DELL XPS M1330 FANS CLUB #2, The saga goes on....

SySTeM_eRRoR
post Jun 27 2008, 12:27 PM

277 posts

From the past few replies, I noticed you guys don't use the graphics driver supplied by Dell and instead use the 1 from automatic updates. Do any of u guys face HDMI problems?
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 5 2008, 02:37 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(Larrylow @ Aug 4 2008, 10:17 PM)
Anyone of you here bought this XPS 1530 laptop during this PC fair?
What do you think about the specs offered with the price?
Is is value for money?
Wrong thread to ask
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 10 2008, 09:42 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(mokh @ Aug 10 2008, 09:24 PM)
anybody here tried philips noise canceling earphone/headphone? or other brand?

feel like getting one but dont know worth it or not.
You should checkout the Audiophiles section
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 11 2008, 05:02 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Aug 11 2008, 12:46 AM)
redtuna, get a refund from them if u can do so, I'm pretty sure u wont regret about it lol, is this the first time u encounter this issue?

Darn, I'm so regret that I bought M1330 without a survey in LYN because that time too curious to get a new laptop, now i flash back, should have buy a HP one...sigh...

This is the problem I encounter, when I start the system, almost 40% of LED screen got color error like greenish color overlap the screen and I have to close and reopen the screen to make the color gone. Then I called Dell regarding my issues and they ask me whether something wrong with BIOS(that time I think that its the screen problem). So that after few days of emailing to them, the engineer came to my house and dissemble the laptop and assemble it again, the change is motherboard(which is the source of problem)and LCD screen(force him to change for me which is better than previous one). After I found this thread, I only know it is because of GPU overheat issue. I get the refurbished motherboard A08>.<

Even though I flash my BIOS to A12, the temperature still the same, I mean decrease of few temperatures is nothing to compare to full load at over 90+C(might hit 100+ which can boils water if I run heavy 3D render applications). The game I use to stress GPU is DotA lol, even it is a half 3d game and get over 90+. In idle, lowest temperature I can get is 67C, in air-conditioned room>.<"The saddest thing is I only one year complete cover which is useless if I change motherboard within 6 months interval.

If got prob again I will ask them for a refund and go for HP pavilion series(even they minus some $)

By the way how much is your all processor temperature? Mine is T7500 and hits 80+ easily on full load.
That's kinda high, you should check if your fan is running & heatsink is installed properly. My CPU doesn't reach that high but sometimes my GPU even idles at 80 Celsius...
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 12 2008, 04:12 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(dani_irwan @ Aug 12 2008, 04:02 AM)
hey, what software u guys use to check your CPU & GPU temperatures la? I've tried Everest, but it doesn't seem to work with Vista. SpeedFan also a bit weird when running on my XPS.

another thing, if my lappy is <1 year old, am i entitled to a refund?

and redtuna, normally when the tech comes to replace your mobo, there'll be a sticker there on the mobo plastic wrapping which has 'REFURBISHED' in big letters smile.gif
HWMonitor for CPU & GPU temperatures
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 14 2008, 06:33 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Aug 14 2008, 11:30 AM)
Thx for the reply steven.

I had receive the call from that retailer, and from what I get from him is>

-Is there any evidence show that my system is new? My post stated there it is new from Dell factory.But, "REFURBISHED UNIT" is not shown in his post.(How do you expect ppl know it is a refurbished unit?)
-You can claim your warranty until it ends and extend your warranty by 3 years.

That's all from him and I asked him to find me a same model and same specification but with integrated intel graphic.

Yeah, now I only know that checking a service tag is that important. Never buy Dell again whether it is from Dell itself or retailer.
-
You don't trust Dell anymore?
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 15 2008, 02:39 AM

277 posts

QUOTE(5564321 @ Aug 14 2008, 11:59 PM)
OIC, well, I do not record down all of our conversation when dealing...also this trade doesn't have receipt and evidence that I bought this laptop from him...hmm...what can I do haiz...only my dad company me when dealing with him in sri damansara and I think he can ignore it that I bought the laptop from him because it is a third party unit. When I ask him whether it is new or not, he keep saying new from DELL FACTORY OUTLET>.<
After check dell website only I know it is for refurbished computer site thus "OUTLET" for it.

All I got is his phone number and also a fixed home number. By the way I do need to pay money for law firm to send a letter to sue him...no point doing this?

Added on August 15, 2008, 12:05 am

Ya, this is what i do. All of my friends tell me not to buy neither Acer or Dell because acer service not good and dell don't know why...and i dont listen to them and buy it...and face gotten a refurbished unit...

after this no more! as what i know all of their laptop with discrete gaming graphic card like 8400,8600 or nvidia series card also got problem..overheating issue is well known for them but they doing nothing about it. HP extend their warranty due to this issue so can keep their customer and reputation but how about Dell?? Release of new software to solve hardware problem?? hmm.gif sounds good and irresponsible.
Somemore it cannot compare their quality with HP or asus although same price. My friends HP damn cool and mine damn hot.

BTW u may not agree with my statement and this is based on my personal experience... sweat.gif if u still support DELL u can still go for it but i would advise u, NO. Nowdays so many brands to choose from and most of them got better looking than most dell laptop(prefer glossy,which only Dell studio have?) So lose one customer to other brand loh whistling.gif
Chill dude, I'm not a supporter of Dell. I was just curious cause I thought u were mislead by a reseller and not by Dell but u boycott Dell too. Anyway I hope you can get a fair treatment out of your misfortune.
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 19 2008, 11:27 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(dopoD810 @ Aug 19 2008, 10:43 PM)
true......i second that.

btw, i haven't come across this gpu defect yet *cough*cough*......been using this lappy for almost a year now.....so far so good! I don't game with this lappy but i do intensive 3d graphic rendering. Haven't turn off my lappy for about a month now (busy downloading stuff...... brows.gif )

glad to know that Dell is extending the warranty  thumbup.gif ....which means my expiry warranty date will be till Aug 2012!  shocking.gif  drool.gif
(bought 3 years warranty, dell extend another year FOC for some reason, then again another year because of the gpu issue )  icon_rolleyes.gif
For what reason Dell extended another year FOC?
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Aug 20 2008, 08:15 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Aug 19 2008, 11:32 PM)
It's not confirmed yet.

Anyway, it's due to the faulty 8400 and 8600 gpu which overheats too often.
Notice the bold part in my quote? I was referring to why he got the 1 year extension FOC not the faulty GPU case warranty extension.
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Sep 1 2008, 10:04 PM

277 posts

He is sharing the same thing in practically every XPS thread available.
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Sep 4 2008, 03:48 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(MrLawKH @ Sep 4 2008, 01:05 PM)
Im a crazy dota maniac, who can play many dota matches in one day, got a record of 16 hours++ playing warcraft in a day. But i got use zalman cooler pad for my laptop. guess that helps a bit too. i dont play COD4 or others, just i know that when i play dota, or even CT, my max temp is 82, donno got 82 ++ or not, cz after ended the game, i quickly press the window button, which exit the game and press the HWmonitor.exe. the temp shown 82, after a few seconds, it started to drop to 78, then 72, then 68, which is the lowest i think.
So, try to play dota and see whether my temp is higher lor lower than yours.
You can leave your HWMonitor on while playing DotA
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Sep 29 2008, 06:27 AM

277 posts

Hey guys, for those who KOed their 8400GS and replace their mobos, is graphics driver crashing frequently one of the symptoms that its nearing its death?
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Sep 29 2008, 04:54 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(rickysee @ Sep 29 2008, 02:51 PM)
Hi all, here's another victim of the NVIDIA graphic card problem.
If only I have know about this thread earlier, I won't have to spend the whole weekend troubleshooting and formatting my laptop, only to find out is hardware problem  cry.gif

After reading through this thread, the only solution provided from Dell is replacing the motherboard with the same NVIDIA graphic card and an updated BIOS that only try to prevent the GPU from overheating. In another 6 months time, the same problem may happen again, rite?

Sigh... can't believe Dell is actually still selling the laptop with this faulty graphic card... Do they really believe their solution can totally prevent the overheating issue?
What happened before it died? Can share some symptoms u faced before it died?
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Oct 9 2008, 01:42 AM

277 posts

Just had my motherboard replaced too due to the faulty GPU. Anyway my experience was I requested for a new board with a new revision and to check my CPU temperature problem (replace if necessary) but the technician brought a refurbished board with an old revision A00 even after confirming with me before he came to my place (I can even see the GPU had a bad solder job with marks on the motherboard). The CPU problem was totally forgotten/ignored and when I showed my temperature to the technician he asked me to make another report. After everything was done (technician left), I found that the laptop was not even anymore (the laptop rocks just like a chair on an uneven ground). The technician even accidentally hit the heatsink on the RAMs and the plastic cover causing thermal paste getting smudged all over the RAM chips and bottom cover (he wiped the cover but left the RAMs alone). Conclusion is I'm not happy at all with the service.
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Nov 19 2008, 10:04 AM

277 posts

Nice support for 8GB memory that many have been waiting for! Here's the direct link http://ftp.us.dell.com/bios/M1330A13.EXE
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Nov 24 2008, 02:16 AM

277 posts

No idea but I'm using A13

EDIT: You can still download from the link I posted

This post has been edited by SySTeM_eRRoR: Nov 24 2008, 02:17 AM
SySTeM_eRRoR
post Nov 24 2008, 05:24 PM

277 posts

BIOS A14 is out!

Download link: http://ftp.us.dell.com/bios/M1330A14.EXE

Fixes/Enhancements
------------------
1. Added enhancement for Wifi sniffer function.

0.0357sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:55 AM