7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !

SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 12:24 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Aug 15 2008, 12:11 AM)
starbucks, cafes, coffee bean... errr ... places when u see ppl using lappies that means most likely that place has wifi =)
Thank for the info.

I just want check my emails or sending out some urgent docs one or twice a day while outside the office.

I believe some of these places need you to get approval code to log in ( which I try to avoid ).
SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 12:32 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(ProDigital @ Aug 15 2008, 12:30 AM)
Starbuck the only code is coffee!
Thank a lot.

SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 01:07 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 15 2008, 11:45 AM)
Old Town White Coffee Cafe did offer cozy Wifi environment yet far cheaper than Starbucks. Cheras outlet open 24hours.

If Mc'D have Wifi then it is a great blessing.

Update d Bios? What is d pros to update it when my 901 is running great. I heard those from d forum said Bios 1202 got another bug. These Bios still unstable at d moment, i might only update it when it is stable.

By d way,jus to share wif u guys. Putting 901 in Standby mode was great. No heat when Standby unless it had run programs used b4 going to Standby. It only consume roughly 1.5% of your battery per hour! No need Shut Down or Hibernate,instant access.
Advisable to customized Time b4 Standby at Power Management.

happy.gif
Which Cheras outlets ? plse share.

I tried the Tmn Maluri Cheras branch last week. I could log in but cannot assess to internet. Tried 2 times, and then I gave up.

SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 03:33 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 15 2008, 11:45 AM)
Old Town White Coffee Cafe did offer cozy Wifi environment yet far cheaper than Starbucks. Cheras outlet open 24hours.

If Mc'D have Wifi then it is a great blessing.

Update d Bios? What is d pros to update it when my 901 is running great. I heard those from d forum said Bios 1202 got another bug. These Bios still unstable at d moment, i might only update it when it is stable.

By d way,jus to share wif u guys. Putting 901 in Standby mode was great. No heat when Standby unless it had run programs used b4 going to Standby. It only consume roughly 1.5% of your battery per hour! No need Shut Down or Hibernate,instant access.
Advisable to customized Time b4 Standby at Power Management.

happy.gif
If your select max power under battery, it automatically going into standby mode after 2 minutes of not using the computer. If you choose min power management, it is about 5 minutes or so.

You can set your own time and save it up.

Basically to save power.
SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 10:10 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 15 2008, 09:57 PM)
Aiyooo, where is the nearest Asus service center then? sad.gif
There is a building next to Imbi Plaza ( should be SPS or sort ).

Asus is located at Ground floor , near the main road side .

Opens from 10am, but closed on weekends.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 15 2008, 10:11 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 15 2008, 10:45 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(WHITE ACE @ Aug 15 2008, 10:18 PM)
Do call Asus Center 1st regarding your Bios case. So it will save you a hack of time.

Last resort if not happy,it will be request foR refund from where you had purchased. If this happen usually d boss won't refund but will change a new one for you.

How i know? Coz... Am in retail n servicing line...Kakaka
The "new" one could be a problematic one, I have experienced that before. I have swapped 2 units of 900 before settling for 1000H. two got battery problem and the other slow to access to hdd. I am happy with my 1000H, so I stick to it. Lot of time wasted, testing and traveling to and fro.

If you are happy with your unit, the best is to keep and treasure it.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 15 2008, 10:46 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 16 2008, 10:31 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 16 2008, 10:02 PM)
thanks bro for the info... heheh.. just wanna have some idea on how much time to spend for a full charge.

overall, am happy with my unit for the moment... just that am waiting for my external dvd drive to install some office programmes...

the batt life is amazing.. can last me abt 6 hrs or so... without wifi n bluetooth. just normal net surfing via lan cable.

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
local lan via cable would allow you to set up your office, if you mark your pc cd rom as sharing. i did that to install office 2003.

before that you need to set up your networking . i use wifi to send docs to my pc for direct printing ( from 1st floor using netbook to ground floor pc connected to a printer )

Actually, i wanted to buy 901 with cd rom external, but ending up buying 1000H. I forgo the cd rom.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 09:47 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 16 2008, 11:25 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 16 2008, 11:01 PM)
prion.. good luck.. hmm.. overall its a good deal n they willing to exchange my unit when i found some issue with it.. so, u can go to them n say lyn forumer introduced.. tongue.gif test ur unit before taking home

Added on August 16, 2008, 11:04 pm

thanks for sharing... but i dun hav a router at home now.. kekeke.

its ok.. not urgent to use office as i still have company's laptop... 901 for net surfing n waiting to get a wireless router so that i can make full use of the 901 long batt life and light weight.. hehe

any recommendation on wireless router? am thinking to get the linksys.. tongue.gif
if yr co laptop comes with local network like 901 , you still can instal yr office through laptop to 901 via network cable.

Just set up a local network for laptop to 901.

Added on August 16, 2008, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 16 2008, 11:13 PM)
if u want a router, make sure u get a wireless-n router to make use of the eee pc's wifi-n smile.gif
Ya WIFI is very powerful. I have a spare hdd attached to my pc.

I use WIFI to backup/transfer docs stored in 1000H to the spare hdd in pc. Even from 1st floor to ground floor. I did that for printing too.

The best part is wire (cable) less, save cost too.

Is N ok in Malaysia now ? I thought we do not have the infrastructure yet . Mind to share.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 16 2008, 11:43 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 16 2008, 11:50 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 16 2008, 11:45 PM)
not too sure of wireless n.. hehe..

am living in condo.. so, normal wifi will do for me.. as long i can walk around in the house and still holding my 901 for net surfing.. heheeh.

anywya, might need some of ur help to setup my router later on.. i'm currently using maxis wireless modem (the ZTE type which comes with LAN cable)
What is the minimum package by using celcom data line. I have 3 celcom lines, but not the data line.

Mind to share.

P/S. I understand celcom is using 3G wireless, so our normal ADSL router may not work . Correct me if i am wrong.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 12:03 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 12:32 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 17 2008, 12:20 AM)
im using maxis... currently there's a promotion... rm 58 minimum

and rm 78 for 3.6mbps wireless..anyway, it should be much cheaper than these rates.. just look at rates in china.. its so darn cheap there... tongue.gif
I use EPP , zero interest credit card to pay for my eeePC, also about RM 68.00 a month.

So I intend to save extra celcom data line money to pay for my pc.

Just my personal preference.

SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 12:38 AM

23,851 posts

Surfing the net/webs using windows , without anti virus is highly risky. Best not to download emails into the pc.

Just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 12:41 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 01:04 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 17 2008, 12:44 AM)
thanks bro... wut would u recommend for AV? just worried that pc will be slowed down alot
I am using free avg , quite bit heavy about 50mb

But no laggy cos using 2gb ram.

Light one like mentioned earlier ..NOD 32, but could not get a free copy ( plse check back ).

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 01:13 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 08:30 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(rahuldave @ Aug 17 2008, 07:22 AM)
Hi Guyz

First of all i'm using 1000h. And currently, i'm having a prob, that the HDD spinning sound can be heard when I'[m surfing. Then I change it from SupER performance to Power Saving Mode.

But its still the same. So anyone has any solution to this

TQ
Better if you check with your reseller or asus. The check up is free during the warranty period.

I see the hdd is not firmly placed like the normal laptop. No special slot for that.

They have to move my hdd to a side before doing any upgrade of ram. Make sure it is put back in a proper order.

If the vibration is strong ,then do not what would happen. People using wind also notice the same problem.

P/S : HAVE ANYONE TRIES THE PC TOOLS ANTI VIRUS ONLY TAKES ABOUT 5-8MB IN RAM. KIND OF GOOD FOR EEE PC. STILL TRYING.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 11:15 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 02:43 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 17 2008, 02:17 PM)
sky,

im going to try out AVG.. anyway, what's the diff before and after AVG in terms of boot up n shut down time for winxp on 901?

hehehe... little bit worried as i only have 1gb ram for my 901 unit.,
Try the PC tools anti virus, light. scans better than avg.

Take about 8 mb of your ram while in standby mode.

Just take extra few seconds to boost up. You should worry more what if virus attacks your system.

http://www.pctools.com/free-antivirus/?utm...utm_campaign=av

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 02:46 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 17 2008, 03:09 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(recoil @ Aug 17 2008, 02:59 PM)
sky,
very true... hehehe... ok.. will give both a try leh.. preventive is better.

by the way, is something goes wrong with my 901.. how can i recover the stock win xp? the box came with a dvd,.. but not sure if win xp is inside also... tongue.gif sorry, am quite newbie to this
If virus attacks xp, then probably have to do reformatting,,,taking time and effort.

Booting or installing xp from external cd with DVD is direct and easier approach, not sure how to go about through local networking. Perhaps, need to go back to Asus service centre.

Can someone share how to solve this problem.

So right now is to take prevention better than cure.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 17 2008, 07:53 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 19 2008, 11:35 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Aug 19 2008, 09:03 PM)
What's the latest price for 900 and 901 in lowyat plaza ya?

And which one is a better get?
Do not buy 900 because of very short battery life duration of less than 2 hours. Battery supposed of 5800a mh spec but somehow majority come only with 4400a mh due to shortage of supply some time back.

The other factor is 900 is using celeron proven to consume more power.

the choice is between 901 or 1000H.

I like 1000H bcos of better keyboard, screen and more storage. And full spec notebook of this size costs a bomb.

It is your final choice.

We are here to share what we know.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 19 2008, 11:40 PM
SKY 1809
post Aug 20 2008, 08:43 AM

23,851 posts

Thinking of getting a spare external hdd for eee Pc 1000H.

Got confused of SATA N PATA, what is the diff if used externally for backup purpose ?

just want to get the cheapest possible, even with 40gb second hand.

Anyone mind to share ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 20 2008, 08:44 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 20 2008, 09:16 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Aug 20 2008, 09:12 AM)
Get SATA. PATA/IDE is the old HD. It's slower. Plus, most device nowadays uses SATA so the lifespan of product is longer.

Price wise, it about the same nowadays.
Thank you very much.

Can SATA be used externally, I mean through usb. Need any separate power supply adaptor ?

Sorry for the naive question.
SKY 1809
post Aug 22 2008, 10:45 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Aug 22 2008, 10:05 AM)
well, the nlite software, which is is free, only run in windows, so either you install full windows and install nlite  and use it or you install nlite and make the slim down xp on others notebook or dekstop pc.

there is is no problem smile.gif

Super intro step
1. Download nlite xp
2. Run in a Windows pc/notebook/desktop
3. Make the .iso/image
4. Burn it.
5. Install the slim down xp like install normal windows disk

This is the main thing I made a website like that
If nlite n xp needed to be installed in windows environment. Can we install additional copy of xp in sd memory card
just in case xp got corrupted and we switch to memory card to boot up xp first.

Then again, we use just nlite to instal xp to sdd or hdd.

The reason is we do not have external cd rom, and do not know whether eee pc can run on networking without xp [ if corrupted ]

Anyone mind to share ?

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 22 2008, 10:46 AM
SKY 1809
post Aug 22 2008, 06:21 PM

23,851 posts

the rumour says all the FBI agents are using 901, just joking.

I just check with one big dealer in lowyet yesterday, 901 model is out of stock.

two weeks ago, he said asus is shipping in 904 model. Apparently China is not doing any mass production of 901 model.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Aug 22 2008, 06:38 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0543sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:41 AM