Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

bryanlcm
post Jul 11 2008, 05:11 PM

13 posts

I have eeepc701 4g os xp sp2 4gb SSD with 2bgram & 4gb SDHC.
I just test it with eeepc 900 xp sp3 30gb HD sata with 2gb ram & 8gb SDHC.

At first, i,m sad when i compare my eeepc701 that i bought 3mths ago witht he eeepc900 that is saw past few day at lowyat.

But after i test both of them, i will stick with my eeepc701.( i tot of selling it that day!)

eeepc 900 with 4400mah batt have shorter stamina comparing with eeepc701.

eeepc900 got bigger touchpad but i found that eeepc701 touchpad is more precise. the eeepc900 tapping on the touch pad is not as good as 701. fail double tap so many times.

eeepc900 screen is far more better than stock 701. but after i install eeepc tool beta1.0, the display for 701 problem is solve with 800 x 600 alltough is kinda like out of actual ratio.

Sound for 701 has better stereo seperation than 900 which has the speaker built beneath the keyboard.

Both has same 900mhz intel celeron. startup & shutdown for 4gb SSD seems to be like instant comparing with 30gb HD which need more processing time.

u can try holding both eeepc701 & eeepc900. U can feel the weight difference. eeepc701 is lighter & slimmer a bit.

If without those pro that i found with eeepc701, i will definitely sell out my eeepc701 by this week.

I use my eeepc701 just for msn, internet surfing, youtube, mp3, msoffice 2003.

WC3 Dota is install in external drive.

For me, eeepc is for the size. It has class of it own. Do more than a PDA for internet & chat, Lighter & smaller than a normal laptop. I given up with pda once i got this eeepc.

Added on July 11, 2008, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 11 2008, 04:21 PM)
do you guys recomend installing win xp to 4g model with only 512md of ram?
i tried b4 xp with 512mb. still can work. but of course with rm120 for 2gb ram is a good upgrade. more application. more smooth.

Added on July 11, 2008, 5:34 pmMY eeepc 701
4gb SSD
4gb SDHC
4400mah

application

microsoft office 2003
IE7
live msgr 8.5
avg free edtion 8
winamp
vista inspirat 2
faststone image viewer
WMP 11
Divx
Limewire

C: 787mb free space
virtual page memory set at 256mb
resolution 800 x 600 32bit

Work smoothly. Looks same like vista n apple docking.

anyone could help me, wat else is a must for eeepc to install?

i only use it outdoor 7 workplace which need to be mobile.
more in msn/forum/email/facebook/frenster/youtube/internet radio

i thinking of getting a small DVD-RW External usb drive. any good buy model?( dun wan to be expensive coz i will rarely use the drive. just for emergency)

This post has been edited by bryanlcm: Jul 12 2008, 11:48 AM
bryanlcm
post Jul 12 2008, 12:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ilham87 @ Jul 12 2008, 12:20 PM)
i personally think eeepc 900 is better than 701.

battery life almost 4 hours with light usage. 5800mAH standard battery for eeepc 900.
my one is eeepc 900 20gb ssd. Performance much much better than eeepc 701. Weight also almost the same. only 70gm heavier. not really noticeable.

however this is not the same for eeepc 900 30GB HDD. battery life will be much shorter. some more performance of 1.8" hdd is very very bad. thats why you will notice that eeepc 701 is better because 701 is using ssd.
where u bought ur eeepc? i find allover lowyat and i can't find 5200mah & 5800mah btt for both model.

mine is 4400mah which i do ask b4 my supplier why i got 4400mah.

is true for the SSD is more faster than the 30gb HD. in fact i read it from one article tht SSD will replace present HD by 2010.

Added on July 12, 2008, 12:37 pmHere is some information about SSD.

http://compreviews.about.com/od/storage/a/SSD.htm

This post has been edited by bryanlcm: Jul 12 2008, 12:38 PM

0.0428sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:29 PM