7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

SKY 1809
post Sep 7 2008, 12:54 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 7 2008, 12:22 AM)
any web links pls.  im interested on which has CL4 timing.  didnt know mushkin has specific ones for EEE.

btw, where u bought yours?
Evernew lowyat, where i bought my 1000H.

Sorry i lost the box and cannot find further info.

SKY 1809
post Sep 7 2008, 07:25 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 7 2008, 12:38 AM)
for the cable,. after you install with ur dvd writer, did you try to burn dvd??? issit function well when burn cd or dvd??
I spent only rm 120, so for the purpose of installing softwares. I do not expect more than . I do not even bother to buy dvd write disc and i dump my data to external hdd. And through usb, I do not expect it to perform likes the internal dvd drive. There is also a max speed of 48mb reading through usb . I think so.

Perhaps other can share more.

SKY 1809
post Sep 7 2008, 10:01 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 7 2008, 09:14 PM)
i am thinking to get a ide to usb converter and ide dvd burner. it will be much cheaper compare to get an external dvd burner. but i am wondering if one day my 1000h xp crashed and unable to log into window, how to set it to start from external drive?? issit at bios there do the setting???

Added on September 7, 2008, 9:18 pm1000h can support up to wat size of HDD???  and if getting a new hdd, how can i clone everything to the new hdd??? it will save times to reinstall everything...
Acrording to the manuals, press the start button and hit the escape button, then you have 3 modes of booting to select , one of them is through usb drive with an optical drive.

I think you have to press f2 after hitting the on button to go to bios. You could change the booting priority here.

Not really try it out yet.

SKY 1809
post Sep 7 2008, 10:56 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 7 2008, 10:34 PM)
TQ! the information is useful for me!

for the memory ram, the seller here informed that i better keep the 1gb ram which come with my 1000h because in case i need to claim for waranty next time, i can still put the ram back...its that true??? at first i was thinking to exchange the ram with him and top up a bit, but after hearing this, i buy the ram from other shop.

Added on September 7, 2008, 10:37 pmi tried google chrome and safari.. the loading is faster than ie and firefox..and simple interface! not bad! i think i will change to use that 2 for surfing
1000h users having the advantages of keeping more softwares in the hdd.

I use firefox 3 for internet banking, google chrome for casual surfing.

Upgrading of rams would not void the warranty of eee pc. It is an "acceptable" upgrade. Correct me if i am wrong.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 7 2008, 11:17 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 10 2008, 12:30 PM

23,851 posts

Has anyone using car dc convertor to ac 220-240 volts where we can plug in our eee pc adaptor, selling about RM 70 to RM 90. There is also one comes with extra usb point. Saw a few models in it market.

Is it safe to use ? Anyone mind to share.

Added on September 10, 2008, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(booby @ Sep 10 2008, 11:53 AM)
Hey, im just wondering, the 1000H model comes with 512 | 512 or just one 1gb ram? So let's say i want to upgrade my eee to 2gb ram, does this mean i have to buy 2 gb ram on my own?  blink.gif
It is 1gb ram for 1000H model.

You can swap your ram by paying about rm 70 to rm 100 depending on the sellers.

Then, some sellers charge about rm 58 for one more year extended warranty, quite popular with eee pc users, it is optional.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 10 2008, 12:36 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 10 2008, 04:46 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 10 2008, 02:12 PM)
yeah..i am interest to know the waranty extended cost too..anyone here know?? after bought the  eee pc, still can get the extended waranty or not?? lets say within 30days.
The extended warranty for my 1000H comes from the reseller at lowyat namely Evernew at rm 58 for one extra year.

It is not a very popular reseller but selling quite a number of eee pc. I do not think asus has the extended warranty.

Check with your resellers because i do not know about their arrangements with you. I also forgot the exact coverage.

Can somebody who bought from evernew, plse share ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 10 2008, 04:48 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 10 2008, 09:44 PM

23,851 posts

Somebody modded 320gb HDD into msi wind. kind of interesting.
SKY 1809
post Sep 11 2008, 08:06 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Sep 11 2008, 10:46 AM)
what do you means by full software?  i install full version of the software.. but too bad.. i'm new learner in the photoshop cs2 and only know how to add text and touchup...

initial hdd space?  hm~~ i can't remember.. let me go back and check check...
i install it in my drive d, photoshop took about 270mb of memory (if not mistaken)..

my c drive space a lot? i instll all the application in drive d... only install nod32 in drive c.. real player, photoscare, etc all in drive d

forget to say, mine is 900, 20gb, original linus version but i change to xp version

i have uninstall photoshop cs2... because i dunno how to use.. too complicate for computer dumb as me.

oops.gif  oops.gif
Why did you want to uninstall ? You did pretty work job as far as i am concerned.

If you want to learn more, just google for some forums to check on some on going discussions on photoshop cs2 softwares , and you can ask questions there

NO one can claim to the expert of every softwares around . Even if you were to be accountant, it does not mean you know all accounting softwares in the market.

Just my 2 sen opinion.

SKY 1809
post Sep 11 2008, 10:27 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(blurprincess @ Sep 11 2008, 10:14 PM)
it took up quite big space and quite complicate to use. i just need light photo editing programme for editing my sons's photo..

and furthermore, i'm not in the computer feild.. if u talk about marketing things, then i can understand easily.. if you talk about editing software.. i can't even know why do we need to do layering...
sweat.gif  sweat.gif

i tried another software.. pretty nice...maybe this one will suit my need more...light usage also..
only eat up 22++mb

let's see the outcome of the software which i just discover..
Nice pictures. Keep it up.

By the way, what software are you using ?

Mind to share. I also like those light and simple to use softwares.

Added on September 11, 2008, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(winc87 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:17 PM)
Hey, may i know does Asus EEE PC 1000 have international warranty? smile.gif
For the local warranty, it comes with a warranty card.

I was told to register in ASUS website to get the international warranty ( on the safe side ) one month after purchasing.

Other countries may use the web to check your warranty. Correct me if i am wrong.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 11 2008, 10:36 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 13 2008, 07:02 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cust @ Sep 13 2008, 06:25 PM)
i really dun like this battery bcos it's not fit with my epc, very ugly from behind look.  ohmy.gif

i plan to get a new battery that fit my epc. bro, can i use the 1000h 80gb battery on my 1000h 160gb?

dun know whether i can trade in with my current battery with them or not? hmm.gif

anyway, do u know this batter (normal one can fit tightly with epc 1000h 160gb) cost how much? smile.gif
Our 1000H 80gb all come with 6600 battery.

Cannot understand yours come with 5600 for 160gb model ? It is the more expensive model compared with our 80gb, 1000H.

The battery looks diff from our 6600 one.

Don't you go back to to seller to demand for 6600 battery ? Where did you buy from ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 13 2008, 07:03 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 13 2008, 07:29 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Sep 13 2008, 07:16 PM)
Lol, the battery if not mistaken will cost you around Rm450 or less.
I dont think you can able to trade in xD  biggrin.gif
I dont think you can demand from the seller. Meaning because the 5600mah battery comes together inside the box from the factory.
Somemore to get a new battery, need to order from Service centre, that is why most of the seller didnt keep any battery with them =)
Frankfly speaking, most Asus websites mention that 1000h , 160gb comes with 6600 battery.

Morally it is wrong to ship with 5600 battery, afterall it is a more expensive model.

Asus to some extent on and off , has the battery problem ( inconsistence ) and it is bad in the eyes of the consumers.

Though fan of eee pc, but need to say the truth and ugly side of Asus.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 13 2008, 07:33 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 01:53 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 14 2008, 01:45 AM)
Its like this :

Old 1000h :

- 80GB
- 6600mah normal size
- RM1999 3-4weeks ago

New 1000h

- 160gb
- 5600mah
- RM1999 current

So guess that they increased the hdd size but reduced the batteries unsure.gif
Official price of 1000H 80gb now is rm 1899, but many sellers are selling at rm 1799.

Evernew is running out of stock of 80gb, could be battery 6600 mah and price factors.

And the new 5600mah battery is quite ugly and bulky also.

Lastly 80gb 1000H is still one of the top selling netbooks in Amazon, not the 160gb model.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 14 2008, 02:01 AM
SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 09:52 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Sep 14 2008, 08:08 AM)
Evernew sold quite some numbers of Eee PC daily. So, it is very normal to hear that they are running out of stock.  biggrin.gif

New 5600mah battery not really ugly la..
For me, it got different design compared to previous 80Gb.
Outlook stil ok.  biggrin.gif
Frankly speaking, no users love to have the 6600mah battery replaced by 5600mah, and yet paying for more.

As mentioned by our forumer, I also opt for external hdd for some security and backup purposes. And it is much cheaper to buy an external hdd.

Other competitors like Acer and MSI have oledi upgraded their netbooks to 6 cells and are selling like hotcakes in Amazon, better sales than Asus.

The funny thing is Asus is downgrading while others are upgrading, market share is eaten up by Acer rapidly.

Something seriously goes wrong with Asus. Like the managements of world, later they would blame it on competitions, rather admitting their own fault, and failing to listen to the voices of the consumers.

Just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 14 2008, 09:56 AM
SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 11:04 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cust @ Sep 14 2008, 10:18 AM)
i'm already give up and very disappoint on this model, now i only wanna to sold out this asap, either whole epc or only the battery only. i bought this at johor JB, the receipt i still hold on and can pass to the buyer if anyone request for my epc.

again, who wants to buy my epc 1000h 160GB or battery only, pls contact me, price can negotiate.  cry.gif

Added on September 14, 2008, 10:25 amall the lowyat bro, pls help me to find buyer, ok? all the things and box was remaining the new and there and even the platic bag oso, the adaptor i oso not use and open before, still inside the platic, that day i was only open the epc and use the battery launch one time only, and found out that battery shape i really dun like. ohmy.gif

ur helpful i'll be very grateful. i really dun want to lose so much to buy a notebook that i dislike  cry.gif
Hi brother,

Why not go back to the seller to swap your unit for 1000H 80gb and maybe with 2 gb ram and other things. If you are just not happy with the battery. But no cash refunded. So long, they do not lose a sale.

In KL, we are allowed to do so within 1 to 2 weeks.

If you totally dislike 1000H, then maybe swap with other brands.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 14 2008, 11:05 AM
SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 03:12 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Sep 14 2008, 02:56 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif

So the 1000h 160gb model can use 6600 ma?  blink.gif  Who selling the battery i wanna buy  blush.gif
1000H 80gb and 160gb are of the same spec, except they have diff hdd size , battery capacity and selling at diff prices.

The tricky part is one said to be old model, and the other is new model. The old model is selling like a hot cake in USA now. Other things including battery slot are same ( correct me if i am wrong ).

Generally Malaysians think the new model is better. It is your own choice and thinking.

Added on September 14, 2008, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 14 2008, 01:43 AM)
ops sori already edited my post after looking ard

urs is not isolated case.  at first i thought it was asus mistake or dealership, but if u google ard its clear that they changed the battery capacity
Asus always mention that their battery would last 3 to 7 hours. That gives them more rooms to change the capacity of the battery.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 14 2008, 03:31 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 04:42 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Sep 14 2008, 04:11 PM)
Some people want to use this laptop to watch movie so maybe they want to keep all their collections on it

Or for photographers who want light picture editting on the spot for their raw shots which takes up alot of space

Having extra HDD space never hurts tongue.gif.
It is true also. Since Raya is coming, time to back up the movies and go back to kampung to watch.

KL is also notorious for jams. Maybe able to stop at mamak stall to watch a movie ????

I just signed up with celcom 3g broadband, can access to webs at mamak stall to avoid traffic jams tongue.gif

SKY 1809
post Sep 14 2008, 06:57 PM

23,851 posts

The price of hdd like other tech items tends to fall over a period of time generally. So the cost of production of eee pc remains the same, though offering bigger storage capacity.

However, the same cannot be said about the cost of producing the batteries. The price could go up in next six months or so. More on demand and supply factor. It could fall too.

So it is safe to giving higher HDD storage space, then to maintain 6 cells battery. Look like it is the current trend.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 14 2008, 06:59 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 15 2008, 08:14 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(pangping1510 @ Sep 15 2008, 08:05 PM)
since the 7inch ones come out i didnt buy cuz i think the screen is too small..thats why when 1000H comes out i think its time!

eee on top of my asus a8jn  rclxms.gif

After buying 1000H, asus a8jn would be desktop pc, too heavy to carry around.

I got a 12.1 notebook, but about to go into semi retirement as desktop.
SKY 1809
post Sep 15 2008, 08:28 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Sep 15 2008, 08:17 PM)
Wow !
12.1'' notebook become desktop  blink.gif   rclxm9.gif
GENG  laugh.gif
Who wants to carry 2 notebooks at a go ? lighter one would be the preferred choice.

EEEPC also tuned for fast boot.

There are people who carry 7" eeepc , lot more mobile. Good for school going children shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 15 2008, 08:28 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 15 2008, 09:00 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Sep 15 2008, 08:45 PM)
But 12.1'' for me doesnt seems to be heavy anyway .. lolx !
Yea, I saw one kid playing with his Eee 701 in KLCC last week. 
I was like, wow, nowadays ... kids  ... * Speechless*
I encourage kids to carry eee pc 701, than playing with psp .

My child just bought a portable pda dictionary for more than 1K. Frankly speaking , i think it is better to buy a 701 and do some dictionary software installations . The sound quality of eee pc is better also.

There are so many things you can do with a eee pc. Things that you want to do.

Someone brings along his eee pc while going for fishing trip.

No asa, usa or isa that kind of things.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 16 2008, 08:38 AM

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0628sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:52 AM