DELL XPS M1330 FANS CLUB #2, The saga goes on....

cancer_kid
post Apr 29 2008, 07:34 PM

52 posts

only those running on 5400rpm notebook got this problem?(tick tick sound) the ones with 7200rpm hdd no problem? list down the specs of your hdd then so we all know what is causing the problem. thanks.
cancer_kid
post Apr 29 2008, 11:35 PM

52 posts

can we request for hitachi hdd upon ordering?
cancer_kid
post May 1 2008, 11:53 AM

52 posts

250.0gb 5400 rpm model also may have this problem? anyone experiencing this?
cancer_kid
post May 6 2008, 08:27 PM

52 posts

pink xps m1330 is out in dell malaysia!
cancer_kid
post May 9 2008, 04:41 PM

52 posts

seems like the m1330 has alot of defects and problems. given the chance to choose again, would the owner(s) of m1330 still choose this lappie? i was planning to get one unit soon thats why
cancer_kid
post Jul 5 2008, 11:12 AM

52 posts

i just got my xps m1330 yesterday. with latest bios a11 and nvidia 167.45 driver. when idiling, it hovers around 48-56c depending on the room temperature. maximum with full speed fan it reaches 75-78c(i8kfangui to control when to kick in the fan). before i update the gpu driver, it idles at 65-68cAttached Image

This post has been edited by cancer_kid: Jul 5 2008, 11:52 AM
cancer_kid
post Jul 5 2008, 06:19 PM

52 posts

anyone ordered the 200gb 7200rpm hdd? do they have other brand than seagate. i want a replacement if they have others. got some tick tick sound.
cancer_kid
post Jul 6 2008, 10:22 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(seale_navy @ Jul 6 2008, 10:20 AM)
yeah i still dont get it why dell still uses seagate hdd despite many people complain about the tick tick sound. they have other brand i guess, I am not too sure because urs is 200 GB 7200 rpm.

well i got the seagate as well with the stupid tick tick sound. but mine was 160 GB 5400 rpm. well for my hdd specs , they have hitachi and fujitsu which makes no sound at all.

i think for ur spec they have western digital. well try to get a japanese brand  than an american one cause its better in my opinion.

oh yeah by the way, if they replace u with another seagate one.. tell them u dont want it. But the dell xps support will tell u , they cant choose what hdd goes into the technician hands when it comes to ur place. So if u see the technician has a seagate refurbish hdd tell them, u are not keen on the brand and sent them home.

Because, I have seen brand new seagate hdd with tick tick sound . opt for other hdd besides seagate. But during my time, the seagate hdd tick tick sound only affect hdd with my hdd specs.
thanks for your advise.

Added on July 6, 2008, 10:22 pmanyway, anyone know where we can get the copper sheet locally?

This post has been edited by cancer_kid: Jul 6 2008, 10:22 PM
cancer_kid
post Jul 8 2008, 04:36 PM

52 posts

that's the media direct button smile.gif
cancer_kid
post Jul 15 2008, 10:18 PM

52 posts

where did you bought the copper sheet?
cancer_kid
post Oct 6 2008, 01:18 AM

52 posts

all m1330's owner. do try out zalman nc-1000 cooler. i had it with my m1330. in aircond room, gpu can go down to 49c. on full fan speed and graphics rendering test. gpu at max 78c.
cancer_kid
post Oct 6 2008, 10:21 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(rickysee @ Oct 6 2008, 09:42 AM)
I was about to ask you guys out there to recommend a cooler pad. I have seen the Zalman cooler in Lowyat Plaza. It's the most expensive notebook cooler available there (price at RM159.00). It's a tad bit expensive but if it really works, might consider getting it. Thanks for the info, cancer_kid.

BTW, just got my motherboard replaced by Dell due to the NVIDIA graphic card problem last week and wanna share what the Dell technician guy told me. He said once your graphic card have been replaced, there will not be any extended warranty after this. After your original warranty expired, if your graphic card died again, you will have to paid for it to get it replaced unless you extend your warranty. He said the new graphic card contains a new chipset that "should" avoid the previous problem, although I have my doubt on this. Guess I just have wait and see and pray that the horrible screen with the colourful vertical lines never ever appear again.
so does your new mainboard contain that 'chipset' that should solve it? if yes, what's your idle and max load gpu temperature? thanks smile.gif

cancer_kid
post Oct 7 2008, 02:07 AM

52 posts

yea, my power plan is always on high performance. and the hdd temperature can go down to 30c in air cond room with nc-1000. note: mine is 9-cell batt. it kinda escalate the laptop hence more room for cooling.

Added on October 7, 2008, 2:09 amnote: all my temperature is taken from hwmonitor

This post has been edited by cancer_kid: Oct 7 2008, 02:09 AM
cancer_kid
post Oct 11 2008, 08:53 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Oct 10 2008, 06:00 PM)
i just enable the graphic again by install the driver again..this is the temp i get using the new mobo and on my new zalman nc-1000

your gpu temp is ridiculously high given that you are idling. are you?

cancer_kid
post Oct 11 2008, 12:39 PM

52 posts

this is mine idling with nc-1000 under normal room temperature

cancer_kid
post Oct 13 2008, 01:51 AM

52 posts

believe it or not. the laptop is idling on a nc-1000. plugged in power without battery and running on high performance mode.
cancer_kid
post Oct 13 2008, 07:27 PM

52 posts

yes, if you leave your laptop there for sometime until the lcd screen shuts off = standby. However, if i close all my applications with only relevant background processes its called idling right? correct me if i'm wrong.
cancer_kid
post Nov 19 2008, 01:51 PM

52 posts

are we allowed to have 8gb or ram at max for 32bit vista then?
cancer_kid
post Nov 19 2008, 11:13 PM

52 posts

of course not 8gb. i plan to have 4gb memory. now running 3gb. but last time around. system will only detect 3.2gb i think. so now can run full 4gb?
cancer_kid
post Nov 21 2008, 01:48 AM

52 posts

thanks sifuS

0.0363sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:16 AM