Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

todak
post Jun 23 2008, 10:36 AM

138 posts

Hello people. Need some advise as I'm going to buy a 37" LCD and had narrowed it down to these models from my local SenHeng in Jitra, Kedah here.

Sony KLV37S310 - RM3,599.00 (Was my first choice until I read some postings in here, pariah tv uggh)

LG 37LC7D - RM3,499.00 plus free DVD player (Looks good and new model but dont need dvd player lah)

Samsung LA37R81B - RM3,499.00 (hmm?)

Pana LX800 - any shops in Alor Setar carry this model? I don't mind paying retail prices as long as they deliver, install and tune it for me. Mostly watch Astro and some DVD, no gaming.

My budget is around RM3.6k but can go to 4k if convinced. I hate window shopping and have only seen the lcds at SH, is it worth to browse around shops in Alor Star?

I don't mind older models either if can get good price for a 40 incher.

Thanks in advance biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by todak: Jun 23 2008, 10:48 AM
todak
post Jun 23 2008, 11:00 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jun 23 2008, 10:50 AM)
Syarikat Intan Radio
No. 14, Kompleks Jitra Jitra, Kubang Pasu
Tel:04-917 6646
Fax:04-917 1646

can you pay a visit to this shop.
you can mention that a Panashop Gen2 dealer in KL recommend you here.
Thanks mate, I actually went there few days ago but they don't have many lcds on display but will visit the shop again. What is the price for LX800? Can I get it below 4k??
todak
post Jun 23 2008, 11:14 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jun 23 2008, 11:03 AM)
retail price for 32LX800 is RM2999.

only big chain stores have 32LX800 on display at the moment.
TX-37LX800MK price?? Thanks! smile.gif
todak
post Jun 23 2008, 01:33 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jun 23 2008, 11:58 AM)
RM3999 saw it in HN yesterday  thumbup.gif
Some ppl said the difference between LX80 & LX800 is only RM300.00... hmm.gif

todak
post Jul 13 2008, 02:48 PM

138 posts

I took the plunge yesterday and bought Samsung LA37R81B for RM3,299.00 plus RM379.00 for extra 2 years warranty for a total of 4 years coverage. No extras though they did threw in about 3 dozen cans of coke haha. Me and the missus liked watching this model at the local senheng. Reading the forums and review would only help you so far, in the end you have to decide with your eyes.
todak
post Jul 14 2008, 05:46 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Jul 13 2008, 02:48 PM)
I took the plunge yesterday and bought Samsung LA37R81B for RM3,299.00 plus RM379.00 for extra 2 years warranty for a total of 4 years coverage. No extras though they did threw in about 3 dozen cans of coke haha. Me and the missus liked watching this model at the local senheng. Reading the forums and review would only help you so far, in the end you have to decide with your eyes.
My set arrived about 7pm yesterday and guess what? Its a f#c#ing displayset with 204 HOURS panel time. Just as well that I checked from the menu, guess they didnt expect people to know how to. Last time I bought a Canon camera from them few years back, they tried to pass me a display model as well. Thank you SenHeng. Thats twice you tried to screw me from the the two times I ever bought anything from you.

Since I used my cc to make the purchase I'll call my bank first thing today to see if I can cancel the transaction and get my money back. Then I'll call Senheng to come and pickup their display tv. I have a few choice words for their manager right now.
vmad.gif
todak
post Jul 14 2008, 12:16 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(todak @ Jul 14 2008, 05:46 AM)
My set arrived about 7pm yesterday and guess what? Its a f#c#ing displayset with 204 HOURS panel time. Just as well that I checked from the menu, guess they didnt expect people to know how to. Last time I bought a Canon camera from them few years back, they tried to pass me a display model as well. Thank you SenHeng. Thats twice you tried to screw me from the the two times I ever bought anything from you.

Since I used my cc to make the purchase I'll call my bank first thing today to see if I can cancel the transaction and get my money back. Then I'll call Senheng to come and pickup their display tv. I have a few choice words for their manager right now. 
vmad.gif
Called the cc company, they said that they can't stop or reverse the transaction as it is between me and the seller. Fine. Looked up samsung website and filed a complaint online, got an auto email reply with ref number saying they'll look into it. Called senheng and got the asst mgr who said that he'll call back. Some time later, one of the salesboy called and started babbling that they had sent the wrong unit to me, got a mixup at the shop yadda yadda..I cut him off and said I wanted to speak with the mgr (who was out eating). Fine, tell him to call me back asap. Mgr called me afterwards and started the same babble that I got from the salesboy. I told him I wanted to cancel the purchase. He went on a abit after that, don't lah..we order new one oredi...give u free gift...yadda yadda. In the end, I said ok but I wanted a written confirmation by fax to my office that he will replace the display unit with a new unit. New unit arriving in 2 days so we'll see... hmm.gif

todak
post Jul 15 2008, 10:21 AM

138 posts

@htkaki

I realise that its an old model but I was specifically looking for an older samsung as the price must have dropped 30-40% since it was launched (a year ago?). I don't think that there is much difference in viewing quality (to my peasant eyes) compared to latest samsung models and the price difference is definitely worth it. The manager told me that they have 2 or 3 new sets left of the 37R81B and I don't think he'll try the same stunt with me again.

@X-zen

For samsung lcd tv, using the remote, press this buttons in sequence :-

1. Power (to switch off tv)
2. Info
3. Menu
4.Mute
5. Power (to switch on again)

I tried it a few times before it worked. You should see the menu on top of the tv picture with the information. I dont know how to check for other brands.

This is settings from a guy using a 40N81 in sg :

Mode: Standard
Contrast: 80
Brightness: 50
Sharpness: 20
Colour: 50
Tint: 50
Colour Tone: Normal

Black Adjust: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Low
Gamma: 0
Edge Enhancement: On
Colour Space: Wide

Backlight: 4
Size: Just Scan
Digital NR: Auto
DNie: On

Game Mode: On
BlueScreen: Off
Melody: High
Light Effect: Off
Energy saving: High
HDMI Black Level: Low

May or may not suit you but a good reference point if you want to fiddle with your own set.

@sunnyK
I realized that 200 hours panel is not that much but its the principle of it. I specifically asked the sales guy before the purchase if this is a new unit and not a display one and he said yes. I would have still complained if the panel time was just 20 hours. Its like buying a new car and finding out that its got 2,000km on the odometer already. If they had come clean that its a display unit I would have seriously considered buying it anyway. Their loss, not mine.

This post has been edited by todak: Jul 15 2008, 10:45 AM
todak
post Jul 15 2008, 01:09 PM

138 posts

By the way, can anyone recommend a good speaker set for a 37" lcd tv? Nothing fancy just for watching regular astro tv, maybe around rm200-300 ? The speakers has to sit next to the tv on the wooden cabinet as I have small inquisitive kids.
todak
post Aug 28 2008, 11:40 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(confused-freaker @ Aug 27 2008, 12:37 PM)
hi there, my panny py800 plasma came not long, but i really dislike the audio.... it sounded worst than my pc speakers.... anyway that i can improve it? thx
I didnt like the sound from my 37" samsung either and bought the altec lansing 4121 (rm230+) which considerably improved my overall viewing experience. A bit boomy but I can live with it. You can try Edifier 3300 too for about the same price.
todak
post Sep 4 2008, 09:35 AM

138 posts

QUOTE(Kornfield @ Sep 4 2008, 12:03 AM)
guys i've just received my 37lx800mk, n i'm happy with it, but something annoyed me, my lcd have like a glow on each corner of the lcd. it's pretty obvious in a dark scene. it also could be seen in the letterbox when watching dvd. is this normal?? i've snap some pics.

hope u guys can help me. if this is normal for lcd then i have to live with it. but if it is faulty lcd, i will go postal at HN. vmad.gif
I believe that is backlight bleed and its quite common to see it at the corners of lcd tvs. If you can see it and it bothers you then you should definitely get a replacement.

0.0310sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:29 AM