Overclocked system crapping out after a few years, Possible? Coz this is strange.

sHawTY
post Jun 8 2008, 07:32 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

a1098113, that's not entirely true.
Even the slightest increase on voltage will degrade the processor. Although it takes time, it will degrade slowly.

As what my sifu told me:
Electromigration degrades the fine copper wires inside microprocessors
Even a normal processor running at it's normal voltage has a degree of electromigration, it's just that the degree is so small it's considered useless to count.

sHawTY
post Jun 8 2008, 07:38 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jun 8 2008, 07:36 PM)
agree with shawty
That's not my statement lah, still learning from my shifuu. blush.gif

sHawTY
post Jun 8 2008, 08:16 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Jun 8 2008, 07:43 PM)
the smaller the chip size go, eg 65nm, 45nm, the more electromigration occurs
That's true.
And sadly, that's the downside of having smaller die processors.

Right now, we're at 45nm, just imagine what would've happen when 32nm and even smaller dies were to be produced.
sHawTY
post Jun 8 2008, 10:19 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Nayy, when there's a will, there's a way.
When the time comes, there will be a way for us to overclock them for sure. wink.gif
sHawTY
post Jun 9 2008, 08:24 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

ElectroMigration is happening in my system now.
Normally i only need to use 1.3625Volts for my Q6600 B3 to run at 400 X 9.
Lately, the system is going through a lot of BSOD.
Had to increase the VCore from 1.3625Volts to 1.3655Volts to stabilize the system.

After increasing the VCore from 1.3625Volts to 1.3655Volts, no more BSOD.

Damn!
ElectroMigration is happening as we speak.
I'm telling people about ElectroMigration, Whereas it's happening in my own system.

LOL Wut? laugh.gif shocking.gif

0.0154sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:42 PM