to tune to the EPL than follow their local league. I resent this and have given my views to the authorities,” added Bilardo, who is now Secretary of Sports of Buenos Aires province.
His prescription for Malaysian football was this – “coach the coaches and look to Brazil, Italy or Germany, which have a healthy football culture.”
“To learn how to play again, you need to invest. Talk to football brains like Franz Beckenbauer (former German captain and manager) and (Giovanni) Trappatoni (Italian World Cup winning manager in 2002).
“Send your young coaches to them,” said Bilardo, a trained physician who mixed football, study and hard work from his childhood to rise to the pinnacle.
The Argentinian, who also led his country to second place in the 1990 World Cup, was in Indonesia and Malaysia to conduct coaching clinics and meet football officials.
Winfeel
May 2 2008, 05:28 PM
The fact is EPL football still the most welcome to all the fans around the world. Their stylist of playing,their fast pace running ,fast attacking and non-stop, from the keeper to the opposite goal-post, it is just a few seconds only. If you went to answer the nature, back to ur seat ,scoreboard suddenly showed 1-0 before was 0-0 .
I still remember England's captain-Beckham.He trained in the Real Madrid, during the trainning, he was the best player to run the whole field with others already seemed too tire .
That's entertaining .People wants entertaining ,exciting and not boring play-style.This won't changed and will never be changed . English clubs are easy to mouth such as MU, Arsenal,Chelsea,Liverpool etc.
But when come to international like world cup, they sux .Not like Italy ,Brazil ,germany,argentina and so forth.Because England more on individual and dun play as how they show in the club.
This post has been edited by Winfeel: May 2 2008, 05:30 PM