Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 01:21 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 25 2008, 01:19 PM)
and problems that you are facing !
The problem I'm facing is that I want a 10" Atom + 2.5" HDD and cheap being the cheapskate I am
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 01:36 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Apr 25 2008, 01:32 PM)
what price 900 at ur place?  biggrin.gif
Linux --> ~RM1,570
XP --> ~RM1,590

Lost count on the exchange rate, I simply use 1:10 Ringgit to Taiwan Dollars.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 01:44 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Apr 25 2008, 01:39 PM)
blink.gif ur place pricing so good la doh.gif doesn't matter, 1:10 will do.  biggrin.gif

hmm.gif should i let go my 701 4g...
I really really really fookin hate myself for saying this but I'm tempted by the Wind cry.gif cry.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 05:18 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 25 2008, 04:52 PM)
afaik, those 16GB SSD same spec with 8GB SSD on eeePC 8GB.
Gua tarak paham what u say leh? unsure.gif unsure.gif

By the way.. our thread's title "Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it ! " feels somewhat erotic huh? Wonder what Prasys was doing when he named it tongue.gif whistling.gif
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 10:32 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(hangy2k @ Apr 25 2008, 10:22 PM)
yes, i also dont understand why asus change the battery to lower capacity blink.gif
Battery cell shortage.... LG factory that produces the cell burnt so there's 6million piece of backorder in the industry for higher capacity battery.
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 10:51 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Apr 25 2008, 10:48 PM)
That means we have to beware that we check the battery before purchasing the 900.. by the way, is there a 5800mAh sold in Taiwan at all?
Also, I have heard several reviews saying that the battery capacity are the same for both 900 and 701.. now i'm confused, I'm not sure which is which now..  rclxub.gif
I haven't gone to the shops yet as I was outstation for a while.. but the webshop states the specs as 5800mah
sniper on the roof
post Apr 25 2008, 11:01 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(blueworm @ Apr 25 2008, 10:57 PM)
Damm..........!! vmad.gif
i've just got my 701 recently, now the 900 is out d........... doh.gif
Then those people who buys the 900 will say oh damn,.... the 1000 out di. Hahahaha... expect to see A LOT of competition coming out in June.

Acer, Dell and Compaq among them
sniper on the roof
post Apr 28 2008, 01:25 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 28 2008, 11:14 AM)
SDHC standard allow theoretically 32GB. as long as the slot is SDHC compliant, it will accept all SDHC card.
Just spamming here but "compliant" is always a relative term. We have to consider the fact that Asus never advertised or put in writing that the card reader is SDHC compliant.

Real SDHC compliant card readers (which they have to pay money for the logo) are $$$
sniper on the roof
post Apr 30 2008, 05:22 PM

23,414 posts

Anybody wanna buy mine...pm me.

COD KL in early June... RM800+8GB SDHC+pre-installed
sniper on the roof
post Apr 30 2008, 11:07 PM

23,414 posts

wah, sniper on the roof mau jual his eee.
what are you getting?

;

Thinking of getting a Wind :C
sniper on the roof
post May 5 2008, 08:36 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ May 5 2008, 12:23 AM)
i think 900 is the best option under 2k... and under 1kg... All the basics in.
Depending on the launch price and the actual battery life but I think the Wind should be a better contender since its got a big keyboard and support regular 2.5" HDD
sniper on the roof
post May 5 2008, 04:20 PM

23,414 posts

Use the Eeepc thread instead of opening a new topic ler.
sniper on the roof
post May 12 2008, 09:19 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ May 12 2008, 09:15 AM)

my speed, is this normal?
This is alright what.
sniper on the roof
post May 12 2008, 01:01 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ May 12 2008, 11:47 AM)
din't u preorder your MSI Wind ? http://www.expansys.com/d.aspx?i=168086  biggrin.gif
What the heck for... they couldn't ship 10% of their backorder until late June.

sniper on the roof
post May 15 2008, 12:35 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(No0KieF @ May 14 2008, 05:24 AM)
does anyone tried external webcam for eee pc surf while still on xandros?

what brand of webcam do u use? tried googling some recommended webcam, but it cost 1/5th the price of the eee itself
You bought the surf?

Added on May 15, 2008, 12:53 pmOh bloody hell... Atom Eeepc is fugly.

http://www.dailytech.com/Report+ASUS+Looks...rticle11786.htm

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: May 15 2008, 12:53 PM
sniper on the roof
post May 19 2008, 10:59 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ May 18 2008, 08:15 PM)
One of the problems with the EEE keyboard is its lack of dedicted PgUp/Down keys. They are overloaded into the Up/Down keys where you need to press it in conjunction with Fn.

This makes it impossible to scroll in most apps using only one hand!! An exception is Adobe Reader, where you can use rightShift + Up/Down.
Errr.. scroll with the touchpad?? tongue.gif
sniper on the roof
post May 20 2008, 10:54 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ May 20 2008, 12:53 AM)
Sure.. let us know how she finds it. I'm not convinced that it's the right solution, but if she uses it productively, what can I say smile.gif
Actually I think it's the right solution... my wife can happily do her stuff on even a 7" eeepc.
Somehow women thinks differently from men.
sniper on the roof
post May 27 2008, 11:39 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ May 26 2008, 12:34 PM)
Actually, is 900 worth the extra hundreds?
My 2 cents:

1. 8.9" screen - higher resolution --> If you're used to resolutions above 1680x1050, 800x480 and 1024x600 is the same.. both tarak cukup. I feel the minimum acceptable resolution for myself is 1280x768
2. 12gig of ssd --> Actually no diff also.. better to use SDHC instead. More flexible. No matter 4GB, 8GB, 12GB or even 20GB is still not enough/puny compared with a regular HDD
3. celeron processor running at full speed - 900mhz --> 7" also can run the same with eeectl
4. 1.3m pixel web cam --> Only for the webcam freaks. I disabled my webcam by default
5. improve touch pad --> Multi touch loses its appeal. Guarantee you won't use it after a couple of weeks
sniper on the roof
post Jun 15 2008, 09:50 AM

23,414 posts

Headsup:

Eeepc 1000H already on sale in taiwan. Didn't like it though... the shiny black makes it look cheap and plasticky.

ps: The Atom diamondville has more or less the same performance as the celeron-m 633mhz tongue.gif

0.0498sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:34 PM