130 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

Perfect-Stranger
post Oct 7 2008, 12:29 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(xelrix @ Oct 7 2008, 11:36 AM)
if i buy a 1000h now.
typically, what r the things will i get besides the 1000h?
and how much the total if i want to upgrade to 2gb for ram?
1000H 160GB
RM1999 + 2GB RAM ^^
SKY 1809
post Oct 7 2008, 02:26 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(xelrix @ Oct 7 2008, 10:36 AM)
if i buy a 1000h now.
typically, what r the things will i get besides the 1000h?
and how much the total if i want to upgrade to 2gb for ram?

Whether you need one more year extended warranty at rm 58.00 ?

Not every shop would provide this.

It is your own choice. upgrade or swapping to 2gb ram seems to be a must for most users. There is only one slot , so has to decide on the spot. Some may allow you to come back and swap the ram, but then may not be at a bargain anymore.

lanusb
post Oct 7 2008, 02:53 PM

807 posts

hmmm i wanna ask many users here...i have touch and held (neve really played) the eee 900H and 1000 (i like the size on the 900h, makes alot diff) but i wanna ask...why some shop promote 900, 900H and 904? All diff price and I notice its the hdd diff only.....

but off topic...comparing the 900H and 1000 processor alone, I wanna know you experience for the following programs, which would be better? (of course atom chip better, but i am trying to be on budget just praying if 900H can do well, then i can get 900H)

1. Mozilla Firefox (can handle downloading would be better - torrent /etc)
2. ACDSee photo software (a plus if can do photoshop Cs, light processing, i.e framing and such only - already got automation file saved..so just need to run those)
3. MS Office 2008 all the office softwares
4. Windows media player + Videolan (and able to install the klite mega codec, cannot live without that for playbacks.)
5. Outdoor to back up my camera pics (you know dslr raw pics are big and huge)
6. Subsequently to view back pictures at yumcha places, show off to frens!!
SKY 1809
post Oct 7 2008, 03:27 PM

23,851 posts

Why there are so many Asus models ? i think the best people to answer your question would be Asus' management themselves.

Frankly speaking, from my point of view., Asus could lose quite many sales when they stopped the 901 model in Malaysia, and replaced with 900A or H and 904 ( users also losing tracks of the latests ).

Most people look for 6 cells battery and atom processor together, before buying the EEE PCs. same things could be happening in Amazon ( see their best sellers ). Those are not looking for these, then Acer could be cheaper and preferred. And then 901 is making a coming back ( do not know when also ).

Asus could have misunderstood the consumers ( of what they want ). Competitors are taking advantages of it.

Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 7 2008, 05:46 PM
xelrix
post Oct 7 2008, 03:56 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 7 2008, 02:26 PM)
Whether you need one more year extended warranty at  rm 58.00 ?

Not every shop would provide  this.

It is your own choice. upgrade or swapping  to 2gb ram seems to be a must for most users. There is only one slot , so      has  to decide on the spot. Some may allow you to come back and swap the ram, but then may not be at a bargain anymore.
maybe i wont get any extended waranty as ill be in egypt by next week and wont be back for a really long time.
what i want to know is the things i get when buying 1000h like ac adaptor [duh...], things like that and is there any back pack or carrying bag along with it? any shop giving it out or selling it around lowyat plz?
vixxiee
post Oct 7 2008, 05:33 PM

Super size me!!
1,294 posts

free back-pack for buying an eeepc?? i think dont have
Perfect-Stranger
post Oct 7 2008, 05:52 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Oct 7 2008, 06:33 PM)
free back-pack for buying an eeepc?? i think dont have
Free optical mouse brows.gif
SKY 1809
post Oct 7 2008, 05:57 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Perfect-Stranger @ Oct 7 2008, 05:52 PM)
Free optical mouse  brows.gif
maybe a free shopping bag to put the free mouse. hmm.gif

Perfect-Stranger
post Oct 7 2008, 06:52 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 7 2008, 06:57 PM)
maybe a free shopping bag to put the free mouse. hmm.gif
Free one notebook lock rclxm9.gif
SKY 1809
post Oct 7 2008, 07:00 PM

23,851 posts

Actually. i got free lock, mouse, earphone, cleaner and usb 4 ports during the PC fair, all in a Asus box.

Perfect-Stranger
post Oct 7 2008, 07:05 PM

做人如果没梦想,同咸鱼有甚么分别
1,593 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 7 2008, 08:00 PM)
Actually. i got free lock, mouse, earphone, cleaner and usb 4 ports during the PC fair, all in a Asus box.
Means you got the Asus hamper ? =)
All AVF brand, rite ? smile.gif
porkchop
post Oct 7 2008, 07:14 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

awesome but now i asked around no freebies le....only upgrading ram only.......

so anyone care to share a common list on places recommended to buy??
jamezco
post Oct 7 2008, 07:36 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ Oct 7 2008, 02:53 PM)
hmmm i wanna ask many users here...i have touch and held (neve really played) the eee 900H and 1000 (i like the size on the 900h, makes alot diff) but i wanna ask...why some shop promote 900, 900H and 904? All diff price and I notice its the hdd diff only.....

but off topic...comparing the 900H and 1000 processor alone, I wanna know you experience for the following programs, which would be better? (of course atom chip better, but i am trying to be on budget just praying if 900H can do well, then i can get 900H)

1. Mozilla Firefox (can handle downloading would be better - torrent /etc)
2. ACDSee photo software (a plus if can do photoshop Cs, light processing, i.e framing and such only - already got automation file saved..so just need to run those)
3. MS Office 2008 all the office softwares
4. Windows media player + Videolan (and able to install the klite mega codec, cannot live without that for playbacks.)
5. Outdoor to back up my camera pics (you know dslr raw pics are big and huge)
6. Subsequently to view back pictures at yumcha places, show off to frens!!
1. Mozilla Firefox - no worries le ... 900H should be able to do it.
2. ACDSee photo software to view pics should be ok ... but photoshop its painful on the eye ... not forgetting the speed ....
3. MS Office 2008 - not sure coz i using office 2007 on my 1000H - still painful when using powerpoint (too small screen)
4. WMP + Video Lan - no idea why its a bit laggy when i forward the vid.
5. backup camera pics - both also can - get a 8gb high speed compact flash for ur dSLR ... lolx
6. Yum Char - both also can.

hope that helps

btw there is the 904HD also and its quite cheap 1399 i think
emino
post Oct 7 2008, 08:26 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 7 2008, 07:36 PM)
1. Mozilla Firefox - no worries le ... 900H should be able to do it.
2. ACDSee photo software to view pics should be ok ... but photoshop its painful on the eye ... not forgetting the speed ....
3. MS Office 2008 - not sure coz i using office 2007 on my 1000H - still painful when using powerpoint (too small screen)
4. WMP + Video Lan - no idea why its a bit laggy when i forward the vid.
5. backup camera pics - both also can - get a 8gb high speed compact flash for ur dSLR ... lolx
6. Yum Char - both also can.

hope that helps

btw there is the 904HD also and its quite cheap 1399 i think
1. Mozilla 2.0 works good. 1.5 is better, but not many plugins works well with that. 3.0 is worse when visiting flash sites, very laggy.

2. I would recommend XnView as a replacement. That one works well, very light and free.

3. MS Office 2007 works well. Dunno bout 2008.

4. I'm using klite codec with media player classic. works really well, not laggy etc.

5. not a pro camera guy. i just use it to store my cameraphone pictures. sorry.

6. do that all the time!
SKY 1809
post Oct 7 2008, 10:16 PM

23,851 posts

904HD could be a rebranding of 900, still using Celeron.

I see most competitors are using atom processors.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 7 2008, 10:18 PM
porkchop
post Oct 7 2008, 11:46 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

hmmm so celeron and atom processors........the diff in power is it really much?? dun have any comparison chart out there..............so could only ask some felow members here who has experience with both, really got alot diff??

oh wanna ask if like mozilla open about 50++ tabs u think will lag ka? heheheh
jamezco
post Oct 8 2008, 12:18 AM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

i think you open 50++ tabs on a C2D also will lagg le ... i think its going to be ram depended d by then
SKY 1809
post Oct 8 2008, 12:33 AM

23,851 posts

If you are happy with it, then it is ok with us , afterall it is your choice and money , not ours. We sound out , and is for those may not be aware of. or new to EEE PC.

Celeron is said to produce more heat and drains battery fast, speed wise could be the same. I had a 900 before and was unhappy with it not bcos of the speed, battery lasted less than 2 hours. I lost about 10% of battery power the moment i boot my 900. Less than 10 minutes, it dropped to 80%.

But just in case you need to upgrade by selling it off later , then it could be pretty tough to do so.

Just like a HiFi, not necessary have to be expensive, those popular UK brands tend to be easy to sell off if you have taken care of.

Not saying atom is superior to celeron, just only a preferred choice.

The final decision will still be yours. Buy according to your taste. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 8 2008, 09:24 AM
shadiee
post Oct 8 2008, 09:50 AM

25 posts

Asus S101 any info when it available in Malaysia...

more info Asus S101
SKY 1809
post Oct 8 2008, 10:41 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(shadiee @ Oct 8 2008, 09:50 AM)
Asus S101 any info when it available in Malaysia...

more info Asus S101
Nice baby.

I feel it is for the EEC markets with high currency, Euro 599 ( RM 2700 ).

Chances that it may not come to our shore ( if 901 is making a come back )

Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 8 2008, 10:49 AM

130 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:36 PM