post May 25 2008, 06:23 PM

107 posts

Hi, new Hamster owner here =D

Can you tell what breed this is?

[attachmentid=480183]

[attachmentid=480186]

Btw, please help me with these:

1. Should I feed him tank water or water that I drink myself?
2. How much food does he need, judging from his size?
3. Lastly, do you pile on with the bedding, or just 1-2cm tall?

Thanks so much! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Katrinah: May 25 2008, 06:24 PM
Katrinah
post May 25 2008, 08:51 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ May 25 2008, 06:25 PM)
hello and welcome!  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
i'm not quite sure what breed, can't see clearly. ><

1.I usually give my hammie the water that i drink.
3.1 inch thick if im not mistaken.

and by the way, the cage looks very small. what bedding are you using?
I see, thanks ^^ Yea the cage is really small, felt sorry for him x_x I'm thinking about doing bigger DIY cage or buy better ones soon =)

As for the bedding, I bought from the same seller but didnt know that cedar/pine isnt encouraged dang! I have no idea what bedding they are cos there;s no name on it doh.gif

QUOTE(jayniel @ May 25 2008, 06:28 PM)
looks like puding WW to me, but don't have that dorsal stripe..
can take a photo of him where he's not in the cage?

1. i feed my hamsters with drinking water, tank water also can la i think.. cos there are ppl that drink tank water too..

2. around 1 tablespoon of Prestige / Harry Hamster food a day.. with occasional fresh foods.. but u can give more, the hamster will hoard away the food & eat according to his needs..

3. my bedding is 1 inch deep for some, and 2 inch for others.. u can give more too, cos hamsters like digging the bedding..
Thank you for answering ^^

[attachmentid=480301]

This is a video of him, hopefully you guys can tell for sure the breed of my hamster so I can do more extensive research about him =)
Katrinah
post May 25 2008, 09:02 PM

107 posts

Ah syrian eh, thanks both!

Lol no lah, the wheel size is okay ah, it fits him just nice lol xD

He's really active sweat.gif When I bought him in the morning he was pretty gentle and all you'd think hes a shy one, lol guess it was the daylight. And I think he's scared of me lol doh.gif
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 10:49 PM

107 posts

Lol when you guys cup ur hamster, do you sweat?

Whenever I hold my hamster, I'll start sweating and I have to put him back down sad.gif
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 10:57 PM

107 posts

Lol no lah I have sweaty palm all the time. in fact I'm wetting my keyboard now as I type =S

The thing is, i have serrriiouslly wet hand. I know you arent suppose to bath a hamster, but I can literally soak him if I hold him long enough lol. This is a hindering me from holding him T_T He finally went onto my palm just now (yay! ^^) but I have to put him down in 3 sec cos my hand is sweating already x_x

You do anything about ur sweaty palms when touching ur hamster?
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:06 PM

107 posts

nezumitaro, what a bunch of cuties wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
Can see that fresh diet is good.. must start fresh diet on mine. I have tried feeding fresh veges little bit. Do you feed them 80% fresh 20% dried stuff now?

neshie lol sweaty = very very sweaty that type hehe =/
gonna play with him a bit again later, after Tyra show lol xD

This post has been edited by Katrinah: May 29 2008, 11:09 PM
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:11 PM

107 posts

Yea ANTM, though its re-run, shame @_@
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:17 PM

107 posts

Yes ^^ new cage, it's plastic tank actually lol! And new wheel, was hesitating buying the wheel cos it's not 8" when I measure it but when I search for Habitrail Wheel in lowyat, found few posts on V6 that the wheel is okay for Syrian, lucky lol!

But when I re-read 1st page, I *think* my food isnt the one recomended here x_x will go replenish some soon. Interested with the smoothie offered here too but no Petshack here T_T

Added on May 29, 2008, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(anderyna @ May 29 2008, 11:14 PM)
wub.gif  wub.gif omg, they are soooooo cute....

haiz... my syrian still dont like me holding her. put her on palm will walk here and there, use food to pancing her, she ignore me.. walao.. like she is the boss sweat.gif
maybe her behavior is like that.. i cant force her cry.gif
LMAO dai ga che in the house laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Katrinah: May 29 2008, 11:18 PM
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:25 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(neshie @ May 29 2008, 11:19 PM)
can wann. slowly lor. tongue.gif tongue.gif
which habitrail wheel is it anyway?
LOL. what brand is it?  blink.gif

you can make ur own smoothies. tongue.gif
Habitrail Safari, with some long slim gaps along the wheel.

I could make my own smoothie but it would not be human consumable and certainly not safe for any living creature to eat. LOL!
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:34 PM

107 posts

If still cant find, theres always petshack online haha
Katrinah
post May 29 2008, 11:44 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ May 29 2008, 11:40 PM)
i put prestige 24 hours inside.. and feed fresh morning n evening... here how we eat:
Lol I'm a bit overwhelmed with the amount of food you provide for them. Wont they get diarrhea with too much fresh food? My syrian looks bigger than urs in the picture but still I only give the size of my pinky for carrot and thumb size for cabbage sweat.gif sweat.gif

EDIT: okay maybe not bigger than urs haha, cos I have the same wheel and mine doesnt look like urs when in it haha

This post has been edited by Katrinah: May 29 2008, 11:45 PM
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 02:36 PM

107 posts

The cow house bought from SandyPiggy right? I also ordered but she hasnt got back to me yet. How old is ur hammie? =P
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 02:41 PM

107 posts

Ah.. nice. At least no shipping cost and such x_x
So, how old is ur hammie?
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 02:42 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Helena1509 @ May 30 2008, 02:40 PM)
Im currently havin a shih tzu.Wanna get a husky or german shepherd in future
Huskyyyy wub.gif
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 02:49 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Helena1509 @ May 30 2008, 02:48 PM)
Shih tzu everyday slp 1.Not active.When i wake up,he's slpin,when i go out,he stil slps.N den at nite when i wanna slp,he also slp! shakehead.gif
More teruk compare 2 pig
LMAO what a lazy bum laugh.gif
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 09:02 PM

107 posts

LOL my syrian is macam addicted to my hand now
cos today I hold him and brought him to my bed.
And now whenever I put my hand he'll come strait, even tried climbing o.o;
I hope he's so in love with my hand is cos he like my hand.. and not my bed doh.gif

improvement still, cos dulu beg him he oso ignore lol.
But weird is that eventho he likes to go onto my hand, he still flinch when I try to pat him
And I wasnt even doing big movement and I did call his name, didnt sneak on him +_+
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 09:17 PM

107 posts

Whats your hammies name btw? never found out haha laugh.gif
Mine is Caramel btw, reminds me of that first time holding him
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 09:30 PM

107 posts

Papa.. lol yea why not
sound sweet mah laugh.gif
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 10:23 PM

107 posts

On second thot, yea it does sound like papaya haha!
Papaya is still sweet flex.gif
Katrinah
post May 30 2008, 10:45 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Jamien @ May 30 2008, 10:44 PM)
Just got from pet shack a couple of hours ago.  smile.gif Carrot and papaya. I got curious so I try a bit myself.  hmm.gif It's not the kind of taste we usually eat but taste ok lar. Just unusual.
LOL like abc ah?

0.0533sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:09 PM