3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 03:30 AM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 10 2008, 03:24 AM)
Need, of course! What I mean is provided version 2.0 can be unlocked/jailbroken without problems. Apparently, Zibri has already cracked it so we'll see. But damn, the price is so darn cheap.

I don't quite like the fact that the new pricing means every noob's gonna be sporting an iPhone without knowing what it's about (Think of the current Nokia N95 but with tons more users because of the pricing scheme).
then we use back our 1st gen to hold our pride...
hahaha...

EH, EVEN BOTSWANA GETTING IT WEH.. more 3rd world countries getting it than us..

are we that bad ? we don't even have a Apple Online Store to begin with. sigh....
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:14 AM

4,423 posts

actually, the new plastic back, how will it hold up against scratches ?
the aluminium back was very good.. gave the iphone a nice solid feel too..

not too sure about the new one.. but i'll be getting it for sure... looking for peeps who are already travelling this time round to buy one back for me
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:20 AM

4,423 posts

cover make it fat.. i like it naked... not worried about the finger prints as much as the scratching man...
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 01:43 PM

4,423 posts

read somewhere this morning. U have to register with AT&T on the spot of purchase..
thats the condition i think..
not sure how its gonna work outside of US..

MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 01:49 PM

4,423 posts

still, we'll wait... got a friend going to canada soon.. we ask him check out how is the plan there.. then probably wait till it hits singapore.

Added on June 10, 2008, 1:49 pmactually, i think max it can go over here for the 16GB version is 1.5k

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 01:49 PM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:13 PM

4,423 posts

its starting at $199 cause thats the cheapest model la..

but he did mention a maximum price of $299 for the 16gb model...
wondering how much will it be when it hits australia or singapore
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 02:52 PM

4,423 posts

no la..
its cheap and so low cause subsidized by the telcos..
i dun think the people running telcos here willing to pay so much up front..
although pretty sure they can make quite a profit..

even third world countries like botswana getting it... just think about it la.. i think the managers here too stingy.. all wanna keep profits in their pocket..

who wanna do letter to maxis ? we all sign.. haha.. can get the whole nation.. imagine, 3g iphone for around RM1050 for 16GB model.. damn good shit...

Added on June 10, 2008, 2:52 pmguess now we just have to wait till someone brings it in.. dunno when will that be but we can only hope for it...

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 02:52 PM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 03:09 PM

4,423 posts

u say that, but if 1st gen sky rocket, who the hell gonna buy ?
sure people will find a way to get 3g in..

mine got stolen, if i had the money i would search for 1st gen... but i don't.. so i'm trying to find a way to get 2nd gen

to be honest, i still prefere the aluminium back we got from first gen.. more scratch resistant.. plus, looks good.. but the 2nd gen look is starting to sink in to me..

This post has been edited by MoNnY: Jun 10 2008, 03:10 PM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:09 PM

4,423 posts

final not out yet, but the core of software 2.0 already unlocked..

the ridiculous thing is that he saying its unlocked when nobody has ever touched the phone yet, nor tried hacking
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:11 PM

4,423 posts

yealo..
hackers have come along way

from hot-wiring, to complicating software unlock, turbo sim, GUI software

now no phone also unlocked di... champion
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:18 PM

4,423 posts

those plans aren't so simple..
they have to subsidise the iphone to begin with
that means making a loss before anything even happens...

but there is the market to do it here, just that either they cannot agree on the subsidised amount or they just too dumb to see it...
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:26 PM

4,423 posts

vodafone is getting it in OZ.. you think celcom can nail the deal ?
at the end of the day, its very simple..

its just Apple is asking for a specific subsidise amount for the iphone. One which many other telcos in diff countries including places like Botswana are willing to pay...
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:29 PM

4,423 posts

mind u, even if they do decide, talks with apple and so forth will probably take a long time..
even if they do get the contract, i dun think we'll be seeing the iphone in malaysia officially anytime soon till at least 2009. q2 maybe ?

by then, for all u know, steve jobs and his marketing team would have released a 32GB version and price cut for the 8GB and 16GB models now...
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 04:34 PM

4,423 posts

ok, i'm going to aussieland

wonder if singtel doing the same thing...
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 09:20 PM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2008, 08:27 PM)
Y do U people think the iPhone is going to boost profit for the telcos?  If that is the case, shouldn't Nokia, Sony Ericsson or Motorola and the rest of the phones be cutting such deals with the telcos? It's a win-win situation for both and if they can't find the middle ground for it.. ah well, no deal lah!
to cut the deal, telcos must agree on profit sharing or subsidies. Its not as easy..
1st gen iphone was profit sharing with AT&T thats why it was so expensive..

2nd gen iphone is being subsidised by all the telcos around thats why its so cheap
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 10:34 PM

4,423 posts

wah bro, the price, RM799...
u get from where wan weh.... haha
please share with us...

cincai convert ?
MoNnY
post Jun 11 2008, 12:27 AM

4,423 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Jun 11 2008, 12:12 AM)
very interesting..

especially this part...

so now we know that not all countries have 3G iphones that are bounded by a carrier. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE LET SINGAPORE BE NON EXCLUSIVE...
now is the question of price
MoNnY
post Jun 11 2008, 12:33 AM

4,423 posts

erm yea.. but still won't reach the levels of 1st gen..
so, start saving.... hope that singtel smart enough to make it an open purchase
MoNnY
post Jun 11 2008, 12:51 AM

4,423 posts

nothing wrong..

but i know optus requires a deposit of AUD100 which is refundable
MoNnY
post Jun 11 2008, 02:02 PM

4,423 posts

JULY la..
now is only JUNE!!!!

and singapore is getting it but later this year..
only 22 countries getting it on 11th.
go apple website, click on iPhone 3G World Tour on the bottom left side...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0377sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:32 PM