ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 12:09 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 15 2008, 11:46 AM)
Mine is from V2.
I have not seen many V3s here, or maybe i did not come here so frequent lately.
For those V1s, similiar results are expected right?
Ya, seriously thanks to dblooi for bringing in this proc.

The Phenom is tempting...But no point for me for the time being.
Someone grab it quick, time to see some results.

Btw, replying to Ah_khoo...
Ya, we would like to see some handpicked phenoms from dblooi... drool.gif
guess yas are on par (if not better) with bro dblooi's & bro sempronic's ex... d best among all. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(sarahlah @ May 15 2008, 11:51 AM)
v2 ? no wonder so great~!!
mine is v3.. need 1.27v to stable at 3.0..
same like mine bro, how high yas can go? mine maxed out @ 3.2GHz around 1.44v on ta690g. smile.gif

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ May 15 2008, 11:59 AM)
aiyarkkk...doh.gif  doh.gif  i guess wanna keep it la bro..
at least until Deneb out..or until bro db come out with handpicked one..laugh.gif
just jokin bro... u got a gud chip there, i'm sure u ain't gonna let go until u find a better one. laugh.gif
ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 12:15 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(sarahlah @ May 15 2008, 12:14 PM)
1.42v @3.3.. i guess my proc same like urs la bro ah_khoo.. smile.gif
nope bro, yas is better. mine can't prime stable @ 3.3GHz w/ any voltage. sad.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: May 15 2008, 12:16 PM
ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 01:43 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 15 2008, 01:40 PM)
Sure, later after i go home from work i post up SS.
Din have time to test superpi 32m though, only tested the 1m.
B4? hmm.gif

So this is what he's doing now...
Hmm...
But nvm we still got -pWs- daiko and ah_khoo daiko here.
me noob only lah bro... i spent most of my time here but it doesn't mean that i'm taiko (even thou i could be d eldest of all)... laugh.gif

sigh... all elite movin to blue camp ledi... sad.gif
ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 02:18 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 15 2008, 01:49 PM)
Eldest? hmm.gif
You got tat all bor? laugh.gif
If you noob, then i mar rclxub.gif ...

Ya, the temptation over at the other camp is far much stronger compared to here.
But i dunno why, i still like AMD...
Well, all 3 of my rigs(2 not with me now physically) are all on AMD-ATI configs. Just realised it this morning... laugh.gif

I think i'll give it time up until Deneb to decide whether to remain or to leave... blush.gif
QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 15 2008, 01:56 PM)
Look like Deneb is the point where all AMD overclocker decide to change camp or not. laugh.giflaugh.gif

-pWs-
to be honest, even deneb won't beat intel imo, i'll be happy enough if amd can bring down d price a 'lil while offerin acceptable performance (not like d situation where am2 get thrashed alot). if they can't beat intel w/ performance, they gotta do that in other area - price. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 03:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 15 2008, 03:08 PM)
Agreed.
I'm not hoping to see Deneb beat Nehalem.
But as long as it shows a fight, then i'm satisfied d.
Expect it to be somewhere around where the current C2Q standards then i'm very very happy liao.
Time to put it to some torture... brows.gif
No worries, ur DFI Ultra MII should be able to push it pretty far, summore the delicous D9GKX...
clock to clock i believe they'll be small difference, even d current 9850 b.e vs qx9650 not marginally big, but d thing is - u can clock d hell outa intel while amd's chips are already @ full stretch w/ that speed. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 04:29 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 15 2008, 03:49 PM)
Hopefully the 45nm process technology in the Deneb will help.
Cz i read from somewhere in XS, someone claimed that he talked to another someone(if not mistaken in fudzilla) who claimed that the current K10 architechture is actually too complicated to be manufatured under the 65nm process. AMD was pretty daring to do it if that's true. Once it goes to 45nm, it will be much more refined than the current 65nm and the OC headroom might appear. Speculations are saying that Denebs will have stock clocks starting from 2.8Ghz.

If Denebs can clock up to >4ghz, i think it will be a very optimistic battle down the road again as Nehalem could be delayed and i highly doubt that it is as good as what Intel claims. They were saying, Nehalem will beat the C2D/C2Q like how the C2D beat the Pentium D. I highly doubt that they can achieve that much in such a short period of time, i think we'll see some buggy chips again. And one more thing, Nehalem would most likely be above the affordability range for many of us.
i doubt that deneb can clock up to 4GHz w/ normal coolin bro, but fingers crossed until they are officially launched. Nehalems can beat current C2D/C2Q like C2D beat Pentium D? That's a very big difference there. well, they can talk watever they want but at this moment i'll just take that w/ pinch of salt. whistling.gif

no doubt they'll always beat amd until d latter come out w/ something big (like d gud old s939). smile.gif

ah_khoo
post May 15 2008, 05:22 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(mr_habuk @ May 15 2008, 05:17 PM)
B3 clock like F3..?? shocking.gif
then need to wait bro db handpicked one...laugh.gif
it's possible i must say...

ah_khoo
post May 16 2008, 09:22 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(cyloh @ May 16 2008, 03:01 AM)
Hey guys, Denebs should be backward compatible with AM2+ right?
I've been tempted to get a B3 since B2 phenom is a letdown. If
denebs will work with my mobo, I guess I'll just wait it out.
yup, deneb will still be a am2+ chip, so it'll still be supported by ya board which run on 770 chipset which officially support am2+. smile.gif

QUOTE(tachlio @ May 16 2008, 08:18 AM)
OT:

I currently using XP, and i planning going to Vista 32bit.. will this effect my OC??
@meno,

Thk, but ur version really old =.=. 
I thought u using version 3.4
shouldn't affect much since we're not on phenoms & 64-bit os. u mite have issues if ur on phenoms & runnin a 64-bit os, like some of those in XS. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: May 16 2008, 09:22 AM
ah_khoo
post May 16 2008, 09:38 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(sempronic @ May 16 2008, 09:22 AM)
@ colabear

nice clock there....and nice vcore.... rclxms.gif

impressive... nod.gif
cpu score of ~4.5k on 3dmark06... war... must resist... must resist... lust.gif

d only down side of it would be d heat, but i'm sure d 95w version will be cooler by a 'lil if not alot. wub.gif
ah_khoo
post May 16 2008, 05:13 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 16 2008, 03:59 PM)
No difference bro, even the best B3 are struggling to go beyond 3Ghz.
i beg to differ mate, current b3 (espcially 9850BE) are actually doin ok atm, they are known to go beyond 3.0GHz mark w/o hiccups despite havin rather high temp. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 16 2008, 06:23 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ May 16 2008, 06:07 PM)
Hmm..wanna ask ur opinion.Do you feel any difference when using Q6600 and Phenom 9850?Maybe in gaming,multithreading or anything lah.Do you feel any diff?Slow or fast whatsoever lah.
seriously, how can normal eyes of us can detect diff of few fps in gamin? d one which make significant diff in gamin is d gpu instead. as for applications, we won't live our life longer by savin seconds which offered by d blue camp, rite? smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: May 16 2008, 06:24 PM
ah_khoo
post May 17 2008, 11:12 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ May 17 2008, 10:50 PM)
guys, i need some info for 5000+ BE..

i am currently using 5000+ BE.

when i use stock clock (HTT link/fsb 200mhz), the speed suppose to be 2600Mhz. But i got 2584Mhz, and HT Clock at 997~998 (HT Clock 5x multiplier)

When i overclock my 5000+ BE using multiplier 15.5, it suppose to show 3100Mhz, but it shows 3092 Mhz.

Is this normal? or should i rma? need help icon_question.gif
which bios ur usin? use 06/05, it was d best for my ta690g b4. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 17 2008, 11:41 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

flash it to 06/05, link provided in 1st page. wink.gif

biostar latest 690g bios ain't that gud, i used it less than 30mins when i was still on d mobo mentioned. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 18 2008, 02:53 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ May 18 2008, 02:00 PM)
Wow...8 pins connector and 6 sata port.
Mostly board w 4 sata board at most.

Not bad I think. How bout the overclockability?

-pWs-
QUOTE(gamers maniac @ May 18 2008, 02:36 PM)
the destroyer sure got all the credit. hybrid sli, 3 way sli, 4 pci-e 16x gen2.0, and etc. plus paired wif quantum bios, this board is on par or above blackops IMO. but lacking of NB variety cooler that black ops have sweat.gif . nowadays FOXCONN starting to look into extreme user market thumbup.gif
with shamino onboard, looks like foxconn gonna challange d big boys like asus, gigabyte, dfi & others... smile.gif

wonder whether they'll come out w/ mobos run on amd chipsets... hmm.gif
ah_khoo
post May 18 2008, 03:11 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 18 2008, 03:00 PM)
Well, with their experience and also their existing technology, theres no reasons why they can't challenge the big boys.
The Mars and Blackops were pretty impressive IMHO, from a company who mainly build OEM motherboards for most PC Vendors and also connectors and sockets for other motherboard makers, they have moved on to come out with their own premium line.

With Shamino around, there's no doubt their premium line will be even more interesting. Who cares if you have Fatal1ty?
If u have Shamino on baord, thats gonna be more practical... tongue.gif

Now waiting to see if they'll launch any mobo based on the 790GX+750SB... drool.gif
exactly, for modders mebe fatality looks more pleasin, but for overclockers, most don't give a d@mn bout d look, overclockability matters d most. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 27 2008, 09:08 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 27 2008, 01:23 AM)
yo bro wanna ask something. i think i wanna stay using amd lor.. so which proc should i upgrade to? i`m kinda lost since i only use single core till now blink.gif
QUOTE(serez @ May 27 2008, 03:34 AM)
5000+ BE now how much in market price? and what about performance? i think i oso need a new mobo lor... this gilabyte seems lack of memory settings lor..
for chip it varies accordin to ya budget. either old skool x2 (there are 45w version which is more energy efficient) to x3 or even x4, however, d latter still kinda steep in price, so if ur plannin to get a quaddy or triple core but short of budget now, u can always go for low end x2 1st since they're very affordable nowadays. smile.gif

as for board, 780g or 770 based mobo just fit d bill well for mid range level, brand wise either biostar, gigabyte or even abit. dfi for sure will burn a hole in ya wallet, but what u get in return is d satisfaction. laugh.gif

just my 2 cents... tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post May 27 2008, 10:31 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(serez @ May 27 2008, 10:24 AM)
nah... maybe i`ll get x2 oni mar since i have limited budget sweat.gif
btw is the BE can push more higher than late type of core?
fyi, i`ve oredi owned dfi and it sucks....  nod.gif although it has many tweak options but it always give me silly problems...
dfi sucks? if that's d case most of us here have had a bad taste. laugh.gif

mind to tell which model u used b4? hmm.gif

of all d x2, f3 is d best but u can hardly find 'em nowadays. 5k b.e are known to clock between 3.1~3.3GHz i reckon, but as usual batch plays a big role there. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 27 2008, 02:17 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 27 2008, 01:17 PM)
It's slightly more expensive.
The current owner's expecting price is around RM250.
You can drop him your offer, the only reasonable offer i've seen up until now is RM200.
The LP590 was one board that i wanted so much, but did not get to own it.
I like the colour of the ram slots... tongue.gif

My current board has a combination of Yellow-Green, doesn't match AMD-ATI.

Well, DFIs are known to be boards that requires tweaking and a lot of trial and error before getting the perfect setting.
Once you get the setup properly, remember to save the bios and everytime after that, you can just load using Cmos reloaded and the thing will be kicking again.

The 1 thing i like most about my 790FX is where you can actually set a different booting up HTT and a running HTT.
So basically you will boot into post, then get stuck when it's loading windows if you clock it too far... tongue.gif
d bios reset function oso make resettin bios easier, but it could be better if they implement d ez switch like abit. smile.gif

a superb board i must say... flex.gif
ah_khoo
post May 28 2008, 03:16 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 28 2008, 02:23 PM)
Hi, i'm rather new to AM2 procs here..

Between the 5000 and 5000BE, besides the lack of heatsink for BE and multi unlocked, is there any significant difference between the two chips? In terms of revisions etc.
d new b.e tends to clock better imo. smile.gif
ah_khoo
post May 29 2008, 07:36 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

IRQ = Interupt ReQuest

it's something like unique id assigned to each hardware for gettin d "attention" of cpu. smile.gif

*pls correct me if i'm wrong. biggrin.gif

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:40 PM