need help!, made in china iPhone?

SUSkidrawk
post Apr 18 2008, 12:35 AM, updated 18y ago

406 posts

hello guys. need your help here. my gf is goin to hongkong next month, and thought of askin heR to buy apple iPhone 16gb foR me, since hongkong is 'so-called' biggest gadget place. but the pRoblem is, how to tell if the iPhone is made in china oR apple usa? i mean, i seriously dont know how the china made looks like, so im afrAid my gf might buy the china one.. how to check ah? any tips? thanks alot! sweat.gif
gidlcin
post Apr 18 2008, 01:07 AM

457 posts

no apple iPhone selling in hk...unless ppl bring in from us,just like sellers in lyn
anggana
post Apr 18 2008, 01:55 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(kidrawk @ Apr 18 2008, 12:35 AM)
hello guys. need your help here. my gf is goin to hongkong next month, and thought of askin heR to buy apple iPhone 16gb foR me, since hongkong is 'so-called' biggest gadget place. but the pRoblem is, how to tell if the iPhone is made in china oR apple usa? i mean, i seriously dont know how the china made looks like, so im afrAid my gf might buy the china one.. how to check ah? any tips? thanks alot!  sweat.gif
Hi Bro, I thought Iphone are assembled in China hmm.gif , not sure whether there are iphone that is actually assembled in US. What do you mean by made in china or US?

blackchides
post Apr 18 2008, 03:12 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

All iPhone's are made in China. If you find one that says "Made In USA".... run!!
sheahann
post Apr 18 2008, 03:16 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(kidrawk @ Apr 18 2008, 12:35 AM)
hello guys. need your help here. my gf is goin to hongkong next month, and thought of askin heR to buy apple iPhone 16gb foR me, since hongkong is 'so-called' biggest gadget place. but the pRoblem is, how to tell if the iPhone is made in china oR apple usa? i mean, i seriously dont know how the china made looks like, so im afrAid my gf might buy the china one.. how to check ah? any tips? thanks alot!  sweat.gif
xiaxue got blog about fake china iphone .. go her blog and check it out

Added on April 18, 2008, 3:16 am
QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 18 2008, 03:12 AM)
All iPhone's are made in China. If you find one that says "Made In USA".... run!!
ARE YOU SURE ??????????

This post has been edited by sheahann: Apr 18 2008, 03:16 AM
blackchides
post Apr 18 2008, 03:37 AM

HiiiPower
779 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 18 2008, 03:16 AM)

Added on April 18, 2008, 3:16 am

ARE YOU SURE ??????????
Sure I'm sure. The back of the iPhone says "Designed by Apple in California. Assembled in China." And quite honestly, if you can't tell an iPhone from a cheap China knock-off, you deserve to be ripped off. By me. Anyone wants a hiPhone?
LaskarCinta
post Apr 18 2008, 03:54 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 18 2008, 03:37 AM)
...And quite honestly, if you can't tell an iPhone from a cheap China knock-off, you deserve to be ripped off. By me. Anyone wants a hiPhone?
haha...i want one!
after getting hiPhone:
> y i can't connect my hiPhone to the iTunes? nevermind, i'll just bluetooth for song.
> eh it got memory slot! y other people said it don't have external storage?
> wow nice boot up sound! (that silly tune)
> browser in my hiPhone sucks!
> mmm...my hiPhone is utter crap. rubbish.

mmm...i always hope that no one will be like what i've stated above.
Savlon
post Apr 18 2008, 04:17 AM

79 posts

Mine was made in china...and i was like wtf! but looks nice...hehe
Moonflown
post Apr 18 2008, 09:19 AM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(anggana @ Apr 18 2008, 01:55 AM)
Hi Bro, I thought Iphone are assembled in China hmm.gif , not sure whether there are iphone that is actually assembled in US. What do you mean by made in china or US?
The iphone my cousin ordered is shipped from China so it's manufactured in China
Choongster
post Apr 18 2008, 09:26 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

i think fake iphone has .. windowsXP bootup sound ... and when turning off.. it has the shutdown sound of windowsXP ... that was when iphone was at the early stage.. maybe now the fake iphone is more advance .. smile.gif
palmforest
post Apr 18 2008, 09:53 AM

64 posts

Halo... Designed by Apple in California Assembled in China...

Foxconn is the assembler
TrutH_SeeKeR
post Apr 18 2008, 10:10 AM

334 posts

ive seen the fake china iphone. the finishing is bad eventho u can see the apple logo there. but the software is totally different. so watch out guys..ive seen it being sold at jalan Pudu for a price less than RM1000. Stick to the ori iPhone, u wont regret it!!

Remember, Pennywise, pound foolish.
anggana
post Apr 18 2008, 10:21 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Apr 18 2008, 09:26 AM)
i think fake iphone has .. windowsXP bootup sound ... and when turning off.. it has the shutdown sound of windowsXP ... that was when iphone was at the early stage.. maybe now the fake iphone is more advance .. smile.gif
I think this is the a phone A like, you can even check it on lelong, they sold many with price around 900 RM -1000RM. The look almost similar with the real iphone, but obviously you still can tell the difference nod.gif

You can also check the back serial number, I think iphone alike did not have a serial number.
SUSkidrawk
post Apr 18 2008, 06:30 PM

406 posts

hm.. i guess all u guys' comments answer my question.. well, jz hope what i'll tell my gf lateR cud avoid her from buying the fake one. heh. thanks guys! rclxms.gif
ezee123
post Apr 18 2008, 11:28 PM

69 posts

why do u want to buy frm HK? As far as i knw is not a lot cheaper then here. Personally i dun think is worth it. I jusf read on the other thread that there some people selling 16gb iPhone at 1800+, may be u can check it out.
ken_wickedboy
post Apr 19 2008, 03:46 AM

439 posts

They do have genuine iPhone in HK (from US) after all, iPhones are assembled in China. My dad whos a frequent traveler to HK told me that its rather costly to get one over there.

0.0167sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:38 AM