7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

jackdon
post Jul 15 2008, 05:38 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 15 2008, 05:09 PM)
good with security smile.gif thanks for sharing
brows.gif He he ..he now we can safely share u know what brows.gif
jackdon
post Jul 15 2008, 11:51 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(ziranfaze @ Jul 15 2008, 07:39 PM)
how to apply this storage space? what is the procedure?
Ziranfaze,

When you purchase a EeePC 901 XP you will get YoStore with 20GB, the activation code is located on the user manual. Install YoStore and activate. It is pretty cool as you can share with friends and family. The only limitation is that everyday the transfer rate is limited to 500MB. Still that looks pretty good for family photo and private files.

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 16 2008, 08:11 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(ziranfaze @ Jul 16 2008, 12:21 AM)
How abt user of 1000H? I thought the download limit is 5GB per day?
Ziranfaze,

That I am not too sure maybe I am getting old can't read properly due to old AGE blush.gif but 500MB or 5GB I doubt I can use up the quota for the day. Hopefully it is 5GB smile.gif.

I can't say for the 1000H (not purchase one yet) but it should have the same YoStore offer base my common sense which sometime is not too common these days. biggrin.gif

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 16 2008, 08:13 AM
jackdon
post Jul 16 2008, 01:46 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 16 2008, 01:24 PM)
saw forumer selling price Rm1699 biggrin.gif
YEAH... .RM1,699/= but no STOCK...... vmad.gif
jackdon
post Jul 16 2008, 05:56 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(stevenlys @ Jul 16 2008, 03:34 PM)
1000h got such function? I am using 1000H now but i can't seem to find the software . Can i know what's the software name?
Stevenlys,

YoStore is preinstall on my 901 and it is also on the DVD that came with it. But you will need the activation code which is a set of number that is on a sticker stuck on my Eee PC 901 user guide. I could email you the YoStore installation or you can download a copy but without the activation code you cannot access YoStore online facilities.

So can I safely assume that the 1000H with Linux does not comes with YoStore Online Storage.

jackdon

Added on July 16, 2008, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 16 2008, 02:41 PM)
So difficult to get the 901...so I decided to get the MSI Wind last week after some help from our forumner Jackdon...thanks smile.gif

At least MSI Wind price is accurate than EEE PC price...dealer in LowYat & Digital Mall is selling the 900 between 1399 - 1699....there's no price control being set by the Asus.

Asus Malaysia did a pre-launch at San Francisso Coffee KLCC for 901 / 1000 model early last week and announce to the media press that the 901 / 1000 will be price at 1699 / 1999 and will be in the market the very same week.....but until today no any sign of its whereabout...lol evem appear in The Star (Intech section) dated 10/07/08.

I think if u guys want to view the 901...u have to look for one of the 901 proud owner Mr Jackdon. 

Will upgrade my MSI Wind to 6 cell battery once it released in market in Sept / Oct or maybe Aug.
Jackdon....maybe you can plan a gathering for all EEE Pc, Aspire One, MSI Wind & other UMPC owner for us to share our experience on it  rclxms.gif .
Raoul,

The only thing I like about the MSI Wind U100 is the keyboard thumbup.gif , the 3 cell battery is just too short to be practical for me anyway. So getting another 3 cell or a 6 cell is a must IMO.

As for the Screen the Eee PC 901 screen has a layer of Anti Glare on it making looks kind of Matte look which suites me just fine because I use in a lot in my Car and the AntiGlare helps. Some may not like it and some crazy people over at eeeuser.com already has a guide on how to remove the anti glare. hehe...

Yup I just love my EeePC 901 now that I have Maxis BB and can be online anywhere. Speed on Maxis is So So only leh and I just hate the USB model dangling from the USB port on the side. Some day soon I will be doing the internal 3G modification.

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 16 2008, 06:06 PM
jackdon
post Jul 16 2008, 08:03 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(stevenlys @ Jul 16 2008, 07:18 PM)
But my is window xp ver.  blink.gif  i go through the manual guide  but shows nothing btw  this umpc rocks the battery life is sweet man
Here is my manual and at the bottom you will see the activation code (partially hidden). Taken using my Palm Treo 650 so the resolution is not so great. You use the activation code to activate a new account which would give you 20GB of online storage which you can assign friends and family sharing. Pretty cool, YOSTORE has an XP addon where you can just drag and past to that folder and it will be uploaded automatically. Pretty cool IF YOU HAVE A HIGH SPEED NET ACCESS.

Hope this help.

Jackdon.

jackdon
post Jul 16 2008, 09:46 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(stevenlys @ Jul 16 2008, 08:53 PM)
seems that my eeepc never offer me the yo store sad.gif but thanks anyway.
Ahh... it seems the price I paid in Hong Kong maybe higher but I get a little more for my 901. I am still wondering if the 901 sold here is 6 cell or 3 cell.

jackdon.
jackdon
post Jul 17 2008, 06:15 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(mavernick @ Jul 17 2008, 01:15 AM)
Anyone know how many GB DDR RAM does eeepc 901 support? And performance on vista?
mavernick,

2GB and checkout this video on the 901 running Vista

jkkmobile 901 running Vista Ultimate

It runs pretty decent.

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 17 2008, 10:22 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(leoboom @ Jul 17 2008, 10:04 AM)
Which model?  rclxub.gif
leoboom,

Yup the 700 series have to drop price leh..... we call that CLEAR STOCK.. biggrin.gif

Hmm... I may have an idea, get a 80GB ZIF 1.8" install to my 901 then install the 8GB SSD to the 701 and I have the best of both world.

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 17 2008, 10:23 AM
jackdon
post Jul 17 2008, 07:30 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 17 2008, 01:05 PM)
blink.gif then can put at WTS 8GB SSD at Rm3-400?  tongue.gif
jackdon, is ur eee come with "Super Hybrid Engine" program by Asus??
iRonTech,

YOU READ MY MIND rclxms.gif biggrin.gif so when I get my Toshiba 80GB ZIF 1.8" Hard Disk my 8GB SSD will be up for SALE brows.gif

Yup Super Bybrid Engine install and working beautifully.....

jackdon

Added on July 17, 2008, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(beebee @ Jul 17 2008, 01:20 PM)
@jackdon

issit possible to upgrade the HDD for 701? i thought it was built in?
beebee,

I dun think the 701 has any ZIF socket so my guess is no, FYI the 701 runs on SSD (Solid State Disk) which is actually high speed high quality flash disk much like your pen drive. Further more there is no room to fix a Hard Disk in the 701 unlike the 901.

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 17 2008, 07:43 PM
jackdon
post Jul 17 2008, 09:47 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(dvng @ Jul 17 2008, 09:28 PM)
I got mine at RM1999 at LowYat today, upgrade to 2GB ram for RM80 and extended the warranty to 2 years for RM58, altogether RM2137..
What did you get. A MSI Wind U100 or a Asus eeepc 901 or 1000H. If it is the 1000H would like to hear your personal hands on.

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 18 2008, 08:15 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Jul 18 2008, 01:59 AM)
my god, i'm just so torn between the 1000h and wind

there's a comparison on the web that says the keyboard on the asus is not as good as the wind, plus tactile feedback from the mouse buttons aren't as good as wind either

plus the horribly huge ugly hinge on the asus makes the wind look so sexy

on the other hand, 6 cell @ 7 hours is freagin awesome.
i'd appreciate any suggestions from users of 1000h and wind. cheers.
Battery LIFE rules......
jackdon
post Jul 18 2008, 11:25 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(dvng @ Jul 18 2008, 10:33 AM)
yup..the RAM is a 2Gb single slot and i traded the 1Gb RAM for a CORSAIR 2Gb, came with a ori soft bag thats all..btw the ori RAM has no brand.

stock is depleting rapidly, yesterday alone besides me. in one afternoon, 5 Nos of 901 and also 5 nos of 1000H within the hour. I wanted the WIND but they dont have the White colour and also didn't fancy the 3 cell battery. The next shipment of WIND from Computer War will only have PINK and BLack colour. Shucksss..
Dvng,

I would suggets that you test out your unit by plugging in the AC adapter and pulling it out a few times. It was reported that CORSAIR 2GB RAM hangs during the switch between AC and Battery. Get the Kingston Value RAM cheaper and tested by lots of users in eeeuser.com. This is on the 901.

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 18 2008, 12:39 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(cspace @ Jul 18 2008, 12:21 PM)
4+16gb (Linux) and 4+8gb (XP). 4gb comes on-board.
Yup that is right 4 + 16 for linux and 4 + 8 on xp.

The 4GB is using the slave slot but the 8GB SSD cannot fit in the 4GB slot because it is thicker.

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 18 2008, 12:41 PM
jackdon
post Jul 18 2008, 11:35 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Jul 18 2008, 11:15 PM)
Whats the difference between the 2, 4 and 8g models?
http://wiki.eeeuser.com/eee_pc_701#models

jackdon
post Jul 19 2008, 11:27 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(GrimmReaper @ Jul 19 2008, 10:56 AM)
Bought the 901 from evernew, lowyat on Thursday for rm 1799. Yes, my fault for not checking the suggested retail price before going shopping, so I got screwed rm 100.

In my defense, I actually went to buy an msi wind. I was sure it's the prefect laptop I wanted.

Until I actually saw the size of the wind. It's much bigger in person than it looks on the internet. Too big.

Compared to Wind, the eeepc 901 has these advantages:

1) smaller, the screen size is perfect. easy to find fashionable bags that you can carry around that doesn't look like a laptop bag that instantly labels you as a nerd

2) the ssd drive makes booting windows really fast

3) Much more popular, so better community support online and third party accessories.

4) 6 Cell battery vs 3. I can surf 5 hours easy.

5) Wifi N, so its future proof

6) Cheaper.

The only worthwhile advantage of the wind is the big hdd, but it makes booting windows slower and sucks its already small battery.

If I need more space, I'll just carry around a bunch of 8gb sdhc cards, and later when its available, 16gb sdhc cards.
GrimmReaper,

Wellcome to the 901 club, I enjoy this little notebook and I am sure you would. Let us know what you had done with it in the next few days and your own opinion on this baby.

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 19 2008, 05:14 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(GrimmReaper @ Jul 19 2008, 04:46 PM)
Using the 901 with 2gb ram, MS Office 2007 is no problem at all. Heavy user of Outlook and Powerpoint.

Outlook is usually very heavy. But in about 1 minute, I can actually switch on the 901, open outlook, write a quick note, and switch off the computer. I never had a laptop that can do that, because not practical because its not fast enough.

I can also open huge Powerpoint files, with very big graphics, instantly.
I second agree, 1000 is about the size of msi Wind. Both about the size of sony vaio tz series, which I own, and I still consider them all too big.

smile.gif finger print magnet smile.gif
jackdon
post Jul 21 2008, 09:08 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(PaiGeWonG @ Jul 21 2008, 05:29 AM)
may i ask as im looking forward to get 1

Can the 901 or any models of eepc able to play RMVB files with Window xp without any pixel problems
OR any other problems example lagging ?

As im new to eepc , buying to watch videos , surf the net , logging in to MSN , downloads of pretty small files

as mentioned above which is the best model for any eepc ?

Seriously looking for 1

Thx in advanced
PaiGeWonG,

If you are looking at a portable Media, Internet Station then this would be a perfect for playing RMVB, AVI and even HD720 movies. I would recommend that you use VLC as the media player. The Wifi works great and for me I went a step further with Maxis Broadband so I am truly mobile.

Don't worry about the 12GB size, just get yourself one or 2 SDHC 8GB or 16GB and a USB SDHC Card reader. That way you can copy those downloaded RMVB movies from friends or your other PC and just POP it in the eeePC 901 to view. Works for me rclxm9.gif

5 HOURS..... of RMVB should make it worth while thumbup.gif

I highly recommend a EeePC 901.

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 21 2008, 09:12 AM
jackdon
post Jul 22 2008, 09:27 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 22 2008, 09:15 AM)
nice bag!
the power adaptor, is it same like the original eeepc? i remember seeing a smaller unit
Wow nice bag....... yup the adapter looks like the original. What I did was replaced the original power cable (Big 3 PIN Plug Top) with one of those smaller 2 pin power cable.

It looks so cool... tongue.gif tongue.gif

Wonder if I show to my BH she would get me a Gucci instead biggrin.gif

jackdon
jackdon
post Jul 22 2008, 10:00 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jul 22 2008, 09:34 AM)
I think once Dell E comes out, 901 may even be 1300
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Then the Acer Aspire @ 999/= MSI Wind U100 @ 1199.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Yeah.... keep dreaming.....

Looks like small and cheaper rules the world soon. Check out this article.

Small PC's Cause Worry for Industry

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 22 2008, 10:11 AM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:04 PM