7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

SKY 1809
post Aug 23 2008, 02:09 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 23 2008, 01:21 PM)
904 with the price rm1699 and 900A with the price rm1699 and 1000H with the price rm1999!!!

i am planning to get 1000H. According to the seller, the latest price list they receive from asus don have 901 anymore...he also say 901 no more produce and change to 900A...sigh...if like this i think i will just get 1000H!! he confirmed that if i place the order, i can receive it on Tues!!  rclxms.gif
Welcome to 1000H club.

It is a wonderful machine.

It is one and only one 1000[H] in Malaysia, so there is no other [headache] choice to make.

For 900 series, you have 900, 900A, 904 and more on the way, if you are still waiting for let say for 901 20sdd linux series, or it may never come. Then also the problem of white or black to choose.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 23 2008, 02:14 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 26 2008, 10:55 PM

23,851 posts

Hi All,
have u heard of PE BUILDER.

It is about building a copy of bootable XP into a pen drive with min 256mb ( about 150mb ).

So far I managed to create xp iso file from xp, but not able to build a bootable xp into pendrive.

P/S: EEE PC SAID TO HAVE BOOTABLE USB DRIVES.

http://en.kioskea.net/forum/affich-12733-h...p-via-pen-drive

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 26 2008, 10:57 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 27 2008, 03:00 PM

23,851 posts

What do you think of the followings that might affect the modding of xp into eee pc ?

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...8350&sec=nation
SKY 1809
post Aug 27 2008, 05:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Aug 27 2008, 03:25 PM)
i don't see the problem if your window is genuine ....
My computers all come with xp recovery cds , do not have original xp installation cd .

So can we do xp iso imaging on cd, just with the original passwords ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 27 2008, 05:52 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 27 2008, 07:09 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 27 2008, 06:50 PM)
Bro,

I don't have External CD drive here.
Can i just Uninstall StarOffice and install Office 2003?
Uninstall others one by one, and install other small programs from rapidshare or download.com?
My existing C drive in 901 now is 966MB free space.

Thanks for enlighten me ya...
Office 2003 is much lighter than star office, light one is about 300mb, whereas star office is about 800mb.

Installation can be done through desktop cd rom by connecting through local networking to eee pc.

Alternatively ( suggested by someone ) is :-

Buy a DVD ROM drive for around RM 70.
Buy a USB-IDE and power adapter cable package for around RM 50-60.
Total = approximately RM 130. Can be bought in almost any computer shop nowadays.

P/s: better bring along with your 901 to test.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 27 2008, 07:10 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 27 2008, 08:25 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 27 2008, 07:51 PM)
Thanks bro,

Now i know what to do. Am gonna rip that StarOffice apart n install Office 2003.
Gonna download it from Rapidshare or MegaUpload site.

I don't think i wil often use external DVD drive so am gonna save that money for a Class 6 SD card. happy.gif

Added on August 27, 2008, 8:01 pmAlso found Office 2003 Mini 72MB only!! I got found it in Rapidshare download thru Googling.

More mini applications coming up to rescue our 901 C drive. Hope i can get 2GB free space. 
happy.gif
Rapidshare download

Is it a safe site for down loading ? My AVG detects virus on the homepage.

Some sites have very nasty viruses that anti virus software could not detect , and plenty of spywares too.

Just be careful.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 27 2008, 08:43 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 27 2008, 10:51 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Aug 27 2008, 10:32 PM)
Just to add in for the benefit to other users, you can also copy the installations files from the Office 2003/2007 CD to the thumb drive and execute from there. You don't need the autostart scripts. Just run the executable/msi file and it will install on its own.
Yes,agree with you. thumb drive so far is among best, simple and cheaper way to install programs. 4gb costs only rm 36 or so.

High speed sd card ( class 6 ) also needs high speed card reader at pc side to read and write ( luckily comes with eee pc ) . So not so flexible for file transferring from older pc.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 27 2008, 10:52 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 28 2008, 09:21 PM

23,851 posts

If you really short of space, high speed sd card class 6 could be your solution.

8gb card class 6 costs only RM 108 ( kingston ). I remember those day it was more than rm 108 to buy 1 gb sd card.

With inflation rate of 8% in Malaysia, it is still cheap to buy a 8gb card.

Wonder why 16gb card is much more expensive ? something to do with technology.

I just saw a dvd 10" player is selling for rm 1400 plus, so 901 is cheap in that sense, though not comparing apple with apple.

SKY 1809
post Aug 28 2008, 10:55 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 28 2008, 10:46 PM)
true enuf... buying netbook is much affordable nowadays..

still can remember during my college days.. a decent twinhead notebook can cost up to rm10k.... now we're spoilt with choices of low budget computers
My 2 gb hdd acer using windows 95 cost me rm 7000+, having a 12.1" .

So eee pc is no way near that price.

SKY 1809
post Aug 29 2008, 12:28 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(radioactive @ Aug 29 2008, 12:17 AM)
anything for mozilla firefox?? its a bit slower for my liking. IE is out of the question as its no better and easily susceptible to viruses and adwares

microsoft word loads pretty fast for a netbook smile.gif
Opera ?

http://www.opera.com/

I tried it on my pda before and it was wonderful, but no virus issues in pda, only about 4mb ( meant for windows mobile ).

There were discussions in earlier thread. And they have a few versions. Not sure which is the best for eee pc.

Firefox 3 claims to be the safest brower and faster, do not know how true is it.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 29 2008, 08:59 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 31 2008, 09:21 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 31 2008, 04:58 PM)
Upgrade Ram n External DVD drive no problem la~

Only those changing Os, touch screen,3G card or HDD will mostly facing problems.

Damn, when will WiMax be in Cheras? salesman told me it might be yr end or early next yr sad.gif
What is the problem of 3G card, let say for celcom 3G ?

Intend to get combo pack at the end of the year.

Anyone knows of booting from usb drive by pressing the esc button the moment you start your eee pc ?

Tried but cannot stop the machine loading the xp, how to do it ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 31 2008, 09:25 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 1 2008, 12:01 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Sep 1 2008, 02:36 AM)
bro sekalian,

im having problem to keep free space on C drive of my 901.

once, managed to get abt 700MB free but it seems hard to maintain.. dunno why the free space will just reduce.. it could be the automatic updates downloaded for winxp.

can share your experiences and tips of keeping high free space on c drive ??
Advise u to get a sd class 6 card , 8gb costs only rm 108 or less.

Install seldom use programs into this card. No need to cramp all programs into c drive.

Star office can be installed here.

SKY 1809
post Sep 2 2008, 11:25 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 2 2008, 11:09 PM)
sigh..i got my 1000H with the price of rm1849..got the freebies of notebook lock, keyboard protector, mouse, 1gb pen drive, 1 usb hub, 1 screen cleaner...
How much it costs to buy the keyboard protector, i am using 1000H too.

Google is coming out its own browser tomorrow ( beta version ) , kind of light , maybe good for eee pc users.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 2 2008, 11:28 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 3 2008, 11:55 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 3 2008, 10:28 PM)
the mouse look cool!! but tats one yr b4 ..duno now still got or not..

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:37 pmi upgrade my ram in c-zone...i ask the sale assistant the memory ram of 2gb..then i ask him to test to confirm can support in my 1000H..after test then ok and i pay ..cos i got buy other things so i dun realize they charge me service fee..only after i received the bill i saw service fee rm10...walao eh.. like this open and plug also need service fee! ..if i know i do myself also can!

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:39 pmi also notice the battery meter showing in my 1000H also not accurate! when first on will show like 4hours++ ..then later will show a bit more..then change the setting to super performance will get even more times..then change to auto power saving will get less time... anyone have this problem??? is this normal?

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:41 pm

i dun really like SRI Comp...some of the staff there very proud and rude when talk! ..i prefer other shop like cycom, c-zone...  flex.gif
I am using 1000H too, and at first i also taught that there is something wrong with the battery.

However later i realize whenever you change certain things like brightness, on the wifi , switch to max battery power or you go on auto save, then you get diff type of reading on battery meter. It gives you the estimated time left with the latest settings you have.

But after a few rounds of charging, it gives better performance.

Just my 2 sen opinion.

SKY 1809
post Sep 4 2008, 09:16 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 4 2008, 04:44 PM)
i think keyboard protector got sell in lowyat..i saw a few shop in there..

and i bought for wrong size keyboard protector...think of sell it out  hmm.gif
Why don't you go back to exchange for the right size ?

The traders are quite liberal to exchange provided still in good condition.
SKY 1809
post Sep 4 2008, 10:15 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Sep 4 2008, 09:53 PM)
saw it from the thread "POYOOSSS" that he tried returning back to the shot
but the "clever" sales girl(i think) say it is the right one  doh.gif
Sorry i didn't know that.. Actually i am also looking for one, but also using 1000H.

SKY 1809
post Sep 5 2008, 08:25 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 5 2008, 07:57 PM)
wow...but 8800mah i saw in ebay look quite ok ..i calculate hich incl postage to msia about rm270++ depend on currency exchange rate...

anyway..10400 will be even better! if 6600 can last for abt 4 hours..then 10400 will last about 6-7 hours..  drool.gif
Sony Viao TZ is under recall bcos of fire hazard ...lowyet.net headline.

So be careful with 3rd party battery which might void the warranty of your 1000H.

SKY 1809
post Sep 6 2008, 09:22 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Hico @ Sep 6 2008, 01:16 AM)
if go aao xp version, why dun go for 1000h also cost abt 1799 now...not much price different...but with more feature..unless u go for aao linux version...

Added on September 6, 2008, 1:17 am

haha..but they give 1 yr waranty also..anyway, i saw ebay got sell original asus batter also..but cost abt rm450+ without postage fee yet..
I think the warranty of the 3rd party battery would not extend to your 1000H if it causes some damages through short circuit or leakage. Likewise, Asus would not warranty yr machine if the fault let say a fire is to come from 3rd party hardware.

Buying things from EBay, is it easy to claim anything from them ? Where to send back and Who bears the postages ( RM 200 ) ?

Last time i bought a Palm pda and did not know that anything went wrong, the seller just sent it back to Singapore and i had to bear for the postages ( to and fro ). It was quite costly and time was lost. It was more painful if the warranty just expired.

Last month , Asus quoted me 5800 battery fro rm 250. if Coupled with existing 6600, it should be wonderful.

Just my 2sen opinion.

Added on September 6, 2008, 9:33 am
QUOTE(HKHIEW88 @ Sep 6 2008, 08:02 AM)
New Ecc PC here. After installing some software and restarting the computer, it just ""hung" there after entering the Windows desktop. I turned off the power and on again several times but still the same.

I think I need to reinstall the Windows but how can I do that as it doesn't come with optical drive and I also don't have an external drive ?

Hope someone can tell how to solve this problem

Thank you  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Why not you bring it back to the seller since it is under warranty ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 6 2008, 10:02 AM
SKY 1809
post Sep 6 2008, 10:36 PM

23,851 posts

Just bought a simple set up optical drive, dvd/cd writer for rm 80. And it can be run with a simple usb to ide/sata with power input cable costs rm 40. It is bare without any portable casing.

This cable can be used for either ide/sata cd/dvd drive or hdd.

Meant for home eee pc software installation or xp recovery.

Also do away with the pendrive bootable problem.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 6 2008, 10:38 PM
SKY 1809
post Sep 6 2008, 11:34 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 6 2008, 10:58 PM)
anybody using Mushkin 2gb ddr2 667 so-dimm here?
Apparently there are 2 types of muskin ddr 2 so dimm ram

one meant for eee pc and it is labeled on the ram, the other one is not label n could be for normal notebook.

I am using muskin ddr2 so dimm 2 gb ram eee pc, no problem so far. Consumes 30% less power.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Sep 6 2008, 11:37 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:33 AM