7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

jackdon
post Jul 2 2008, 11:43 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 2 2008, 11:24 PM)
eeepc use 12V only?
YES.

That what is printed on the charger and I measured it with a multi-meter to confirm. At least on my eeepc 901, I cannot say for the 701 and the 900 so for those that have a 701 or 900 better check before running to make one. We do not want a smoking 701 or 900 blush.gif

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 2 2008, 11:44 PM
jackdon
post Jul 3 2008, 09:00 PM

719 posts

Went out and registered Maxis USB Broadband for RM118/ per month unlimited usage. Hmm look at the fine print of the contract there is a if you exceed 3GB per month they have the right to throttle you. I think that is to prevent user of using P2P. Hmm.... 3GB looks a lot but that translate to only 100MB a day. Well the good thing is that if I return within 7 days I get my RM100/= ringgint refund. If after this period and before 1 year I have to pay RM200/= fee and return the modem. The modem if lost I can be charge RM900/=

Hmm I still have 6 days to think it over smile.gif but so far the speed looks good and pretty convenient. Only problem is the size of the modem.

This just won't do vmad.gif

Hmmm ... I have to get another Huawei 3G modem and do the internal 3G MOD

IT IS JUST TOO BIG.

Well I need input.... input....

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 3 2008, 09:01 PM
jackdon
post Jul 3 2008, 10:17 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jul 3 2008, 10:15 PM)
3GB a month .... cannot youtube also leh ...

hmmm how bout getting the Asus 3G modem ... can that work wit maxis broadband?
I am still thinking, I think I will return it and go with Celcom. Maybe Digi.

Yup 3GB after that still can use but throttle down to a slow speed. I have to clarify that.

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 3 2008, 10:21 PM
jackdon
post Jul 4 2008, 08:03 PM

719 posts

Pick up a loan unit of Digital TV USB to test. I am suprise for only RM129/= we can get TV1 TV2 TV3 music channel, warta perdana, and a few digital radio. I think. Well here it is.

And Full screen rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

Only problem is that you need to be out in the open or at least near a windows.

Hehe... maybe I might buy this unit. I do not sell this unit so do not PM me.

jackdon.

jackdon
post Jul 4 2008, 09:58 PM

719 posts

I have some good news, just peak at the latest July price list for the Asus eeePC.

The Asus 900 is target RM 1,399/= (XPH)
The Asus 901 is target RM 1,699/= (here is the catch, battery is 4 cell similar with the 900 XPH)
The Asus 1000H is tartet Rm 1,999/= (6 cell battery Linux)

damn..... I should have waited .... hehehe and I paid 2K for but with a 6 cell battery & no warranty. Ahh.... the price we paid for being the first.

STOCK???? well that my friend I got no idea.

jackdon.

Added on July 4, 2008, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(kazasho @ Jul 4 2008, 09:52 PM)
Where to buy?? I want it!!!! please tell me
Well take a walk in Imbi Plaza and you might find one there.

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 4 2008, 09:59 PM
jackdon
post Jul 5 2008, 11:00 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 5 2008, 10:12 AM)
jackdon...
the price is damn nice...
thx for the heads up! wink.gif
xandman,

I know but the "STOCK" is another issue. Remember the 900, I have been asking even ASUS Malaysia for a few months "NO STOCK" even for the 701 until they launch the 901. Then only you see the 701 being offered. Hehe.... I doubt you will see any 901 here maybe until September or end of the year.

Now I need to find a smaller 3G USB, the Huawei EU220 is just too big, I heard that the EU169 is much smaller. brows.gif Planning to strip that and squezze into the 901 and make it a trully MOBILE UMPC. Check out this link

EEEPC 901 Internal 3G Hack

jackdon.

Added on July 5, 2008, 11:07 am
QUOTE(Balok @ Jul 5 2008, 08:27 AM)
Anyway is there any way to boot XP at eee pc without wipe the SSD?

i want to use XP for some work but i don't want to wipe the SSD since got so many files from my sister

is it possible to use a thumbdrive to boot XP for one time at eee pc then when unplug it the eee pc back to Linux. if it's possible how?
Balok,

Here is the link on how to dual boot.

dualboot_with_xandros_and_windowsxp

Enjoy cool2.gif

jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 5 2008, 11:07 AM
jackdon
post Jul 5 2008, 04:44 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Jul 5 2008, 04:16 PM)
thanks jackdon smile.gif

BTW can i boot XP from external hard disk?

now googling ........
External HDD yes but Y.... tell me Y. tongue.gif You can easily setup TinyXP on the 8GB as using Linux dual boot. It takes about 486MB and you setup aside a 4GB partition and you have dual boot. Still got another 4GB left mah... and also got SDHC where 8GB is only RM100+ mah.

Don't you think so.

jackdon.

jackdon
post Jul 5 2008, 07:23 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Jul 5 2008, 05:06 PM)
bro,  is NTV7 & 8TV can be received by the Digital TV USB gadget??
iRonTech,

I dun think so it maybe only TV1 and TV2 and not TV3. I dun know what the muzic tv channel is. So far only TV1 and TV2 is testing Digital TV.

jackdon.

Added on July 5, 2008, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(Balok @ Jul 5 2008, 05:36 PM)
it is because i only want to use XP once and i don't need it next time

need to use XP on eee pc for robot programming

so can gimme links how to do it?  whistling.gif

BTW i dpn't have any CD/DVD rom  doh.gif
How to install XP without CD ROM

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 5 2008, 07:42 PM
jackdon
post Jul 5 2008, 09:43 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Jul 5 2008, 09:27 PM)
crazy ka want to bring iMac to the competition place?  doh.gif

that's why i want to use my sister eee pc but don't know how to boot xp on it  sweat.gif
Ha ha tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

NEVER NEVER NEVER SCREW UP YOUR SISTER COMPUTER

JACKDON

jackdon
post Jul 6 2008, 10:16 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(Crazymalaysian @ Jul 6 2008, 09:34 AM)
jackdon, is the 901 available at imbi plaza now?
Crazymalaysian,

I dun know but comes Monday I will know because I am ordering a EeePC 1000H for my brother's son. The 1000H is 80GB and comes with Linux and you know what I will do after that brows.gif .

On another matter I did have a quick hands on the HP Mini Note which runs the VIA C7 processor on Vista I was a bit suprise that the respond was pretty OK maybe they turn Aero off. But I sure like the keyboard on the HP Mini Note.

Will keep all updated here if the 901 and 1000H is available the source I get is from another master distributor so it may not be available at the retail store yet.

jackdon

Added on July 6, 2008, 10:18 am
QUOTE(ccy1989 @ Jul 6 2008, 09:29 AM)
shocking.gif Wah what is that ????? Mac os on eee pc ?  shocking.gif
MacOS is just another of Linux. I actually prefer Vista after installing in on my PC dual boot with Leopard. It looks nice but not as sleek as Vista IMO.

Jackdon

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 6 2008, 10:25 AM
jackdon
post Jul 6 2008, 01:24 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Jul 6 2008, 01:12 PM)
Hi Bro

Loos like ur ordering Asus Eee PC 1000H for your brother.

How much is it? Where r u getting it from? Warranty?

If let say we take Asus Eee PC 901, 40gb can we upgrade to 80GB SSD, iz it expensive?

TQ
Good news, the eeepc 1000H at RM1,999/= is from local distibrutor so warranty is local. The issue is STOCK dun know if it is here yet.

As for the PC 901 there is an internal ZIF slot and confirm to support 1.8" zif socket hdd. You will have to take out the 8GB SSD to fit that in. No pricing from Asus on this upgrade so it is a DIY. Check out this EeePC 901 HDD Upgrade link.

The question Y would you want to upgrade to 80GB, might as well get the eeePC 1000H.

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 6 2008, 01:25 PM
jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 08:22 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Jul 7 2008, 02:51 AM)
is it true pricing?  drool.gif
Mitodna,

I doubt it because I had seen the actual Asus pricing and selling price for the Asus 900 XP Home as extracted below without the cost price.

Eee PC 900H_30G_XP_Blk 90OA09B23112131K101Q 8.9" (1024x600) Intel Mobile CPU 1GB 30GB HDD Intel UMA "802.11BG,
10/100 LAN" Window XP US 4-Cell Battery US USB 2.0 *3/ MMC & SD Card Reader/ 1.3M pixel web cam $1,399 1 years warranty, Battery - 6 months, White

and I can tell you that the 1,299 is below the cost. Hehehe..... dealer must need to sell a lot because his margin is so SMALL..... maybe he has alot of stock and want to get rid of it befor it falls more. Or maybe it is a Linux model which maybe cheaper and I do not have that pricing for Linux Model.

The prices that I posted are all selling prices for the local market. So you might even find some selling maybe RM50/= cheaper if you are a good yawn.gif haggler. yawn.gif

Well for all those looking for EeePC "Happy sourcing and haggling" and I do not sell Asus EeePC so do not PM me. Even my own 901 I paid about RM2K imported from Hong Kong.

jackdon

jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 10:27 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Jul 7 2008, 09:47 AM)
juz wondering...
is it possible to install xp or vista on the linux version of eee pc?
planning to get the bigger hdd linux eee then installing xp on it...
thanks.
xandman,

YES..... on the 901, the Linux comes with 20GB split into 4GB and 16GB and selling for the same price because the XP Home cost more so they give you more in SSD to offset that. I wanted the Linux model but not yet available then.

The EeePC 1000H (note the H) comes with 80GB Hard Disk, so far there is no 901H announce yet. I believe Vista should run OK on the 901 if we turn off AERO. Hmm.... hmm.gif I think I should give it a shot this weekend but first I must make sure the drivers are complete. The drivers that comes with it are only XP.

Hope this help.

jackdon

Edited,

Just found this link from Asushack, utube video showing eeepc 900 running XP and Vista side by side. This should be interesting to see.
EEEPC 900 XP and Vista Side by Side utube video

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 7 2008, 10:39 AM
jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 11:08 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 7 2008, 10:34 AM)
I have check with an marketing staff in one of the 2 main distributor for Eee PC and they told me that 901 will not be released in Malaysia so soon.

They will only bring in 900......and 1000 model !!
Why 1000 and not 901 ?....cause again they said 901 shortage of stocks.

The good news is the 901 price is unbelieveable attractive.....comes with 30GB & XP.

I cannot reveal the prize at this moment but they told me that for EeePC 901...there will not be any prize control meaning those seller can sell at a higher price if they want....margin too small perhaps.

For those looking for 901....u might shift your buying to MSI Wind.....but will MSI Wind be easily available ??.

Your choice is as good as mine.
Raoul,

Just spoke with one of the distributor and confirm that

900, 901 XPH and 1000H all have stock but limited for this batch. I tried to order only the 1000H but cannot because of limited stock each order must be all 5 different model. So for those that want to get one unit I would suggest that you walk around tomorrow Imbi or Low Yat because the stock are here today.

I will be one of them hehe.....

jackdon.

jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 12:31 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 7 2008, 11:48 AM)
Jackdon,

Ok...keep us update if you managed to spot any 901 XPH, 1000H or MSI Wind at Imbi/LowYat by tomorrow.

Thanks  biggrin.gif
No sight of the EeePC 901 or the 1000H. So I got the MSI Wind U100 for my brother's son.

Paid RM 1,999/=
MSI Wind U100 / 80GB HDD (it is 2.5" SATA) / Build in 1GB (Free Slot for Upgrade)
10" Screen / Bluetooth / Wifi / Linux (so you what brows.gif )

FREE: External USB DVD Writer

Not a bad deal, only that the battery is standard and the fellow says 3 hours. I will give it 2 - 2.5 hours to realistic.

So what are you waiting for.

jackdon
I am going to pick it up after this mail smile.gif then I will be lurking around MSI Wind U1000 forum...... haha

jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 12:56 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Jul 7 2008, 12:39 PM)
Bro,

Which shop did you bought the MSI Wind ?
I might need to get one by this week but the only setback is the short battery life

I assume they only have white & pink...rite ?
Got the black, white is available. Pink no.

Install Tiny XP now.

Cheers.

jackdon

Edited:

DAMN the keyboard is big and useable. If only the battery is 5hrs I would then lelong my 901 away smile.gif

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 7 2008, 01:09 PM
jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 03:17 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(kimganner @ Jul 7 2008, 02:29 PM)
cannot be...910 hard disk space is same as 900. max is 20GB (Linux version) & Win XP Home version has 12GB. unless someone has gone & swopped out one of the 2 SSDs for a higher capacity SSD...which is not likely.
Let me clarify,

There is no 910 nor is there any 901 with 30GB SSD or HDD. Currently the 901 only comes in 2 flavours which is 901 XP Home with 12GB SSD and the 901 Linux with 20GB SSD. Both split to 4GB / 8GB SSD or 4GB / 16GB SSD.

Only the 900 come 30GB HDD as indicated in the latest pricing I saw.

Now base on what I saw the RM 1,699/= for the 901 is base on the 4 Cell battery. If that is the case IMO you are better off getting the 1000H because the reason we get these sub notebook is battery life and mobility.

jackdon
A EeePC Black 901 XPH 12GB Owner.
jackdon
post Jul 7 2008, 05:27 PM

719 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jul 7 2008, 04:12 PM)
Asus is flooding the market with their products and making me confused at the same time ...

btw 1000H is 1.4kg ??? i saw it in cnet ...

can clarify this ? =)
Flood.... blink.gif you will see more... now MSI Wind U100, launching Acer Aspire One, the already launch HP Mini Note. There is more on the way in the next few months.

But we must not be sway away from the original Sub-Notebook or some call it UMPC target market.

It must be small (8.9" is the max I would go for), good battery life at least 4 hours (double a standard notebook).

So for me the EeePC 901 is small enough to fit in my existing bag.
I had tested it and confirm that I can get 5 hours running Windows Media player 11 with full brightness with Wifi turn on.

So I believe I got the right notebook.

The only thing bothering me is the darn Maxis 3G USB Modem is so big compare with the EeePC. I am now gathering courage to do the iNternal 3G modification smile.gif need to find more courage..... COURAGE........ whistling.gif

And of cause a touch screen upgrade would be god sent thumbup.gif

jackdon.

jackdon
post Jul 8 2008, 12:06 AM

719 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Jul 7 2008, 10:29 PM)
SO that means you are having the one with 4cell? How is the battery performance?
No mine was purchase in Hong Kong with a 6 cell battery.

I tried to clarified with the sales & marketing staff from one of the 2 local distributors on this matter she cannot answer me because the pricing was prepare by someone else. So I am not too sure, is it a typo or really 4 cell is any bodies guess.

jackdon.

This post has been edited by jackdon: Jul 8 2008, 12:07 AM
jackdon
post Jul 8 2008, 08:55 AM

719 posts

EeePC 901 vs MSI Wind U100

After setting up and using the MSI Wind for about 2 hours this is my opinion.

1. The speed of the MSI Wind and the EeePC 901 booting Windows XP is about the same speed
MSI Wind runs on an 2.5" SATA 80GB Hard Disk and the EeePC 901 runs off a 4GB SSD.

2. The MSI Wind with the 3 Cell battery is about the same weight as the EeePC 901 with a 6 cell battery.

3. The MSI Wind has a very useable keyboard unlike the 901 which is a bit difficult to type being so small but still OK.

4. The MSI Wind looks and feel flimsy and not as solid where as the 901 look and felt solid to hold.

5. Reading on the 901 smaller 8.9" screen and the 10" screen on the MSI Wind is not a big difference.

6. Windows battery meter - MSI Wind U100 - 2.15 hours - EeePC 901 - 5 hours.

7. The EeePC 901 has a slight better Audio output than the MSI Wind.

8. The EeePC 901 large touch pad with the multi touch gesture is a JOY to works with. The MSI Wind only have
region touch pad function. On the 901 3 fingers swipe to the left is back to previous page, 3 finger swipe to the
right forward to next page and lots of other function.

All the above are my own personal opinion base on the 2 hours I spend on the MSI Wind and my own EeePC 901. Given a chance to make a decision to buy again I am pretty sure I would go with the EeePC 901 because of it size and the SSD Hard Drive. I fail to see why I need such a big storage unless I plan to store lots of video, if so then 80GB would still be consider a small storage for video files. I can always get a small portable 320GB external USB drive for my movies. If you are talking about games then the Atom CPU is not cut out for that.

So a 5 hours battery is the main criteria and a solid built notebook just feels good to hold on to plus the multi touch function makes the EeePC 901 a great choice. With that said once I get my hands on the EeePC 1000H I may bends towards the 1000H rclxub.gif

jackdon

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:57 PM