colabear98
May 4 2008, 02:53 AM

Hi Guys,
Just got my AMD Phenom 9850 BE from Sempronic just now ... I'm still playing with it ... need time to fine tune the settings.. kinda difficult to play settings on my Asus board.
colabear98
May 4 2008, 02:56 AM

QUOTE(alive88 @ May 4 2008, 03:55 AM) thats impressive..tested stable wif orthos? lets see how far can this babe go.. Will test that in awhile and update here ... hehe
colabear98
May 4 2008, 01:33 PM

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ May 4 2008, 02:01 PM) just curious..how did he set it 31..coz my DK only got tRC from auto to 26 only..and same to my previous nf590.. It was on AUTO. ok.. I have a problem here.. My system is really HOT. even at default speed. I am using a GeminII heatsink with 2 CM 12cm fan and the temp is still about 64-66 degrees at idle. I am not sure what is wrong.. I tink i need to fix the problem b4 further overclocking. I really need help 3ghz go up to 71degrees ... something wrong somewhere. I'm using Tuniq TX-2 thermal paste. This post has been edited by colabear98: May 4 2008, 01:44 PM
colabear98
May 4 2008, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 4 2008, 02:42 PM) Do you fix your HS properly? What monitoring software u use to monitor the temp?? -pWs-I'm using CPUID HW Monitor.
colabear98
May 4 2008, 10:22 PM

QUOTE(mizivincible @ May 4 2008, 10:00 PM) Last time with two fans, I touched my CM GeminII with full load also not that hot at the base. Try touch your heatsink base. If it goes up to 50'c it should be hot, if not then DTS problem. I am not sure if its Asus problem. Last time I heard Asus was having wrong temperature readings on their mobos This post has been edited by colabear98: May 4 2008, 10:23 PM
colabear98
May 4 2008, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(sempronic @ May 4 2008, 11:36 PM) asus?  nahhh....dont bother asus...not well paired with AMD... get DFI, Abit or Biostar.....sure rock...  Wahh..money go out again ah... *Pengsan*
colabear98
May 8 2008, 11:02 PM

OK.. an update.. left my 9850BE comp running at 3ghz for days and no hang. Played Crysis no problem. Even Encode movies no problem at all. The only problem is opening 3Dmarks06 opens at splash and disappears or if it can open, i ran benchmark, half way shuts.. I will be trying to change my 12cm fan to a faster and more efficient one but have no idea on which brand to get. Looking for maybe 2800 - 3000 RPM.
colabear98
May 9 2008, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ May 9 2008, 12:55 AM) dude, u've run orthos already ar?? anybody got that occt stress installer..?? can give any link to it?? Ran Prime.. had problems at 3ghz. Currently running my PC at 2.8ghz to test out stability. its at 1.26v and Prime was still running since 2am this morning when i woke up about 7.30 am.
colabear98
May 9 2008, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 9 2008, 01:12 PM) at 3.0 Try increase VCore to 1.3.BTw,you not pushing higher ah?  Pushing... but need to find maybe Deltas for my Gemini 2. Currently running 2 CM LEDs 12cm fan which is SSSSSLLLOOOWWWWW.. take it a step at a time ... will post SS later.
colabear98
May 15 2008, 10:16 PM

here is a screenshot of my overclock wit 3 new fans 12cm.
colabear98
May 15 2008, 11:17 PM

I did try to touch the heatsink b4. It was warm.. not hot.. But now I'm using 3 x Sanyo Denki San Ace 120 100CFM fan from AllnGap. Noisy like hell.. sounds like a server... lol... Attached is another overclock. Just playing around with the settings. GFX card is single.. not on CF yet.. 1 card is sent for RMA due to fan spoilt.. sighh...
This post has been edited by colabear98: May 15 2008, 11:49 PM
colabear98
May 16 2008, 02:17 AM

@meno... I'm using Cooler Master GeminII
colabear98
May 16 2008, 09:13 AM

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ May 16 2008, 03:35 AM) colabear98, GeminII is not bad one..put the Sun Ace on it.. Yep.. I'm using 3x San Ace 120 (120*120*38mm). 2 on GeminII and 1 as an exhaust on the back of the casing. My casing is Cooler Master Elite 332.
colabear98
May 16 2008, 12:12 PM

QUOTE(@meno @ May 16 2008, 10:34 AM) Is your geminII lapped? Trying to lap it might drop a few c out of it. However from what i've read, the original base on the geminII is pretty nice already, so dun be too optimistic on the lapping results. I didn't lap it .. just installed it straight from the package. With Tuniq TX-2 thermal paste. How do i lap it any way. Added on May 16, 2008, 12:14 pmQUOTE(@meno @ May 16 2008, 03:45 AM) Hmm...GeminII... Quite a nice cooler, cheap and effective. I like the idea where it cools down the rams as well, that was my primary target initially before getting the IFX.
The 9850 you're using is a 125w tdp proc right? Yep its a 125w proc. Added on May 16, 2008, 12:15 pmQUOTE(sempronic @ May 16 2008, 10:22 AM) @ colabear nice clock there....and nice vcore.... impressive...  Thanks bro. Still playing around with the bios tho. This post has been edited by colabear98: May 16 2008, 12:15 PM
colabear98
May 16 2008, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 16 2008, 01:23 PM) You still didnt answer my question.  Not pushing higher maybe like 3.1Ghz? sorry...the screenshot for 3.1ghz is also in my previous post .. scroll up abit.. u will see 2 screenshots.. 1 is 3ghz and 1 is 3.1ghz. Still trying to go higher.. But nvm.. i add the ss here.. This post has been edited by colabear98: May 16 2008, 12:39 PM
colabear98
May 16 2008, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 16 2008, 04:05 PM) @colarbear98 What Vcore you use bro for that speed?? -pWs-3.1ghz @ 1.32v 3ghz @ 1.29v
colabear98
May 16 2008, 04:14 PM

QUOTE(Liuteva @ May 16 2008, 04:56 PM) Wa.. nice proc you got there. Still can go higher? Still exploring.. i trying to hit 3.2/3.3ghz.. but need to add more voltage i tink.
colabear98
May 16 2008, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ May 16 2008, 06:13 PM) i beg to differ mate, current b3 (espcially 9850BE) are actually doin ok atm, they are known to go beyond 3.0GHz mark w/o hiccups despite havin rather high temp.  yah..mine could go 3.1ghz.. still testing tho..
colabear98
May 16 2008, 05:55 PM

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 16 2008, 06:51 PM) Try lor 3.2 by adding abit vcore. Will try when i go home later..
colabear98
May 16 2008, 06:33 PM

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 16 2008, 07:07 PM) Hmm..wanna ask ur opinion.Do you feel any difference when using Q6600 and Phenom 9850?Maybe in gaming,multithreading or anything lah.Do you feel any diff?Slow or fast whatsoever lah. I will still go with AMD. I have tried using Q6600 and clocked it to 3ghz. Played some games, it feels the same. I always used AMD since K6 time...When i open any programs using both.. my 9850 feels abit faster...Maybe its all in the mind.. lolz...