QUOTE(Rossie @ Apr 27 2008, 06:44 PM)
Dude... This is not the case...
You can always turn on or off the noise gate in multi-effects...
The difference in playing with a small/big amp is the settings, since you spend more time with your micro, you should have gotten a comfortable sound out of it... Whereas if you're playing a halfstack, you'll need time to tweak the settings to your liking and get a comfortable sound...
If big tube amps are anyway that can amplify your 'mistakes', is they are more responsive to your dynamics... I think this is what you wanted to say?
Actually I wasn't really talking about just amp upgrades alone, more leaning towards the speakers themselves. But you're right about the dynamics of the tube amps, they are very responsive to the dynamics, slight touch of string also show up so clearly, damn frustrating. With the mfx, yes i have to turn off the noise gate, but with the microcube, i don't think there's an option for that. What I am saying is from what I read online, the speakers that came with the amps, are only tailored to specific ranges of tones, compared to the full range speakers, where you might be able to hear your mistakes better because of their frequency range. That's my understanding from what I read about full range speakers, it preserves your mfx's tone. If going through the microcube's aux in and speakers, might lose some mfx tone so you might not be able to hear some mistakes if i am not wrong, because the speaker isn't a full range type, and the microcube has not efx loop.
Come to think of it, I don't think I should use the zoom g1 with the microcube, not so suitable.
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Apr 27 2008, 07:14 PM)
i dont really get it too.
maybe its because with a microcube (or any smaller amps) you tend to push the gain alot more as compared when u have a tube halfstack thats blasting and u back off the gain(yet still feels heavy). not only dynamics are clearer, but gain is less thus muddyness decrease so theres nothing to cover up sloppy playing.
I have to push the gain else cannot get the distortion/sound i want, I think my gain is at 3'o clock, about 75 percent to maximum gain.
There's something about the microcube that makes me not feel good about it. Cannot explain lah, but it doesn't have that effect on me before. I think after hearing too much of the 'sharp' trebly and clear samples from the zoom g1, I've grown to dislike the 'blurred' tone of the microcube even with it's tone set to max.
Btw, they say to play clean to make sure you don't cover your mistakes, but I feel sometimes distortion like rectifier can help you not make mistakes too, if you aim to better your string muting techniques.
Clean for correcting sloppy fretting/picking,
Distortion/gain for correcting muting technique.