All Things about BLU-RAY | V4, High Def. Experience | Only 1 CHOICE
Sd-RawK-Cab25
May 31 2008, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ May 30 2008, 07:11 PM) Even using optical you won't get to hear "true" sound. HDMI is the only way. The signal you received already downmixed by your PS3 to stereo. Pro-Logic, as it's name suggests, uses logical algorithms to matrix the stereo into 5.1 (or 5.2). Get a dedicated HDMI receiver to truly enjoy the wonderful lossless HD sound. The new yamaha RX-V663 costs around RM1.8k only. thanks for the explanation! unfortunately, i just bought the sony 5.2 system...at 999...since it was affordable and entry level, i settled for optical input la. no hdmi. currently got my 360 hooked up via optical and games+dvds sound great. only that some movies have very low sounding dialogue...dunno if it's my system setting..already adjusted optimal levels for front speakers. maybe it's the movie itself? maybe i would try both stereo and optical output for PS3 later after getting BDs. too bad also that the receiver has only 1 optical input.  ah well, when the time comes to upgrade...i'll upgrade.
Sd-RawK-Cab25
May 31 2008, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ May 31 2008, 05:42 PM) With your setup, the best is optical. You'll not get to hear the lossless audio though. With optical, you need to set BD/DVD output as bitstream, not Linear PCM, or you'll always get 2-channel PCM no matter which audio format you listen too. If bitstream selected, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA will be downgraded to the normal Dolby Digital (448 or 640 Kbps) and DTS (1.5 Mbps, still hi-res at least) respectively. But for uncompressed PCM audio is worst, it will still be downmixed to 2 channel even with bitstream. So at least you don't have to use pro-Logic with DTS and Dolby. That's the best setting for your current setup, for now. I'm smelling HDMI receiver in the near future! And yeah, get the splitter. hey guys thanks for the very useful info. i'm actually still getting to know the technicalities of surround sound..haha i only judge by ear. well, seems that the optical input/output will be missing out a lot of the true hi-def sound...i'll try and keep my eyes peeled for the yamaha's price. oh and also, thanks for the splitter advice! so i have to get 2 more cables right?
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 1 2008, 09:39 AM
Cool! Looks like cloverfield is going to be in my bulk list after all. and at 19.95 only, i think it's a steal!
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 1 2008, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 1 2008, 09:40 AM) abit hesitate heard the story line & camera make u pening n "vomit" aikss yea actually not everyone liked the movie since it was a bit 'confusing' and very disorienting. like blair witch maa. but i watched it 2 times at cinema...and i love this kind of movie. very fresh..but for those who like to watch movies as casual entertainment..definitely won't like cloverfield...since the real story or complete story is not only in the movie, but tied to other viral advertising (manga comic, mysterious video logs, etc) *adds cloverfield in list* yeeeha!
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 1 2008, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jun 1 2008, 10:20 AM) Bro, did you get my PM? Suddenly I can't open the forum while I was sending the PM. Was there a problem with the forum? All other sites I can open normally. yea i just got your PM! i think there may be some probs. had problems with the thread post notification just now.
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 2 2008, 07:41 PM
bad flick? *sigh* some people just hate the violence since it's too 'real'. *adds rambo in bulk list*
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 09:26 AM
oh my..indy boxset, BTTF set, Matrix Set, Ironman summore... I better look up for recipe to cook Cardboard masak lemak cili api!
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 09:30 AM) forgot star war dun remind me so much la going broke la... that's i put the hari potek set to last ...wait for mega sales then only sapu harry potter still got 2 more movies to finish right? wait till the full complete set la bro..then sapuuuu~~
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 09:43 AM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Jun 4 2008, 09:53 AM) dont buy, sux movie  hahaha i know bro pop...that's why i want to see who dares to answer... This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Jun 4 2008, 09:57 AM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 09:58 AM
is there a big difference in terms of pricing between amazon and FRYS? didn't know about frys..thanks for the info!
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jun 4 2008, 10:00 AM) Well someone bought Scary Movie...  ehh scary movie is still ok bro! it all went downhill since scary movie 2 (although scary movie 3 was also nice since they went 'Airplane' and 'Hot Shots' style). All other '<insert genre> Movie' are hits or misses...mostly misses..  Added on June 4, 2008, 10:09 amehhh they're gonna do a fourth fast n furious right? but if it sucks, better of buying the trilogy. the fourth one has all the original cast back on board IINM. This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Jun 4 2008, 10:09 AM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 12:08 PM
err...bro mega, if cloverfield release is july can still order through the coming bulk or should order under july's bulk?
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 01:05 PM
thanks bro mega 4 ur reply. aiyoh..Blade Runner 5 disc price went up from 19.95 to 21.95 already..
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 4 2008, 01:09 PM) y never buy when at USD15 ala mak ! haha nvm lor..not top priority also. play the waiting game for price to yo-yo downhill again.  or maybe can get 2nd hand later on yep bro aiman, it is value for money since it's 5 discs...too bad wrong timing with my budget
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 4 2008, 01:38 PM
hmm..sorry, very n00b here...but based on the forum mega linked to..setting the LFE properly only applies to HDMI receivers? or by setting it on SPDIF receivers will also provide some noticeable difference? oh and bro aiman...i already have the Yammie in my wish list....  saving up for the future!
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 5 2008, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(edvpc @ Jun 5 2008, 10:43 AM) yeah me too.my cloverfield ship already...  you guys so lucky.  i have to wait for july bulk from dato' mega. hope there will be a july bulk! (takut oil price affect bulk trips also...who knows?)
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 5 2008, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jun 5 2008, 11:29 AM) last nite, finally finish-ed off my kingdom of heaven BD .... haha long long 3 hours movie ....  wow, bro how many movies you haven't finished yet? aih..teruk la everything increase in price..
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 5 2008, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jun 5 2008, 03:09 PM) "Buy The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe [Blu-ray] and get The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian at an additional $10.00 off Amazon.com's everyday low price." http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000YAFJX..._rd_i=193640011eh bro..that promo is for prince caspian, the game tau. for ps3...i also thought it was caspian the movie...  Added on June 5, 2008, 3:26 pmehh...when is iron man shipping? they won't charge you until it is shipped right? This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Jun 5 2008, 03:26 PM
Sd-RawK-Cab25
Jun 5 2008, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 5 2008, 04:14 PM) Berapa?  $26.55...hehe anyone wanna do bulk?  i wanna tumpang