104 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

AMD� Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V8), Phenom Phenom Phenom

digswell
post Apr 30 2008, 11:59 AM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 30 2008, 11:55 AM)
= =.Yeap thats it,actually before you sold off your AM2 Processor you should update your bios to latest.So the next time u install Phenom,you shouldnt have any probs.
still can flash the bios ..but in DOS mode or maybe at bios (neede Award fasher if wan to flash at dos mode)
Load optimal setting it needed (all setting in auto mode)

This post has been edited by digswell: Apr 30 2008, 12:00 PM
AMDAthlon
post Apr 30 2008, 12:25 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

I hate DOS mode.I am somehow quite lazy user tongue.gif.Anything should be done in Windows..- -
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 30 2008, 12:32 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 30 2008, 12:25 PM)
I hate DOS mode.I am somehow quite lazy user tongue.gif.Anything should be done in Windows..- -
DOS is for real men tongue.gif
ah_khoo
post Apr 30 2008, 01:34 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(digswell @ Apr 30 2008, 11:54 AM)
Haha  brows.gif wan to sell ur X3 ?? bro plz wait and see 1st...from now only 9850BE is the best choice.
wait and see other model come out 1st ..i mean 65nm with lower then 125W proc (maybe 95wor 65w)
d current batch of 9850be is 125w rite? so it mite not be d best choice since d heat dissipation is quite high at stock speed. d later batch of 95w could be a better choice but again nothing new, one gotta wait. i'll be contented enuf if i own a phenom 9750... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Apr 30 2008, 11:55 AM)
= =.Yeap thats it,actually before you sold off your AM2 Processor you should update your bios to latest.So the next time u install Phenom,you shouldnt have any probs.If want 65W Phenom processor grab a 9150E 1.8Ghz but consume 65W = =.I wonder how the Overclock ability.But i suggest you guys wait for Deneb  whistling.gif

AMD's Upcoming CPU Architecture Will Be Built from Scratch
- No Phenom influence, and especially, no TLB bugs

AMD's upcoming CPU micro-architecture will be built from the ground up, or at least that is what the company claimed yesterday. According to the chip manufacturer's executives, the next generation of processors will be radically different from the existing Phenom chips and will pack extra features.

The AMD64 micro-architecture was one of AMD's biggest cash cows since its introduction in 2003 and has been successfully recycled in the latest K10 core used in the Phenom chips (except for the refurbished cache system). However, the increased computing demands in modern applications and Intel's pressure on the CPU market forced AMD to come up with new and viable technologies.

"If I look at the next generation architecture of our CPU, then it will definitely not be, how can I say, comparable with the Phenom. It will look completely different", claimed AMD’s technical director of sales and marketing for EMEA, Giuseppe Amato in an interview for tech website Custom PC. Although there are no other details about what's cooking in AMD's laboratories, Amato stated that it would "solve problems that today we think can never be addressed by hardware."

The previous AMD64 micro-architecture came with a plethora of new features, including 64-bit support and an integrated memory controller. In fact, the first AMD64-based chips torn Intel's domination on the CPU market and gave Intel’s NetBurst architecture an extremely rough time. AMD's chips surpassed the Pentium 4 counterparts in public benchmarks and brought the company a significant market share.

However, those days are long gone. Despite the fact that the new Phenom processors are based on the same micro-architecture, they can't keep up with Intel’s Core 2 Quad counterparts. AMD was forced to lower the prices, and high-end quad-core Phenoms are now selling for the same price as Intel's entry-level quads.

Source

Sorry bro pWs for off topic.So what u guys thinks,Alot AMD Executive edy resign and they rebuilding their architecture from scratch.You guys think its good future for Deneb? sweat.gif
as long as d r&d department can deliver, i wouldn't mind even d amd runs w/o any executive. tongue.gif

QUOTE(joe_star @ Apr 30 2008, 12:32 PM)
DOS is for real men tongue.gif
i second that... laugh.gif
8tvt
post Apr 30 2008, 01:53 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i just want to know whether my psu can cope or not while ocking phenom..
the wattage haunt me bad..
ah_khoo
post Apr 30 2008, 02:05 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Apr 30 2008, 01:53 PM)
i just want to know whether my psu can cope or not while ocking phenom..
the wattage haunt me bad..
i wouldn't overclock a quad core phenom with a 400w psu if u ask me mate. smile.gif
8tvt
post Apr 30 2008, 02:09 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 30 2008, 02:05 PM)
i wouldn't overclock a quad core phenom with a 400w psu if u ask me mate.  smile.gif
hahaha.. just eager to know whether it's ok or not.. guess need to try it by myself.. sweat.gif
fuzore
post Apr 30 2008, 04:05 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 30 2008, 02:05 PM)
i wouldn't overclock a quad core phenom with a 400w psu if u ask me mate.  smile.gif
what bout 500w can arrr...
ah_khoo
post Apr 30 2008, 04:16 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Apr 30 2008, 04:05 PM)
what bout 500w can arrr...
depend on d +12V rating bro. if there's a single fat rail, i think should be sufficient provided no power hunger gfx in use. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Apr 30 2008, 04:17 PM
fuzore
post Apr 30 2008, 04:22 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Apr 30 2008, 04:16 PM)
depend on d +12V rating bro. if there's a single fat rail, i think should be sufficient provided no power hunger gfx in use.  smile.gif
ic..ic..bro ah_khoo new b3 phenom have hit singapore market or not...
ah_khoo
post Apr 30 2008, 05:12 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Apr 30 2008, 04:22 PM)
ic..ic..bro ah_khoo new b3 phenom have hit singapore market or not...
not yet leh... so slow... doh.gif

wah... how can i tahan until june... even lyp is sellin those b3 ledi... drool.gif lust.gif icon_question.gif
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 30 2008, 06:06 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Hmmm.....with regards to the new architecture, when exactly did they decide to start on an architecture from scratch?? If it has indeed been in the pipelines for quite a while then I have high hopes for it, but if its just a knee-jerk reaction to the unsuccessful(i wouldnt say total failure) of Phenom then I would be more hesistant, coz these things takes pretty long to develop sweat.gif
AMDAthlon
post Apr 30 2008, 06:56 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

I think they will rebuild from the AMD64 architecture and ..dont know to explain anymore = =]

According to AMD's manufacturing partners, the 45nm Phenom X4 chips will hit the retailers' shelves by the end of November 2008.

Can this be trusted? brows.gif

This post has been edited by AMDAthlon: Apr 30 2008, 06:59 PM
alive88
post Apr 30 2008, 09:16 PM

Pata Pata Pon! Pon Pon Pata Pon!!
1,406 posts

im going to get 700 this june, after selling my rig.. now im so confuse of which platform..coz ive seen tri core looks good..phenom x4 also good....maybe im goin to collect anther 300 to make it 1k..phenom BE or ehem2??
AMDAthlon
post Apr 30 2008, 10:31 PM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

700?What 700?RM 700 ah?= = I suggest and begging u to wait Deneb cry.gif
casperito
post May 1 2008, 12:40 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Apr 30 2008, 09:16 PM)
im going to get 700 this june, after selling my rig.. now im so confuse of which platform..coz ive seen tri core looks good..phenom x4 also good....maybe im goin to collect anther 300 to make it 1k..phenom BE or ehem2??
yeah.. go for phenom... eheheh...
alive88
post May 1 2008, 03:24 AM

1,406 posts

i was thinking of phenom too..but things get sooooo confusing now
casperito
post May 1 2008, 03:56 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ May 1 2008, 03:24 AM)
i was thinking of phenom too..but things get sooooo confusing now
go for the cheapest ones la.. at least when deneb is out, u won't lose much....
even AM3 is coming soon... haiz...
alive88
post May 1 2008, 04:16 AM

1,406 posts

AM3?any link bro?wanna know too
casperito
post May 1 2008, 05:55 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ May 1 2008, 04:16 AM)
AM3?any link bro?wanna know too
hehehe.. i forgot the links alreadi... seem that its juz rumors onli... no relevent evidence...
even heard that the new 45nm proc will be created with fully new architecture... someone posted about this b4 i think...
haiz... i still got no chance to test phenom....

104 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:24 PM