Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

jasjas
post Jun 2 2008, 03:13 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ May 28 2008, 11:19 AM)
py800 wont less than 10k le....full hd plasma most likely above 10k....
lol adrian , dont be so confident about the pricing or u ll kena poked later, look at the olympic contest form by panasonic in ur shop, 42py800 at rm 7999, boss seem to be so sure about the price but i doubt it, but if it is that price, comfirm not from japan d, since 50" is from sg liu, who know about it, and rumour about plasma price dropping might occur soon due to the heat of lcd and plasma warfare, well it is still rumour.... (check the printscreen)

and adrian, old case, it is possible to sell 42pv80 at lower cost by ordering the olympic package rather than single unit from panny msia, it is a risk for the dealer to keep the home theater stock but i found most of the outside shops are doing that (and sometime they main tipu in the purchase order case, depending on the rep sale ppl from panny to prevent risk) eventually it is cheap to buy a single tv without the home theater but i found out that "kaki" who claimed to get cheap along with his home theater, became aint cheap anymore when he got his 42pv80 with htc 465 at rm 5400 while that package at retail price of rm 6088 and as usual dealer can give about 10% discount for these packages by earning at least 5-7% profit, so in the end, try not to be persuaded for getting the panny home theater if u manage to get the 42pv80 so call below cost.... (of course from authorized shop, pls)

damn panny for messy up the package stuff up, my mistake not realizing the package so soon even i got that list during sunway launching.....

This post has been edited by jasjas: Jun 2 2008, 03:43 AM

jasjas
post Jun 3 2008, 03:37 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jun 2 2008, 08:37 PM)
agree...sometimes when i close sony sales...i rly wish them good luck... whistling.gif
but i felt so amaze with the sony promoters when they on closing sales with always 1 and only 1, " Do u know sony, so do i need to explain how good it is.....?" i would reply them i dunno bravia if i were the customer and the astro enchanment in sony was stripped off due to massive complains, i would say either toshi or panny (700mk one) are better than it in so call astro enchanment....

adrian, do update me ur price on the full hd mode when it is arrived, she changed her mind from 50" while 32lx800 and blu ray player are here on last week, waiting to be testing soon...
jasjas
post Jun 9 2008, 02:20 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(wcyly @ Jun 6 2008, 02:40 PM)
For those who noticed judder on moving pictures on the Panasonic PV80, here's a repeat of a post I made on another forum a short while back:

".... Just came back from Harvey Norman @ the Curve. The chap who helped me test extensively was named Ronnie. Quite a knowledgeable chap.

Spent a good deal of time comparing the Samsung vs Panasonic Pv70 vs the Pioneer Kuro for displaying moving pictures, using pirated dvd as source.

I have to say that the worst of the lot is the Panasonic. The Samsung and Pioneer is pretty much equal. Apparently the Pioneer and Samsung motion processing algorithm is as good as the one used by high end philips, grundig, B&O (which I tested some 6 months ago). Unfortunately Panasonic PV70 & the new PV80 do not have this technology.

I was quite certain of buying the new Panasonic PV80 until I did this comparison. Now, have to strike Panasonic off my list.

If you are not sure what i mean, just go there and ask to test a few dvds for motion, the one easiest to see is Toy Story 2, chapter 9 I think where the camera pans right to left on a particular image. The Panasonic judders, whilst the Samsung and Pioneer (in smooth Cinema mode) will render the movement a lot smoother."

End of quote.
As an update, samsung has just released the successor to the PS42Q91H. The new plasma is called PS42A450P1.

PS42A450P1 is supposed to be an improvement over the outgoing model and is the first in the world to support 3D playback! Imagine 3D pictures and 3D gaming.

Going to check it out soon and I may just go buy one.....
alert, pionner promoter wearing harvey uniform spotted again in disguise.... lol

BTW did ronnie test the same toy story 2 for u on the pv80?
or u just assuming that just because pv70 dont hav, so be with pv80?
do notice there was once panny promoter in "uniform disguise" was not available in harvey norman, roughly before the launching of pv80, around early of this year while i found the most the pv70 setting was in upside down, same goes to harvey norman pavilion, still i ll get toy story 2 ahem dvd to test on my pv70 and pv80 on site,and any chance new sammy plasma - it seem to be interesting, will take snapshot and post here soon.....

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Jun 8 2008, 12:29 PM)
buddy..3299 so cheap...dun spoil my sales le tongue.gif
announced that it gonna to drop to rm2999 soon and notice someone starting to sell it at that price...

QUOTE(r4st4m4n @ Jun 8 2008, 09:32 PM)
I'd need some advice. I'm planning to buy a 40'' or 42'' TV. My budget is max RM 5000.

I went today in 2 different Sen shopd in Sunway but they didn't seem to really know what they were talking about. They were just advising the TVs that were closer to my max budget without giving me any good reason to choose this one over a cheaper one.

My main use would be watching Astro and DVDs (might get a Blue-Ray player later).

So now I'm quite confused. 1 of the shop told me Astro looks better on a Plasma TV (which was 1024x768) rather than LCD TV (which was 1366x768) (and they were playing Astro on both, and it seemed to be true. The plasma TV was actually better at hiding the bad quality of Astro ... the image looked smoother  rolleyes.gif ). The other shop told me exactly the contrary (without showing it though) ...  icon_question.gif

So what would be the best ? I would think that I should take the better resolution given by LCDs, but if ithe image looks worse when watching Astro, I'd rather get a Plasma ...

I've read the last few pages of this thread and it seems people tend to like the Panasonic PV80H, is it a good buy ?
Would it be better to watch Astro/DVDs compared to the Samsung 40'' LCD TV LA40A450 ?
What about for Blue-ray movies ?

thanks for your advises notworthy.gif
the 300+ different pixels wont make so big different espcially when u sit from ur sofa to the tv.....
afterall, plasma is still da best for movie, sports and as u said, hiding all the bad quality of analog signal...

This post has been edited by jasjas: Jun 9 2008, 03:01 AM
jasjas
post Jun 22 2008, 09:51 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jun 19 2008, 09:23 PM)
Just wondering Panasonic TX-37LX80M RM3380 is a good price?

A friend of mine bought it lately, saw it and it seem good.
As my parents are thinking of getting one soon to replace the aging CRT TV, what your comment on this model?

Or any better buy around RM3500 mark?

I'm a noob to LCD TV world.
I would suggest u to take a look at the 37lx800, which is additional rm300 comparing to 37lx80 - in term of pq and colour balance, u will notice there is certain problem with the lx80 backlight control when changing from the full black colour to brighter colour, while i dont see those problem in lx800, overall the lx800 colour is more natural than lx80 (not so bright, which suitable for cinematic viewing) plus it comes with 100hz motion flow, so i think it will be worth to pay extra rm300....
jasjas
post Jun 23 2008, 02:41 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(bashir3 @ Jun 22 2008, 12:22 PM)
Went to check out the VIERA TH-42PY700H (Full HD) in both Best Denki and Harvey Norman and found out the price has gone down to RM6,999 from RM14,999 2 months ago. Almost bought it but decided to discuss with wife first. Checking the Panasonic Malaysia website I found that I made the right decision since the suggested retail price for the newer model VIERA TH-42PY800H is only RM7,999.

Anyone seen that model in stores yet ?
u are lucky because u havnt paid for the py700, if u make comparison betweem the 700 and 800, there are huge differences especially on picture quality relaying on the conrast,if u make side by side comparison, most u ll see
the py700's colour is more dull due to it's anti-glare panel problem while py800 comes with 24p playback (for ur future use on blu ray stuff), better sound system and 480hz for the 3d playback (not advisable to use it all the time but at least something new), so u wont be regret paying the additional rm1000....

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 22 2008, 11:39 PM)
I doubt the additional 2 yrs are from Samsung.
speaking of samsung warranty, pls be cautious on their black and white as there was once of their 5 years warranty for certain promotion do not cover for the panel repair, pls double check the black and white b4 being caught by the sweet mouth of salesperson...
jasjas
post Jun 24 2008, 09:08 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jun 23 2008, 01:56 PM)
that is between 32LX80 and 32LX800.  cool2.gif
hmmmm same goes to 37 rite? or the retail price dropped d? correct me if i wrong,

37lx800 = rm 3999
37lx80 = rm 3699

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Jun 24 2008, 04:32 PM)
In Malaysia, smallest Pioneer full HD plasma is 50". PDP-LX508G. The other one is 60". The 42" is "HD ready" based on the spec published. In choosing full HD or not, you have to know your viewing distance. If you sit about 6-8 feet from a 42", not much difference can be seen. Unless you sit less than 5 feet. Anyway, go to the shop and try for yourself. If you can notice the difference, get the full HD. If you can't notice but still want a full HD, get the 50" full HD.  thumbup.gif
one of the thing tempted me about the panasonic full hd is the 480hz+high contrast, since it has double up the contrast of the pv80, creating my curiosity to plug my ps3 on it and test on this weekend, wondering how 3D will it be especially watch ham tai .... lol
jasjas
post Jun 25 2008, 12:20 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jun 24 2008, 11:52 PM)
Just want to share, PS3 1080p gaming seems "display" almost the indentical on the PY800H and PV80 but you will get a bit "better/smoother" on the PY800H perhaps not significant.

x.v.color features seems not working well... cry.gif

I will suggest you to send the HDMI signal in 1080p to a HDMI Switch to both model from PS3 like playing GT5/MSG4 which you may see the "difference". BTW, which "shop" that you may "test" on this weekend ?  blush.gif

On the other hand, PY800H playback better PQ for BD movie. No doubts.  whistling.gif

For me, I'm still waiting for the new Sony S and V Series of 40" Full-HD LCD - in order for me to make my final decision on this month end or early July.  wink.gif
in summit best perhaps - and i ll snap the photo make comparison later if i m free......

btw, i tok x n w series sony only belongs to full hd series...
if s or v, then there is no point to compare d liu....
jasjas
post Jul 7 2008, 02:37 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 3 2008, 10:12 AM)
well, a very simple request when buy the PY800 or PV80 or PV8 from this so-called legendary shop in SS2.

PLEASE BEG them to chop their company stamp on the warranty card and then post it to panasonic.

panasonic will send you a big 'thank you' feedback.  thumbup.gif

there are people dare to buy, but i doubt they dare to ask this simple request.

we shall see who is the first Hancock or daredevil here.

Please report it to us when you DID it.  rclxms.gif
Lol, but still i wont be suprise quite a number of lyn forumer or outside will make their purchases from those unauthorized dealer....

adrian : pm me ur price for the 42 full hd panny, dam 50 is still way expensive!!....no more lcd/plasma offer for staff price, only buy those like rice cooker or blender got, niama sad.gif

This post has been edited by jasjas: Jul 7 2008, 02:42 AM
jasjas
post Jul 7 2008, 02:35 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Jul 7 2008, 12:58 PM)
I waiting for the shop to send my Panasonic 32" LX80 to my home.. YAY!!!!..
hmm y not paying extra 300 for lx800?
jasjas
post Jul 13 2008, 11:17 PM

221 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jul 13 2008, 12:30 AM)
if u got time, u better see the results by your eyes.

full HD lcd is something to make u feel good with the name, i dont see any advantage on Full HD LCD.

when u put a PV80 next to A550, A550 looks so cacat even on HD video clips  doh.gif
there is advatange if u buy the full hd lcd with 100hz one....but in same time, i would save the money and get the py800 panny....
jasjas
post Aug 1 2008, 11:10 AM

221 posts

adrian, this week ur company has roadshow in bangsar rite or next week ar?

and hav u notice the price change for pana lcd?all lcds's retail price except lz n le drop rm 400 again, heard it in the meeting yesterday....
jasjas
post Aug 2 2008, 02:31 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 1 2008, 04:10 PM)
Yes, there is price revision from Panasonic.

32LX800MK - RRP RM2,599
37LX800MK - RRP RM3,599
37LX80MK - RM3,299
bingo but u missed one,

32LX80MK - RRP RM2299

0.0437sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:41 PM