> Topic subscription mailbomb, Problem sort-of solved, but just FYI

TSwired@genes
post Apr 19 2008, 05:23 PM, updated 18y ago

39 posts

No, really, this isn't my fault!

With my original account, "eug", if I subscribe to a topic, I'll get an email for each and every new post, even though I haven't visited the board. This results in a mailbomb if I subscribe to a hot topic.

e.g. I'm subscribed to the zen quantum pendant thread right now. I'm not logged in to the 'eug' account anywhere, yet I receive an email for each new post. The email also states that "..only 1 email is sent per board visit for each subscribed to pic. This is to limit the amount of mail that is sent to your inbox". That's the part that doesn't work - I'm sent an email per new post even though I haven't visited the board yet.

As you can imagine, this completely fills up my inbox. In the past I just unsubscribed from those topics which resulted in me not visiting the board anymore as I would stop getting reminders when a new post appears.

A few days ago I tried registering a new account (wired@genes), and lo and behold, the problem isn't there. I only get one email per subscribed topic until i visit the board again.

I didn't subscribe to a forum, and I only have one topic subscription.

It all works for me now on this new account, but it sounds like there's a bug somewhere!
Can I get my original joined date on my new account so i don't look like such a n00b? smile.gif

chicaman
post Apr 19 2008, 07:50 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=32866

It doesnt make much difference with the joined date.

wKkaY
post Apr 19 2008, 09:22 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(wired@genes @ Apr 19 2008, 05:23 PM)
Can I get my original joined date on my new account so i don't look like such a n00b? smile.gif

It's an offence to hold multiple accounts! As a penalty ye shall be a noob for 10 more years..

(PS: if anyone has faced the same problem with topic reply mailbombs, please let us know here)
Sheep319
post Apr 19 2008, 09:24 PM

how do i post
6,364 posts

Holy hell? What's the future like.
chicaman
post Apr 19 2008, 09:33 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

i wish mine can be 2020. wKkay, can u do it for me? tongue.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 19 2008, 10:45 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Just curious, why is his join date... 2018? huh.gif
chicaman
post Apr 19 2008, 11:06 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

its 2008, wkkay change to 2018.

i wan 2020. Thanks ya wkkay whistling.gif
TSwired@genes
post Apr 19 2008, 11:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 20 2008, 12:45 AM)
Just curious, why is his join date... 2018? huh.gif
I really am from the future.

In 2009, the International Council On The Abolishment Of Phony Magical Cures will be established, eliminating things like mystical scalar energy pendants and Special Bottles of Boiled Water.

By the year 2011, Malaysia would get broadband. I mean real broadband, not Streamyx.

In 2012, Anwar takes over. Mahathir continues to criticize every leader.
if leader.Name != "Mahathir"{
output.Rant();
}

In 2013, petrol prices drop 30% to RM7 per litre.

In 2014, KL's 59,382th new highway is built.

In 2015, LYN gets its 10 millionth member. www.imbiplaza.net fights back. LY reduces their rental a month later, crushing Imbi Plaza, which now hosts several karaoke clubs and massage parlours. wkkay gives birth.

In 2016, like many great discoveries, an accident at the Large Hadron Collider results in the creation of time travel.

In 2017, nothing happened. What a boring year.

In 2018 I joined LYN, then travelled back in time to 2008 just to see what things were like in the past. How weird! What is this ... scalar energy... I read so much about? What a miracle cure!

chicaman
post Apr 19 2008, 11:13 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(wired@genes @ Apr 19 2008, 11:08 PM)

In 2009, the International Council On The Abolishment Of Phony Magical Cures will be established, eliminating things like mystical scalar energy pendants and Special Bottles of Boiled Water.

By the year 2011, Malaysia would get broadband. I mean real broadband, not Streamyx.

output.Rant();
}

In 2015, LYN gets its 10 millionth member. www.imbiplaza.net fights back. LY reduces their rental a month later, crushing Imbi Plaza, which now hosts several karaoke clubs and massage parlours. wkkay gives birth.

In 2016, like many great discoveries, an accident at the Large Hadron Collider results in the creation of time travel.

In 2018 I joined LYN, then travelled back in time to 2008 just to see what things were like in the past. How weird! What is this ... scalar energy... I read so much about? What a miracle cure!
ok then live with the 2018 smile.gif
SUSN's
post Apr 19 2008, 11:14 PM

1,091 posts

QUOTE(wired@genes @ Apr 19 2008, 05:23 PM)
No, really, this isn't my fault!

With my original account, "eug", if I subscribe to a topic, I'll get an email for each and every new post, even though I haven't visited the board. This results in a mailbomb if I subscribe to a hot topic.

e.g. I'm subscribed to the zen quantum pendant thread right now. I'm not logged in to the 'eug' account anywhere, yet I receive an email for each new post. The email also states that "..only 1 email is sent per board visit for each subscribed to pic. This is to limit the amount of mail that is sent to your inbox". That's the part that doesn't work - I'm sent an email per new post even though I haven't visited the board yet.

As you can imagine, this completely fills up my inbox. In the past I just unsubscribed from those topics which resulted in me not visiting the board anymore as I would stop getting reminders when a new post appears.

A few days ago I tried registering a new account (wired@genes), and lo and behold, the problem isn't there. I only get one email per subscribed topic until i visit the board again.

I didn't subscribe to a forum, and I only have one topic subscription.

It all works for me now on this new account, but it sounds like there's a bug somewhere!
unedited version of Wired post knows his joining date. He do it for lulz.
syazwanreno
post Apr 19 2008, 11:16 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

i wonder if it will happen....
eXPeri3nc3
post Apr 19 2008, 11:19 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

output.Rant();
}

Oh waw. Why am I not impressed.

The real world was created 3 years ago. You're just a plain imagination. Haruhi didn't create you at all.
TSwired@genes
post Apr 19 2008, 11:44 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 20 2008, 01:19 AM)
Oh waw. Why am I not impressed.
Wait till you see my Sports Almanac. I'll build an empire on betting! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 20 2008, 01:19 AM)
The real world was created 3 years ago. You're just a plain imagination. Haruhi didn't create you at all.
Ahh, I see the 2004 Life Experiment is coming along just fine.... you inhabitants of World-2005-RC1.exe are believing everything we programmed in. Excellenttttt........ you should all be ready for the final release shortly!

mryellow19
post Apr 20 2008, 12:05 AM

arrrggghhhhh
1,221 posts

Can I suggest that this topic be moved to Jokes Heaven? laugh.gif
pikacu
post Apr 20 2008, 12:19 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

output.Rant();
}

u just make me lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by pikacu: Apr 20 2008, 12:19 AM
b00n
post Apr 20 2008, 01:30 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

gosh....is this turning into Kopitiam.
TS, a word of advise before you really got banned, pls close this thread if you found your explanation.
SUSsharkteef
post Apr 20 2008, 01:52 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

output.Rant();
}

jinkinz
post Apr 21 2008, 07:23 AM

♥HIEK!my name is BOXXY!♥
1,162 posts

wtf(why the f***) this in joke thread?? 0.0?
TSwired@genes
post Apr 21 2008, 04:50 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(jinkinz @ Apr 21 2008, 09:23 AM)
wtf(why the f***) this in joke thread?? 0.0?
Magic!
*wooooooo*

hizperion
post Oct 24 2008, 02:32 PM

Average Bitch
913 posts

lol 1st page

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0168sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled