3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

frozzbyte
post Jun 14 2008, 05:05 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Thats why people in Malaysia will never get 3G iPhone coz when it comes to 3G, they only think about vid call and MMS. iPhone 3G focus more on its faster data connection if compared to EDGE. IMHO ... in 100 people, less than 10 will use vid call.

BTW ... even the 1st gen iPhone can send/receive picture MMS using swirlyMMS and its not 3G dependent. Picture MMS can even work with GPRS.
frozzbyte
post Jun 14 2008, 08:54 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Jun 14 2008, 08:33 PM)
Is that means the Iphone 3G cannot video call??
In 1 day how many times do u use video calls and what about in 1 month?

Added on June 14, 2008, 8:55 pmI'm so bored already with this

3G = Video calls

They can't see what 3G are capable off rather than the dreadful video calls.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 14 2008, 08:56 PM
frozzbyte
post Jun 17 2008, 12:14 AM

3,657 posts

Aiyaaaaa .... not the 3G without video call thingy again. People ... PLEASE open your mind to the FACT!!!

3G IS NOT VIDEO CALL and VIDEO CALL IS NOT 3G

3G is a form of FASTER DATA CONNECTION.

2G = GPRS
2.5G = EDGE
3G = 3G
3.5G = HSDPA

Please get this thru your THICK SKULL. Video call is just a fraction of what 3G can do.

Sheeesh mad.gif
frozzbyte
post Jun 18 2008, 02:37 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Jun 17 2008, 08:39 PM)
One thing about plastic back is the improved wireless signal. So it's arguable.
What improved wireless signal? 1st gen iphone antenna cover is also plastic la. The black bottom part, thats the antenna (wifi n cell). The aluminium back is just the casing like the old nokia titanium (correct aaaa?) phone. If 1st gen back all metal then the 2nd gen really la improve the signal quality. Correct o not?
frozzbyte
post Jun 18 2008, 02:33 PM

3,657 posts

The 'call fail' thing is unavoidable with maxis but sometimes i do experienced this with digi.
frozzbyte
post Jun 18 2008, 03:01 PM

3,657 posts

I think maxis more focus on its prepaid user than its postpaid ones coz last time when i was on maxis (company line), I'll get the call failed thing although my friend sitting next to me using hotlink is not.

If u are a phone company, your prepaid user is much much more than your postpaid user, who would you treat better?
frozzbyte
post Jun 18 2008, 03:43 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 18 2008, 03:09 PM)
Erm right and wrong. The black plastic of the 1st gen iPhone helps a lot but the aluminum body of the phone creates a Faraday cage which blocks out/in electrical fields. So in comparison to the all plastic back, the signal quality of the 1st gen iPhone will definitely be inferior, for want of a better word, compared to the 3G iPhone.

In fact, Gizmodo/Engadget writers who have played around with the new iPhone have said that voice clarity and signal reception is better relative to the 1st Gen iPhone (I think they did an on-the-spot comparison, not sure) so yeah, theory proven in a way..
Mmmm wrong and right again. A Faraday cage effect happens if the antenna is enclosed in the aluminum cover of the phone where as the reception antenna of the iphone is on the bottom part where the black plastic casing is. Thats why only that part is plastic. Being near to an aluminum wont generate the Faraday effect. I'm sure the engineers at apple also figure out about the faraday cage effect. smile.gif

The new 3G phone supposedly have a better reception not because it have a full plastic back cover but MAYBE an improve internal antenna compared with the previous iphone. They wont be using the same antenna in a new phone right? BTW .. 1 or 2 test by Gizmodo/Engadget is not a measuring stick to a prove a theory. To prove this, the phone must be use widely and confirm by users. Maybe that time when they test, the signal was strong there. whistling.gif

As a conclusion ... if the reception quality is better (not yet proven), then it might be because they use an improved antenna compared with the old one and not because of the plastic back cover. We won't know until we can see the internal part of the new phone (looking forward to dismantle one ... if have the chance). icon_rolleyes.gif
frozzbyte
post Jun 19 2008, 01:32 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(kevinwcw @ Jun 18 2008, 09:36 PM)
btw can we get the underwater 3g iphone??
Can ... anything can one. Just wait for the cargo than contains iPhone 3G falls into the sea. Then u surely can get the 'underwater' set. Hehehehehe. Just pulling your leg.

Your question is like asking us to predict the future. The phone is not out on the street yet so we don't know more than what u know. Wait till july 11 then we'll know more about it. Now everything are just speculations.
frozzbyte
post Jun 20 2008, 02:06 AM

3,657 posts

For anyone that still thinks the iPhone 3G will cost USD199 (with 2 years contract), Telecom Italia (TIM) announces Pre-Paid iPhone 3G pricing.

"Unlike many carriers, Telecom Italia will offer a selection of pre-paid plans alongside its standard contracts, the 8GB iPhone 3G retailing for €499 while the 16GB iPhone 3G will retail for €569"

8GB = €499 = RM2519.95
16GB = €569 = RM2873.45

Conversion rate of €1 = RM5.05

Thats not including any taxes (if applicable) plus the 'profit margin' of local sellers and unlocking fees. My prediction for local price if its available here (like they said ... underwater sets):

8GB = RM3k
16GB = RM3.3K - RM3.5K

Mmmmm ... reminds me of the good old days when iPhone was first sold here, RM3K for 8GB and it can't even be used with maxis (that time la)

Source

frozzbyte
post Jun 20 2008, 05:57 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Jun 20 2008, 05:02 PM)
lol even the early "insider" news is not that accurate bout this iPhone 3G. even the pricing infos aren't that accurate before it's officially announced.

euro euro euro, myb u wonder why izzit right? these r the aswers:
1. the ONLY official pricing on contract-free iPhone 3G we have here is from http://www.iphone.vodafone.it/
2. in most countries in europe they are required to make contract-free unit available too, while in US they don't have to. and most likely there wouldn't be one.
3. u need to perform registration before u walk out of store for contract iPhones, thus eliminating the possibility to get it at discounted price

ok if u still wanna buy iPhone in US, maybe u can terminate the iPhone account after u have registered with AT&T. just pay another $175 for Early Termination Fee + $30 for registration (not ure the right amount, u can check around this thread) + your monthly usage. check the earlier part of this thread in case i got the calculation wrong. but most likely people will buy an unsubsidised unit as it will be not that complicated as buying an iPhone with contract and proceeding ETF. and we even dunno yet if this iPhone 3G is applicable under the ETF.

and yeah, if u have read the price of RM1999 etc etc anywhere else, myb u wanna consider reading on macrumors, tuaw, 9to5mac, engadget, etc etc. still no word on the other country's pricing on the iPhone. nope, i still haven't seen the price of around RM1999 yet.

but, as some had said before, if the price becomes lower than expected then it will be great too. why not raise the bar to avoid disappointment.

hahaha...even the 1st gen iPhone can easily reach RM3xxx (near 4k) when it is first sold in malaysia. so i don't see the price of RM3xxx to be impossible for this iPhone 3G.
It's a good thing when people get the message on what i'm trying to say.

QUOTE(tayhaithian)
dont talk with dumb and nuts = = sorry for saying so . They keep compare with EURO EURO !! and dreaming those distributer will shipping it in from euro and cost for 5x times .
wakaka ( i'm laughing always when read those posting well enjoying )
cheers ~
I'm just making ASSUMPTIONS on what the price would be if we want to get it without a contract and since no info about getting an iPhone without contract in US then i used the figures from TIM. Itu pun x paham ker? Right now all we can do is assume/guess but with some facts/figures, not just shooting in the dark. Who knows later someone manage to find a loophole to get the phone from US and cheaper (not as cheap as USD199) ... sure it benefits us all.

Maybe u weren't there when iPhones were first seen at shops/forum, the price was RM2.8K - RM3K for the 1st gen. That time the price for 1st gen iPhones were:

4GB = USD399 (exclusive tax)
8GB = USD499 (exclusive tax)

USD499 + USD40 (tax) x 3.2 (taking the highest conversion rate) = RM1408 ... but they sell for RM3K. Thats the price early adopters have to pay.

So please don't talk dumb and nuts == I'm not sorry for saying so coz next time, put up some facts before shooting down peoples statement (and try to read it carefully next time). icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 20, 2008, 10:16 pm** Update **

According to speculation by AppleInsider and Macrumors, the subsidy that AT&T gives to iPhone is around USD325. So roughly we can ESTIMATE the price for unsubsidized phones in US.

8GB = USD199 + USD325 = USD524 = RM1676.80 (excluding tax)
16GB = USD299 + USD325 = USD624 = RM1996.80 (excluding tax)

Conversion rate USD1 = RM3.20

But the article in MacRumors said the subsidy might not be that high since the termination fees from the 1st gen iPhone is USD175 so that might be the subsidy price. Replace the USD325 with USD175 and u get the other figure.

Like I said ... THIS IS JUST A SPECULATION OR ESTIMATION. This is not the actual price. We have to wait until july 11 to know exactly.

Source: AppleInsider
Source: MacRumors

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 20 2008, 10:16 PM
frozzbyte
post Jun 22 2008, 03:49 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(louislim2 @ Jun 22 2008, 02:32 AM)

I'm just making ASSUMPTIONS on what the price would be if we want to get it without a contract and since no info about getting an iPhone without contract in US then i used the figures from TIM. Itu pun x paham ker? Right now all we can do is assume/guess but with some facts/figures, not just shooting in the dark. Who knows later someone manage to find a loophole to get the phone from US and cheaper (not as cheap as USD199) ... sure it benefits us all.

Maybe u weren't there when iPhones were first seen at shops/forum, the price was RM2.8K - RM3K for the 1st gen. That time the price for 1st gen iPhones were:

4GB = USD399 (exclusive tax)
8GB = USD499 (exclusive tax)

USD499 + USD40 (tax) x 3.2 (taking the highest conversion rate) = RM1408 ... but they sell for RM3K. Thats the price early adopters have to pay.

So please don't talk dumb and nuts == I'm not sorry for saying so coz next time, put up some facts before shooting down peoples statement (and try to read it carefully next time).  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on June 20, 2008, 10:16 pm** Update **

According to speculation by AppleInsider and Macrumors, the subsidy that AT&T gives to iPhone is around USD325. So roughly we can ESTIMATE the price for unsubsidized phones in US.

8GB = USD199 + USD325 = USD524 = RM1676.80 (excluding tax)
16GB = USD299 + USD325 = USD624 = RM1996.80 (excluding tax)

Conversion rate USD1 = RM3.20

But the article in MacRumors said the subsidy might not be that high since the termination fees from the 1st gen iPhone is USD175 so that might be the subsidy price. Replace the USD325 with USD175 and u get the other figure.

Like I said ... THIS IS JUST A SPECULATION OR ESTIMATION. This is not the actual price. We have to wait until july 11 to know exactly.

Source: AppleInsider
Source: MacRumors
Bro, you think those seller in malaysia dont wanna make profit? Then I think you better go to US and buy one back to malaysia to get that price. I estimate malaysia seller will sell 3k for the first badge. smile.gif
Ini sorang lagi x paham what i said. I said this is the ESTIMATION or SPECULATION of the price of the unsubsidized phone in US and not the price of the phone if its in malaysia. Tau baca or not? Go back one page and read my other post of my SPECULATED PRICE in MALAYSIA if its available here. Maybe next time i just write in BM since people don't get what i wrote.

Even dare ask me to go to US and buy one to get the price. Read the post 10X and try to understand it better this time. Don't just simply2 tembak org la. Next time if want to make estimation or speculation, better put up some facts. Any idiots can make an estimation without facts and figure.

This kind of people really pissed me off. vmad.gif

Added on June 22, 2008, 3:57 am
QUOTE(alvinz @ Jun 22 2008, 03:45 AM)
k guys .. 1 begineer question and also to clarify the information that i need ...

so the site says that 16gb is at 299USD... so does it means u can get the phone at 299USD(the phone and its package) ?
or u need to subscript to the line also?

i might be going to US and coming back after 11th of July .. and i heard new gen iphone came out and it cost 299USD. assuming i can get it at 299USD, is it good to get 1 back and use in malaysia?

thanks and flame don flame me.. i am innocent
If u did your research ... people won't flame u. But looking at your Q, this is a DAMN GOOD REASON to flame even if u r innocent.

USD299 for 16GB only applies with a 2 year contract with AT&T, same as USD199 for 8GB. Please mr alvinz, do some research first before posting such questions. u can't get the phone without signing a contract with AT&T, not like last time where u can activate it at home. I know u malas want to read all 59 pages of this thread but please .... search first. I beg u not be so malas.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 22 2008, 03:57 AM
frozzbyte
post Jun 23 2008, 02:53 AM

3,657 posts

Hmmm maybe what forumer amirpopo said is true and I quote "get low and gain respect".

Maybe its time to get low and gain some respect from those people. What better way to get low than stop writing/posting here. Heck they don't even read what we wrote (for their own benefit) and even dare to flame us back without any fact. No wonder why i see a lot of other iphone seniors (more senior and experienced than me) just kept quite from this forum.
frozzbyte
post Jul 5 2008, 08:22 PM

3,657 posts

Saving RM600 per month? blink.gif notworthy.gif Good luck to you man.
frozzbyte
post Jul 10 2008, 07:30 PM

3,657 posts

What about this one?

Dev Team Blog
frozzbyte
post Jul 12 2008, 09:25 PM

3,657 posts

I've also read in ipod touch fans forum that Super Monkey Ball (SMB) is not what its supposed to be when it was debut in WWDC especially the 3D part. Some even says its a tactics to get people hyped-up about the game. Now people are skeptical about spore and its graphics.

@Stringfellow
Woo ... USD69.99 for ForeFlight app. Thats one expensive app you got there. But it'll surely be a useful app for someone in that line of field. Time for me to stock up on some itunes credit.
frozzbyte
post Jul 13 2008, 12:08 AM

3,657 posts

Well someone will be gullible, desperate and stupid enough to buy it just to show off or thinking its worth it. Looks like my speculation of price is way off by RM1000 for the 8GB version. The sellers are really trying to cash in on the new iphone craze.
frozzbyte
post Jul 13 2008, 01:09 PM

3,657 posts

Well it was not meant to be there bro. Maybe there's a silver lining to your situation.
frozzbyte
post Jul 13 2008, 02:20 PM

3,657 posts

How affordable is your "affordable price"? If its below RM2K then you REALLY have to wait.
frozzbyte
post Jul 13 2008, 02:55 PM

3,657 posts

Still got contacts in NZ? I tot all stock are already dried up and need 2 weeks to replenish? You really want that phone huh. happy.gif
frozzbyte
post Jul 19 2008, 04:35 PM

3,657 posts

Even with the free KL WiFi thing, its only 384kbps and with all those bandwidth hoggers, it's more like 56k dial-up.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0451sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:45 PM