Technical [WTA] what happen to my XBOX 1?, DVD can't play

TSN2F
post Apr 21 2008, 09:50 PM, updated 18y ago

267 posts

My xbox has a repeating problem over an over again. It always appear message "please insert original xbox DVD" or "your disk maybe broken" or your "lens might be dirty".....it is occur even if I put the original disk.....

The problem will be solved only after I open the DVD drive and clean up the lens using alcohol and cotton bud. But what make me sick is the problem will always come again and again.....

I planned on to buy new DVD driver for XBOX.....anyone know where to find it and what cost will it takes???.....PLEASE HELP ME......I do love my 1st Gen XBOX cry.gif
GamersFamilia
post Apr 21 2008, 10:09 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

dont know bout the cost but...ur 360 lens prob for sure...may be u just need lens replacement.
TSN2F
post Apr 21 2008, 10:11 PM

267 posts

not 360.....but the big black xbox 1 ...how much lens replacement is??...can I change the lens with normal DVD lens??

dark lenanza
post Apr 21 2008, 10:20 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

no u cant change it with normal dvd drive
event if u want to buy 2nd hand 360 drive must be same brand
like hitachi for hitachi..samsung for samsung
then need to transfer ur old drive id to new drive using sata cable to pc
complecate
and the drive coz me RM150 last time

i bought unrevive 360 and take out the drive
send it to ma frenz to replaced it for me
rclxms.gif

Added on April 21, 2008, 10:21 pmowhhh
u talk bout old xbox
as far as im know
there is no spare part for old xbox

This post has been edited by dark lenanza: Apr 21 2008, 10:21 PM
shareal
post Apr 22 2008, 09:10 AM

179 posts

use normal pc dvd rom and Y cable...that will do, but you have to put your dvd 'out of the box'...
snipersnake
post Apr 22 2008, 11:15 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i had similar problem when i still had my old xbox ..love it..awesome media center wub.gif

anyways..that error ah..involves flashing.PM me for details. touchy details.

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Apr 22 2008, 11:16 AM
mancy
post Apr 23 2008, 09:41 AM

B A M B A
644 posts

i also got dat problems few years ago. i replaced the drive at gameshop in sg wang. it costs me bout RM280...
tunertoobe
post May 2 2008, 06:30 PM

9,309 posts

Hi there!

I have a weird prob with my xbox. It can play ori ad 'ehem' DVDs fine. But until now, a problem arise, just borrowed a DVD and it won't play. (It's one of those 'ehem' DVDs)...(not prono laaaa!!).

I tried inserting two other DVDs, one ori and other ____ Yet it plays both fine. Tried the problem DVD again and the xbox says that it cannot recognize the CD still.

What gives??
GamersFamilia
post May 2 2008, 09:00 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,804 posts

may be the aheem dvd got a reading probs
tunertoobe
post May 3 2008, 12:11 PM

9,309 posts

Tried it on my PC and it works fine though.
matty
post May 3 2008, 12:30 PM

347 posts

yr dvd might be diff region.
tunertoobe
post May 3 2008, 06:44 PM

9,309 posts

Hmmmm, could be. My Xbox is a PAL, and the DVD might be an NTSC one.
trexdotcom
post Jun 4 2008, 12:04 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ May 3 2008, 06:44 PM)
Hmmmm, could be. My Xbox is a PAL, and the DVD might be an NTSC one.
ahem disc no region lock. clean ur DVD rom. if still cant the need to open it and clean.
trexdotcom
post Jun 4 2008, 12:07 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mancy @ Apr 23 2008, 09:41 AM)
i also got dat problems few years ago. i replaced the drive at gameshop in sg wang. it costs me bout RM280...
alamak brother, i can sell u a modded set at this price. FYI.
verced
post Jun 5 2008, 05:22 AM

168 posts

If you're not planning to play games on it, you can just share your DVD Drive and access it from there.

I use my Xbox exclusively for XBMC now. It's still the best media center software out there. smile.gif

0.0154sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:11 PM