Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Edited for multiple posts.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 22 2008, 11:16 PM
stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 05:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I dont mind posting differing opinions, but deleting a post that differs from your opinion, just because you dont agree with it, is an act of cowardice. The addition of his exposure to his deeds in belittling Terapox further shows what kind of character he is.

"With great power, comes great responsibility"

If you are abusing them, the people here have the right to question your right to hold that power. Last I check, we are still in a democratic society.
stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 07:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Repeated threads suck. I just ignore them. Please lah. The people at Genius Bars know a whole lot more than you, I'm sure they face newbies all the time and get bombarded with repeated questions day in day out. Do they have the right to be rude? NO.
I've been trying not to tussle words with you because of our past liasons, but there are certain things you need to know.

I'm sorry but we are not PAID like those Apple Geniuses. We are doing this for free, and frankly, it has come to a level where it is testing most of our sanity. Choose not to answer them? More will come and post the exact same questions, only with different wording.

If im paid to answer these questions and more, you can spit questions in my face and I'll still put on a smile. The reality is with the iPhone section, is that they expect answers to their questions as if WE are paid to do this. Choosing to ignore it only invite more of these questions.

You may be able to ignore and let it be, perhaps because I dont see you in the iPhone section and that may be your mode of ignoring these NOOBS and their incessant questionings. But those of us who are making the iPhone section of this forum as our second home, these bombardment of questions are like eyesores. If you leave them unanswered, someone else who have no clue whatsoever about the issue with have their go at it and point the clueless NOOBS the wrong way ,and complicating things further. In the end, the same NOOB will come in with more whinings and more problems with their iPhones, suffocating the forum further. Ignore them more, you say? Until at which stage would you come and answer the hapless buggers before they brick their iPhones to kingdom come? You will have to, at one stage answer these NOOBS, and as much as WE like to ignore these NOOBS and let them have at it, WE hate it further to see them squander their iPhones to a point of no return.

So, before you point your finger at me, have a look at the forum, and stay and have a feel at how things go in this forum. You have a higher tolerance towards ignoring them, but I dont. I dont like people spreading misinformation, I dont like people going about things like a headless chicken, and I dont certainly dont like people who are irresponsible with their purchases. These NOOBS certainly fits that category.

The Apple Byte section are more organized and well-informed because you dont have to deal with these clueless NOOBS. Even if you do, the FREQUENCY of these questions coming at you on Apple Byte, are not as frequent as what WE have to handle here in the iPhone section. It is like there is 10 iPhone NOOBS born every minute, and we have to handle their bibs, napkins and diapers when they burp, spit, vomit and defecate their way around the iPhone section.

Again, your tolerance level to ignoring those people are not the same as others. Do not think that you can say "I can do it, why cant you", God made us different, and made us with that different tolerance level as well. Some of us can just let things slide, "Lantak ko ko lah, ko nak jahanamkan iPhone ko , doesnt botter me" attitude comes naturally to them, while others cannot even stnd people making a mistake when it comes to delicate things like unlocking their iPhones, because little things like this may result in a devastated iPhone.

We are NOT PAID like the Apple Geniuses to treat these NOOBS with gleaming white teeth smile, we are only human. And as fellow humans, these NOOBS should understand why the impatience level in the iPhone section is high, and at the very least, as a common courtesy to their fellow man here, go about their way finding out the answers here first before posting questions that had been answered.

stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 08:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It is easy to ignore, but it takes a bigger person to enlighten.

But you cant ask a student to study even if you force him or her to read the books. The willlingness to learn will have to come from within.
stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 08:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just hit the report button and *hope* that the powers up there do something.

Where does that get me? I did the exact same thing, and I had to do the cleanup myself after battling deletion of my thread and posts for almost 30 minutes!?

I would be much happier to let the Powers-That-Be here handle things if they show a shred of attention and responsibility towards actually moderating this place. When the MOD himself acted upon his own judgment as how he see fit, ad suppressing the evidence of his wrongdoings, what are the common folks like us to do? Play meek and lick his foot?

Added on August 22, 2008, 8:22 pmThese are the type of questions we have to face, day in day out, in iPhone section of this forum.

Tell me when your patience run out when you're face with these and other similarly berating questions every ...single....day, in iPhone forum.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 22 2008, 08:22 PM
stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 08:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

See, you are talking from YOUR OWN point of view, you chose to ignore than to contribute.

All of us here chose to contribute, in whatever form we can, instead of ignoring. While you have the benefit of ignorance to not get stressed up with these incessant NOOBS, we chose to contribute and possibly get our blood pressure up for helping people.

Why are you pointing at me being the guilty party here again? I chose to endanger myself entering the fray of this "warzone" while you stay comfy in your "Iggy zone". And I'm the bad guy here?
stringfellow
post Aug 22 2008, 08:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Human cannot live without caring to what's happening around them. Where you draw your line before you starts caring is what's make us different.

Like I said before, maybe I cared too much, and should just adopt the "Who the hell cares" attitude more often.
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2008, 01:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/773273/+240#entry19418071

The end result. Why am I not surprised?
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2008, 01:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 23 2008, 01:39 AM)
alamak, wat happen string? so many post one
This happened. All because a moderator grew lustful with power. Read the ending.

This is LYN, folks.
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2008, 02:48 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://gizmodo.com/5040823/kevin-rose-ipod...ll-rounded-nano

Kevin Rose's Apple crystal ball has been wrong more often than not (he was sorta right about $199 iPhone), but this time he's seen pictures people! ("It looks pretty cool.") He says that not only will the new iPod nano be tall and skinny and giant-screened like we've heard, he says it'll be rounded (like iPhone 3G's ass-side, but all the way around), and even provides this handy rendering. His other rumorage, like a huge iTunes update with for-real new features, is all way more reasonable than his past forecasting, so they're actually possible too!

- Revamp of entire iPod line.
- Small cosmetic changes to Touch, Nano to see significant redesign (see pic below).
- iPods to see fairly large price drops to distance itself from the $199 iPhone.
- iPod touch 2.1 software, iPhone to get update very soon after.
- iTunes 8.0 ("it's a big update w/new features").

- All of this coming in the next 2-3 weeks.
As always, when it comes to rumor mills like these, take them with grains of salt. I'm intrigued about the two points I've bolded.

Just in time for Macworld too!

EDIT:Macrumors.com added another bulletpoint to the Kevin Rose rumor - Blu-Ray support coming in Mac OS X 10.5.6

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Aug 23 2008, 03:05 PM
stringfellow
post Aug 23 2008, 02:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://gizmodo.com/5040631/3d-app-converts...ternative-world

Created by David O'Reilly, iHologram combines anamorphosis and the iPhone's gyroscopes to achieve this awesome visual magic trick. Anamorphosis is a way to draw things distorted so, while watched at a certain angle, they pop out of the 2D surface as if they were real.

David's application assumes a constant viewing angle of 35 to 45 degrees, which is the usual angle when anyone watches the iPhone screen. Knowing that angle, the application calculates the orientation of the screen relative to the viewer using the iPhone's motion sensors, so when you turn it around, the 3D world perspective gets skewed accordingly.

As you can see in the video, the effect is almost perfect, with the character popping out of the screen and the world he's walking on receding into a deep space.

Probably a time-waster, but a good time-waster nonetheless. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 24 2008, 10:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Posting from Tokyo, Japan.

And I was giddy as hell as I exited the plane and turn off Airplane mode to finally see a service carrier name , instead of "No Service" like on my previous Aifonej.

This time, I got "Softbank"! The usual 3 SMSes from Celcom arrives welcoming me to Japan, advising about increasing the credit limit, and additional info on roaming while on partner carrier.

My iPhone no longer is dead when I'm in the Land of Godzillas! rclxm9.gif
stringfellow
post Aug 24 2008, 10:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I must have missed something. Too much Japanese tea.
stringfellow
post Aug 24 2008, 10:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Kopitiam moved here already maybe? From all the cleansing going on.

They say tea is good to cleanse the body too. Lots of antioxidants.
stringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 02:27 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

http://gizmodo.com/5041724/iphone-dev-team...st-202-firmware

For users using Mac. Still no news on software unlocks for the iPhone 3G.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0190sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:35 AM