DELL XPS M1330 FANS CLUB #2, The saga goes on....
doompro
Jun 23 2008, 10:12 PM
i just bought a xps m1330 crimson red product red with the following specs in singapore.
Intel Core 2 Duo T9300 2.5 GHz 6 MB Cache 800 MHz FSB
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 bit SP1 edition
Red Slim and Light WLED Display with VGA Webcam
3 GB 667 MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
200 GB SATA 7200 RPM Performance Hard Disk
Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS with 128MB GDDR3 Dedicated Graphics Memory
Palmrest with fingerprint reader
9 Cell Battery
Dell Bluetooth Travel Mouse
3 Year Complete Cover Warranty with XPS premier service
all these for S$2800.
this is inclusive of 7% GST in singapore.
This post has been edited by doompro: Jun 23 2008, 10:14 PM
doompro
Jun 24 2008, 12:07 PM
guys. if you want to get this xps m1330. be prepared to get it serviced/motherboard replaced every 6 months. after i bought this machine myself i read extensively on it that the dedicated graphics card Nvidia Geforce 8400M GS that is soldered on the mainboard will cause too much heat such that after prolong use like 6 months or so, you will funny lines across your screen and funny colours like white screen/ blue screen. it means that your motherboard has just died. so a word of advice, get a 3 years warranty if you want to buy it.
All in all, this is a very nice machine. however, there are some features that could be improved. also the new motherboard bios A11 is trying to solve this problem but i doubt it is of much of a help. thanks.
doompro
Jun 24 2008, 09:36 PM
the thing is many ppl like the light weight and led screen in m1330. i really hope dell can solve m1330 and release a revision. then it will be a really good and reliable notebook.
for m1530, they dun have the led option in malaysia and asia pacific yet. if they can port that here then maybe yeah go for m1530. but at 2.6kg maybe not.
doompro
Jun 26 2008, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Jun 25 2008, 11:20 PM) Results from Google shows a lot of them having the same problem and advised to flash to the latest A11 BIOS. I too have flashed to it so I hope I won't encounter it. Those who were on the A10 BIOS did a test and showed that the temperature was quite high and they were suspecting that the A10 BIOS had poor thermal management. true but not totally true. in reality, m1330 itself has a poor thermal design that doesnt cool the gpu fast enough if used under intensive load. thus while the A10 bios makes the XPS M1330 a quieter machine due to the slower fan speed and timings, it makes it hotter. A11 just makes the fan speed faster and spins more, that in conclusion is trying to lower down the cpu and gpu temperature. but there you go having a noiser m1330. but by how much, i cant really tell.