3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

cocklea
post Jun 23 2008, 07:45 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Jun 23 2008, 02:54 PM)
Hi. Let me update wht is happening in australia. Sydney apple store just opened last thursday but the iphone is nowhere to be found in the store but according to the staffs in the genius lounge, they will sell the iphone 3G in apple store too starting 11/7 other than vodafone and optus store. And the price for both prepaid and postpaid plan for iphone 3G is not released yet by vodafone nor optus. But optus already stop receiving deposit for the pre-order coz the number of pre-order already reached 10,000 which optus said they dun have so much stocks on that day. And for vodafone, about 60,000 already pre-register it including me. tongue.gif So the 1st iphone 3G in the world will be released in NZ due to the time zone and follow by australia. Customers who pre-ordered it and paid $100 as deposit can go to the store at 7am to collect it. Vodafone Australia is definitely going to sell the iphone on prepaid plan which means that it can be unlocked (unlock fees may apply) as under Australia laws, no mobile carriers are allowed to lock the mobile without giving the customers the unlock code. So we just have to wait and see how much is the iphone will be sold outright in Australia. wink.gif
wowzer, 60k pre-register??? i have like what, 50? (Vodafone NZ employee here)

anyway, bad news for Vodafone NZ user. apparently they are only selling the iPhone 3G to On Account customers, which is the stupidest move ever. doh.gif i really hope they change that coz 80% of Vodafone NZ customers are on prepay. And trying to convert them to On Account is going to be a nightmare.

I'm still getting one though. Oh, and did I mention that i'm not paying retail? brows.gif brows.gif
cocklea
post Jun 26 2008, 02:59 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

Feck! I just got an email from me boss. I might have to work midnight on the 10th of July because of the 3G iPhone hoopla. Vodafone NZ is having a midnight launch for it @ 0.01 am. Kaninek! As much as I love the idea, but I prefer my bed!

I'll keep you guys posted, with lots of pics. Kasi u all jeles skit tongue.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(Corvinux @ Jun 24 2008, 02:41 AM)
I HATE JOO!!!  cry.gif  cry.gif
can get extra?  whistling.gif i dont mind going to the land of lord of the rings to pick it up  brows.gif  laugh.gif
hehehe, u oso want ah. even my brother and sisters all order oredy if the phone not locked to the network. mana tau later can do bulk in LYN, buat duit sikit, hehheh brows.gif

This post has been edited by cocklea: Jun 26 2008, 03:00 PM
cocklea
post Jun 26 2008, 05:38 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 26 2008, 08:48 PM)
Cocklea, do stores in NZ allows non-contract assigned iPhones? I'm looking through the various iPhone country launches, and the best bet to secure a 3G iPhone without contract would be from Australia, Italy and Germany. These three countries allows purchase without contracts. O2 of UK also have the Pay2Go scheme, but even that ties you up to minimum of GBP10 per month, excluding the data charges before they let you have one. I guess the Pay2Go part is on the data part, talktime charges is that GBP10 thing.

Honestly, im sitting this out until things pan out. I have Paris on 22nd and Frankfurt again on 29th next month, so if anything goes, i hope i could secure one from either of these two cities. I fear that the opportunity window for getting it from the State has closed. sad.gif

Enjoy the launch, and make sure you capture the craziness, Cocklea! It is going to be even worse than the first gen launch. Whereabout in NZ are you? Auckland or Christchurch? We stayed smack dab in the middle of Auckland in CityLife Hotel. The Christmas parade went right infront of the hotel, and Skycity Metro is just 5 minutes walk away. Good times! rclxms.gif
I'm in Auckland. I live in west Auckland but my workplace is in the CBD.

The details are pretty scarce at the moment, but I have a feeling it is going to be contract-only for the time being sad.gif

But the new casual data charges are looking quite nicely. Last time, it was NZD$10 per MB (I know! rclxub.gif) but starting next month, its going to be NZD$1 for 10MB.

I can't wait to see the craziness! Its going to be massive. Simultaneous 0.01am launch in Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington if I'm not mistaken. Hopefully the erratic climate doesn't hinder the launch. It was -1 in Christchurch a few days ago. sweat.gif sweat.gif
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 10:02 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

WAWAWEEWA!! WAWAWEEWA!!

The white 16gb with my name on it was mine. There was a stock shortage but one customer called and cancel his preorder (thanks to the exorbitant price). My boss came up to me and said "here, u can have this one mate".

I got 2 choices. I can keep it and brag, or I can sell it to the desperate people waiting outside and make a killing on my next commission. Oh well, it was a good 15 minutes sad.gif. I think I'll wait for the next shipment. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cocklea: Jul 11 2008, 10:04 AM
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 10:22 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Jul 11 2008, 02:07 PM)
woot!!!
congrat to be the 1st lyn forumer to own 1phone 3g?
even thou is only 15 minutes tongue.gif

btw thx for sharing

when is the next shipment over ur place?
i still wonder will i manage to grab a white 1 next monday =/
really depend on how US go...
hope some 1 got it (USD299) n unlocked it n put @ ebay
i dun mind grab it even thou is USD 700+-  unsure.gif
yalor, only 15 mins cry.gif . i mean, i really really want one but i thought i wait til the craziness cool down first. maybe before i go back JB for holiday.

they said next shipment is within 10-14 days, but even that one already got people queuing up for it. such bullshit you know, they only allocate 40 units for our store. Not too bad lar considering a couple of stores a few blocks away from us only got 20 (i think one of them only got 10 rclxub.gif)
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 10:35 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Jul 11 2008, 02:24 PM)
nice.... u work at first mobile westfield downtown? might get from there...
yeah. remember, order from me brows.gif look for the macho asian guy there you know oredy, hehehe.

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jul 11 2008, 02:29 PM)
wah..bestnya work at mobile shop thumbup.gif
best lah jugak, free phones + i dont have to pay retail tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cocklea: Jul 11 2008, 10:36 AM
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 10:58 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Jul 11 2008, 02:49 PM)
hahahaha..when u bringing in some here? whistling.gif
hehehe, dunno yet. but planning to soon lar. my sisters and brother all bising oredi, they all want one. siot btol, bankrap lepas ni. my maxis simcard expired oredy liao so im not sure how to test and see if the iphone here locked or not (coz Vodafone NZ dun lock their phones)

might be different with the iphone, but if i manage to snag an international sim, ill give it a try later.
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 11:27 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(tornad0 @ Jul 11 2008, 03:13 PM)
so Cocklea? u are in NZ? how much is the price over there ah?
yup. the phones are priced at $979 for 8GB and $1129 for 16GB outright.
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 11:36 AM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jul 11 2008, 03:33 PM)
$979 for 8GB = RM3046.8
and $1129 for 16GB =RM3513.6

correct?
uih, salah ler tuh. NZD ler, not USD.

so $979 = RM2410.94
$1129 = RM2780.34

this conversion is from Xe.com current rate at their site 1NZD = 2.46MYR

This post has been edited by cocklea: Jul 11 2008, 11:37 AM
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 12:06 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(westthen @ Jul 11 2008, 03:41 PM)
the pricing is not bad eh...bringing any in? brows.gif
yeah, after convert, not too bad lar i guess. units are pretty limited but i guess maybe later i can do bulk, hehehe...

QUOTE(nikyas @ Jul 11 2008, 04:00 PM)
lucky *******...i envy you!!!  mad.gif

congrats on your new phone
not mine ler, i gave it away. mine coming soon biggrin.gif
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 08:43 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 12 2008, 12:37 AM)
I'm getting it there pun kirim from the set of crew who are nightstopping there. My buddy is paying using his own credit card, so I'm a little hesitant to further burden him with another unit. I dont mind buying it for you, as long as it is me who is buying it, not another proxy. Too many cooks in the kitchen spoils the dish, they say.

EDIt:Dont know if the iPhone out of contract = unlocked for other networks. Will clarify later.
it is unlocked. got confirmation from my operations manager juz now (he snagged one for his wife) and he said the phone is running fine with his south african simcard. but only for voice and txt, no data because vodafone disabled the APN for non-Vodafone contract sim. Even prepay Vodafone sim pon kenot use the data. kedekut giler. boleh2 nak suruh orang sign up on their crazy priced plans.
cocklea
post Jul 11 2008, 08:58 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 12 2008, 12:48 AM)
I LOVE YOU MAN! wub.gif

Looks like I can straight away use it without unlocking! rclxm9.gif

You're not with Vodafone, are you? I'm getting my buddy to the Citylife Hotel Vodafone to get the iPhone 3G 16GB. Would be a relief of my worried little head if you're there, so you can help him out on the purchase. He's not that well-verse in the crazy plans and contracts and pre-conditions of getting an iPhone 3G. He should be arriving tomorrow at noon, but I'm sure he's taking his rest first before either buying it later that evening or the day after that. Can you of any way help? I'm just worried that he couldnt secure me a unit.  unsure.gif  notworthy.gif
Yup, I'm working for Vodafone in Westfield Downtown, but we have no iPhones left. According to my BDM, Apple only allocate 3000 iPhones for the launch (thanks Apple! mad.gif) and we sold all of ours (40 units) this morning. They were all gone by 12 noon.

buying it outright should be no problem, although some stores were advised by those greedy bastards up in head office to not sell them outright. kalau cakap awal2 tadi, i couldve saved that white 16gb for u.
cocklea
post Jul 13 2008, 06:46 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(derrickflc @ Jul 13 2008, 10:23 PM)
I don't think Vodafone NZ iPhone3Gs are without contract. The standalone prices are for if you want to use the iphone with Vodafone's OTHER phone plans which still lock you to a contract.

Swisscom seems to offer the cheapest no-contract iPhone 3G for under RM2k, but I believe it's locked to Swiss networks only.

So at the moment, seems like Australia's Optus prepaid might be the only reasonable option for a no-contract unlockable iPhone 3G. And seeing as that there are many Malaysians in Australia, particularly students (myself included), many people back home are bound to know someone here who can buy and bring it back for them. biggrin.gif
Nope, you can buy them outright. Some stores do them, including mine, although we are advised (though not compulsory) to direct customers to the online Vodafone NZ website if they want to purchase it outright. The reason: very very very low GP. While you can make 80%-100% GP from selling an SE or Nokia, selling an iPhone outright will net you roughly NZD$30.
cocklea
post Jul 14 2008, 01:53 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Jul 14 2008, 12:15 PM)
no luck for me on queen st.
those who still have stock will only sell it with contract =.= e.g. DS wireless and Student IT
that is against the T&C of selling an iPhone. I mean, check this out:

DS Wireless, Digital Mobile, First Mobile, Student IT, like it or not, they are Vodafone Retail Store. DSWireless especially, I so want to report them to Vodafone right now. Bloody bastards! I think they still have loads of stock but because of their dodgy reputation, they are having trouble unloading them to On Account customers.

0.0168sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:07 AM