Official Asus EEE PC Thread #2, Love it ? Feel it !
Hico
Jul 21 2008, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(PaiGeWonG @ Jul 21 2008, 05:21 PM) Yah im getting 1 just a second pc as i don have a lappy and i like the size and price so i should get the Eeepc 901 with installation of Windows Xp may i know how many USB ports are there built in? errr sorry im new to all these , wad is 2SDHC 8GB and 16GB and y do i need a USB sdHC card reader? Cos i has a external hdd SATA now 160Gb will dat able to use on the eeepc901 ? Anyway thx guys for narrowing down for me cos im just too new to these Thx in advanced  3 usb ports. since u have external hdd sata, just plug in the 901..it works!! unless u dun have any external hdd, so u can get sdhc card reader.. i ask the shop just now, the asus stock will only arrive this week but duno which day and duno what model also!  i just cant wait to own 901!!!
Hico
Jul 21 2008, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(PaiGeWonG @ Jul 21 2008, 06:11 PM) Thx ! so it is confirm that the SATA external HDD 160gb works then im on the go already How much is the retail price for 901 now? Package includes ? Need to know from u guys who has 901 package first so i wont be cheated after purchasing 1 rm 1699 is the price asus announced. but some say will be cheaper to get it during pc fair in august kl...too bad i am not in kl..so i cant get any special price or free gift..
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 22 2008, 09:27 AM) Wow nice bag....... yup the adapter looks like the original. What I did was replaced the original power cable (Big 3 PIN Plug Top) with one of those smaller 2 pin power cable. It looks so cool... Wonder if I show to my BH she would get me a Gucci instead jackdon Where did you get the smaller 2 pin power cable?? which shop in kl??
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 22 2008, 10:10 AM) i'd buy 901 at RM1500. no need to wait to drop further. if it continue to drop, i'd buy another set later, probably the bigger 1000 @ RM1500 also  mm...btu it hink i still have to wait till aug cos m place here always the last one to have the stock!  but i am going to kl end of aug..if till that time i still cannot get one here, i will get from kl!!! just what worry me is that the waranty service in future..if you not bought from the shop locally, they normally will not wan to help u to claim for service! they will ask you send by urself as they dun wan take the risk!
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Jul 22 2008, 01:11 PM) i bought my eee901 last week at ALL IT lowyat for rm1699...my mom simply loved it.  wow..the black colour is very nice and shinning..can you put some photos showing outside of the 901??? do you see white colour there?? omg! i just fall in lov with it compare to wind! This post has been edited by Hico: Jul 22 2008, 02:05 PM
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 04:06 PM
Great! i will get myself a white one! cant wait to own one now!
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 22 2008, 08:32 PM) haha..this is normal, like nikon vs canon or toyota vs honda important is which of the model suits your requirements the most, doesn't matter what brand Depend on your taste! everyone's requirement is different..! and the most important thing is must suit ur requirement! dun have to care what other say abt..but of cos can use it as reference!
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(techhuan @ Jul 22 2008, 09:04 PM) But the performance of this processor is questionable. The superPI for this processor is lower than celeron M 900.  but different review will comment different thing..some say better..some say slower..some say almost the same...so hard to decide which one to trust!
Hico
Jul 22 2008, 11:02 PM
QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 22 2008, 10:25 PM) VinluV, Though I haven't try Vista but I would suggest to avoid it, I might be wrong though. I am using TinyXP, mini Office, firefox and thunderbird on mine, no different compare to my pentium M 1.7, after all, these software are not processor intensive. you use 901 too?
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(ajay67 @ Jul 23 2008, 08:32 AM) bravo Kclee! now i'm convinced that 901 is for me  Welcome to the club!
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(vyeo @ Jul 23 2008, 08:34 AM) Netbook mainly for convenient to carry arround and surfing using wifi anywhere! Therefore, it is not design for powerful application..8gb can upgrade one cos linux version got 4gb+16gb!
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(vyeo @ Jul 23 2008, 09:02 AM) yeah...what to do..wan mobility then must sacrifice something..also cheap price cant expect much!
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 23 2008, 09:29 AM) No, I am using 1000H. Anyway, it seems like 1000H users are despised here so I normally go elsewhere for the discussion  I don't mind the extra 0.45kg provided that it comes with 6 cell battery, With my 1 week experience configuring ubuntu on my friend's 701, it is really not my cup of tea as the keyboard is just too small. These are just my personal preference, you got to try it a while to know what you actually want. Don't ask me about how fast my 1000h boot as I am dual booting using Grub with boot booster off, so definitely will be a few Ss slower than usual  How do you make your 1000H dual boot??? what program u using??
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 09:50 AM
why asus now keep coming out with new model???? make users confuse and duno which one to choose!
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 01:46 PM
the dolby surround room feature only available in xp version..is that a software or hardware??? if lets say i get a linux version then i install xp myself..will i still get that feature??? what is that actually.. Added on July 23, 2008, 1:47 pmQUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 23 2008, 12:49 PM) Hico, Use "Grub", if you are familiar with linux, that's easy. In fact the dual booting is taken care of if you install ubuntu (or any other distro) after XP. If XP first, then you will have to install and configure Grub manually using live CD. I think the only difficulty here is the disk space, since the SLC part of the 901 is only 4 (or 8 Gb?). I will not touch the MLC part for sure. I will save up and get a SATA2 ssd when it becomes more affordable. My definition of mobility is been able to take the device out there and finish my job somewhere else without having to worry about recharging. 901 is never 1 kg if the adapter is included. Again, that's depend on one's requirement, 701 and 901 is probably the best bet if you are going for a normal surfing in starbucks or occasional outing with family. But battery is still my main concern..if can last at least 4 hours, then should be fine.. someitme 2 hour just not enough This post has been edited by Hico: Jul 23 2008, 01:47 PM
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(Susuwatari @ Jul 23 2008, 02:02 PM) Hico, as far as I know, ithe dolby is not available for linux. Actually what is tat for?? a hardware to make sound better or software to create the sound??? if software maybe linux version after install xp can get the same too..but if hardware then cannot
Hico
Jul 23 2008, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(rayzrblade @ Jul 23 2008, 06:48 PM) thanks so much for the info.. oh lame..no BT for 900...i didnt know i tot all eeepc has it..thats why i consider eeepc than aspire one.. i guess the 900 has similiar batt power with aspire one..901 can last so long..wow.. Heat? hehe..i got used to heat..my TX2000 can burn an ant that pass by now its like wanna comapre 900 with AAone but the specs are incomparable with atom n celeron.. but now 901 with AAone..its the pricing..  damn it.. depend on u..which one u like more and which one u lov in first sight
Hico
Jul 24 2008, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(muyyaqdhom @ Jul 24 2008, 07:06 AM) yah.. got.. rm1.5k+ if buy online. online what web????
Hico
Jul 24 2008, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(jamezco @ Jul 24 2008, 03:56 PM) We're not sure if there will be a price drop for the 901 or 900 but from what we learn from previous pc fairs ... there sure will be some free gifts bundled with the asus lo... i've juz dropped by All IT Hypermart just now at Low Yat and I've checked out the 901 for myself... the Asus 901's keyboard is painfully small but the price and design of the lappie is so tempting... hahahaha .... There are tons of ppl selling the AAO so I'm sure there will be plenty to go around during the PC Fair ... I wouldn't say so for the Asus 901 as there is only 1 left for the while one and black one (the seller said one) ... I would still wait for the Dell E and see how it goes from there ... =) btw for ppl who want to know how much is the 901 ... its RM1,699 with Windows XP, 1gb ram ... =) since u see the 901 white and black, just wan to ask ur opinion, which colour more attractive???
Hico
Jul 25 2008, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(jackdon @ Jul 25 2008, 11:06 AM) My one is from Hong Kong leh... so warranty is in Hong Kong. Anyway this is a hobby also and this is what I plan to do  1. Touch Screen ---- should be next week I order 2. Internal 3G once I sorted where to put and which USB Modem. Hehe.... with the above mod I should have the perfect mobile unit. I just need to ask how is the screen clarity after the touch screen upgrade. There is a users that is doing it this few days and will seek his opinion. jackdon Where do you upgrade the touch screen?? how much is the price???