9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

WORKLOG : Project "The Alien Rebirth", ON-HOLD.

TSocz
post Apr 23 2008, 12:38 AM, updated 18y ago

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Hi boys and girls and to all modders.
Wellcome to my 2nd personal case modifications thread.

This time,i will mod a case that looks like an Alienware Casing.This case i bought from a good forumer in LYN.Very cheap.
I've been waiting for quite a long time to get a case like i own now and mod it.

The plans :
1) Making a better air flow
- 2X 80mm intake.
- 2X 80mm exhaust.

2) Painting (change color)
*Currently yellow.Maybe changing to two tone color :
- Metallic grey.
- Sparkling grey.

3) Converting to a Inverted ATX.
- The original power supply position in on top,so i am gonna make the position of the power supply to the bottom part.
- Ideas from bro Shawty.

4) Making see through panel.(plexi)
- Plain acrylic glass.
- AC Ryan Black acrylic glass.

5) Installing a small numeric & alphabetic LCD (blue)
- Still thinking where to put.

6) Cable management.
- Hiding all those unused cables for better air flow.
- Looks neat and clean.
- Smart.

7) Optional Mods.
- Fan controller.
- Lots more.

Friendly reminders :

A) Give me a comments / guide to help me out as i am new in this things.
B) Tips & Hints are mostly wellcome.
C) This mod gonna take sometimes due to my tight schedule.
D) Tools that i am using is not for professional usage.
E) No sponsors are behind me.

Thank you to all.Hope you all can enjoy my new incoming case modifications.

-OCZ-

This post has been edited by ocz: Jul 16 2008, 12:53 AM
TSocz
post Apr 23 2008, 12:48 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Some of the pictures :

Will updates more and more soon. notworthy.gif

TSocz
post Apr 23 2008, 03:37 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 23 2008, 01:44 AM)
what kind of brand is that casing? O_o
and what kind of sponsor u looking for? brows.gif
This is just a normal cap ayam casing bro.I am not rich to get original alienware case. laugh.gif
Oh ya,i am not looking for sponsors,thats why i mentioned "no sponsors are behind me" smile.gif

QUOTE(kamenx @ Apr 23 2008, 02:06 AM)
will looking foward...
Thank you bro.Ill keep up.

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Apr 23 2008, 02:39 AM)
Izzit a raidmax over there?  Another high-cost modder here.. rclxms.gif
Nope dude.Its just a normal casing.Cheap one.
Well,i am not a high-cost modder.Just a starter (newbie) icon_rolleyes.gif
TSocz
post Apr 23 2008, 03:07 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 23 2008, 03:42 AM)
anyway, if its was me. i would mod the top panel.. cuz the top panel looks like a flower horn fish to me.. sweat.gif

@ocz
good luck bro, mine just complete phase 1, yet got 2 more phase. tongue.gif
ur casing i notice not raidmax due to top panel and alu quality. brows.gif
thank you bro.I just started modding my case.
The upper part i cant do much about ut cuz it needs a lot of effort and time.

QUOTE(ryudox @ Apr 23 2008, 07:29 AM)
yeah...looks alike Raidmax casing but i didn't noticed any Raidmax sign there...lolz.. i think u should change the casing color...i'll looking foward your worklog..
Its not a raidmax.
About the colr,i think i will most probably use dark color.

QUOTE(z3r0717 @ Apr 23 2008, 09:28 AM)
hmm.. i suggest changing the exterior's color as well if u didnt plan to....i would go black + red... biggrin.gif
wow, putting a 7" LCD will cost u a bomb no?
1) Making a better air flow
- 2X 80mm intake.<-- change to 120mm for better air flow ma thumbup.gif
- 2X 80mm exhaust.
- 2X 120mm on top.
Its hard to make a 120mm hole for the outtake bro.Cuz the rear part is quite small for me to put the fans.

QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 23 2008, 02:33 PM)
Make both intake and exhaust to single 12cm would safe you the hassle of managing cables ..

you could do it by cutting acrylic with blow hole and mount it by cutting out the original mounting on the case ...

since u want to mod it like an alien hmm.gif

Pain it black and use more UV green or orange highlights ...

Personally I'd recommend orange because it would be more eye catching than the old school green .... 

then cut the side panel with Alien's face shape on it ...  brows.gif

Lastly cut portion of the door if possible and mount acrylic from inside and install the LCD screen at the drive bay ..

you could also cut alien eyes shape on the door ... brows.gif
Thank you too bro.Nice color combinations there.
Well,i will think more about putting the LCD.
i already ordered a small numeric blue lcd to put at the side panel to monitor my temp.
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 01:17 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Hi guys.Thank you for all the ideas and comments so far.I do really appreciate it. notworthy.gif

Today,i received some items for my case modifications project.
Those are :

1- Small LCD (blue backlight).
- To install it somewhere around my case to view the temperature,etc.

2- 120MM Ac Ryan Aluminium Radiator Grill.
-To cover up my 2X 120MM fans on the top part of my case.

3- 500X500MM Ac Ryan black mesh.
-I will use it to cover up some fans.
-Some of it i will use to do a touch up to make the case looks more different from original.

This post has been edited by ocz: Apr 24 2008, 01:22 AM
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 01:22 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Added on April 24, 2008, 1:22 am
QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Apr 23 2008, 06:00 PM)
i say respray, window, chuck in some mad UV orange and yellow
get some l33t hardware, and the rest, just stick with your plans to bling it up tongue.gif
Haha,i wont make so much bling for this project bro.I just want it to be smart and sexy. tongue.gif
Respray is a must.I am gonna send over my interior parts to be painted to black.Gonna use gun-paint.

QUOTE(tapirus @ Apr 24 2008, 01:13 AM)
waitnig for ur modding..my eye always on this thread...make it da bomb bro...
Yo bro,hard la to make this project like a bomb,i am newbie only. wub.gif
My budget is very tight to make this project,so i think it will take some time.
As always "mod with passion" thumbup.gif
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 01:30 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 24 2008, 01:26 AM)
WTH OMG!! O__O Small LCD screen. smoookkeii~~
laugh.gif brows.gif nice mesh.. honeycomb.. drool.gif
Haha,small only dude. sweat.gif
I have no money to get those bigger.

But still,i don't have the socket to put to the LCD.Its using a port (unknown name).
I hope to get the 7" inch LCD if the forumer agree with my offer. brows.gif

The mesh also i bought from a forumer.Cheap. thumbup.gif
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 02:10 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 24 2008, 01:49 AM)
Any possibility of modding it into Inverted ATX? blink.gif
Yes,i am going to make to inverted ATX bro.Its like what i did to my previous mod.
I need to make it to inverted ATX because i need a space on top to put a 2 X 120mm fans as the intake. nod.gif
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 05:20 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

I am currently waiting for some of stuffs i ordered to arrive.Then i can start the PART 3.
Well,i still don't know what to purchase for my mod.
TSocz
post Apr 24 2008, 06:04 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Apr 24 2008, 05:28 PM)
good luck with your modding bro
Thank you dude.Stay tuned for more updates.
TSocz
post Apr 25 2008, 09:42 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Part 3 : Modifying the structures
25/4/08 UPDATES.

This post has been edited by ocz: Apr 26 2008, 12:08 AM
TSocz
post Apr 26 2008, 02:55 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Apr 26 2008, 02:22 AM)
lol inverted atx ?nice.where did you buy the casing?
Thank you mate.Its one of the LYN forumer's idea.
I bought it from the here in Lowyat.net garage sales. thumbup.gif
TSocz
post Apr 26 2008, 09:35 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(Ickythump @ Apr 26 2008, 01:25 PM)
good luck on the modding  thumbup.gif  im the ex-owner of this casing  laugh.gif
QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Apr 26 2008, 07:29 PM)
pirated alienware case?
its cool...
QUOTE(defconkiller @ Apr 26 2008, 07:33 PM)
good luck with ur modding bro. all the best smile.gif
Thank you guys.I will update more pictures soon.
Right now,i am just waiting for some of my items to arrive.

TSocz
post Apr 26 2008, 11:20 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

26/4/08 SMALL UPDATES.

This post has been edited by ocz: Apr 26 2008, 11:21 PM
TSocz
post Apr 27 2008, 03:23 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Apr 27 2008, 01:50 PM)
no offence,but the second pic,the sirip on top has not been cut properly.try filing it.hope it helps.BTW, the sirip on the bottom looks good! thumbup.gif
Thank you guys.I took me four hours to cut the fin.
Well,its not done yet.
I need to do some filing,bondo,sanding.

Keep up. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ocz: Apr 27 2008, 03:23 PM
TSocz
post Apr 27 2008, 11:13 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(area61 @ Apr 27 2008, 08:16 PM)
bro what tools you used to cut the fins?
I used a aluminium saw to cut steel.Only RM4.80 brows.gif
But need a lots of effort to cut it because i can't use holder.
TSocz
post Apr 28 2008, 12:27 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 27 2008, 11:15 PM)
mind provide pictar? brows.gif
Yes of course.I will upload it soon.Be right back. tongue.gif
TSocz
post Apr 28 2008, 12:42 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Here are some of the tools that i use for my mod.I'm still new at this modifying so i don't really need high-end tools like dremel,mitre-saw,jigsaw.= or etc. biggrin.gif

1-Cheap hammer impact drill.
2-Cheap angle grinder.
3-Cheap metal saw.
4-Very cheap stupid tools. thumbup.gif

TSocz
post Apr 28 2008, 12:56 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 28 2008, 12:48 AM)
what it that on pictar 3? hmm.gif
Its something like dremel.Cheap.It can only can plastic that is below 8MM thick due the cutting disc sux.
Well,i don't really need it. brows.gif
TSocz
post Apr 28 2008, 01:06 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 28 2008, 12:59 AM)
then give me. and let me mod it so it could cut steel. meh hehehehe :grind:
UGPM.

This post has been edited by ocz: Apr 28 2008, 01:07 AM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top